Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jin Jiang Pacific Hotel

108 West Nanjing Road, Huangpu, 200003 Shanghai, China

#354 of 817 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 923 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location, character hotel, comfortable and well priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is brilliant, twin room spacious, clean and staff efficient and polite. Had an issue with room on the first night where it seemed all air vents led to smoke and cooking smells. Went down to reception next morning, checked out another room and moved, staying for 5 night in all. It is a great hotel with lots of character and comfortable, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    6.3
    Rooms are smaller comparatively, location is nice, peaceful environment, STAIRS at main door :(
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stairs at main door, I have to carry my heavy bags, then again in the lobby there were 2 parts on each floor while lift only stops at superior rooms floor so again i have to carry my heavy bags on stairs.

    Location is very nice!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.0
    Efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We get there for the week end and it was very well located for discovering the city in such limited time. We did not spend so much time there (only few hours or so) so it was okay. However for longer stay or lazy ones enjoying view decoration and or long breakfast I do not recommend. Soundproof not there; quite noisy nearby the elevator.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me extra money for the room which i booked from booking.com, i select the room from options of booking.com, when i was complaining about the room that it is very small & don’t match as per my booking, the receptionist told me very harshly that talk with booking.com, don’t argue with us. Its really very strange & shake my confidence to booking.com

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Lots to see
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was a little pricey but had a nice ambiance

    The location was good- close to metro and also easy to walk to the bund and the pedestrian mall. Room was spacious and clean with a bathtub and a bidet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    4.6
    Hotel facilities are poor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is nice. It is right at Nanjing Street

    The breakfast was not included in deal and I had no intimation about this. There was some cost issues as well. Not sure how much money has been charged at my Credit Card, while I was made to pay RMB 1960 (cash) while checking in the hotel. This all was confusing and misleading. Rooms were smelly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from bedroom window , next door building !! Bit musty smelling , but it added to character of building

    Hotel was right across road from metro. , next door to one of many shopping malls in area . Rooms were big , plenty of space

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location, value for money and clean corridors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of toiletteries was poor and room furnishings were old. Mattresses were worn out. House keeping service was also inadequate. Not good for business trips.

    Great location, value for money and clean corridors.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge is located after the steps up to the hotel, so not much use if you need assistance with luggage. The room and the bed sheets are very humid in September.

    Location is great, opposite the people square subway station exit no. 8. The room is quite large in size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Room, bed and bath.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift from the entrance to the lobby. Doesn't matter. I am a sporty person and I was with healthy companions. But what about if I was with senior citizens? Not a single guy appeared to bring up the luggage...so lousy. I did not like that.

    Room, bed and bath....all are good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The last day before we checked out (check out time 12 noon), we came back to the room around 10:30 from a stroll in the park hot and sweaty, wanting to have a shower but found to our dismay that all towels had already been taken away!

    Good hotel in an excellent location, opposite People's park, with underground lines directly to train station and airports. The hotel has a nice 'old world' atmosphere. The staff were friendly. We booked a superior twin room but only realized when we got there that the room was facing an internal light well ( we were told all classic twin or superior twin only have windows facing light well or wall). We then decided to pay more to change to a 'room with view'. It was well worth the 100 yuan/per night extra, as the room on the fifth floor had beautiful view over the park and Shanghai skyline. The room was big and the beds were very comfortable. An excellent stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall is good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a little bit concern till I saw a mini cockroach ran out from bottom plate of the kettle when I was about to make myself a cup of coffee ... Wifi was unstable. Cannot browse a lot of sites and browsing slow some times.

    Room was great. Upgrading activities in-progress, should be getting better appearance soon. Location was fantastic as right next to the shopping mall and such near to metro station. No complaint.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    comfortable room in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was somehow not too friendly. There is no lift to the lobby from the ground level and no one to help with luggage. They did not change the bedsheets. The air-condition was loud and you can hear noises both from the outside and from the corridor so I do not recommend for the light sleepers. The shower curtain really should be changed.

    I like the spacious room and a huge and comfortable bed. I really had a good sleep there. The floor in the room was nicely carpeted. The bathroom had a big mirror and enough space to put cosmetics on the counter. The location of the hotel is very convenient, 3 metro lines have a stop just in front of it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    close to shopping area and subway - people park station exit...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    close to shopping area and subway - people park station exit 8 is just opposite to the hotel. Staff Polite but hope can improve the check in procedure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Avoid the the cheaper rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get low end rooms, it's beyond appalling. The carpet in the hallway and in the room is so dirty you can grow plants if you put a seed in it.

    Location next to the subway. Staff was pretty nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    The bed was really comfortable and the staff very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The water took a long time to empty from the shower and toilet and although we reported the problem it was not fixed. The other point was the cost of coffee and drinks at the little bar/coffee shop in the foyer, we had two coffees, two pieces of cake a beer and a soft drink and it cost $72.00! It did put us off eating there.

    The bed was really comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. The location was great and the air conditioning worked very well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Pictures and rating is way better than reality!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested non-smoking and upper floor. View from the window was against the wall (see attached picture). Air in the room was not fresh - it was humid with some flavor of history. PS The Google Maps location link provided by Booking is around 1km in wrong place (shows Xinchang Rd which is incorrect).

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was not included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the price. I've stayed in several hotels in China and this is the first one that did not include breakfast. Other than that, everything was fine. The bed was especially comfortable by Chinese standards (which are usually quite stiff). The location of the hotel could not be better. Lots of great restaurants, shopping centers, museums, subway lines, and places of interest within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent and most of the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although they are in the process of renovating some of the rooms are very old and has a musty smell. We had to request a change of room which they agreed to.

    Location was excellent and most of the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Overcharged by hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Money was taken off our card before we arrived for one night. On the day we left they said we we still had to pay for 2 nights because bookings.com had taken money back. When we looked in our bank no money has been put pack in our account and a month later still hasnt.

    Location good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    Location is good, near to metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally was unhappy with my stay 5 night in this hotel, staff was rude, room dirty, their staffs smoking in the building at 5th floor near to the lift even " no smoking " sign is clearly displayed anyway.... Will never come here again

    Location is good, near to metro station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.3
    Worst hotel in shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel in Shanghai. 1. Old building with bad odour smell from corner to corner 2. Worst customer service. 3. Ecpensive. Price in booking and actual price differs

    Just location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Location is GREAT but service was very Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs werent nice at all. When we checked in we got complain how our luggage was heavy and many in mandarine language fortunately I understand them. What do you expect when you travel with a baby and you just came back from exhibition. I also asked for extra blanket and they said no not possible and it was back and forth from receptionist to housekeeping. Which I think it was ridiculous went to many four and five stars hotel it was never a problem. They dont speak english so it was hard to communicate. Carpet on the floor is extremely dirty. When me and my son sit on the carpet floor we got rashes instantly on our skin.

    The location was great. That is the only good things on this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Is is very convenient near to line 2, two stop from the bund...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I make a reservation for two adult and one kid, but when we was near to our trip I check my reservation and I saw the price was cheap, so I cancel it and I make a new reservation with the new price, when we arrive to the hotel they said I make a reservation for Just one person and I NEVER do it, so they charge 200 Yuan more. I was tired was late and I lost my telephone so can’t know my next hotel, so we decide to book the last monte there for couple days more. The price they charge us was higher. So wasn’t a good experience for us when just arrive China.

    Is is very convenient near to line 2, two stop from the bund, very easy to go all around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is great, close to metro and east nanjing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too much stairs to get into the lobby and if you are in the new building there is no elevator.

    The location is great, close to metro and east nanjing pedestrian road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu is not diverse, the food offered is mostly a selection of Chinese dishes. The menu would benefit from the addition of some western food, to ensure they cater for all their guests.

    The staff were friendly and the rooms comfortable but a little tired. The style is Art Deco, which is lovely and gives the Hotel some opulence however, the colour scheme is a little dowdy and a little overbearing. The location is excellent, People's park both the park and the metro station are across the road, twenty minutes walk to the Museum and about the same to the Bund. I would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Old mansion style hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift for some of the staircases. It is a little musty smelling but it is also a beautiful old buildings so that goes with the territory. Laundry was expensive.

    Very close to station, and peoples square, beautiful old bar open until 2am. 1920's decor style. Helpful staff. Can walk to sights and shopping including the bund. Restaurants in hotel but we didnt have time to try them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.8
    Very close to metro station 'People's square'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outdated hotel, with very very thin walls so you could hear everything (neighbouring rooms, hallway ...), extreme high deposit (higher than our total hotel bill ...), not wel equipped bathroom ... needs a thorough make-over to meet modern traveller's needs

    Very close to metro station 'People's square' which was convenient to explore the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location ; Small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are old and room is too small.

    More than 100 years Italian designed hotel. Strategic location, walking distance to one of the major metro hub i.e. People's Park and Nanjing Pedestrian Street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Nothing in particular. I love staying in China.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I can speak Chinese, our family ( including a five year old) had a great realationship with the concierge and doormen. The location was fabulous. Great tiny restaurants catering to locals on the nearest side street- Hubei Lu. Convenience stores nearby. Metro station across the street. Right on Nanjing road pedestrian shopping street. 3-4 minutes walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    Bad experiencd
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning ladies cleaning rooms in the morning, yelling throughout the corridor, they wake you up. Even when asked to keep it down they do it eqrly morning late night, no regard for the guests. Breakfast is not that great, tongues for food felt on a floor, nooone changes them. Way to overpriced for what you get. Pillow cases had holes in them, sheets had stains even after changing them. All in all, very bad experience. Response rate before the trip was non existant, they charge you before you come to Hotel a security deposit to make sure you will come then they put a hold a deposit on your card and at the end of the trip instead of charging the bill from those 2 deposits, you pay again so money is stuck on hold kn your card for over a month. Bad experience.

    Just good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Right across people’s park metro station, at exit 8!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loud noise at the park but ended around 10pm.... if it rain, the musician will leave early as well....

    Right across people’s park metro station, at exit 8!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    free upgrade to room and recommendation to airport transfer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room is at other part of building and need to carry my luggage down the flight of stairs. Entrance is up a flight of stairs without lift to lobby

    free upgrade to room and recommendation to airport transfer which is cheap. location too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Good and safe stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff in the reception area were focused on processing my paperwork and were not that welcoming. One male front desk person seemed nice, but was brief. It was a mystery that the light above the bar area near the door to my room never turned off. There was no switch to turn it off! Even withdrawing the room key card did not help. (I thought it might be considered a night light, though the actual night light was located near the bathroom and it had an off/on switch.)

    The bed was comfortably cozy with the thick but light duvet cover. The room felt safe and it had a nice, clean bathroom. The housekeeping staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a great location, right across the street from the People's Square metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    The room and the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old look, carpets, the weird smell in the hallway... no elevator to my room. I had to carry my suitcase and there were quite few stairs.

    The room and the bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Travelling in old times in the heart of Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit stuffy. Breakfast is a bit basic

    Ideally located on People's Square, kept in its original state, Pacific Hotel will carry you many years back. Enjoy the original wood-panelled rooms and corridors, breakfast over People's Square, East Nanjing Lu is just a few steps away, three metro lines at your doorstep... Don't expect the many amenities in one of the brand-new hotels in Shanghai, but this is part of Pacific Hotel's quaint charm!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    The bell boy say Is history 92 year old and nice design...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is in upper floor and need to carry the luggage from the staircase

    The bell boy say Is history 92 year old and nice design building saw it the reception counter is make by Italy Mable and design

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Adequate accommodation thats situated right near metro line 2 to the major airports.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room on West Nanjing Street, ovelrooking Peoples Square - there was a cacaphony of musical sounds very lous until 10.30pm or so, which began again before 8 am. I suggest asking for a room on the other side of the hotel, in the newer wing.

    Bed was comfortable, room size very good. Hotel building itself a historical gem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.0
    Nice old style hotel but well refurbished .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first floor with no elevator only stairway!!

    Nice old style hotel but well refurbished . Position is Great and service is getting better ... compared to the last time I stayed there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each floor has a sub-floor only accessible by stairs. Amd there is a nother stairs before the entrance. A bit inconveient if you have big luggage.

    Good location. Few steps away from walking shopping street. Room is big and bed is comfortable. Fast checkin checkout process

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a standard room on the third floor. It was a pain to carry my luggage up the stairs to my room, as the lift doesn't service this floor, and there was no offer of help.

    The Hotel is full of Art Deco style, the main rooms are a treat!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, poor staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception desk you can hardly communicate in English although most of guests are foreigners. After 3 days of my 6-days-stay my room was locked by the staff and it took over an hour to solve the problem caused by one of reception girl. Despite perfect location I guess I’ll not come back again.

    Excellent location just opposite People Square Metro Station. Very good cleaning service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Front desk staff is good and experience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room telephone not working, so i asked to change the room and the house-keeping staff minus the water bottle and towel i used from my new room instead of replacing the new ones from the store. Forget to replace my towel after house-keeping.

    proximity to shopping and subway. clean and well maintained

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    The stay was okay, communication somewhat of a problem.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cigarette smell throughout the hotel. Restaurant unable to serve cold beer

    The bed was comfortable. Room cleaner did good job. The lifts were excellent. Reception was helpful. Good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    The location is great-- near the main street of Shanghai and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't remember. We were in a lot of hotels!

    The location is great-- near the main street of Shanghai and People's Park and subway and bus lines. Watch for groups dancing and exercising across the way from the hotel. We also liked the historic, that is, early 20th century, tone of the hotel and their exhibit of historic photos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    The position is perfect, just in front of People’s square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was also “old”, like the entire hotel anyway. The staff has limited knowledge of English language so sometimes it gets hard to make them understand you.

    The position is perfect, just in front of People’s square. The room I had was also really big and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Cant rest well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Very very noisy.. noise came from electrical repair work for room next door on first day and a few hotel staffs having conversation very loudly right outside my room in the morning. The next few mornings, there were loud hacking and knocking to another room next door. I was awakening by loud knocking and scrapping sound to the wall of my bedhead and Its was extremely uncomfortable to rest. . I was told they are replacing the wall paper next door. The slamming of doors is also extrememly disturbing especially during the night. Basically, the hotel is not sound proof at all.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, safe and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a flight of stairs from street level to the main building entrance cos this is a colonial era designed building so u may need to carry suitcases up. But when i check out, the staff offered to carry for us. No issues. Some users say they ve problems with taxis. No such issues for me too cos plenty of taxis across the street and infront.

    The beds were clean and very comfortable. Soft fluffy pillows. Location is fantastic. Subway directly opposite. 1 stop to The Bund, Yuyuan Gardens and 2 stops to Pearl Tower. 5 min walk to the most famous shopping street in China and Madam Tussard / shopping complex next door. Breakfast was good too with variety. But better to go out and try the local street foods just a short walk away at Nanjing Road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    People next to my room smoked cigarettes heavily.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People next to my room smoked cigarettes heavily. It was not allowed. I immediately informed The Hotel Management that Could not do enough to stop this and for the first 2 days I had to smell some cigarettes smoke in my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.8
    Moist, uncomfortable, and not recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely do not stay here for business. If you are backpacking and looking for a lower cost option, then this could work for you. It was damp, warm, there were gnats, and we all felt itchy. The elevators were tiny, the hallways smelled of urine and smoke. We stayed for one night, as it was too late to leave that night, and then left in the morning for a much nicer place (Marriott Renaissance Yu Garden, which was A+).

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Ideally placed hotel with 1920s flair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no view. However, I took a cheap room, so I was given one at the back of the hotel....

    The Jin Jiang Pacific Hotel is ideally situated opposite the People's Square and just a 15 minute walk to the Bund. Staff are extremely helpful and efficient and the room was very ckean. It is a great way to start your trip in Shanghai due to the 1920s opulence of the hotel itself!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    A good neighborhood, but difficult to understand the payment options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not made clear by the hotel or booking.com that a “credit card check” would take place prior to arriving. According to Booking.com the hotel was going to charge a prepayment for the first night. This was not the case. The hotel charged roughly a one night stay prior to my arrival (as a check to make sure my credit card was valid) only to arrive to pay for the two nights PLUS another deposit. So roughly we paid twice as much as we should have and it was not clear as to why they didn’t take the prepayment of one night as half of the payment. When you check out they give the deposit back by canceling the original payment. It’s still unclear about the “prepayment” that was paid. I’m just waiting for my bank account to show if it was returned or canceled. I would pay in cash next time to be more clear. Also, for one of the nights we stayed, due to something in the neighborhood or hotel, the water supply was temporarily stopped. It would have been nice to know this before arriving so we could have made other arrangements or the hotel could have given discounts.

    The room was a nice size and the beds were comfortable. Free complimentary water bottles given daily was nice, and the bathroom facilities were nice. The hotel had different outlets (American and South Korean plugs were available along with Chinese plugs). Easy access to the subway station and a lot of shopping close by. A great value for the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.8
    PATHETIC is the short sentence to sum up my stay at this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything right from arrival, on the road, you are with your bag and baggage, climb the stair case to the reception, check in, again climb two more stair cases to reach your room on the 3rd floor. if you are given 3rd floor, don't check in, ask first. Location may be great, just bang opposite to people square park, but getting a taxi, it's hell man, stay away

    i rate this hotel very poor, because despite booking for 5 nights, they put me on 3rd floor and i had to walk carrying my bag and baggage, right from the road to reception area and then to my room. it was a physical torture, everything else was pathetic, what they need is just money, location may be close to the Metro subway stations, but for a taxi there are three more hotels ahead of this hotel, so most of the taxis are taken by those guests and you everytime have to wait for long to get a taxi or get disappointed without getting a taxi. Breakfast, no much options for veggies, it was literally pathetic. Never again to this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    Not godd at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was near People park that music by un-skilled people started from 6 o'clock in the morning until 12 PM with a lot of noise . Meanwhile there was no air condition and you face noise problem if open the windows.

    I did like because it was located close to subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.5
    Location is okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room needs to be modernized, irritating noice from the television and floor was not clean.

    Location is okay. Near to People's Square and shopping streets

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall it’s a hotel I would recommend for first time traveler, good price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smells of cigarettes even when we booked a non smoking room. The staff acknowledged it but did nothing

    Excellent location, directly across from people’s station exit 6, 5 minutes walk to pedestrian street. We’re also able to check in early and check out late which is a plus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Good room, safe feeling there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out was rather difficult, many people dealing with me, one taking passports, one thrusting paper telling me to sign, another demanding deposit, one taking my luggage. All getting confused with each other and talking at each other rather than me.

    The room was clean, comfy and felt very safe in there. Very good location to the shopping strip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Location is very nice, across people's park and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs on hotel entrance, windows are useless, looking inside the building, everything inside the room is a bit old and dusty, wifi could be faster

    Location is very nice, across people's park and close to Nanjing Road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    All is fine
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is fine just need to be reconstructed

    The hotel has perfect location,its in the heart of the city ,its near the bus station where is stop for tour bus ,you can try use the tours. The hotel is itself little bit antique))) but nice Near is exchange place next to the bank ,metro is just in front the line 2 takes you to airports

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good location close from people square and metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs some refresh, but has to keep it's old fashion style

    Very good location close from people square and metro entrance. Classic design for the rooms relevant with the 1930s style of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, easily acess everywhere with metro trains, a lot of eating options around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no ramps from street to to lobby, could be a bit hard for aged people with big luggage. There is no lift access the rooms in the back building

    Super convenient location, comfortable big size king bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location next to metro and places of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tap not working. Told the front desk to send service man but still unable to fix. Very old hotel and not well maintain. No lift from the main entrance to the reception

    Good location next to metro and places of interest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Just location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I,ve never seen such a rude staff or may be it was rule of manager anyway I suggest them to learn politeness and respect, speacially to elder parents...

    Just location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    DO NOT STAY HERE. Save your money and stay at one of the many better hotels in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -The front desk staff is HORRIBLE! They are a good enough reason make me want to change to a different hotel in the middle of my stay. They are rude and make no attempt to be helpful at all. I noticed in every interaction with them that no EVER smiled. During one of our first interactions with a man working at the front, we wanted to rent an extra bed for our room, he rolled his eyes at me and gave a disgusted look on his face because he couldn't understand what I was saying. In the end, they ended up charging us TWICE for the extra bed... and no refund was given. -MOLD in the hallways. Right when you get off the elevator, you can see big formations of mold running down the halls. -DO NOT STAY HERE. The staff will infuriate you. And the extra bed? It was a 4 inch foam pad on top of a metal rollaway.

    The location is great! You're right on W Nanjing Rd and across the street from Pedestrian St (which is where all the bright lights and tourist gift shops are, beautiful area). Also about a mile from The Bund.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic trip to Shanghai. The best location hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I’ve stayed at many hotels and there is always something you can think of. So we shall say nothing really stood out to complain about.

    Great place right by the park. Just a short walk to the Bund and shops. Lots of local dancing and music across in the park in the evening and right next to the Metro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.6
    Could have been so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On booking.com it said that there was a sauna and this was not true. I got a weird look from the manager and told that saunas have been closed down, as well as massage places. He then gave me a weird look.

    Location and that it was a neo-classical hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    nice stay, bit expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't expect the cost to be so high when checking out.. Could have got a much nicer hotel for just a little bit more...

    It was clean and quiet. The location was good..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    3.8
    Do not book this!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Service is terrible, fees are not explained properly - The employees do not speak English - Deposit is not fixed, it is just made up - I asked how much deposit was and they said 9000 RMB for 2 rooms, 4 nights, asked why so high and they did not know how to explain. After being stressed about it, they calculated the cost per night and added 500 RMB more which totaled about 4700 RMB but they said, let’s just leave it at 5000 RMB (deposit is just a whatever number) - Told them the room was falling apart and answered that’s the room i booked (standard room means falling apart room) - They never vacuum the rooms, I got sick from so much dust - They never greet - Truly a bad experience

    The only good about the hotel was the LOCATION!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    3.8
    Don’t book this just because is cheaper than hotels in the area, you will not have a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - TRULY BAD SERVICE - DISGUSTING ROOMS - ASKED FOR A NEW ROOM BECAUSE MINE WAS FALLING APART AND THEY SAID THATS THE ROOM I BOOKED (STANDARD ROOM MEANS OLD AND SMALL ROOM AT THIS HOTEL) - DEPOSIT IS JUST A RANDOM COST THEY DECIDE TO CHARGE YOU THAT DAY. - THE ROOMS ARE CLEANED IN 2 MINUTES - THEY NEVER USED THE VACUUM

    Only the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    3.3
    Good if it's sale price, you're young and like wealthy shopping district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One cup of coffee and one cup of tea totaled $16.00 USD. Only four lunch options in restaurant, little Chinese. On arrival, hotel exterior was not lit at all and my elderly husband had to try managing suitcases down 2 flights of stairs outside hotel in freezing cold snowy weather because bellhop was asleep at his desk and concierge did not awaken him to help until I insisted. Poor way to welcome, to say least.

    Liked hotel's historical value and small museum. Lovely vanity extras. Helpful staff regarding taxis. Near wealthy shopping district, if you like that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Rooms were comfortable and the location is excellent, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very unfriendly, often the front desk was unmanned with staff in a back room chatting. The room was also a little dark since the window was right next to a large building that blocked most of the light.

    Rooms were comfortable and the location is excellent, very close to people's square station and nanjing rd

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    We were put into rooms facing renovations work, with noise from 9am to 6pm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel 1 month ago. This is our second time staying here. We specifically requested quiet room at higher floor. To our disappointment, the Hotel seemed to ignore our request. There was renovations work at the hotel from Level 3 to 5 during our stay. Despite our prior request and protest during stay, the Hotel still put us in Level 3. We were shaken by the sharp, strong drilling sound in the morning, and “entertained”by the free music from the ground floor karaoke at night!!! We insisted for a change of room the next day, then the Hotel said all rooms were occupied and could only move us to Level 5, which most rooms along our corridor were still under renovations. Our experience during this stay is not pleasant at all.

    Good location. Just next to Nanjing Pedestrian St. People’s Sq Metro station is just opposite the hotel, easy to go everywhere by Metro

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    If you are looking for a hotel in the city center you can stay the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was smelling and there was no view from Windows of the room.

    Location is perfect. Metro station is very near. You can use metro to anywhere in Shanghai.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad condition rooms, showed picture on booking.com is different n real different, when we complain they said they have this room only n it's error from booking.com Carpet was full of stain bathroom not as they showed in pics n we don't have option to switch hotel as we were too tired n it was 9pm when we checked in hotel

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.8
    A éviter à tout prix !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Almost everything: the staff laughing when I said internet was not working, the rooms facing the in-front building wall, the breakfast ay $12USD with poor choice, the cleanliness of the hotel, AWFUL!

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: