Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jin Jiang Park Hotel

170 Nanjing Road West, Huangpu, 200003 Shanghai, China

#279 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and adequate, but I believe it was over-priced for the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the price was a little high for an old hotel like this. It needs to be modernized to include walk-in showers. The minimum size beds should be Doubles. Twins are too small for the price. The hotel should include a continental breakfast free to patrons. A more robust breakfast could be served for additional pay.

    I liked the centrality of the location in People's Square. So convenient for travelling around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.6
    Very cooperative staff ,speaks English ,I had a non...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned ,highly priced ,mentioned park Hotel instead of jinjiang Park Hotel so was confusing

    Very cooperative staff ,speaks English ,I had a non refundable booking but they cancelled it with very little charge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.2
    Depressing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is aimed at Chinese only. The breakfast was terrible. Staff avoided speaking to English-speaking guests wherever possible. Was shouted at in Chinese at one point by one of the doormen for no apparent reason, little respect for guests. Although room was comfortable enough, there is a dingy feel to the building both inside and outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Lovely building but bare bones service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jin Jiang Group is state owned. They don't have a clue about international levels of hotel service so don't expect too much from the staff.

    Beautiful old Shanghai hotel in a great part of town. Large, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    To stay in a historical landmark is great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and furnishing are a bit old.

    This is a historical hotel and should not expect real modern feeling. Very convenient and walking distance to shopping on NNking E Road. Starbucks is right there. Plenty local restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Great stay in a great hotel and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any.

    Convenience for children to play at Mall next to hotel. Starbucks is right in the mall. Very children friendly. Great Buffett. Walk to lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    Great Location, but with noisy street performers
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was in a room facing the front of the hotel, there are so many street performers on the other side of the street it gets really noisy, especially since the windows aren`t double glazing. The performers only stop after midnight, which can make it quite difficult to sleep, especially if you have an early morning the next day. Also, I wouldn`t call what they have a "business centre"

    Good location, comfy bed, and an awesomely strong shower!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.4
    No english speaking in the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not value for money. People in the reception don't speak English. Not courtesy. My friend in Shanghai called the hotel and asked to connect to my room. They said no one in the room when i was chatting with him on whatsup

    Very close to Nanjing street

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Great location and value for money around the new years eve period
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The safe in my room didn't work so well. But other than that, a very comfy stay.

    Super comfy bed and a fantastic location! Very short walking distance to Nanjing Rd and only 20 minutes to the bund. Metro access right outside the door.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Great location for subway, Nanjing Road, and The Bund!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Making the reservation was the only part of my booking/stay that was extremely frustrating... When I originally made our reservation we booked with a "pay at the hotel option" but decided to change it so that we could have the reservation charged in full prior to our arrival. We didn't want to have any problems with our credit cards being we were from another country. I sent the hotel many emails asking to please charge the card and after very rough communication and being told many times my card is declined, we found that they don't accept debit cards. We finally figured that out 2 days before our arrival and had to have our employer put her card on file with booking.com and we gave the hotel card info as well. Again, room was never charged in full so we ended up having issues upon our arrival because the credit card was not under our names...

    There were more things I loved than what I found frustrating. 1.) Its about 45 minutes from Pu Dong airport via taxi/private car (we got a private car from airport that cost 700RMB = $102 USD) 2.) The hotel is right across the street from People's Square Station 3.) The breakfast buffet was good, it had enough to fill your belly to get through a long day on 1 big meal (88 RMB = $13 USD) 4.) When you exit the hotel and walk to the left, there is a Starbucks, Wax Museum, and Shopping Mall with a food court on the Basement level (most of their malls have this so be sure to stop in!) 5.) When you walk out of hotel and exit left, it takes you straight on to Nanjing Road and The Bund at the end of the road! This was the highlight of our stay. 6.) When you see the Bund, be sure to check out the tunnel and some of the quirky amusement they have inside(3D trick museum, etc) 7.) We stayed in room 511 and the view wasn't great but it was good enough. 8.) Shanghai Disney was about 45 minutes away by taxi and cost around 145 RMB ($21). If you can plan ahead, take a train, its cheaper and if you get motion sickness, you wont feel sick from the drive there!!! 9.) The concierge, housekeeping, and doorman were extremely sweet, I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.7
    Park Hotel review
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly

    Very convenient location which near to New World Mall, BuXinJie. And subway station right opposite of hotel. Easier to get food surrounding too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff's ability to communicate in English is not as good as some of the other hotels we stayed in during our trip to China. But hey, I don't speak any Chinese either! No other complaints.

    Amazing breakfast choices -- Chinese and Western both had great variety. Historic hotel which has furniture that represents its heyday. Bed was comfortable. Updated bathrooms. We loved staying in this hotel and would stay again if we ever return to Shanghai. Local is across from People's Square, with the Metro right there and within walking distance of the bund along the shopping street Nanjing Rd.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Changed my impression of Taipei to a very positive one.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet is a bit pricy for us who do t eat a big meal.

    Very pleasant experience. Away from the noise of the city, yet with a good view! The free hotel shuttle to the subway is a very efficient way to get in and out of the city. We loved it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra hotel service fee is way too high. That fee was not explained when booking. And no explanation when asked.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.5
    Business traveler, not really a great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very old and undermaintained property

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very stylish and kept a lot of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stylish and kept a lot of history. Restaurant is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad view ,overpriced, depressing room

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    No answers to my emails from the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No answers to my emails from the hotel. Poor English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    The currency I have paid is GBP.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The currency I have paid is GBP. The price is actually £100 more than booking.com told me when I booked this room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.4
    schabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud, old smelling, people smoke in the corridor

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    will back ,home bath tub water drain fixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath tub water drain has problem

    surround breakfast good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options more clear

    Comfy beds! Great restaurant, nice massage!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had nothing to complain. TV could've been bigger.

    Its location is great, just a few minutes walk from the Shanghai time square.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    3.8
    Worst experience ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very rude and not cooperative .Worst experience in China and all around the world ever.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and washrooms are too small. There is no option for Smoking rooms.

    Overall the facilities were good. Staff was decent and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.9
    Location, staff are welcoming and considerate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The horrible smell in from the sewer. Staff were trying to help and offered change of room. It seems every room has the same issue.

    Location, staff are welcoming and considerate.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    8.3
    Loved the location and staff, convenient and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The sewage system did not work well. The second day, the bathroom smelled terrible. If you wanted to take the shower in the moring, you had to let the water run five minutes before hot water came out. This hotel should penalize smokers in non-smokling areas, including the lobby and the elevator. A fine of two hundred yuan would work.

    Loved the location and staff, convenient and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    6.3
    Location, original architecture and interior design.
    • Couple

    Unpleasant smells. Carpets look old, maybe mildewed. Hotel could be first class if old carpets were removed. Perhaps bedrooms, could have area rugs and hallways could have runners. These could be removed for thorough cleaning. Housekeeping sprayed strong perfume to cover smells, which was irritating, especially in front of main elevator.

    Location, original architecture and interior design. I stayed here in 2004, enjoyed it then. Now, Major features worked (plumbing ). Exercise facilities and amenities adequate. Housekeepers kept rooms as clean as possible ...see note about carpet. Would have been comfortable if unpleasant odors were eliminated.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location for Peoples Park Metro, nice old hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff did not understand english and it did present some problems with directions.

    Excellent location for Peoples Park Metro, nice old hotel with charm and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    5.8
    staff were helpful, especially housekeeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unpleasant smells..staff sprayed perfume in front of elevator...corridor carpets looked,dirty, smelled mildewed, bedroom carpet old, dusty. During my last stay here about ten years ago, I did not note this problem.

    staff were helpful, especially housekeeping. Bathroom and tile floors were very clean. 1930s decor preserved, charming. Close to Shanghai museum, luxury stores, subway.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    3.3
    Great location if your travel aims to get to know the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All China its a little bit un-updated regarding smoking and sanity policies. Smoking in the room its allowed and if you are staying in a non smoking floor, they wouldn't control it anyway, so the entire building smells like cigarette. The facilities are old, like 20 year old. They use carpet on the floors in the entire hotel so it doesn't cooperate very much with the cigarette issue.

    Great location if your travel aims to get to know the city. All the mayor subway lines are closer and the number two gets you to Pudong Int and Hongqiao Int and it goes just below the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    5.0
    The location of the hotel is ideal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I felt that the rooms needed modernized and could have been cleaner. Also staff not always very helpful and had my room opposite the spa and found staff were very noisy.

    The location of the hotel is ideal

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    4.6
    The location was Good, just across from people square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom had a really rotten smell. Asked the concierge for a taxi, and he couldn't help me at all. Rooms didn't come with amenities, you have to pay 46RMB for it. The water in the room is very expensive 30RMB. At night there are some weird men (pimps) just in front of the hotel soliciting people. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families.

    The location was Good, just across from people square station.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    4.2
    The only good points of this hotel were the very central...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not helpful and the hotel was not very clean. Too expensive for the quality of the hotel.

    The only good points of this hotel were the very central location and the history of the building.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    Perfect location/great housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    More knowledgeable, better english speaking reception staff

    Perfect location/great housekeeping

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.8
    Great shower, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The furniture and decor is a little tired.

    Great shower, comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful. Best thing is the excellent location!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.1
    Excellent location , clean room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Some time there's a Bad smell after useing bathroom

    Excellent location , clean room

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.3
    Very close to People's square subway station and connect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very close to People's square subway station and connect to Nanjing east (shopping street) about 5 mins walk.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent staff,place
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Excellent staff,place

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    7.1
    the place which so close to subway station and city center.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    so much noise inside room because of trafick and other rooms walls are so thin

    the place which so close to subway station and city center.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    5.8
    The location of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If the breakfast could start earlier (such as from 6:00am), it would be convenient.

    The location of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    8.3
    Opulent and elegant the rooms were decorated in the style...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Opulent and elegant the rooms were decorated in the style befitting the original design luxurious and comfortable .

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.9
    Stylish, classy, landmark, location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    little worn (understandable the building is from 1930s, but little maintenance won't hurt)

    Stylish, classy, landmark, location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    History and bakery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ran out of hot water in the middle of shower in the morning

    History and bakery

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Take the suit option

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    old

    location

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    8.8
    The location was great for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was great for the price.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    3.3
    Famous building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room dirty, broken chair, running the gauntlet of at the front door

    Famous building

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    4.6
    The hotel is old and not clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is old and not clean

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: