Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jin Jiang Pine City Hotel

No.8 Dong An Road, Xuhui, 200032 Shanghai, China

#140 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    unfortunately unpleasant experience due to loud renovation work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    currently ongoing renovation activities resulted in an unpleasant wake-up at 9am on Sunday morning due to loud drilling exactly above our room. the hotel did not seem to be under full occupancy and I can not understand why they could have not located us further away from the drilling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean room, nice furnishing, high ceiling, and tasty design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold and unhelpful doormen and only one sofa for guests to sit in a huge lobby. Very dusty outdoor surfaces including the walkways, walls and glass windows. No coffee and coffee maker in the room, although there are tea bags and kettle for tea drinkers.

    Clean room, nice furnishing, high ceiling, and tasty design. It gives a high scale hotel impression with marble floor, stone vanity and wood furniture in good condition. It offers a quiet environment for you to rest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointed with the stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The hotel staff just told there was no booking in my name though i had clear booking done from Booking.com no amount of convincing helped me 2. Rooms were stinking 3. Internet was poor 4. Very poor gym 5. Poor choice in Breakfast

    Rooms are big...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I mentioned, the size of the rooms.

    This hotel is just next to the metro station Zhaojiabang Road, so very convenient for getting around in Shanghai. Room was nice, but not very large. Breakfast is not included, but the price is acceptable and food is good. (As usual in China there is not much variety of western stuff) Nice walk to Xujiahui via Xujiahui park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    I'm cann't sleep at night . Because sometime very noise .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Near the Subway

    This PINE CITY HOTEL housekeeping DEPT: is so bad .Because I stay at 5 nights at Hotel one day for RMB 665. In 2nd day I throw in the rubbish bin. But next day they didn't take away from room. Do you know what are they doing ? They put on the table my own rubbish . They mean , You rubbish you throw yourself like this . Hey,Guys .... I already give service charge also .That day I can complaint to Hotel Manager . But, I didn't do that.So, Next time If I have to plan to travel to Shanghai ; I never stay this Pinn City Hotel and I'm very disappointed your Booking Com also .Thanks !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Location ok and calm district only poor reception service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We check in at 8pm. 1st no welcoming, 2nd they didn't find my booking, 3rd I have to remind the staff to give me the room key. The staff was disorganized. Check out same : No welcoming, no thank you and didn't look in your eyes. Definitely not a 4 stars hotel more like a 2,5 stars in European rates. Of course if you dont mind about the reception bad service, I will say overall is ok but i wont come back.

    Near of the subway station, the housekeeping was warm welcoming and polite. Room is an old fashion design but bed mattress is comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    4.6
    Charged twice and refuse to refund
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me twice for the deposit. Refused to refund the second amount even though they clearly admitted could see it twice on my statement. Manager walked off half way through dealing with situation. Telling me to call my bank and sort it. I have stayed here many times. Never again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.3
    Very convenient for metro station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk staff was quite cold and not much friendly. Elevators are in common with offices in the building and therefore overcrowded in the morning

    Very convenient for metro station. With different lines you can reach any place easily. Large room typical Chinese style. Little overpriced for age and overall service. Breakfast not included is definitely too expensive! The housekeep at floor was extremely friendly and kind and room kept well clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    A good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in procedure was a little "challenging", however everything was resolved within 10 minutes. Otherwise, no problems.

    Good quality room, however not the most spacious or exciting. Slightly dated room facilities to include the bathroom, although perfectly acceptable. Excellent location and a minutes walk to (a) a Metro Station and (b) mini supermarkets.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was near a main road and directly at a meteo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the restroom was a bit older, but still fine. neutral: the furniture was old stile.

    The hotel was near a main road and directly at a meteo station. the entrance is on the backside. we first got a smoker room, then asked to switch to a non-smoker room. for some reason we then got a free upgrade to a higher class room :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    The location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction work around the clock

    The location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Please try to get the smoking smell rid off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking smell

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location, spacious room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Chinese standards, not so foreign/ocidental oriented. Wi-Fi was very unstable.

    Good location, spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good location close to subway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good location close to subway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slow room service

    Very good all round

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    The staff improved immensly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff improved immensly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    staff have to improve their attitude
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff have to improve their attitude

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    The location is great.
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Good Price Quality Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smell of the cigarettes in the room

    middle class hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym not open all the time

    Close to subway...overall good value

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    Room comfortable, very clean and well equipped. Had breakfast first morning but did not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    restaurant no

    clean and efficient room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    5.8
    Can't deny the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As is often the case in China, the hotel is trying to look the part, but doesn't manage it simply because the staff aren't particularly friendly, nor do they speak English well enough for most foreign guests. Also, the room was facing a very busy road, and the windows weren't thick enough to block out the noise. I'd say you're better off somewhere else for maybe 100rmb more

    Can't deny the location is good. Close to the French Concession and right by a central Metro stop. Rooms are also of a decent enough standard.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    7.5
    Location is perfect, only 30 seconds walking distance from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff service working in the lobby tea space was no good. He looked at us but NEVER came to our table for taking order. Finally I walked down to him after 5min we had seat.

    Location is perfect, only 30 seconds walking distance from the subway.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.3
    Very good location, right on the Metro exit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Despite the fact that my room was marked as "Non Smoking", there was a persistent smoke smell inside. Breakfast is poor and expensive.

    Very good location, right on the Metro exit

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice, quiet but not too big room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No real restaurants in the Hotel, but rather a cantina. No restaurants, Bars or supermarkets in the surrounding area. Nobody speaks English!!!

    Nice, quiet but not too big room.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast coffee always cold and stale Likewise, hot breakfast at luke warm temperature

    Location Friendly and helpful staff ambiance of front foyer

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.9
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Do not bother if you need wifi. The wifi is the slowest I have experienced in any country and granted that is when you can get on the internet. I was told the floor where the signal was highest was being remodeled. I also requested a non-smoking room and was put in a stale smoking room. When queried I was again told the only non-smoking rooms were the ones being remodeled. Unfortunate, because otherwise a nice hotel and good value for money.

    The location. The metro was literally outside the door. It is a nice, fairly quiet area. The hotel is fine for a three star by China standards. Fairly well sound-proofed walls for the typically loud Chinese.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    7.1
    The room was large and for the most part it was quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is my second stay at Pine City and was very disappointed this time. The WIFI was dreadful; I could neither upload or download because it was so slow and inconsistent. Also I requested a non-smoking room and there supposedly were no non-smoking rooms, so spent two nights in a room with very stale air.

    The room was large and for the most part it was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    5.8
    Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Bad internet, always disconnects, check in and out takea very long tims.

    Nice location. Very near to the Xijiahui and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    The closeness to MRT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The aircon was too hot. I had to open the window as outdoor is cooler

    The closeness to MRT

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast location not better than Earliar
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location is good

    Breakfast location not better than Earliar

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.9
    Good locations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good locations

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.5
    If you need a place near public transportation its perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not the most polite staff.

    If you need a place near public transportation its perfect. Metro line 7 station in the entrance of hotel. Rich breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.7
    Location and building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are poorly trained, unhelpful and rude.

    Location and building

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    Nice and convenience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and convenience

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.7
    That place looks so dashing from outside but rooms r old and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That place looks so dashing from outside but rooms r old and have a funny smell .not worth it for the amount of money which u pay .good location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    Location and condition in the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We have problem with the toilet, but after reclamation it was solved.

    Location and condition in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    9.2
    Subway station is infront of hotel,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    hotel building is little bit old. but it's no problem

    Subway station is infront of hotel, It links to other place simply.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    Room very spaciout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The deposit that was required 800 dollars for 6 nights

    Room very spaciout

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Wi Fi, Breakfast just about Ok, a bit expensive for the quality.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.6
    clean, friendly staff, location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very poor internet connection, food is very limited choice and quality

    clean, friendly staff, location

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: