Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jin Jiang Hotel

59 Maoming Road South., Huangpu, 200020 Shanghai, China

#125 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 399 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    The location was excellent, the staff were friendly however...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room liked tired and the stone floors were marked or stained.

    The location was excellent, the staff were friendly however I felt things were a little disorganised.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    The outstanding quiet surrounding in Shanghai.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The service level is averagly poor vs. other hotel chains: Slow service, poor english, if breakfast is decent, lunch and diners are only ''à la carte'' with limited food choice. You have to wait quite long for taxi (book ahead of your departure time). Price is not excessive, but not cheap anyway

    The outstanding quiet surrounding in Shanghai. This is unique. On top, you can open completely room windows. Where else do you get that in Shanghai? But book room with garden view Superb architectural environment with one of the best example of Art Deco in Shanghai. The area is lovely as well, with great options for walks in Old Shanghai stye streets. Nice, simple and goods restaurants around. Quiete large rooms. Good beddings. Not too many rooms in hotel. Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    I would stay here again on my next trip to Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is well located and close to everything you need - restaurants, shops, subway station, and walking distance to the french concession, Nanjing Rd and Huahai Rd. Incredibly convenient and accessible. The double room had very comfy bed and pillows and a spacious bathroom. The gym was small but had enough equipment to exercise and offset the abundance of food options you'll no doubt try.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Stay in an historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could have opened to the beautiful gardens. Sauna is not free of charge.

    The old Art Deco hotel is part of the history of shanghai. Elegant and timeless. Great view from the comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, pleasant rooms, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building needs some global renovation, but is still acceptable. Breakfast and business center is really overpriced

    Great location, pleasant rooms, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel deserves high ratings on nearly everything. I would use it again, no questions asked.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The concierge could have been more helpful, at least one of them. He was not efficient nor very nice. He represented the only negative part of our stay at the hotel.

    A lovely hotel located in a beautiful part of Shanghai. We were delighted with everything about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel - value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - good hotel and will stay there again - good value for money

    Good old fashion hotel - nicely managed and comfortable rooms - good location and easy access to subway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    I could check in earlier than officialy possible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No terras or place to sit outside. Fot instance to relax, drink and smoke. As in all Shanghai people, and also the staff has difficulties speaking English

    I could check in earlier than officialy possible. They even booked a larger room the moment I checked in. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    I asked to book in early, 1:00.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked to book in early, 1:00. Got to the hotel at about 2:00. The room was not ready and I waited for over one hour for them to prepare it. There was confusion about the room rate, they could not find my reservation and charged me $40 more as a result. To add insult to injury they finally took me to a dark room facing a wall. They knew I was unhappy and changed it for a garden view which would have been standard at the higher rate. This is the third time I have said here in 7 weeks. There always is problems with the room not being prepared. Further, for those who are overly fastidious there are always rugs that are ripped and dirty, water damage in the bathrooms and just signs of wear and tear. The hotel is not up to the standard I would have hoped. That being said, the location and grounds are wonderful. Just wish they would be more efficient and up date what needs to be redone then the hotel would be world class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility of the north building is definitely newer than the South building which I lived in last time. Not sure how the condition is in the South building, could be outdated.

    Room was a fair size given the location of the hotel - one of the top business area and cultural district. I like the separation of the bathtub and the shower room in their washroom. Quite a few great restaurants are nearby for late-night food, very safe and convenient area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    Location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad staff, 30 min to write me the invoice ( reception guy told that european number and chinese number are different) and 1 hour to call a taxi ( taxi never come )

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Hands down THE best location in Shanghai, extremely central...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hands down THE best location in Shanghai, extremely central yet quiet. The building itself is very charming, built in the old Shanghai style with all the old world charm. The rooms, though nothing extravagant, were very comfortable and clean. My go-to spot in Shanghai.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Really disappointed. This hotel’s staffs behaviors destroyed my trip!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst 5 stars hote i have ever tried. Staffs dont speak English and the restaurant treated customers as beggar. Im so disappointed and will never be back this hotel!!!!!

    Good view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff not attentive. However, the selections were good. Checkin could be a little scatter. Room keys did not work when I got up to the room. But staff brought up another.

    Historic, convenient, very nice and staff spoke English. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom is nice and bath amenities were complete

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    I will definitely go back but will make sure the ventilation system is working in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air unit in our room was broken so we could not get any air circulation. We called the front desk but it was late in the evening when we returned to the room and they could not find anyone to fix it. Opening the windows was not an option since it is warm now and there would have been mosquitos. Also there must have been flooding in the bathroom and one of the door frames was totally rotted at the base. A bit off putting.

    The hotel is old but with that goes charm which is what I was seeking. The staff were bilingual and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Building architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room- Cathay Building
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast paid cash and then charged again on the bill Spa Lack of support to organize my requests for visits. Not friendly receptionists

    Building architecture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay - would happily stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temperature was a little difficult to manage even with a control on the wall. Temperature [for me at any rate] was a little too warm. Whilst the bathroom is very well appointed in white and dark marble, stranger than fiction the shower door is hung on the wrong side which creates some minor difficulties. The lack of a formal bar in a hotel of this quality seems somewhat strange

    The property is extremely well located on Maoming Road, which is arguably the Saville Row of Shanghai. The hotel itself is old world and VERY WELL presented. My room was excellent. Loiunge room room, bedroom, and good sized bathroom. There are 4 dining areas in the hotel. All are good. I had a lovely meal with friends at The Chinoise Story on the ground floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be better. Nice ambiance but the food quality a bit average considering the price.

    rooms are comfortable and clean, well furnished. Lobby and ambiance of the place is very nice. Service is polite and capable. The campus is quite special and the place has historical significance. The neighborhood is quite trendy and convenient for eating and shopping with a residential feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and amenities. Great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I had to complain, maybe the English level of the front desk staff could be better.

    I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and the bathroom and bathroom amenities at the Jin Jiang were the best I have ever found, from the top-class razor (usual hotel ones are terrible), to the fantastic mirrors to the blue light in the toilet bowl so you can find it at night without having to turn on the lights!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Years ago it was a great hotel in a great location, but now it's just a great location--too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room conditions are unacceptable with damages left unrepaired. Carpets old and worn and feel dirty. Also, the seasonal restrictions on heating and cooling prevent proper control of room temperature.

    Best location for environment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    very nice bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very poor front desk service. all the people could say to any questions was basically "no we cannot do". very disappointing. to this day for example i am still waiting for a copy of a simple invoice...

    very nice bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.6
    A bad stay in a supposedly good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For a hotel that is advertised and reviewed as 5-star, the service standards do not seem to match. Granted it was 6.30 am in the morning when I arrived, and not everyone is a morning-person at work. However, basic services should be expected. The concierge & security were not on hand to unload luggage or open the hotel door. The front desk did not come across as welcoming even though I was the only person checking in. The 2 ladies who served were disinterested. They were curt in answering queries on hotel rates. They seemed to expect guests to understand Mandarin. One walked away while the other stayed. She commented that my rate was slightly more expensive that day, and I should have booked directly on the hotel website for a cheaper rate. She stated flatly that my rate did not include breakfast and did not offer an alternative. She was not obliging when I asked if I could check in early. She finally agreed when I explained that I needed to rest after the overnight flight. On another morning, there was a supervisor dressed in a black suit whom I approached to ask about booking a taxi for my trip to the airport on check-out day. She glared and asked me what I was talking about. When she finally understood what I wanted, she waved me towards concierge and repeated my request loudly to the 2 gentlemen on duty. For my remaining stay, I decided only to use the room for rest and not use any of the hotel's services and amenities. I just did not feel welcomed at this hotel, and will not stay there again.

    The location is good. It is adjacent to the underground train station. At this station I could access Lines 1, 10 & 12. These lines go to most places of interest e.g. People's Square, Museum, Zoo, Library etc. The lady who cleaned my room was really on-task. Every morning, she was always up and ready by 9.30 am along the hotel room corridor with her trolley of towels and sheets, ready to clean up the room. The hotel is located in an up-market shopping district. There are many small good quality affordable eateries along the smaller roads and back alleys around the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    You never know, which of the three hotels you will get and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You never know, which of the three hotels you will get and it always seems a game of luck. All facilities are pretty old and not in very good shape.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Right in the city center and very convenient access to the metro system. Use to be the only luxury hotel of Shanghai for several decades. Facilities are little bit old compared to those new ones but very comfortable and the staff are all friendly and helpful. More importantly, the cost-performance is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location, directly on line 2 which connects to airport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property did not keep the reserved room until midnight as announced on the booking.com site, but claimed that they only keep rooms until 18:00. The only room left was noisy with a high pitched tinnitus type of sound and a water tank in front of the window.

    Good location, directly on line 2 which connects to airport Hongqiao and to the high-speed railway station. Subway station is very near. Bund is walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Good stay, great staff and service, BEST LOCATION IN SHANGHAI! Book north building, not south!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sadly I was put in the South Building which is the new building and it does not have the same charm as the North building where I stayed last time. Typical bad Chinese build quality of the building and room decor which is normal I guess for china but the North building is much nicer and with plenty of charm. So BE ADVISED this review is for the South building only and does not apply to the north building which is exceptional! Only bad thing as stated is the overall sad quality of the room decor and facilities of the south building.

    Staff are very friendly and know their stuff. Internet is very good. I did not get the breakfast as you have all that Shanghai has to offer for breakfast right outside the gate. I have travelled to Shanghai for over 10 years and lived there for 3 years. Ive always kept an apartment but not for a year now so this is the first visit i have stayed in a hotel since I first came here (that time I stayed at Jin Jiang but North Building) and there is no better location than Jin Jiang, I will definetley stay here again just for the location, however make sure to stay in the North Building. South Building stay is 7,5 review North Building would be 10/10 no doubt.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice modern hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within the same complex there are 2 or more hotels. Even the staff at the check in counter was not sure which hotel we were meant for and spent 10 mins searching the reservation and discussing internally. Though in the end we were given the rooms!

    Nice modern hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Very good location in the center of Shanghai, rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive for what it was; room service/ breakfast not included in the price. The personnel had many difficulties to understand simple request in english, and in general wasn't very smiling & courteous.

    Very good location in the center of Shanghai, rooms were really cosy and breakfast was awesome. Amenities were not less than it could be expected for such an expensive hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Quiet, if not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning in our room was broken. They sent someone to fix it right away, but after about 40 minutes, it still wasn't working properly, even though the maintenance guy said it was. The room ended up being hot and a bit stuffy - that last thing you want on a 42c Shanghai summer day.

    the location of the hotel is great. It's very close to the metro and some major shopping areas, but because it's on a side street and situated in its own grounds, the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The staff worked hard to help us, even if they weren't always very effective.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in a Great Neighborhood
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing is there are several buildings on the property and it's unclear which you're booking.

    I ended up staying in the north building this time. It's not clear which you're booking. It is higher end than the south building and very comfortable. The room is spacious and clean. I was very happy with it and would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was poor.

    Excellent location and very comfortable. I normally use the Jinjiang Tower, round the corner. This hotel was more comfortable, bigger room, and on this occasion price compared very well. Staff helpful with getting taxis etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Very Good, Overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's telephone operator could have provided better service. When I phoned to ask for Ctrip's phone number to confirm the purchase of a plane ticket, the young operator replied: "we don't provide such services" before hanging up the phone. (The correct customer service response should have been - please hold on while I locate the number for you - such should not be too much to ask for at Jian Jiang Hotel.) The more seasoned and experienced staff at the front desk as well as the concierege called my room after finding the number. Thank you.

    Whenever in Shanghai, I try to stay at the Jin Jiang Hotel, a destination of modern conveniences with old world charm at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    It's worthwhile for what You paid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's carpet has some dirty marks and toilet doesn't work when I move in.

    Good staff and great location. Room is comfortable. The lobby is decent and old-school.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Old Colonial hotel near the French Concession
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The concierge was not that helpful with taxis we had to walk to the main road when we needed one.

    The location is good and it is great to stay a place with the old colonial feel. the best rooms overlook the gardens. It feels like a quiet haven in the city with a big grass area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Subjective this one is!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room- Cathay Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Not sure if this is a booking.com issue or a general issue: when you book this hotel you are not told which building it is (there are a few hotel buildings within the vast compound). Be prepared to get lost a bit upon arrival. Frustrating if you have big/many luggage. More frustration if it rains! -Need better signage on the Cathay building guest floors; some rooms are really hard to find!

    +Location! Location! Location! +Very close to Cathay Cinema +Walking distance to: Uniqlo flagship mall, Muji flagship mall, iapm Mall, Parkson Mall, and everything else on the Huaihai Road shopping belt +Very good Tandoor Indian restaurant within the compound; go for the food but not the service (you have been warned!)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    I really like the fact that even though you are in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay extra for wifi (90RMB p/day)

    I really like the fact that even though you are in the middle of Shanghai the hotel premises is really quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.5
    Great Location in Shanghai can walk to many places and enjoy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the Air-conditioner is set and cannot be controlled it is too hot so have to turn it off and open the windows. The taxi is hard to get from hotel as it is set off the road had to wait 40mins for a taxi to go to airport.

    I love the location have stayed here for business 6 times now and would stay again just for the location and I feel safe

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.1
    Good overall stay with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell smoke at first entry, especially on the towels. Air conditioning is noisy when it is on.

    Location is very good. Room is spacious, comfortable and clean. All necessities are available (tea making, toothbrush, shaving, safer, etc.). Nice coffee room and restaurants within the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.5
    Great Location in Shanghai
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms air conditioning is not able to be changed it was too hot 23.5 degrees to sleep have to open window to get any relief Hotel cannot change.

    Love the location staff helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bellboy's service sucks. They are not helping at all. Just waiting for tips. They forgot what does it mean to be polite . Not friendly at all . Poor english at reception. It is more aimed for chinese guests . Very poor breakfast . More and more disappointing . Have to look for New place to stay in Shanghai

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in a nice area of Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't login to the internet

    Everything was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    STAFF DO NOT TALK ENGLISH!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel overall view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    A must stay place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies were in the room due broken window.

    Everything. Peaceful. Near to all things. Food,metro and shopping

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    nice trip ,nice room, and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is old style 5 star hotel which I know very well. The service is so good,and the room is great. Everything is comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    I like this very much and will come next time.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like this very much and will come next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. service likes three-star hotel

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    The room was great value for money and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more proficient in English

    The room was great value for money and very comfortable. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs are helpful, location is convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Stayed 6 days ,don't want more.
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect , the room is big

    Some local people staf are very nice and helpful,but the floor stafs is not profecinal trained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Location and ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Bed and bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Concierge

    Bed and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, very vlean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location ...easy access to city centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    great location and antique building in shanghai
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nice bathroom and spacious room was so comfortable for me

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    It has indian Restraunts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has indian Restraunts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.6
    Good location and surrounding
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working bathroom shower. Not working

    Good location and surrounding

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    It's situation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of staff

    It's situation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Location excellent for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks extortionate

    Location excellent for us. Staff helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room- Cathay Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Cleaness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff speaks poor English which changes the complete experience

    Cleaness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Location, Architecture, the History of the place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room- Cathay Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet too slow

    Location, Architecture, the History of the place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.8
    The concierge is helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except the consierge staff, none of the staff was helpful or friendly.

    The concierge is helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    too costly for services offered
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 8 nights

    too costly for services offered

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, comfy rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, comfy rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    Always great to return to the JinJiang
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free wifi. Excellent location. Nearby facilities. Access to Shanghai Metro.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    I always stay here - if meetings at Pudong other hotels maybe better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I dont eat breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    5.8
    Couldn't open windows and air-conditions on to warm that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't open windows and air-conditions on to warm that you couldn't change

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Good Luxurious Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should advise in booking whether south block or north block. It is cumbersome to walk with luggage from one block to another.

    Good Luxurious Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Good hotel with English speaking staff in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.9
    Nice in Shangai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too expensive, the rooms are old fashioned

    Location and value for money. Good to stay 1 or 2 night in Shangai

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.5
    Delay in checking out was very frustrating as teh taxi was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Cathay Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delay in checking out was very frustrating as teh taxi was waiting. No feed back as to the cause of the delay .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    8.3
    The level of comfort exceeded expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unaware that the hotel is a complex of three buildings. Arrived at Cathay Buildings hotel only to be told that our reservation was at the Cathay Garden hotel a golf buggy ride away.Not desirable after thirteen hours of travel.

    The level of comfort exceeded expectation.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.8
    Minibar is not stable for average guy like me in price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Minibar is not stable for average guy like me in price. The price of beer and other drinks were expensive, considering it was difucult to find shops to buy drinks around the hotel. I fainally founf a convenience store in twenty minuts away from the totel. Drinks in mini bar shoud be less expencive, that would not have made me walk to get beer.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    5.8
    Good location at the heart of French consession, with more...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Stayed one week. Rooms were never properly cleaned, or beds really made. Dusty, and crumbled sheets - not what you expect in a multi star hotel. In bathroom issues with flushing, and light. When booking through Booking.com is states that no deposit will be taken. Wrong. They do and a generous one at that.

    Good location at the heart of French consession, with more shops and upscale bars and restaurants around than you could wish for. Big rooms, good beds, great breakfast.

There are also 54 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: