Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jing An Hotel

370 Huashan Road, Jing'an, 200040 Shanghai, China

#345 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit expensive Breakfast not included ans also quite expensive so I didn’t try the breakfast Waiting time for check in was quite long

    Big rooms with colonial style in old building Very quite because not along road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unless you speak fluent chinese, don't stay in this hotel. If you do speak chinese, consider it a last resort. The staff have no concept of customer service, speak little-to-no english, and appear uninterested in helping with any problems you might have. The hotel itself is run down. It had a good reputation in the 80s, but doesn't look like it's been updated since - I thought it was a hostel when we walked in. No staff were visible whenever we entered or left the hotel so it felt like anyone could walk in off the street. The main entrance also feels like a back entrance, and the business center is an empty room. Our hotel room was clean, but furnishings were dated. The bed was rock hard - it felt like there was no matress, just a base. There was exposed wiring on some of the fixtures. We had problems with our reservation - see below - and even armed with two fluent chinese speakers, it took us an exhausting hour and a half to get staff to correct their mistake. They were rude and aggressive throughout. They should not be in the hotel business. More detail: We originally booked three nights, but had to cancel the first night. Booking.com communicated this to the hotel five weeks in advance. We also emailed them directly to be safe, and had a chinese friend who lives near the hotel call them twice. We arrived on Friday evening accompanied by a chinese-american friend we were traveling with, let's call her Sue. We quickly realized the sole person on duty had no english so Sue took over. The concierge said he couldn't find our reservation. After some questioning, he clarified that our reservation had been cancelled because we did not show up on Thursday. Sue explained that this change was communicated a month in advance, that their staff messed up, but he didn't believe us. He asked for email evidence, which we showed him, but he couldn't read english.

    Checking out.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking fee for one night was initially 120 Rmb, after discussion and getting room rate discount, it was reduced to 50 Rmb, to be paid with wechat !! no other option, no cash, no CC ...

    the private) park just in front of the hotel, it was like a fresh breeze in the middle of shanghai

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff seems not in mood that day.

    Location is close to French Concession. Lots of nice place to hangout with friends or just after work drink. But a little bit difficult to get taxi or for taxi to arrive if the driver is not local local. Facilities are bit old but quite clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have travelled for many years and stayed in many hotels. This was the worst place I've ever stayed. The hotel itself and features were all available but the place was so badly run down. Nothing in the room worked, all sorts of things were broken including the power points, taps, drains. The breakfast was terrible and totally unacceptable. The staff were reasonably friendly but not really that helpful. The entire place was a disappointment and I would never stay or recommend this place. The whole place was dark and not welcoming.

    The room staff were quite nice. The doorman was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    where to start.... Whoever says this hotel is family friendly, doesn't travel with a stroller.... entrance has a long (not huge but long enough) staircase.... so good luck with your heavy luggage, stroller and baby.... i saw once someone from the hotel helping someone carries their small bag but, somehow, out of 3 days, nobody thought of helping me.... the hotel is supposed to be smoke free... and that makes sense... who needs a smoke when the lobby smells like an old ash tray.... the rooms are smelly.... very thick old carpet.... so great if you got asthma! even the bed sheet was smelling like cigarette.... staff is ok-ish.... as long as you don't mind being said "no taxi" when its pouring and you got a toddler in your arm (i reassure you, i explained to the guy that no was not an answer and that he had to keep calling.... ). Also, don't expect them to read the message you send via booking.com .... bath has no lid, so enjoy the shower (again great with a baby!).... the shower is so disagreeable that my daughter kept crying (it really pinches!) so, in a nutshell, go somewhere else.... plenty of great places in Shanghai. Been to nicer places before for half the price (they got me with the family friendly mention on booking.com!)

    The location is great.... straight in the french concession, very near metro and plenty of nice restaurants around

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating whatsoever in the bathroom :/ Shanghai can be very cold in the winter. I'd booked this room because I love bathtubs, but taking a leisurely bath was out of the question. Very outdated.

    Huge room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was not fantastic at english (or at being service-minded). Due to that I got to know when I checked out that breakfast was included in the price. Would have been helpful to know that from the beginning so I would not have searched (and paid) for other breakfast options nearby. Apart from that the breakfast was not cheap while the selection and quality of the food was not fantastic.

    My room was big cosy and clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a tired hotel - a bit of charm.

    Good location. All OK but would also consider other options - everything worked OK. was there for a very quick overnight visit. Staff were OK - not super friendly but not rude. Good cafes, bars, shopping and transport all around the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel staff didn't speak English, but it's okey, there is no free wi-fi in the hotel, it's terrible!

    very nice location, nice old-fashioned room, very clean, light and big.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Need to pay for Wifi -Pillows are flat, should be fluffier -Just one receptionist from the whole staff did not speak good English -Bit pricy for the holidays

    -Very clean -The room and the bathroom were very big, spacious and clean, nicely decorated -Had toiletries and other things you may need, as in iron and iron board, bathrobe, hairdryer, umbrella, etc. -Close to Jing An Temple - Close to Jing An metro station - Convenient to get to the airport

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a hotel to include a 15% service charge on top of the price quoted on booking.com, and then to charge 35rmb a day for wifi access is not acceptable. The room itself is very old fashioned and poorly decorated. There are many good hotels in Shanghai. I would not stay here again.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smells. It seems nobody has stayed there for a while. Stuff in the cabinet such as umbrella is dusty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pls improve all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard Carpets need updating as look worn and not clean Bathroom sink and bath need updating

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor receptionist, facilities, room cleaness, old fashioned, AC dont work, Toilet old fashioned, rent too high.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean and staff was not friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms have changed but room still old

    Quite places abd center of nice location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has changef but rooms decoratıon so old dıdnt change

    Nice locatıon and quite area no so much traffıc noice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dont remember now.

    Just a good hotel to stay over for couple of nights. Stayed there for 2 days and it was good. I liked it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Learn to speak English. Couldn't even get a toilet without a translator.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no facilities at Jing An Hotel at all. Hotel staff were generally unfriendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My plane was very late and the check in at 1am was very easy. I did appreciate that!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price the amenities could be better

    Location was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The broken fabric on the sofa and upright chairs should have been repaired.

    The location is very convenient and adjacent to many venues in Shanghai.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff we're really rude and not helpful at all. The hotel was so old and felt very creepy and ancient

    The location was good and quite central to a few shops but not in the city at all

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staffs did not seem well educated. At the entrance, a few were there but said no words when I came into (no Ni hao). Ten steps of stairs were there before getting to the reception, yet none of them said to take my luggage upstairs. The receptionists did not know the metro cards, like Oyster card of London, with which one can easily take metro trains. There are no flexibility of the staff to print a pdf file for guests, but just suggested to visit the Business Center of Shanghai Hotel, the sister hotel of Jing An H, adjacent to it. The breakfast (with a charge) is served there, too. If one would expect an ordinary hotel service, he/she is strongly recommended to think Shanghai Hotel, but this is for those who love a quiet environment. One thing, the bath tub stopcock did not work properly in my room, due probably to the hotel age.

    Location: 10 min walk from Jing An Si metro station to southward along Huashang Road, across the YenAn overpass, and turning right at the the corner of Shanghai Hilton. Since it is between two busy roads Huashang and Ulmuchi, and surrounded by many trees and green yard, the guests enjoy very calm environment. Rooms are well furnished, an electric kettle, a bath tub, a CRT-TV, etc., as well as bath amenity goods.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff wasn't very friendly. The beds were very hard and they ran out of pillows early on in the night.

    The location was wonderful, it was easy to find (pay attention to the street curving with the street name), and had a lot of great places nearby. The rooms were quite large and there was a bathtub (but no plug for it!).

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A stylish hotel building from a bygone era with a quirky historic feel. Far better than the modern non-places.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the staff and cold inside the room

    the location and old meaning of the building

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    QUALITY OF ROOM AND BATHROOM NOT SO HIGH.

    PERFECT LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building, interior, decor.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Grim lobby and reception area. But rooms are perfectly OK.

    Good location,WiFi,facilities in room, large room,

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Flithy, staff could care less.

    Good location

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: