Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beijing Jingyuan Courtyard Hotel

35 Wangfujing Xitangzi Hutong, Dongcheng, 100006 Beijing, China

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Super good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction was in the hotel. Dust was everywhere.

    Location, location, location. It is in the quite street behind all the fancy shopping malls. Lots of restaurants nearby. Walk to the nearest subway station is about 10 mins walk. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, Room redone nicely and courtyards beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside area a little smelly probably because streets being dug up. Maybe done soon.

    Great location, Room redone nicely and courtyards beautiful. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall, it seems that the maintainance at the common areas of the hotel need an update. Although the Hutong style of the hotel is very authentic, it seems that the common area is abandoned, specially the front desk.

    The location is spectacular. Walking distance from the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, subway and Wangfujing Street, an important shopping street. Breakfast was simple, but ok. The staff was kind and helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    I would be very happy and satisfied apart from meeting that jumbo cockroach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room assigned to us was very outdated that definitely needed some renovation, had a very disgusting jumbo cockroach, which was more than an inch long, was facing upside down and was struggling on the floor. After we complained, they sprayed insecticide and finally moved us to a more updated room where we peacefully stayed for the rest of our vacation.

    Historical building. Great location. Quiet and comfortable beds. Great breakfast that was made fresh daily by a lady. Has both western and traditional Chinese style foods. Nice staff who are willing to fix the problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    非常有特色的地方,真正的老宅子。 就在王府井大街后,闹中取静。服务,地点
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were very nice and helpful. Location was great. Loved the history and architecture. My three kids, age 7, 12 and 15 thought it was cool to live in the general Tsao's house. (General Tsao's chicken was named after him)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All great

    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All great

    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall, I enjoyed staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a road work near by, all day and all night, and the noise was a little annoying. But, I understand it's not the hotel's responsibility. There's neither English TV channels nor any international channels.

    The location was superb, right next to Wangfuxing. Although the building itself was not well-maintained (it's O.K though), the atmosphere was very traditional and somewhat like a movie-set.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    A hotel with great historical value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much casual dining options around the area.

    A hotel with great historical value. Central location with great high end shopping malls around. Water heater was down 5 nights out of 6 nights stay. Hotel refunded half of the amount which is a very good initiative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All great

    The building is amazing, beautiful and historical courtyards Staff ultra helpful and very attentive to foreigners Great location and very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was very traditional which we wanted also very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff helpfulness and atmosphere

    The hotel was very traditional which we wanted also very central. Everything we needed and staff helpful. Bathroom facilities good and breakfast good. Atmosphere in the garden lovely after a hectic days sightseeing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    LOUD construction noise. Please be aware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The major concern with the property was the noise. There is nearby construction occurring on a large building right next to the hotel that begins from midnight until 4am. The rooms facing the construction shouldn't really be rented out at the moment or should be with at least a warning to allow the customer a choice. The noise caused such a problem we didn't sleep the first night and the next morning we had to cancel our further two nights there. The day after the noise we had a day trip planned so we decided to asks staff if when we arrived back in the evening can we cancel the further two nights and move on. At first the girl on reception demanded we check out at 2pm and not evening time otherwise we would need to pay for the room. But after a bit of explaining they relented and allowed us to check out in the evening and have a refund on the two nights of the booking left. We liked the hotel but it was let down by this. We felt it very unfair the hotel tries to lease rooms out with such a large problem. The noise wasn't background noise it was extremely loud drilling and crashing throughout our first night there. I felt sorry for the staff they tried to solve our problem but their owner really needs to question the decision in keeping some of the rooms open for booking while this work continues. It will only lower their review over time which is a shame because its a hotel with real potential and value!

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    aweful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold and it took 4 hours to get it warm. The room must have been nice when the hotel first opened but it has not been touched since. Walls had mildew, the furnishing were worn but useable, bathroom was nice. The bed was hard as a rock. The breakfast was marginal. I could have stayed down the street at the Novotel for less but this property sounded like the chance to experience a bit of old China. Our room however was nothing like the pictures on the website. For the price it was extremely disappointing. It is one of the first times in using booking.com that I have been extremely disappointed. I felt that the property was totally misrepresented on your site.

    the room was very quiet and the location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is ready for some renovation both inside and outside. The buildings are beautiful so it is a shame to see that they are not maintained. The beds are hard.

    Great location and very helpful staff. Though centrally locates next to Wangfujing street the courtyards and rooms are peaceful. It is possible to make coffee and thee in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Ladies in reception were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be softer. At least for our taste.

    Ladies in reception were fantastic. They helped us a lot with booking tickets, taxis and tours. What ever we asked they did it. Location was amazing also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Traditional hotel downtown Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better.

    Great location in Beijing at walking distance from shopping areas, night market and forbidden city. The staff was friendly extremely helpful and with good advice for recommanding tours and restaurants. The hotel is small and quite in traditional Chinese buildings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have at least one English channel

    Staff with excellent customer service-very pleasant,helpful,accommodating.The room is very spacious,clean and the hotel is in great location~a few steps to the city center,shopping,restaurants. Wifi works well.With washing machine for free.Breakfasf was very good.Transportation to and from the airport by taxi costs about 100~115 Chinese money,based on what we paid on rush hours(make sure the meter is on).Thank you very much for making my husband's birthday very special,really appreciate the extra efforts the staff made to make it memorable and wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    It served as a place to stay with absolutely no trimmings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This has far more the feel of a motel than hotel. There are no hotel facilities as such, the room was cold and very tired and the breakfast was poor.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Historic location close to Forbidden City. Rooms are comfortable and have everything provided. Breakfast is excellent! The staff even bought extra vegetables for us so we could have salad. The hotel was a good value and provided us with everything we needed for our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    The room was freezing when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was freezing when we arrived. Since we contacted them and they knew when we would arrive it would have been great to have the heat on a bit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Historical hotel in a traditional Chinese courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, it was a bit chilly in January and please don´t expect a super isolated building like these modern hotels. It´s the charme of this old infrastructure, why you will like the stay.

    This beautiful place is typical for the old Chinese building infrastructure, delivers more comfort than the Hutongs around there. It´s super quite, if you imagine that the biggest shopping street is just a 2mins walk away... The staff was very helpful and always supportive, even if the english is not super super fluent - but seriously why are travelling when you expect that everybody speaks a language you know well ;-) Breakfast was rich and tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    The best location for the best price - great central location as a base to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed itself was quite hard, but this is personal preference! Didn't like that the receptionist tried to convince me to cancel the Great Wall tour I'd already arranged to book one through the hotel instead - I appreciate they want the business but this was a specific hiking tour I was doing which she didn't seem to get, but was probably the language barrier! Walls in my room were a bit tired - rips in the wallpaper etc, but it didn't matter too much.

    Incredible location - so close to the main street in Beijing and very easy to find. Room was big and it was good having two forms of heating for the room (which was needed - it was extremely cold outside!). Nice selection at breakfast. Lovely little hotel which seems quite authentic - beautiful little courtyards.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Staff were wonderful and friendly and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in a cold streak and it was cold if you didn't run the heaters and the air conditioning.

    Staff were wonderful and friendly and location was great. Breakfast was delicious although they didn't use any system to keep eggs warm. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not enjoy the breakfast provided. Nevertheless, there was a quaint coffee and waffles place just behind. Sorted!

    Amazing place. Loved the fact that’s it was a historic home (hutong). Was a little concern about a cold draft coming through but there wasn’t any. Location was ideal. located so central to the Wangfujing Street. Everything was a walk distance away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Great for a museum, not so great for an accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress is very hard. The drawback of historical building is that it gets cold at night despite the heating a/c

    Authentic building and interior, nice breakfast with a local touch

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    A Great Experience in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    I was truly excited with the Chinese-style facility of the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable enough. The hotel location is perfect (in the heart of the Beijing downtown but quiet) as the Tiananmen Square and Wangfujing Walking Street are in a walking distance. Both ladies at the reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Toilet was modern but could be nicer.

    Property is central and very near to Forbidden City which was great. Not too easy to find though especially in the night. The main door is not very conspicuous. Clearer instructions for getting to property from subway would be useful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Staff very friendly with good English. They were helpful. I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been better maintained and certainly beds more confortable.

    I liked the typical style of the hotel, which is nested in the city, very close to touristic area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    If you like to try to stay in traditional houses ... this is a good choice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s abit too cold for my comfort during my stay with temperature ranging from -3 to 6 degrees.

    Location is v good. You can take the airport shuttle from Wangfujing street Sunworld Dynasty Hotel 王伦王朝酒店 to airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice place, great location, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too cold, not much choices but we do understand because it is a small hotel. Place in courtyard should be clean and better good caring it would be very nice place.

    Good location near metro, shopping area & restaurants. Safe place and neighborhood. Staff are friendly but seems hesitant. We rent 3-room and one of us had to move because they want to renovate so they should give the right room to us in the beginning. Staff can speak English fair.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Such a lovely place and great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything is great !

    Despite being 50m from the busy Wangfujing shopping and food streets, the moment we step into the property, its so tranquil and feels like going home. Its surroundings so lovely and quaint and authentic, would have loved to sit in the courtyard and enjoy my tea but it was too cold ! Staff friendly, helpful and speaks fluent English. Room is big, beds comfy and bathroom clean and modern. Plenty of eatries along the streets and inside malls. Walking distance to Tiannamen and Forbidden City. Great location at unbeatable price! Definitely will stay again ! Highly recommended for the true cultural and historical experience!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Staff helped Book Trips to Great Wall & Other Sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in Bathroom was Too Dim Unable to do Makeup in Bathroom Had to do Makeup at Study Desk

    Great Location - 2 mins Walk to WangFuJing ; 8 mins Walk to Underground Train ; Lots of Food Options

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    The location in an old hutong courtyard in the middle of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can get a little cold during the time when there's still no heating in china, before November 15th. But air condition helps a lot.

    The location in an old hutong courtyard in the middle of busy wangfujing is fantastic. The place is quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Nice staff. Good chinese breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Traditional building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, our room was double booked. This shouldn't happen. We were upgraded to another room, and they initially wanted us to pay the difference... it got resolved but it was a bit odd. Breakfast offers a decent choice but it's made once and if you show up late all the food is cold... which is a pity. Beds were rock hard but this is fairly common in China.

    The building is beautiful and very atmospheric. The open courtyards are delightful. Although their English is limited, staff tries hard to be helpful and is very friendly. Location is great for Wangfujing and the Forbidden City.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, beautiful property, lovely staff - a real discovery in the heart of Beijing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service starts late - only at 7:30am - which makes it difficult to have an early start...

    The hotel has a lovely ambience, and provides a genuine experience of traditional Chinese design. The location is great - easy walking distance from the Forbidden Palace. The staff were very helpful and made a genuine effort to ensure that my short stay was very well spent. I would specially like to thank Denny at the front desk for her excellent advice, and going out of her way to make sure I enjoyed my time in Beijing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    A good experience staying in a courtyard hotel for a couple of days with breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were a bit basic for the price paid. It was hard getting a taxi to go to the hutong.

    They stored our lugguage for us after we checked out and there was a public shower to use before we left for the airport for a night flight. That was very convenient and comfortable 😃

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable. I would not recommended for longer than 2 nights.

    The staff was excellent. The lady at the reception was very polite, spoke well English and made efforts to accommodate all our requests. The hotel is very well located (5 min walk to a metro stop and very close to a large mall) and the building is very charming. The rooms were clean and very nicely decorated in the old Chinese way. Breakfast was included and a nice selection of Chinese and Western dishes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Authentic hotel in the middle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was quite hard. Breakfast was decent but not great.

    Friendly staff, which spoke sufficient English, and was able to arrange a taxi for me to the airport. Good location: 7 minute walk to the subway, 20 minute walk to Tienanmen square and the forbidden city. Very charming and authentic looks (though perhaps the walls inside the rooms could use a lick of paint).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    It was exactly the sort of accommodation I was looking for, in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The quiet rooms opened off courtyards with trees and seating. It was an older single storey property with history. Situated behind the Waldorf Astoria hotel in an excellent city centre location. 20 minute walk to Forbidden city, 30 mins. to Tianamen Square. 2 mins. to Wangfujing street, shops, food stalls. Breakfast included in room price ...... nice dining area and good choice of food, Chinese and western. Kettle in room; bottles of water provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    We booked a family room, and our kids love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had to change room during our 4 day stay due to their problem of arrangement , which made us a little inconvenient

    We booked a family room, and our kids love it! The location is great for food, shopping, and attractions. I worried a little about whether taxi can arrive at the gate. It turned out to be not a problem at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    I really recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but not too much exciting, anyhow ok.

    Very interesting and very close to the forbidden city. Also good to reach by public transport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities not as expected. When booking it was stated there was a bath in the unit, there wasn't. The hotel could definitely do with a paint in the units and in the courtyards. Also, no mention from staff about the washing machine that is free for guests to use. Instead they just told us about an out of house laundry service. Also when we booked a Great Wall tour through them there was no mention of the extra costs to go up the cable car that is a necessity at that location (this almost doubled the cost of the tour). Beds also very hard, not that comfortable.

    the location is fantastic. A 40 second walk to Wangfujing Street shops but very quiet. The staff were all smiley and overall helpful with enough English understanding and spoken for travellers like ourselves. Staff useful in suggesting restaurants, helping with taxis. The courtyards are fantastic to sit in and relax with a drink and food. Also, the mini bar, although very basic is very cheap to use, drinks cheaper than from most cafes, restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    need a fair bit of general repair, long overdue. many minor items falling apart.

    very convenient and classical Hutong hotel. good food nearby. good staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Worth it for the experience alone!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately upon arrival we found that our room had been double booked so we were moved from room to room over the course of the three nights - they did upgrade us for two of the nights however no real explanation was given. As with most of Beijing minimal English is spoken, but enough to get by.

    The courtyard set up was a perfect setting to base ourselves for exploring Beijing. The location was also a big positive - walking distance to Forbidden City and easy public transport to other areas. Very quiet and serene despite being in the centre of a busy area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Hidden hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably nothing.

    Loved this hotel. Very unique building hidden behind modern shopping centres. Good choice at breakfast. Great location. Close to one of the busiest shopping street in Beijing. Walking distance to the Forbidden city (1.5km) and 5mins from a subway station. Loads of great restaurants in the surrounding streets.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    The courtyard hotel is a beautiful historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The courtyard hotel is a beautiful historic building. The service was excellent, very friendly people and very good support i.e. by booking a day trip. The hotel is located very central - around the corner is the shopping street and the forbidden city could be reach by walking. And nevertheless it was very quiet, which was as well important.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Traditional Courtyard in the Heart of Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 rooms for 2 nights. The "emperor suite" was great, but the standard room needed some refreshing...

    Few minutes walk from Wangfujing, Forbidden City and Subway. Perfect location for Beijing! You're in the heart of Beijing, surrounded by tall buildings, but in a typical Beijing Courtyard at the same time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, friendly staff, not as good rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it is clean and staff is very polite, there are some remarks; mattress and cushions were not comfortable. Room walls need repaint and fill the cracks. All TV stations are local. No English speaking stations.

    Location is a walking distance from underground, fabulous Aon mall and all other facilities. Vibrant area in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Spent few nights staying here, The hotel staff served great. The hotel environment was great enough for people who wish to experience something different than high-rised, studio type hotel. worth it. Thanks to the helpful staff at the hotel. much appreciated it. if you are a backpacker, you will love it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff is veru helpful and able to communicate in English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main gate close at 22.00. You need tovring the bell and reception will open it for you if you come back after that.

    Staff is veru helpful and able to communicate in English. They can help arrange for tickets, tour and also recommend the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice short staying in the heart of Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I stayed in could have benefitted from a refreshing repainting, but it didn't really matter in the end. On one of its sides, the view from the hutong is covered by tall hotels and malls, not visible in the pictures (these buildings are everywhere in the area, though).

    Perfect location in the heart of Beijing, at walking distance from the Forbidden City and the Tiananmen Square. The staff is very kind and welcoming. Clean bathroom with hot water at any time. Free drinking water every day, which was very much needed in the dry Beijing. Very enjoyable courtyard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.3
    better for locals than tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff spoke very little English, even though their one point on booking.com was that they spoke English well. Could not even get my breakfast that was included in the price, due to lack of being able to communicate

    the history and traditional style building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    A bit over rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The booking voucher said that there will be a microwave oven in the room. It wan not there. There was a common one in the common area which we used.

    The location is excellent. English speaking with staff was a challenge but they made it up with effort to communicate with translator. Overall friendly staff and cooperative.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    staying in a forbidden city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a superb place to stay, as it's a 200 years old structure that is well kept and refurbished properly to maintain its ancient sentimental value. The moment you walk in, it's like walking into a small palace....I will be traveling there Year end again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    La localisation est parfaite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rien

    La localisation est parfaite. Le cadre est tres beau et typique. Le personnelle parle anglais et est très sympas, et propose de l'aide pour la reserve des visites guidées. Un excellent rapport qualité prix. Je conseille fortement.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    6.7
    Historical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple breakfast, dry air in the room due to the air conditioning being used for heating, bad beds, not everyone speaks good English

    Good location directly next to the shopping area and the main sights, really nice old courtyard

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, but plenty reasonable options in malls very close by. Don't hesitate to ask hotel about tour options, I purchased very overpriced tours from street offices. Not all staff speak good English.

    Excellent location. Staff friendly. Traditional building. It is a YWCA establishment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Relaxe close to a busy shopping street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very central but nevertheless very quiet. A historic building with beautiful yards in the middle. A good Chinese breakfast. Very friendly people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great historical hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location- it is close to everything! The staff are extremely nice and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Good but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes; limited breakfast items

    Central location; big room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Kindness of people, quality of breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kindness of people, quality of breakfast, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Good place to relax and just a foot away to shopping malls
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Classical Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good. Even though is just a foot away from shopping malls the atmosphere is serene and quiet. I like it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    Only if you 're on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not even close to the pictures, it was dirty and the bath was musty

    Located right in the city center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff speaks English, and helped me book the tour to Great Wall. It's very quiet place. Everything is clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    super helpful and kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    super helpful and kind staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is so so Some equipments are old

    Location Friendly staff Quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, friendly and good manner receptionist- 小岳,
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, friendly and good manner receptionist- 小岳,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nil.

    The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    It was good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is old. Use of pad lock to lock the door.

    The room was quiet. Close proximity to the center of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange breakfast for Western visitors.

    Great location. Othentic complex.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The place is very calm and very well situated in the center of Beijing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find even for taxi driver. Door locks didn't seem to be safe. No deposit box in room.

    Location right in center, but quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just ok!

    very central location

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: