Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Hai De San Dao, Hou Hai Bin Road (near Coastal City Shopping Mall), Nanshan, 518054 Shenzhen, China

#36 of 309 hotels in Shenzhen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t understand, why kempinski can not give good services for Wifi, I know in China lot of limitation, but other international hotel can give better services.

    Location, room size and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noone at this hotel can speak English. The whole staff has American names on the name tags, but no English. The receptionist send us with the easiest question like : "untill what time we can have breakfast ? " to the conceirge. The concierge could not speak any English either. They were not able to arrange a taxi for you or even give you any advice in English about any request you might have. The hotel bar-restaurant is open unill 12 am but at 11 am they refused to take our order for non-alcoholic drinks because we didnt make the order on time - 1 hour before closing. At the end of our stay ( thank god only 2 days at this hotel ) they were not able to print for me correct invoice. They told me to choose either to put name of the company or address but not both because it can not fit on their invoice standart. One of the worst hotels I have ever visited in my life.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my only complaint is their rooms look a bit old , clean though.

    Good location for my purpose . I was there for drama , and the venue was just a few steps away. The hotel itself is nice , room is clean, most staff are helpful and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The total indifference of the staff to our arrival and stay didn't exactly make us feel welcome. Also we had reserved a non-smoking room, yet the lingering odor of old smoke was quite pronounced.

    The location is good, walking distance to a large shopping center with plenty of restaurants. The hotel decor is modern, bed comfortable and the bread served at breakfast freshly baked, probably the best we have had in China.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is old and rooms need general refurbishment, very dirty windows from the inside! Despite the request to clean the window, the service did not clean. I was in the same hotel one year ago and then was the same situatuion

    Good location, very nice service, spacious and comfortable rooms, tasty food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi service was extremely slow in my room and I couldn't access my mail on gmail.com. I use Google Chrome as my browser and i was denied service.

    The room was very comfortable and the amenities were appreciated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not Kempinski style. Strange design, staff not speaking proper English, not able to prepare the bill, internet not really working. Will not use this hotel ever again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room didn't have sockets for Hong Kong/UK appliances - but the staff provided me with a bank of adapters which were fine.

    The location is great if you need to be on the western side of the sprawling city of Shenzhen. Just a few steps from the Houhai Metro station. The hotel itself is clean and modern. The staff were helpful with anything I asked for. My room was very good, especially the well filtered air-con and the bathroom. The breakfast was good - wide range of quality items.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many things: 1. It s an old hotel average standard 2. Unbelievable closing kitchen time at the Chinese restaurant 9pm!!! even though you are still seated at table eating because your reservation was at 8pm not possible to make any extra order at 8:55pm. so if you count to have a desert better to choose at your arrival! Oh and if you count on the poor waitress to help you to choose forget it! Very bad English to do so. Funniest fact, is that even the reception desk people do not know when the kitchen is closing since they always insist to tell us that the restaurant closing time was 10pm! Finally after a long insistance they finally called their Chinese restaurant and informed us that service was till ten but kitchen till 9pm. 3. Lots of not educated men screaming and shouting in executive lounge impossible to have a smooth talk with your clients if you are in a business trip. 4. The Same of non educated persons bring hookers / escorts to their room...so if you are unlucky like us you will hear a kind of rabbit unbearable noisy scream until this people finish and put the girls out ! 5. Huge buffet but cold if you take your breakfast at 9:30am 6. Toilets in the spa are used by staff too and did not work correctly....so when you have the luck we had, you will see some little dirty disgusting pooh inside and if you want to go to another toilet no lucky you there is only one !!! 7. It s not a 5 stars it s poor 2 stars, European standard and if you consider the noisy rabbits escorts at night it can be even worse. 8.Last but not the least there is a lot of local weddings, so if you are arriving at the same time no Lobby boy to help you !!! 9. Wifi is very very poor !!! Definitely not a place to stay if you consider our experience ! Probably some people will have better one lucky them or much more bad one poor them.

    The spa therapist was great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - executive lounge is old and shabby - breakfast selection is good but the food is not delicious - the front desk didn't speak a lot of english - VERY different from other kempinski in style and standard

    - location very convenient nears malls -

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in room cannot be set, it was too warm through the night even though housekeeping tried to set it at minimum, it did not work, Rm 2007

    Location and accessibility

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is worn-out far below Kempinski standard. Smelly air condition in lobby and in rooms. Avoid non-smoking 11th floor, heavy smoking smell both in hallway and room. Exec floors better but cigarette burns even there. Staff helpful but can't do much beyond upgrade.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - during the check-in, the receptionist didn't presented herself too well as in what i would expect from a luxury hotel.

    - Next to a shopping mall with lots of eateries and restaurants - Cleanup service is very delicate, they even fold up the clothes i worn before - Very close to ShenZhen Bay Border to Hong Kong

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very bad

    The bed is comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing facilities and super nice staff, in particular Joseph and Aaron, who were extremely helpful all the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of the lobby quite outdated. Needs refurbishing.

    Excellent room attendants; excellent staff in general.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was something wrong with the air-conditioner. Myy room was too cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom drains a bit slowly.

    Staff are warm and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like other Kempinski I ever stayed, service is just average, if not below average. Staffs are not very friendly and helpful

    Location, decoration

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet Seat

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty. Bed and pillow is too soft. No shaver.

    Near subway Houhai station. Plenty to f nice restaurant around Haide Square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern well located

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pls issue at 2 entry room cards for single bed room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No discount to repeated customer.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real bar, and bad music in the lobby.

    Good location next to shopping mall restaurants and bars

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a great property with excellent location.

    Would recommend this property to any one visiting Shenzhen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top notch hospitality. At the high end. Swimming pool was a nice plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check Out process takes more than 15mins

    Hotel is clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cold, AC can not be adjusted

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chinese Restaurantexpensive and Food quality poor service poor ( whole restaurant don't have pepper )

    Room service staff is very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning can been cooler. No shaver. Otherwise, perfect.

    Comfortable room, easy of access and close to cinemas, shopping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Proximity to food and shopping, and their gym/pool is certainly better than the average. The hotel is in a clean part of Shenzhen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and floor I was on smelled of cigarette smoke. I asked for a non smoking room.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kembinski SZ is my distenation since 5 years It is the best

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OK

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot Buffet food was not hot

    The swimming pool was excellent and no extra cost The Staff were excellent The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lack of english with concierge staff

    Staff are so friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit too small

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very old property and a weak in room dining menu, not to international standards.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in an Executive room and the executive floor did not meet expectations

    The staff dealt with our concerns as best they could

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No response on the loyalty points program.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel location is very close to many restaurants and shopping malls. the staff are very friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I like everything. The rooms comfort, the size, the clealiness, the quality linen, etc.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every things , great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from Louhu Station

    Walking distance to Malls and Train and near to Window of the world and Sea World

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    My wife detected a bad attitude with one or two staff members. Also, the indoor pool is too cold.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast and decent facilities

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely nothing that I experienced was unpleasant or gave any cause for concern.

    In one simple word: EVERYTHING. The hotel is magnificently maintained, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful, everything in eyesight is cleaned and polished meticulously, and the best part is the staff are the most friendly, welcoming bunch that you will run into, especially the Front Desk Manager, Mr. Henry Yao. Mr. Yao took time to make me feel most welcome and made a special effort to ensure my comfort and convenience. The hotel restaurants are top-notch serving a huge variety of dishes, Western and Asian, and prepared to perfection. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. If you are visiting the Coastal City Mall area of Shenzhen, this hotel should be your one and only option.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a non-smoke room but it had a bad smell of smoke.

    Overall very good, a suprise was all english channels on tv. We are not used to that in China.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff had a cold face when we checked out and didn't smile at all. The toiletry was of poor quality and looks cheap. The teakettle was made of plastic and needs a replacement.

    Great location, lots of shops and restaurants around.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a 5 stars hotel, I would strongly recommend the hotel management to seriously consider not to charge for additional mineral water on top of the 3 daily complimentary ones. I was fortunate to meet the manager in charge, who used to work dor other 5 stars hotel; he agreed to give additional bottles of water to me after realising I was unwell and needed more fluid.

    Location and surrounding amenities

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    early morning no bell desk staff at entry to guide Taxi in so have to cross carpark gate which inapporiate

    great location with shopping mall nearby also very closet o airport about 30 mins drive

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing..

    My second stay in this hotel, first one being 3 years ago again in June. Rooms are big and clean, beds are big size, complimentary water and fruit, very spacious lobby, nice and rich breakfast, very helpful staff. Very close to a shopping center.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    incredible expensive laundry service. I mean incredible. It cost more to have my clothes washed than to buy them. But I guess that's probably to be expected here.

    It was a nice pretty place. The location seemed fairly good too. Staff were friendly, Though one couldn't understand my English though it may be because I am Scottish haha

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very basic, didn't match the other Kempinski Hotel

    close to one of the borders to HK and a shopping center which are full of restaurants

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you choose this hotel because of proximity to the ShenZhen Bay Sports Centre, note there is massive construction underway between Hotel location and event venue. There is no way to cut through so you need to walk around the construction site.

    Kempinski hotels have the most amazing beds - no contest. Staff was incredibly helpful and thoughtful.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You wont get any attention if you are not a European. Europeans get better service at the coffee house. The breakfast in the morning is late to start.

    Location and hotel comfort

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a little tired, ready for a refit, curtains shabby, carpet stained

    Cocktails fantastic in the bar

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional quality Great staff Friendly service Easy to get to from metro

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior design is dark and out of date, check in staff have cold faces, only buffet available for dining.

    Room facilities in good condition and clean

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior design is dark and out of date, check in staff have cold faces, only buffet available for dining.

    Room facilities in good condition and clean

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor service in restaurant. Unwilling to call manager to discuss.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff attitude is not professional and not polite enough, not qualified as 5 star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have booked no smoking room but in the room I felt smoke.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Incredibly value for money!

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was just ok not worth the price ~

    it was a nice stay ~ everything is good ~

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good service, nice people, good location

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    should have more English TV Channels

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room pricing is HIGH!!

    late check-out to 2:00 pm

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price is a little high to the old hotel

    Amazing place near to business center!

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All good but bathrooms can be more tidy

    Best as always

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The hotel was in a great location, next to Shenzhen Metro network. The facility was new, staff was nice. Overall my stay was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor value for the money

    Location

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The room is fantastic, really large and comfortable.

There are also 52 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: