Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Kunlun Beijing

2 South Xin Yuan Road, Chaoyang, 100004 Beijing, China

#217 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Excellent breakfast buffet and wonderful bathrooms with deep tubs. Very comfortable rooms and excellent service. Lincoln Wu was very helpful at the front desk!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor interruption of others while I am in discussion at the reception. Maybe Chinese Culture.

    Shower and the small office and the Concierge the bell boys always helping and smiling. But not the receptionist. My room is nice with king size bed and there was a weighing balance but not the disposable shaver.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no late dinner possibility in the hotel's restaurants (only rather unattractive room service after 10 pm).

    The lunch buffet is still attractive though it used to be even better before.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn't work, breakfast is terrible, staff are pretty rude and don't speak much English. My room was dirty, with hair left in the tub and shower from a previous guest, the front desk lied about my room reservation and gave me a lesser room. I had to complain and show them the email with the room details before they would change it. One of the worst problems was the smoke in the hotel. When I first walked in I asked if it was a smoking hotel, the smoke smell was so overwhelming. You can not really work out in the gym because of the smoke smell. People are smoking in their rooms and it goes through the ventilation system. Hotel staff refuse to enforce the no smoking policy. My suggestion is that if you are a westerner avoid this hotel. There are many other options more suited to Westerners than this hotel.

    The gym was ok, the lobby is nice, restaurants are ok, room service was good, business center was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a last minute booking as my usual hotel was full. This was more expensive but essentially the same quality room as the Landmark hotel across the street. Main dislike here was the bed. It was not nearly as comfortable as usual in hotels of this standard/price (Hilton, Marriott etc). Bath was also very shallow. Other major gripe was breakfast. If you want local Chinese food for breakfast it could be for you but for Western food the choice is poor. Worse however is the atmosphere. Rushed, with waitresses actually running around the restaurant and every time you get up to go the buffet, you get back to find your table being cleared away.

    Good location for business trips but a little far away from the centre for tourists. Rooms are quiet but make sure you request non-smoking as there are rooms which stink of cigars, unless you like to smoke of course. The local river is a nice walk and the way to local shops and evening entertainment. Metro station is right outside but on the blue circle line, which needs a change to get into the centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The too was hot and cooling it was difficult..

    Excellent facilities, nice rooms, superb gym and swimming and sauna. Nice facilities for diner (revolving restaurant) with fabulous thai/vietnam food! Rooms are big with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has gone downhill in last few years. Not as many bilingual staff as they used to have. Beginning to show it's age. Good room rates, but incidentals ($9 for a small Perrier!) are expensive.

    Good location, close to Embassy district.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lobby

    room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast can be better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning is for pigs,all is terible ita for two stars

    I didnt like nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was comfy and room amenities were super ....oh plus the baby cot mmmhh....just what we needed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was too warm. Changed the temperature in the room but it was still too warm.

    The bed was extra big and the bathroom was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    expensive, no flair, big and anonymous and really just for posh Chinese and international business travelers

    location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessible emails

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 20 nights

    Western style breakfast way below expectation per international standard

    Fast and efficient services

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much else available in the close proximity. Breakfast buffet was overpriced although very comprehensive for selections. No newspaper available. I was not allowed to even look at the one in the restaurant. Don't know why. Would have liked breakfast included with the room as it made a somewhat expensive overnight trip more so.

    Bed was very comfortable.Cleaning staff was very attentive. Two light bulbs had to be changed and were done so promptly without my having to draw it to their attention. Location good to get to and from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room should be fixd with tiny details that makes it worth a big smile (I had to fix the stopper in the sink, smell from the carpet, lack of iron and iron-table). Only small things...

    Breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reservation system seems very inefficient. I had booked 2 months in advance with notice for late checkin. On arrival my reservation was not available with the reservations desk. To be fair they checked me in on basis of my booking voucher subject checking with their reservation office next day. Hotel was full so I was given a suite. Question is what if even suite was not available - I could be stranded despite advance reservation. Further as time of checking wrong rates were applied as wrong rates were in their reservation system - upon my presenting my booking voucher they corrected it manually. So staff was helpful but what is clear is that reservation system is inefficient. Property, particularly the upholstery is showing signs of ageing / wear. However no complaints and no discomfort.

    Decent and functional property. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nil

    Kunlu hotel is a best example of value for your money, suggest to all traveller to experience it once

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad smell

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is convenient to the airport, room is spacious

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The carpet in the room is not clean.

    Hotel staffs are very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room wasn't ready for check-in when I arrived at 2pm, even though that was the check in time. Room had a bad smell.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: