Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch

The alley in front of South Luogu Lane 17-1 Denimhead, Dongcheng, 100009 Beijing, China

#148 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Good air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not helpful when we asked for help getting a taxi to the airport. The hostel was difficult to find. There was a smell of damp.

    Good air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is really good, exactly in the Hutong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wall needs painting. Smells a bit weird when I first enter. Could do better with a room freshener since bathroom/toilet are joined together with the ladies bedroom.

    Location is really good, exactly in the Hutong. I can check in earlier at 9am. Staffs are helpful even with limited English.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hostel for budget option, staff friendly and great location. Wifi not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was very spotty in rooms, could only use in the communal lounge. The hostel is very hard to find using the location on booking.com, would recommend updating the directions/address.

    Great location. Rooms neat, clean and tidy. Air conditioning worked a treat, which was great because the weather was very hot. Staff friendly and helpful. Good hostel if you're on a budget.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Location - very central and just off Nanluoguxiang.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise - the single room is on the ground floor really close to NLGX and was really loud until midnight or so. On two nights I was there there was also construction work happening on the lane until 2am. Staff were very polite and nice but didn’t speak much English, so there was no information about Beijing on arrival, attractions or tours or that kind of thing.

    Location - very central and just off Nanluoguxiang. Room - I had the private single room and it was clean and well sized, with private bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Although it's not as tidy and beautiful as the picture...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    However, if you are searching for a quiet place, it's definitely not the one, coz there are always crowded outside in the afternoon, and it took me around 30 minutes to walk from the hostel to the metro with my luggage on Saturday evening in April.

    Although it's not as tidy and beautiful as the picture shown, it's a really nice place to stay. Staff are super helpful whenever you need them. It is always easy to get late night snacks nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    They actually do not have mixed dorms, only men and women,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They actually do not have mixed dorms, only men and women, so if it is critical for you to share the same room (which was our case), better choose another option. We travelled as a mixed company, and had to pay extra to get a single room for four though there were several free rooms. Expect absolutely no English, plus they do not even try to read any of your commentary on Booking. Location is decent, however there seem to be better options for this price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Really lovely staff in a nice part of Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard for my comfort. Could be a bit cleaner

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff are what make this place lovely. The location while hard to find is really nice. Plugs beside the bed and individual lights at each bunk on the door. A nice communal area. I would recommend to friends

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Love it!
    • Group
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can be a little noisy.

    I love the location!! It's "inside" a passage full of nice stores and restaurants. Me and my friend have been there in a cold december and the room was warm and comfy. The staff was good also, really helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not so easy to find the hostel. Clearer signage from the main street will help, if permitted.

    Excellent location. Easy walk to mrt/metro stations. Nanluoguxiang is a bustling street. And close to the historical, cultural sights of Beijing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced, untidy hostel in good location
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bathroom for entire floor which was small and dirty. The room by the entrance is microscopic. Do not let them stick you in that room. We asked to switch then checked out early because there was zero chance we'd fit in that room. If you're travelling in a group and don't mind sharing a hotel with a family room is slightly more expensive with way more comfort and space.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.0
    Other then the location, I might consider another place the next if I return to Beijing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and hallway smells like mold/dampness. A little outdated based on the pictures that are shown on the internet which I think it’s taken quite some time ago when the hostel was first open.

    Other then the location which is convenient but was a little hard to find even with a local who lives in Beijing who drove me there. The staff where somewhat friendly. Got my laundry done for a reasonable price at 10rmb for a bag of clothes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Affordable accommodation in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People with sleep apnea can be a drag, but you can't fault them; it's a serious medical condition. 😿 If you can't find the hostel, you're not alone, just ask the nice security guards posted all along NANLUOGUXIANG, they'll tell you where this gem of a hostel is located.

    Quite pissibly the cheapest laundry service in a 2km radius. Staff is unbelievably kind. They have a nice roof area and a nice secluded honeymoon suite accessible only by crossing the roof deck. *thumbs up* *wink*

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    Not up to the expectations, but decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Price is way too high for the kind of accommodation that is offered. The 'suite' upstairs is in fact small, with unefficient heating system, often lacking hot water and not very clean. Good for backpackers but overpriced.

    Location, staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    I do recommend! Very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before booking just confirm if your bedroom have toilet inside the room or not. Some of them you have to share.

    The staff is amazing, the two receptionists:Eva and Harrison, do know how to speak English and they do there best to help us. Harrison even bought to me the ticket train to my next destination. The hostel is very clean and loved the maid, although we couldn't communicate in words, we did a very good friendship. The hostel is in hutong and from here you can walk until Lama temple, confuncios temple and bell temple, and of course by subway get to the forbidden city and others places near tianmen. Xiexie friends!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Classic quiet courtyard hostel with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suspect the duplex room is next to the family room, you can hear them. So sleepins might be hard but we were tourists so getting up and out early is fine

    We stayed in the duplex room, which has a comfy double bed upstairs with a desk, and a single daybed downstairs in front of the tv. The daybed is firm but fine. Excellent shower with hot water. Staff are very friendly and helpful, late checkin no problem, train tickets I had delivered here no problem. Classic quiet hutong hostel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and rooftop balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower takes a while to heat up and has poor pressure. It is a bit of a walk to get to a subway station. However, the subway is awkward and time-consuming in its connections so we tried to avoid it when we could.

    We stayed in the superior room with balcony. We loved that it was rooftop and the balcony. The location of the hostel was excellent. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding hutongs and excellent parks. There are many restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. We went on the tour of the Great Wall the hostel arranged and it was very good and great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kitchen or cooking facilities so I am unsure as to why it says there is in the property description. Our room didn't smell thank goodness but the rest of the hostel smelt awful at times, smelt very damp and at times like sewerage. Staff were ok.

    The really only good thing about this hostel was the private room had a very comfy bed and or own bathroom. Location is in a nice Hutong lane with lots of places to eat or drink if you want.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Receptionist is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist is very friendly and helpful. He also helped us to get a taxi. He is really nice. The area is very crowded. The rooms were so,so. The wall paper came off and some walls seem to be a bit wet. No window in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hostel in the heart of hutongs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 28 nights

    I come to Beijing once in a while for a longer time, this time is was almost a month and always try to stay in the historical part of the city. This is so far the best hostel I have discovered. Hostel is conveniently located in the heart of old traditional streets- hutongs, within walking distance from parks and lakes. There are plenty of small restaurants around on the main street, and less touristy one's for locals nearby. Although Nanluoguxiang is known as a busy pedestrian street the hostel is very quite, clean and safe. Great place to rest after a long day sightseeing and walking. The subway station is within 7 min walk, very easy to get to, 2 subway lines that cross at this station can take you to olympic park or Soho, this will save you a lot of time. There also multiple bus lines that run closeby too. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are all airconditioned and cleaned daily. oh and little bonus there is a roof deck

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful!
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area was a little loud. Hostel is tucked away on a side street and was a bit hard to find at first, but if you pay attention to the street signs it's not super hard to find.

    Wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful! Bed was very comfy, and, while a little hard to find at first, the hostel is located on a neat little shopping street and is close to bus stations and the subway. Good for a short stay in Beijing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    A very basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have put more effort in scrubbing the bathroom and cleanliness maintenance on the shower cubicle. The double room given to me was different from what was shown in the picture, without a window and just right next to the living room. It could be little bit noisy in the morning when everyone wakes up and walk around. The bed is soft and comfortable though.

    A very basic room. Location was good, within walking distances to explore the historic hutong area as well as drum and bell tower, and the bustling Shichahai and Houhai areas. Staff was great and helpful especially in arranging taxi at 4 am for my early morning flight out of Beijing, and personally sent me off to board the taxi at that hour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are friendly and helpful . Their mattress is so comfortable that makes you fall asleep easily especially after a long day walk at Great Wall of China. It situated at a strategic location where u can visit many tourist spot by walking distance. We enjoyed our stay in Wohkoon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Good price for the location and size of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was clean, but simple, there was no door between the bathroom and rest of the room, just a curtain. WiFi was sometimes slow and unreliable.

    Good price for the location and size of room. Staff were very helpful and organized tours and return to airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Location is just perfect (even so, it was not easy to find...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've been accommodated in the room without windows instead of another one I booked (with glass roof). That fact is always critical for me and I would never book a room without windows. The room was too small for 4 people, there were no air up to morning. I didn't see another rooms. Only one double with the entrance from the roof - looked very nice.

    Location is just perfect (even so, it was not easy to find it without map), Stylish place, but my room was too tiny and without windows. Table on the roof. Staff was extremely helpful with everything and friendly, I've been checked in very early.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    location is the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No coffee No bike renting service. if you wanna rent a bike, download an app from china, now seems like share bike is everywhere. but i never use, since i dont have china sim card to apply it.

    Staff is nice. Hostel location is super convenience!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    The staff was awesome and everything was organised perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small and there was no real window, but again for the price and location fair.

    The staff was awesome and everything was organised perfectly. Location is very good (in the heart of northern Hutongs) and therefore a very good price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location, helpful staff, but could have been quieter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's definitely a hostel – not very quiet at night and thin-walled rooms. If you're looking for the peace and quiet of a private room, this place isn't ideal.

    Great location, helpful staff, clean beds (and the softest beds I've ever seen in China!).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    4.6
    not recommend unless you indeed have very limited budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the hotel is already renamed so very likely you will never find a hotel with the name there; - very limited room space; - like a family style rather than professional staff; - smell weird;

    location is great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    5.4
    Location ,heating and the bed is comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel cange the name wothout notice. Traveller can not find it because the signboard is whole different. It is a hostel, it didn't show this information on website. One of the staffs is not helpful at all.

    Location ,heating and the bed is comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    The bed was extremelly comfortable like a cloud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find because there was not any sign but fortunately people in this area are extremelly friendly and helpful.

    The bed was extremelly comfortable like a cloud. You can have a deep rest.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    Close to great food street
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to great food street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no TV

    bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.2
    I used to stay Futonren hotel that is Wohkon Hotel now many times since 2007. It’s changed now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of the hotel is missy. The Robby is missy, too.

    A few right was broken.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    I booked a single room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a single room. It was small but comfortable and enough for one person. The surrounding area is lively at night. I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.4
    Average, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled like mildew, not so clean

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is hard to find

    Price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.0
    - No clear sign to the hotel as it abit hidden at the small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No clear sign to the hotel as it abit hidden at the small lane - the room not well maintain as you can see the dirt at wall, sink, bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Fair value in the city centre :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms not very soundproof

    Cleaning lady was friendly :) Footsteps away from all the dessert places along Nanluoguxiang and cat cafe!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Central location and easy access to some main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location and easy access to some main sights. Location was difficult to find though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    The hostel is nice, the localization is perfect and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel is nice, the localization is perfect and the staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.3
    The shower and toilet are filthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mainland Chiense Citizens - Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and toilet are filthy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    free water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceiling was out of glass, so the night was i bit too short, bathroom was not the cleanest, water hadn't the best taste

    free water

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dorm. Locker was to small for a small backpack. Only one bath & shower for all the guests.

    Good location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Staff is super nice, rooms are cozy and location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is super nice, rooms are cozy and location is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mainland Chinese Citizen - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are amazing! Summer helped us organize many trips.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    Upgraded at no extra cost to twin room from dormitory due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Left shoes outside door to dry but they were taken (not a complaint regarding hostel in particular just worth noting)

    Upgraded at no extra cost to twin room from dormitory due to full dorms. Staff friendly with good English, helped with transport/great wall/etc requests. New, clean rooms with medium-sized bathroom. Thin mattresses but comfy over 4 night stay. Breakfast was 45CNY (Beijing prices) but yummy and good variety of choice with two drinks. Nice communal area and upstairs terrace. Laundry done by staff from washing to hanging up (30CNY - time saving so worth the extra cost). Location great - in a popular Hutong to the North of the forbidden city (10min bus ride).

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    You come here for the wonderful staff who are incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in the bunk bed room that had a shower with no ventilation that had some visible mold growing along the walls. Caution to those sensitive to mold or cat allergies (friendly cat named Oreo roams around the hotel).

    You come here for the wonderful staff who are incredibly polite, knowledgeable about where to travel / sight see, and their ability to cook a delicious meal. My compliments to the front desk manager Bella for helping plan my Great Wall trip and offering food recommendations. English was great. Tips for travelers: Download a Chinese translator app in case a staff member has limited English. For those requiring Google services (email, search, map, app store) or Facebook, please get a VPN *before* your arrival into Beijing! There are free and paid VPN services available.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful, in particular Bella whose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower connected to our room was covered in mould and the damp had come through the wall into the bunk room that we were staying in causing a very unpleasant smell which put you off having a shower.

    The staff were very helpful, in particular Bella whose command of English was great. The location was excellent and once we located the subway we were able to manoeuvre around easily.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    4.2
    The staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were tiny and bathrooms quite run down. We had to switch rooms due to street noise. The area is an extremely busy night market, don't stay there if you look for a peaceful hutong experience.

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    8.8
    Very comfy bed, staff friendly and helpful,manager speaks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little difficult to find but that's the beauty of beijings hutong district

    Very comfy bed, staff friendly and helpful,manager speaks excellent english

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    5.4
    Right tucked in the hutong area, close to all the boutique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More maintenance needed for the place. The first look of the place was very cute and boutiquey, but perhaps it was the CNY period, bathroom was not that clean, the shower drained not so fast, there were also some light foot prints on the wall...overall it's a very nice place to stay if you want the traditional hutong experience, but hope the hotel pays more attention to these little details, that actually affects the mood of the stay a lot.

    Right tucked in the hutong area, close to all the boutique hutong shopping districts, good for the hipster hangouts.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was difficult to find at first. Directions should indicate that it is through a small alley and provide a landmark. Walls are too thin I can hear the opening/ closing of doors on the rooms outside my room. Woke me up a few times in the middle of the night.

    Location was great. Staff was very helpful in providing directions even drawing a map :) Floor heating was very nice given the weather. Will definitely recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    Warm rooms and perfect location in the heart of Hutong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only minus is that the outside of the rooms in the cafe/common area it is not so warm, but that, I realised, is a chinese thing, as they do not heat so much

    Warm rooms and perfect location in the heart of Hutong. Simple and beautiful interior, it is an oase of peace where you can relax after a long day. The hotel is in a side street and silent.The room and bathroom has a floor heating, which you will really appreciate when travelling to China in winter! Beatutiful common room/cafe.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    The so helpful and so friendly staff made us feel at home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The so helpful and so friendly staff made us feel at home immediately, deserving the 10 rating alone and that's even before factoring in the location, the history of the building, the interior design, the tea and the hotels cat and dog (Oreo and Blackie!). It is small and boutique so be aware of that but in my opinion that makes it an even more amazing place and in the best location, that can't be beaten. We were even given a hand drawn map/description of how to get to the Wall by bus that must have taken ages and a great recommendation for a local dumpling restaurant. Thank you Hutongren and Blackie for making the first trip to Beijing so special.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    The staff was wonderfully helpful in everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was wonderfully helpful in everything! Also, they organized some Christmas dumpling making when I was there. The hotel is very close to a nice shopping street.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    8.3
    Nicely designed, with an excellent location just off...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slightly overpriced as the rooms are a bit small. The lobby looks much better than the rooms. Feels a bit like a hostel, as there's no soundproofing and the walls are thin.

    Nicely designed, with an excellent location just off Nanluoguxiang and near Gulou. The staff was polite and helpful. During the winter, the floor heating is a nice touch and the room was cozy enough. American breakfast was very good value.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    8.8
    The location is right in the middle of the nightlife and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is right in the middle of the nightlife and shopping area. Also very close to a lot of the tourist attractions. The personnel is also very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's no windows in the room and shower room.. Smells pretty bad and suffocative. Seems like the dormitory part is the result of conversion of courtyard?

    The location was perfect. It's near Nanluoguxiang

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The window was in fact out to the courtyard, but it was an "inside one". So it felt like the tall window was facing the hallway rather than a garden. However, I know it is quite normal to have hotel rooms without windows that face the outside. The good thing here though was, it didn't feel uncomfortable or like there was no air in the room.

    Great location! Nice staff. Clean rooms. Clean toilets. An AWESOME rooftop! Great Beds. This place exceeded my expectations.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.1
    Very nice communal areas, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dormitory small, humid and smelly. Friend of staff stayed in available bed in same room as us, felt very cramped

    Very nice communal areas, friendly staff. Nice peaceful terrace to get away from the city

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    Just off a great tourist pedestrian street with great street...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit cramped, rooms need some renovation, toilet and shower in my room.

    Just off a great tourist pedestrian street with great street food and restaurants. Comfy, big mushy bed.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    5.8
    Its Located inside Nanluoguxiang (南锣鼓巷) and staying two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was expecting very high for Hutongren Courtyard Hotel from photographs and other people's reviews. A solo traveller should go to a regular hostel instead here. She is only a very nice little place. The dormitory room is too small and very wet, because the design of the bathroom inside the room is poor and ill-conditioned.

    Its Located inside Nanluoguxiang (南锣鼓巷) and staying two nights here are wonderful for a solo traveler. I had a great experience and enjoyed nearby poplar areas of Beijing.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    The stuff was really nice and helpful, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in the dorm for 4 pers. The room was very small and dark, it was very humid, so my bad was almost wet all the time. The threshold in the shower was very low and because of it once water flooded the room, so I was lucky to take out my luggage just in time overwhise it would be completely wet. I planned to spend 6 nights in this otel, but since it was so humid that I couldn't breathe at nights, I spent only three nights there.

    The stuff was really nice and helpful, the location is perfect. the Hutongs is an amazing place. the common area in the hotel is very cozy and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    My friends who stayed in another hostel keep on complaining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My friends who stayed in another hostel keep on complaining about the standard of theirs wifi. Mine was so perfect. I could do anything what i wanted. This was very nice!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    loved the vibe, the staff, the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could see why there might be complaints about noise level / size of "japanese room" since it shares a wall with the lobby/eating area. However I didn't have any trouble sleeping and found the room incredibly comfortable & intimate. Just what I needed in a bustling city like Beijing. Definitely only for the solo traveler though.

    loved the vibe, the staff, the room.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Very good location within the most lively and touristic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are small, which may be normal in a old hutong house. However, the room we got on the reception floor had no intimacy, we could truly here the reception phone ringing as if it was in our room, and same for basically all the activity in the public areas near the reception. Consequently, it was a bit hard to seep and recover in the morning due to the noise.

    Very good location within the most lively and touristic hutong of Beijing. The hotel is on a back street of Nanluogoxiang road on old house that was transfomed as the hotel with nice terasse overlooking the roofs.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    The staff are always ready to help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff are always ready to help you. There two courtyards inside the house, and one roof terrace upstairs, very quite and clean. It is located in a small alley, the main road is super busy though, and you can buy some snacks there. Three mins walk to get a taxi, ten mins walk to the nearest subway station Nanluoguxhang.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.6
    very nice location, close to most major attractions, subway,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Japanese single had no window.

    very nice location, close to most major attractions, subway, restaurants, and a fun area to walk around in. The little dog is no longer here but they now have a cute kitten. Staff were very helpful. Yes, room was a little damp, just turn on the air. Location was not that hard to find. Just get out at the end of Nanluoguxiang and walk down a few alleyways. There's a sign and its the alley with the Reef bar.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.2
    the staff make me feel very welcome and they could be more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the dorm bed is for 4 people and mixed, meaning that if there are only 2 guests, it looks that y are in a twin room with a stranger. not confortable for a woman solo traveller. My fault, I got what I booked; but I ended up changing to a single room, that the lady in the reception provided me for a friendly price. simple, japanese style, but very confortable

    the staff make me feel very welcome and they could be more helpfull providing me tips about the city and arranging me a trip to the great wall. located in the midle of the old town 10m walking to the drum and bell towers. safe and clean. I

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.0
    We arrived with our printed booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived with our printed booking.com confirmation, yet were told our reservation didn't exist. There was no apology or attempt to help us find another place to stay. After a lot of arguing we were eventually given a room. The courtyard style of the place is lovely but very noisy (barking dogs and a tour group talking through the night didn't help). This place is hostel style, and for a cheaper price I would have considered it charming. For $160 a night, i wish we'd stayed elsewhere.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    Helpful staff and wonderful interiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit unstable wifi connection

    Helpful staff and wonderful interiors. We were in Beijing for two nights en-route to Shanghai. It is in a fairly unnoticeable location so you need to make full preparations. But you can get cabs anywhere apart from Nanluoguxiang North Gate which was a 5 minute walk away. Room was of a typical hotel , with all necessary amenities, and was nice and quiet. Beds were comfortable. Most of the staff were friendly & helpful. Breakfast was an experience in itself, and the two dinners we had in the restaurant were fantastic too. Food choice a bit limited, however cannot fault the food they were serving at all.Overall, loved our stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    8.8
    Location was good, next to the hipster-like walking &...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower sink got stuck one, breakfeast ordered for 8am sharp was 20mins late, rooms might be noisy at the evening because of the near located lounge spaces. After all, these were just minor flaws.

    Location was good, next to the hipster-like walking & shopping alley. Easy to get taxis from nearby road. Quality and unique look of the place.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    8.8
    Great historic and charming Location -off busy houtong lane...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The address was misleading, access to hotel entrance is in a smaller alleyway parallel to Xiaoju'er Alley,also off South Luogu Lane, and perhaps a simple error but the phone no provided was on fax mode, so the hour and a half trying to find this place at 1.20 am in the morning in sub zero temperatures wasn't fun. Upside was the helpfulness and patience of my taxi driver!

    Great historic and charming Location -off busy houtong lane with lots of nice boutique shops, eateries, cafes and the odd bar nearby. Walking distance to drum tower and easy access to subway and Dongzhimen hub.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing! One of the best hostels I've stayed at in China and I've been here 5 years!

    Amazing location Nice living room area to relax in Clean and comfy dorms Friendly staff In a hutong (alleyway), a slice of old Beijing.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    7.9
    Great location in the Hutong area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a curtain to seperate the toilet and shower from the bedroom. Rooftop area could be a lot cleaner.

    Great location in the Hutong area

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: