Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mansion Hotel

82 Xin Le Road., Xuhui, 200031 Shanghai, China

#364 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 10 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    A museum in name and approach to hotel hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time to stay here but travel to Shanghai on average 6 times a year so am familiar with hotel standards. This hotel sadly is style over substance. Not sure how they can call themselves a 5star hotel. I arrived after midnight to check in and noone is at the desk to check me in. Eventually someone came wearing a casual tshirt and jeans.No room service after 10am(?) So needed to find a place outside to eat. When I got back he was asleep on one of the antique sofas. Hotel is not geared to non Chinese speaking customer. Staff are untrained and barely speak English. Basic questions cannot be understood. Lovely big bath but took exactly 1hour and 10 minutes to fill by which time the water is cold, beautiful lights but 3 times I needed to get someone to come to turn lights off as switch was broken. TV controls all in Chinese so need to get someone to come to room to show me how it works, no Intl TV channels, no DVD player available. No ironing service only dry cleaning and on Sunday was told it will be back Tuesday 7pm. It really is a museum that just happens to have a few rooms. Real shame that a few basics are missing that will bring this up to an average standard in local market.

    I was upgraded to a suite without asking. As a lover of antiques the ambience and display pieces are wonderful. I chose this hotel for its location which is great but overpriced in local area. Only good staff member is the guy who manages the bar. Lovely guy and very customer oriented

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Antique Shanghai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was lacking - which is something we experienced throughout our stay in China so be sure to organise something with your service provider before leaving home - and the breakfast buffet was a bit average but it was included in the cost of the room so not worth complaining about.

    When you enter the opulent gates and walk past the original rickshaw you are confronted by an amazing hotel filled with antiques that just added to the impression that you were leaving the modern world behind. The rooms were beautiful, the beds comfy and the bath was a swimming pool. The retention of the building's history is enhanced by the old Chinese music piped through its hallways and the restored collection of old photographs of the building from a bygone era.The hotel's location was perfect. A short walk to shopping, awesome restaurants and transport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Facilities need some maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Breakfast is the only thing felt sorry, not compared to the high standard Hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    2.9
    This purports to be an architectural treasure when it is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For instance while our room was unusually large, there were numerous large "soft" spots under the carpet where the floor gave way so that we had to hop around the room not to fall through. And among other issues, their sheets did not fit the king size bed so that you wake up on the mattress with the bottom sheet in a knot. Absolutely do not take the breakfast that itself seems to have a "patina."

    This purports to be an architectural treasure when it is an uncared for, rundown building.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    6.7
    The location is good, behind Huihai Road, about 10 min walk...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not possible to get wifi although calling the engineer who attempting to fix, however, still not possible to get connection at all for 2 days stay.

    The location is good, behind Huihai Road, about 10 min walk to the Underground station.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    need to fix the shower in bathroom. When taking a shower the water always spoils on the floor. This is very unsafe and annoying.

    Great location and comfortable rooms. Like the attention to details.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    4.6
    Location, building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Qualtity of facilities: all is very old inside, bathroom was not really clean. for the price of the rooms it's not normal It needs renovation or lower price

    Location, building I stayed there 8 years ago and I really loved it.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    7.1
    Upgraded because of problems with first room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi did not work in room - staff tried but were unable to fix this problem. Horrendous flashing light on Japanese toilet. Could not control level of heating in room - it was very hot indeed. Impossible to sleep without open window. Unable to reach window to open it without climbing on furniture. Very poor standard of breakfast served in room.

    Upgraded because of problems with first room. Heating in this room could be controlled, the wifi worked, and the windows could be reached from the floor. Toilet without the awful flashing light! Beds very comfortable. Most staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.8
    The period furniture, size of the rooms, height of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast arrangement was less than adequate however there is so much around this hotel that I took a short stroll to a French cafe every morning.

    The period furniture, size of the rooms, height of the ceiling, decorations and location (French Quarter) make this hotel an absolute delight. Beats any of the best hotels I have stayed in in Pudong.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.1
    The rooms and the hotel décor are superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi is very poor. The breakfast is modest and slow. The restaurant is very expensive

    The rooms and the hotel décor are superb

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Guests also reviewed these properties: