Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Michael's House Beijing

No.1, S.Yard, Zhiqiang Garden N., XiaoXiTian, Hai Dian, 100088 Beijing, China

#43 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The very bad experience was staff lower quality service I never have. No patience to explained schedule with us when we are new in Beijing , had different face to facing other foreigner guests (So I will recommend other nationality to live here), Even I like tp paid bill earlier, the staff told to me, can you talk my colleague later, I need to go home! What's the Fxxxxk answer here.

    The room what I choose was not bad. King size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some items don’t fit the look: are too modern/ standard for example doors and windows of rooms in white metal don’t fit with the look of the lobby. Bathroom construction of plastic (like cheap cruise ship).

    Quality of equipment. Great lobby with exquisite decoration and style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was quite difficult to find also by taxi drivers: business card with map should be bigger. Refrigerator in room was a bit too loud.

    Very beautiful inner courtyard and pleasant room with good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The one downside to the property is probably the location. It is not near any of the tourist sites, so it's maybe not the most exciting area. That being said, it was very easy to get to the subway (10 minute walk), there are small shops not too far away and it is a nice, quiet residential neighbourhood.

    Three of us stayed in the Emperor's Suite for four nights. The room was very large and the extra roll away bed was surprisingly comfortable! The couch, chairs and living space was a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing or to visit in the morning. The bathroom was also large, very clean and bright. The front desk staff ordered tickets for a few things for us, they were so helpful and professional. We enjoyed the breakfast on a few mornings, it had a great selection of Western and Chinese food and was a good start to a busy day. The courtyard area is clean, bright and comfortable as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was on the expensive side, for a place with no extra facilities. The buffet breakfast was pretty limited in terms of selection, but adequate.

    A comfortable, warm and quiet room, clean bathroom, and friendly English-speaking staff. Covered courtyard as a relaxation and breakfast area. Good wifi connection. Around 5-10 minutes to the metro. Good base for touring Beijing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    recurring problems with plumbing; not quite as cosy and welcoming as suggested by other (very positive) reviews. Being there in the depths of winter (early Feb) may have contributed to this.

    Helpful staff, pleasant atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wasn't the easiest place to find but the location wasn't bad as it is near the underground. My room was very cold but that might have been down to my inability to work the air con unit. Plus I didn't ask them to fix my situation, as I am sure they would have.

    The staff were very nice, very friendly and helpful! The facilities were nice, bathroom and shower were good. Bed was very comfortable The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bad smell in the rooms (I've tried to change a room but the other one smelled bad too) - cockroaches in the rooms! - rooms are next to the reception and hall/public space so you hear everything that happens in the hotel - no windows! I mean - there are some windows but to the corridor, not the outside. - breakfast is quite poor

    The staff speaks very good English, which is very rare in Beijing (even in 5* hotels)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with a good command of English. They arranged a day trip to the Great Wall at short notice. The property is traditionally decorated, clean, and really comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, it's easy to reach the hotel with public transportation, the hotel is not very far from the subway (Jishuitan) and also not far from the public bus n°877 (Deshengmen station) going to badaling (great wall) for 12 RMB. Very nice staff, clean room, nice decoration and good breakfast (western and chinese).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! From the location to the bedroom and the very caring staff. It was perfect! Its 5mn walk to the closest Subway and all commodities. Good location, and good people you shouldnt miss this place !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a beautiful restored hutong with gorgeous furniture, lovely linens and wonderful coffee and breakfast - we didn't want to leave. The owner was so helpful and friendly. Our best hotel in 5 weeks of travel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike, if you are happy to embrace the olde worlde!

    Accomodation was excellent for our group of 6 including 3 teenagers. Staff were very helpful, breakfast good value. Plenty of eating places within walking distance. Bedrooms quite large, with couch and desk. The central part of the hotel although small was great for reading , coffee etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just a warning that breakfast is a little idiosyncratic and slow to appear

    Quirky, characterful and charming. A great place to stay if you want to find the real Beijing and not be coccooned in the sterility of an international hotel. Very few cons and many pros.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell coming from the bathroom which was not nice. There was little natural light or airvents which did not help the smell.

    The room was lovely and the bed was very comfy. The staff were fab- they accommodated us for two early breakfasts out of the original breakfast timings as we were on tours. There was a small mall at the end of the main road with loads of food options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I think it is on the pricey side, when compared to other hotels I stayed in other parts of China.

    I travelled alone to Beijing to meet friends. I was nervous, and had heard that China was "difficult" to travel. Michael's House is built on a courtyard style, all rooms open into a shared patio where there was always at least one member of staff to help. They could not have been more helpful and they took all the anxiety away - providing maps, recommendations, and, most importantly, moral support. It was the best place I have ever stayed - loved it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The description mentions a garden view and garden furniture which is not quite accurate as it refers to the courtyard which is a shared area and is not a garden. It can lead to a disappointed feeling and would be more fair if it made this clear by referring to the room opening on to the shared courtyard with seating for guests. Take the advice of the hotel and take a taxi: the metro station is too far away to walk if you have heavy cases and it has no elevators or escalators!

    When I arrived a young lady immediately carried my suitcase in (which was very heavy,) and did not need to ask me anything when I checked in so I felt in capable hands! I was offered free cold fruit juice which is very refreshing on a hot day and my case was taken to my room for me. The room was charming and spotlessly clean, the shower was very hot and I could control the temperature to suit myself. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and cheerful staff: I got insect bites in the night so they provided insect repellant, there is a very good Western-style buffet breakfast, (included in the price) and the hotel is very quiet! The guests tended to be mature people and not the noisy backpackers you tend to find in the hostels downtown! The staff will also offer to call you a taxi! On the whole this is a delightful and very attractive small courtyard hotel! The beds are very comfortable and there is a real personal touch which makes a big difference!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far from subway about 15/20 min walking. We were travelling with young kids and the walk is not fun. But some bus lines are closer and go direct to drum tower and nearby hutongs: good to know (line 635 if i remember correctly). Return in the end of the day was done in tuktuk within 15 min from drum tower area.

    Lovely hotel, more like a guest house style with only 12 rooms. All rooms give on the patio common area, which remains pretty quiet and relaxing. Staff was extremely helpful and all very friendly. They even helped packing us a breakfast when we left early for a tour on the great wall or warm up our take away dinner that we ate in the patio.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. It would be better if eggs can be made to order instead of ready made in buffet style.

    Hotel is nicely ddecorated with a lot of character. All the staff are so friendly and helpful that it feels like staying at a friend's home. My compliments to Peter, Ling & Sunshine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Great rooms, though limited number available. Quiet, no street noise at all. Super helpful and friendly staff, happy to arrange anything you want. Landry service also excellent, and cheap. Great character in the place also. Location in a back ally may be off-putting, but don't let it be, it's super safe, nice and quiet, and people in the area are friendly, some nice places to eat also. The subway is less than 10 mins away, use it, it's cheap, easy to use, and can take you anywhere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent experience in Beijing. Close to subway and be very convenient to any place. Good service, and comfortable room. Only the taste of gas in the garden makes me upset.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The atmosphere was really authentic and the staff so welcoming and lovely in every way. It was Christmas time and they gave us a little gift and hosted a party. They made our children welcome for breakfast and kept some of our luggage whilst we went on a 10 day tour. Couldn't have been more helpful and the accomodation was perfect too!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position is just far enough form the city center to make it a bit difficult to move around. Expect to walk at least 15 minutes to get to the metro, but from there you can move all of the city

    Very pleasant and relaxing place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a unique, hotel experience. Individual enough in its decoration and space to be homely, while the room was comfortable enough to be a top hotel. Very helpful, friendly staff. Excellent heating and hot water in Beijing's winter. Lovely interiors.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Michael's House provided a true feel of old Beijing home. Aside from the excellent ambiance, amenities were great! The beds were very comfortable. Towels were always clean. Room was kept neat at all times. The staff consistently went out of their way to extend assistance from before we arrived, during our stay and until we left. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its really hard to find using just the address, even if you have a bit of chinese. Pay attention to the website map (we didnt).

    Lovely helpful and happy staff. Emperor room was good size and well laid out. Breakfast was western style and simple but good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very comfortable bed. Conveniently located 10 minutes walking to the metro station. Food market, several small shops inc 24h convenience stores and 2 malls nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Situated in an old ally way, poorly maintained place, room with no windows and dark, bathroom is a prefabricated box with plastic door, old A/C unit and noisy, breakfast was cold. Was booked for four nights but left the following morning.

    Peter was a real gentleman.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little basic - but then I did go at the end of the allotted time, so it may have had more variety an hour or so earlier

    The hosts were very helpful, they organised the taxis to the airport for me, and gave me clear directions for the use of the metro. It was very easy to get to the centre. The hostal itself is done in traditional style, and the room was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a detail, nonetheless the coffee could have been better

    - Welcoming, friendly, helpful staff - Homely atmosphere for a European arriving in Beijing and yet very Chinese - comfortably furnished as a hotel with its own unique character

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    --The wifi didn't work in our room, but it worked fine in the comfy central area right outside our door. --no supermarkets nearby, but fruit and other shops are handy.

    --we loved the spaciousness & comfort of our suite. (Their other rooms are small) --Peter worked the front desk much of the week we were there and he was really helpful. --we found it easy to walk the 10 minutes to the subway and get all around Beijing --if we did take a taxi, we did not find it expensive and the front desk called for us

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is true the place is not in the most beautiful neighbourhood in Beijing. I would have loved to have instructions for the air conditioning system.

    The place is an old style lovely house that makes you feel home. Peter and Sunshine were great with us. They helped us with the bookings for trips and gave us lots of tips.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a bit far from subway. Difficult to get cab. The room a bit small for the price.

    The friendly and helpful staff. Nice hall decoration. Good wifi and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had an issue with water running in the toilet, not a big deal. Besides that, spotless.

    The setting in a traditional Hutong is exactly the opposite to a chain - impersonal hotel. this, combined with the attention of the staff made it a great place to stay in Beijing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There's not much to not like about this place, except it's not the cheapest.

    I was with a large and unruly group and this is a small boutique hotel. However, it worked really well since our rooms were all virtually next door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Maybe it was the time of year, but there were a few mosquitoes flying around, got a few bites.

    Great that it's located in a residential area down a narrow street - you get to experience some of "real" Beijing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast provided was western style and minimal, very basic choices were provided. Either the TV had really bad signal in the room or it was broken.

    The room was nice and clean, all required amenities were provided. I loved the period decorations and furniture. Bed is very comfortable. Hotel staff is helpful, and as the hotel is located in a hutong away from the busy main road it was quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Not a lot of restaurants or supermarkets in the area- so if staying for more than 5 days maybe other areas would be more suitable. Otherwise for shorter stays this the place to stay in Beijing.

    Great staff and nice quiet rooms. Enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived 02.00 in morning from airport and left 06.30 two days later Staff were great given these arrival and departure times Very friendly Have stayed in four places now in Beijing and would return here Room was comfortable and large

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere of this little tucked away hotel was great, charming courtyard and welcoming staff. We had some travel hiccups to deal with on our trip and the kindness and assistance of the staff was just what we needed!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I found some, I will inform! But for now! Nothing!

    Excelent localization (10mns from line 2) Non typical but marvelous hotel, but excactly what to expect when you want to be closer of Beijing way of living (excelent note to the staff). Beautifull decoration! Very clean!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in room not working, but was able to use big one in central courtyard. Room a little cosy.

    Quiet location, reasonable distance to subway, friendly staff with adequate English, lovely ambiance, comfy beds, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets get blocked a lot - I'm told this is a quite freqent issue in China.

    Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, we really enjoyed our stay. The neighbourhood is a bit scruffy, but perfectly safe. The subway is close, which is a great plus.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would've been nice to have an English channel on the TV (especially during the Brexit debacle)...but everything was actually lovely.

    Bed was so comfortable. Rooms are spacious. Timeout Beijing available. Good shower. Lovely people. Simple but good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet plumbing poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff Nice and quiet atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not really near good places to eat.

    Quiet at night time. Boutique hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast had good variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit away from most sites and restaurants.

    Very nice place with a lovely staff and a lot of space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome BnB in central Beijing. Desk staff super helpful! Definitely would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located quite close to the underground and when you are there it seems like you are living in a traditional Chinese house

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler was small, not enough take shower and washing your body , winter !

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad location low privacy, too cold in the dinning area in the winter

    Lucky to meet some happy receptionist,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very accommodating, especially with my very late arrival in to Beijing! Easy access to most sites on the Subway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place in Beijing, location is nearby subway and local Chinese cuisines.

    good facilities, room clean, stay safety, staffs hospitality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coziness, the friendly atmosphere, the helpfulness of the staff. Very home-like environment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peter spoke excellent English , the breakfast was very good and all staff helpful and kind ,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was wonderful fresh and variable choice good selection of chinese and european

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere in the courtyard where breakfast is served.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis couldn't find his location

    The atmosphere very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were delightful and helpful. The place was a quiet haven

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Rooms are too small and untidy,2. Doesn't have proper ventilation and lighting.

    Only location and staff behaviour

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor and atmosphere were wonderful and the staff were all superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing local Beijing neighbourhood. The staff were awesome and were so helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, friendly, helpful staff, great location, great facilities, what's not to like?!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    standard room was small, location in a non-impressive residential area.

    good service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replace Pure Life bottled water with Nongfu Spring.

    Michael's House like home. No sacred cows. Every process treated with suspicion, as promised.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    1) Internet didnt work in my room at all, when I asked the staff, they played like they didnt understand what i meant, but we came for business, and i had to sit in the lobby to do my work. 2) Breakfast 3) Aircon didnt work properly, sounded like it was 100 years old. Impossible to open the window as people sit outside your door and speak too loud. all rooms are based on the first floor. 4) The room we got was a very small, no wardrobe, me and my wife we couldnt even put our bags on the floor. Maybe because we got the cheapest room, however, the RATE IS OVERPRICED FOR THIS HOTEL! 5) The water was liking under the sink 6) Taxi cannot come near the hotel, you have to walk down and ask people (if you know chinese) 7) location? there are much better places with better location for this price, if you are backpacker, maybe it is ok for you, but we came for business meeting and walking with expensive watches was not comfortable in this particular area. Overall, maybe this hotel was a good place like 10 years ago, but nowadays it is not worth the money. If you like old style places and hostels, there are plenty of them at least twice cheaper. Dont forget, they charge 15% service fees plus VAT TAX as well.

    Staff, they are friendly, and they try to help you as much as possible

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The neighborhood street food stalls have been shut down. I think it's lost a lot of the charm. The authentic Chinese feel has diminished. Breakfast has gone downhill as well. Nothing looked very appetizing (breaded fried fish patties?) and was often not replenished.This was my fifth stay in 3 years.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Maybe the choice of breakfast, but really it didn't matter much.

    The decoration, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable, clean, love the small dumpling shop next door...beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A local breakfast of noodles would have been appreciated rather than continental.

    Beautiful old Hutong with lovely decor. friendly staff. Clean & comfortable, not far from metro station.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They added a 30% surcharge to the room rate that they could not explain nor as best we could observe justify - this pushed the room rate over what we wanted to pay and looked like a mechanism applied to recover the best price room rate we had been offered thru this site. The staff we engaged with had very very limited English and became quickly unhelpful / shut down if your query ran outside any standard norm for them. The place is a good 15 mins walk from closest subway although on line 2 . We are active walkers and the weather was clear but cold to freezing if not then this could be a limiting factor in v hot and or wet weather. The rooms are quiet if there are quiet living folk in situ but if not given all rooms only open to the shared court yard then there is no relief. The breakfast provided are a mix of styles with OK quality that satisfactorily caters to probably no one although for a night or two then fine

    The stay was an insight into hutong life - the rich and dense other culture experience we sought in China - in the 7 night stay we used the local shops and amenities and watched the people go about their day to day with wonder and respect for all they do to make it work well for each and all. The place and the locality is safe and the local shops etc are user friendly for all

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is difficult for taxi drivers to find. Breakfast juice could be better.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and could speak basic, but sufficient English. The bed was absolutely fantastic!! The atmosphere of the hotel was very charming. The hotel is walking distance from a convenient subway line.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Michael's House was my favourite choice because of Chinese atmosphere. Very nice rooms, with big and comfortable bad. Bathroom with all necessary washing liquids and very soft, big, white terry towels. Additionally refrigerator and equipment for preparing tea and coffee in the room. Breakfasts were very tasty. Very positive advantage with good English speaking staff in the reception, very kind and helpful, eager to advise you what is interesting to see in Beijing. 10 min. walk to the Jishuitan metro station. I recommend this boutique hotel to everybody who likes Chinese style.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I suggest you to bring your own towel because their towel and bathroom staffs are not so clean, the towel is looking slightly grey and I discovered hair from someone else on the towel!

    The hotel is very comfortable, the room is cozy, bed was clean. The hotel surprisingly provide a simple breakfast during my stay which is very nice.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Michael's House Beijing traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: