Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Beijing Peace

3 Jinyu Hutong, Wangfujing, Dongcheng, 100006 Beijing, China

#165 of 582 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1416 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was fantastic 10/10 the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt for £100 per night that the room decor was a little dated and jaded ... we travel a lot and in reality of our experience the room was worth £60 .. I’m in a room now in pingyao for £20 and apart from overall cleanliness it’s pretty much the same 1/5th of the price THE ABOVE ARE NOT COMPLAINTS BUT OUR SUBJECTIVE OBSERVATIONS

    The breakfast was fantastic 10/10 the location was perfect for us 5 minute walk to snack street and central and cheap £2-£4 for all taxi rides

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    3.3
    my shower had black mold in it, the carpet was detached from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my shower had black mold in it, the carpet was detached from the floor in places in room 2601 (i'll add pictures) and the matress was hard as a rock. Honestly the worst place I've ever stayed at anywhere for any price point including hostels.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    Location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was so uncomfortable. Worst I’ve ever slept on. It was like sleeping on a wooden plank.

    Location was superb. Housekeeping were great and room was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    Grad stay and would choose to stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heated swimming pool wasn’t really heated. It was on 27 deg Celsius in “autumn” and that was pretty cold, cool air was also blowing at the pool area making it more colder. I hope the management will somehow do something about it, nevertheless my child enjoyed the pool because children will always be children. But adults will surely not enjoy that temperature level.

    Location was superb, accessible to all, less than 5 min walk to subway station. Small convenience store close by although you have a better choice for supermarket at Wangfujing street which is also less than 5 min walk. Big department stores close by. Macdonalds, KFC on both sides of Wangfujing. You can walk to Tian’anmen square if you wanna avoid the crowd in the subway.. best part at the hotel was we checked in at 11:00 am although check in time was at 2:00 pm and it was with no extra charge. Breakfast was great too with lots of choices.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Location, upper mid-range for other upscale hotels, walkable for the physically active.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like many Chinese hotels, common areas seem extravagant while rooms are less so. For Novotel, room furniture and carpet is becoming worn out and needs updating. That said, bed was excellent. Well spoken English at reception. Didn't do breakfast but attached buffet restaurant for dinner was overpriced for selection offered.

    Location in upscale area. Subway station close enough. Can walk to Forbidden City etc. Expect crowds always Cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    This hotel has "location, location, location", only 500m to Wafujing Street shopping precinct/malls
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The receptionist staff were extremely helpful and friendly, they could speak good English and translated for us to Chinese and spoke with Air China in Beijing, several times in order to track down my brothers missing baggage from our flight to Beijing. The international buffet breakfast in the hotels "The Square" eatery was excellent, with a wide range of choices to suite everyone's taste. The room was clean, had all the basic necessities, the shower was large and the water hot and plentiful, it was a comfortable stay in a rather spacious room, if a little dated but very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    The cafe/bar was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bedrooms were a bit 'tired', There was a smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors when we came out of our room.

    The cafe/bar was good. The staff were helpful. The food was good both in the bar and the restaurant, The location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Acceptable - good on the whole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are looking a bit 'tired' and the light wasn't good. We could smell smoke, from people smoking, when we stepped out of our room.

    The entrance, cafe/bar was good. The restaurant was good. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was not overly friendly. As usual struggled to speak English. Simple things like borrowing an umbrella was a chore. The room was worn and tired, the bath tub had stains and the towel rack was hanging at an angle.

    The location was great. Wifi worked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location within central beijing and proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was provided a room very close to the lift so regularly got woken by early or late people using the lift.

    Excellent location within central beijing and proximity to the underground station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Rest is important to travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is uncomfortable, especially the pillows are the worst that we ever seen, please note that travellers need to have good rest.

    Forbidden city is within walking distant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location, poor service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor service. I was arriving early in the morning and was leaving late in the evening, so I asked for early check-in/late check-out (I was prepared to pay for it), but they didn’t provide it so I needed to pay full amount for two extra nights. I booked transfer from the airport, but when I arrived there was no one waiting for me. I spent an hour on the phone talking to reception. They said the driver was probably “somewhere outside” so I had to go out and look for him. They couldn’t say WHERE exactly, and he didn’t have a card with my name nor with the name of the hotel. So how did they expect me to find him??? When I finally arrived to the hotel, they didn’t even say sorry. By the way, the price for the transfer turned out to be 5 times (!) higher than taxi price. Breakfast: I stayed there for a week and they never changed a thing. The food was OK but not much variety.

    The bed was very comfortable. The location is superb for Beijing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, nice rooms if you know exactly what you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The initial room we got.

    -The manager was very good as he immediately understood our problem and solved it within 24 hours. -The concierge was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool excess and to pay for a cap to swim.... first time I am heading from a 4 star international hotel

    Room was good.... staffs friendly But basic standard for 4 star

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Value for money, spacious, nice bed, there was a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub had stain, end up didn’t use. Can be quite noisy sometimes rooms are not sound proof. Hard to get a cab as is the road there is always congested all day.

    Value for money, spacious, nice bed, there was a room freshener which makes the stay more comfortable, good air con, hot water is consistent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    All the staff were friendly and helpful, central location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a delayed flight and had to spend a night in Istanbul, this would have been our first night in Beijing we contacted Novotel and told them the situation and that we were still coming for the 3 nights, on arrival we were told that our room had been booked and they had no vacancies, but they did find us another hotel for 1 night and then we went back to Novotel for 2 nights.

    All the staff were friendly and helpful, central location and the room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reminder for the future guests-- you are not staying at Hilton or anything. Lower your expectations. The room was a bit dark for two glasses wearing people and the view was meh. Didn't eat the breakfast, so I don't have a clue. The lobby is smaller than what you see in the photo.

    The location was SUPERB. Airport-run shuttle bus stops right in front of the hotel. Very close to Wangfujing but it's in the hutong, so you can enjoy the night of Wangfujing on foot(3 min walk to the apm building) and sleep quietly in the room. The cleaning service was what we didn't expect. Each day the hotel cleans the room. Don't forget to get the rooms with 'superior' title, they are the ones in the new building. I read some bad reviews abt outdated furniture in the old building. I will definitely return to this hotel when I get to visit Beijing again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Concierge was really helpful and good, location close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lacks power-sockets at bedside, receptionists varied in politeness.

    Concierge was really helpful and good, location close to many tourist sites and subway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.2
    Really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was really old and tired in its decor. We were quite disappointed as had previously stayed with them in japan and rated it highly. My 8 year old daughter wanted to go swimming so we entered the pool but was told she cannot get in as she wasn’t wearing a swimming cap. Unaware she needed one I asked why none of the other children were wearing one. He said they didn’t need one. Confused I contacted reception as to why this could be and was told she might be dirty! We are a family of mixed heritage and felt we were discriminated against. Made a formal complaint and that was ignored. I have yet to get a response. I will never stay with this racist hotel group again.

    Really good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Avoid the dodgy section of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are two sections to this hotel - the nice (main building section) and the dodgy "other" section, where the carpet is daggy along with the rooms. Our first room, a 'Standard Suite' (in the dodgy other section) was roomy but came with cigarette smells and an extremely uncomfortable mattress. After enduring two nights here - as the other section was fully booked - we moved the main building and had a much more pleasant experience.

    We found the staff to be very helpful throughout these challenges mentioned below.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfy stay, but a little better cleaning needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could need a better cleaning under the furniture. There were old dust/dirt/hairs from previous visitors. Bad reception on the tv.

    Friendly staff. Clean toilet. Comfy bed. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby tired rooms, indifferent staff more concerned with cleaning up than with allowing guests to finish meals or keeping buffet stocked. Premium prices for drinks and meals

    Very little

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    The price we paid for the room was not up to standard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price we paid for the room was not up to standard outdated room decor and not very clean with stains on the table and carpet. We originally booked for 3 nights but checked out after the first and checked in elsewhere. It is in great location. You have to use a swimming hair cap in the swimming pool and if you don’t have one then they try sell you one as they don’t have spare. I have stayed in better hotels who can lend a swim hat for free and don’t force you to buy one from them. The lady at the swimming pool reception was not friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    We enjoyed Beijing. The hotel is at the centre of a vibrant part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was not ready when we arrived at 2.30pm yet the website stated it would be available at 2.00pm. The hotel is a rabbit warren so it was difficult to find our room. We had to carry our heavy suitcases up a flight of stairs as there was no lift in one section. No one from the staff had offered to help us at any time. We are both in our 70s so an offer of help would have been appreciated.

    The location is excellent. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, nice location, nice memories.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I asked for a taxi to airport, the concierge tried to arrange a taxi for double price. However, when I said "no", they immediately arranged a taxi with meter.

    The room was clean, provided with everything a traveller needs. Plus, it had some sort of calming color and design. It is just 10 minutes from the famous Wangfujing street. At night time, one of a side streets turned into a night food market - clean, busy, but safe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Tour desk amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard. We were in the old section and the smell was very stale. Great location and lovely breakfast. Shopping centre across the road, we are there a few times amazing selection.

    The staff, especially the tour desk were super helpful and friendly. Went above and beyond for every question we had.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Self-service laundry would have been good, instead of the expensive in-house service.

    The staff and concierge were both really helpful. The wifi was great, and our room was lovely. We booked a double room, and it came with one room as a bedroom and another as our own lounge. We liked the lobby bar and the fact that they showed the football when we were there! It was also well located and easy to walk to the Forbidden City.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel, friendly staff en perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel, friendly staff en perfect location. This time I was here with my family and we had 2 connected rooms, which felt has having just a big apartment. Compliments!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Our stay in Beijing was incredible, made better by our choice of staying at Novotel Beijing Peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    One small issue, while the bathrooms were adequate and completely functional, they are a little outdated. An upgrade to the bathrooms would just round off the high quality of the rest of the room. Currently there is a bath and shower in one with a shower curtain. A stand alone shower would be so much nicer. Bath towels were replaced everyday and the bathroom was spotless so certainly did not detract from our stay. They also supply toiletries like shampoo, shower gel, tooth brushes, shaving kits and soap, which is a great help when your toiletries start to run out.

    Novotel Beijing Peace was the perfect hotel for our family. It's location is ideal as it is close to the metro which makes getting around so easy. If you like to walk, The Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square are within walking distance. In fact, just exploring the area around the hotel made for great sightseeing. The AMP Beijing Mall is a quick walk from the hotel where you are spoilt for choice for restaurants. We enjoyed the most spectacular meals, in particular I can strongly recommend Grandma's - don't be put off by the crowds, the food is well worth the wait. The night market is an absolute must for gift shopping and sampling street food and is an easy walk from the hotel. The hotel itself was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were large and tastefully decorated. We booked 2 rooms as we were travelling with our children. The standard queen suite had a large queen sized bed that was so comfortable. I usually struggle with hotel pillows but the ones supplied by Novotel were ideal, soft and comfortable. Our children stayed in a superior twin room, which also had very comfortable beds. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient. They all speak English really well, which was a huge help. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was hassle free. Having the swimming pool was fantastic after a long hot day of sight seeing. Just remember to pack swimming caps. The breakfasts were great. Will definitely stay at the Novotel Beijing Peace Hotel again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection must to improve

    An excellent and good located Hotel at Beijing. There are nearby shops, Metro stations and restaurants of all kinds. Very clean. All the hotel staff is very friendly and professional. The breakfast buffette is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and my son had a good time waking around. The location and breakfast is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chefs at the hotel restaurant are not very friendly, nor kind. No facial expression and not willing to help. I asked the fruit section chef to help cut one apple open for my son ; he replied coldly: go talk to the waiting staff. I don’t appreciate his attitude. Also the lobby cafe staff refused to break a 100 yuan note for me on my last ten minute stay waiting for my taxi to drive us to the airport, saying she has no change; instead she prompted me to order with a menu sticking into my face. So I asked her: if I order something, you have change to offer for sure, right? And she just walked away without answering.

    Big thanks to The manager Ms Tang and staff member Jack in helping me with my son’s needs. It is a very family friendly hotel. Comfy bed. Very good air conditioning. Most staff are nice and friendly. My son and I had a very good 9-night stay. My son loves the gym and swimming pool. It is so close to Wangfujing Street, great for shopping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean, comfortable, excellent location and fantastic staff (very friendly & helpful). We arrived early in the morning with 3 kids and the hotel were so nice to allow us to check in right away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Novotel hotels are great so this one needs to maintain its standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel is getting a little tired in the sense that our shower didn't work and then the aircon didn't work in a newly renovated room. The older beds need changing so too the bedlinen. It's in an excellent location and just needs to be fully renovated.

    The reception and bar are good. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Room was nice amd comfortable -- but no view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice (included in booking price). We had an evening meal in the restaurant at our own cost, this was very over priced for what was on offer. We didn't purchase another meal after this.

    Room was nice amd comfortable -- but no view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    If only everyone in the hotel were courteous, this would have been a perfect stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only the staff are all friendly. Some are just plain rude! During breakfast, they ask your room number and when you go out of the restaurant (like maybe go to the toilet) and come back, they will ask you again. Of course you will give the same room number and they look at you like you are cheating your way in. You have to explain why you are coming back and that’s really okay but they give you a look, a bad one I tell you. At the buffet table, some attendants roll their eyes when you ask about the food and answer you like they’re shouting and like you’re so dumb you dont know what food is on the table! I really think that you should train your staff to be more “diplomatic” with guests considering that Novotel is an international brand. We chose this because of the brand knowing that in China, some people are really rude. We thought that Novotel would be different. To be fair, the front office staff are really courteous and accommodating. They will happily ask you what they can do for you whenever you approach them. The concierge was also helpful when we need taxis and other recommendations for shopping, etc.

    The location is the biggest plus. Very near restaurants and shopping malls as well as tourist spots.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great staff, good food, great facilities, you will not be disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On site shop a little expensive, but understand why.

    Great facilities, good pool, a little cold! Great bar area, good restaurant, excellent buffet, friendly helpful staff, close to good shopping centre and restaurants. Child friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Really close to forbidden city and other touristic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems like an old refurbished hotel with carpets everywhere, but the rest compensates this set back. Since the location is good, you won’t be inside the hotel with so many things to discover outside.

    Really close to forbidden city and other touristic attractions. In fact, you could go on foot or by bicycle (the hotel has got some bikes for you to go around). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service staff didn’t quite understand our requests and we ordered 2 soups but only one was delivered. But we didn’t mind so much as it was very late in the evening.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. They upgraded us from a standard to superior without even being asked. The hotel itself was lovely and clean enough. Location is great and very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Five star price but I was absolutely shocked when I entered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Five star price but I was absolutely shocked when I entered the room. The west part hotel rooms are hard to find( with many detour ) and facility is very old (cracked table, aged toilet tiles) within really small room. Two very small single beds pretty much occupied the room. Not recommend at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    It’s located on a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s located on a prime location. Very easy to get around by subway. We would like to thank the front staff, Hansen Wang, specifically. He had been very helpful during our week long stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Highly recommend for this price range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The indoor pool was very small. So I went for the chinese physician massage instead. Nice !

    Very convenient location. Short walk to Wangfujing. About 5 to 10 min walk to 2 subway stations. 15 min walk to Forbidden City. The airport shuttle stops outside the hotel. The hotel is not new but well maintained. Very friendly staff. The concierge was super helpful. Very good value for this price !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant location, facilities and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. This hotel is in a great location. Lovely staff and good facilities. Breakfast was amazing. All the comforts of a lux hotel without the pretension. My 13 year old loved the breakfast options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    The location is great and there is a decent restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard and uncomfortable beds, a tiny room that was not cleaned well at all (dirty bathroom!) and to top it off reception staff that only block USD 78 on your credit card, so any time you spend more than that amount; they block your card, leading to some embarrassing moments in the hotel’s bar and restaurant where we were told we couldn’t sign our meal to our room (and we didn’t have any cash or credit card on us). This happens twice, despite my complaining after the first time and assurances that it would not happen again.

    The location is great and there is a decent restaurant, lobby bar, gym and pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. It was an L shape and the beds were tucked up in the corner. Was quite depressing. Didn't have a friendly feel although the porters were pleasant.

    Very central location. Bar staff were nice as were the porters. I emailed for an early check in but the hotel had no record of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was perfect and we were able to get Wangfujing...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the hotel is a good value for money but needs some renovation, it feels like an old. The lighting in the room was very poor.

    The location was perfect and we were able to get Wangfujing by walking. Friendly and English-speaking staffs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, food and staff. Happy hour drinks were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Wifi was useless.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. The location was perfect and we were able to get to all of the places we wanted to go to. Staff were knowledgable and spoke good English. The food was exceptional for breakfast. My only (small) complaint is that the bed was too hard and dipped in the middle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Good Beijing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little chaotic and disorganised in the restaurant for evening buffet - had to get up to request drinks and we were asked whether we could pay on card/put it on our room bill rather than our choice of cash Swimming pool is on the cold side! Water supply to shower not very strong or warm Staff not altogether clear on what charges were being applied to card - had to query this despite having booking.com receipt

    Close to Wangfujing shopping street and half an hour walk from Tiananmen Square area Around 40 mins drive from airport but cost only around £10 Good buffet in the hotel restaurant Large, comfortable room and bathroom Bottled water provided in place of tap water (free in bathroom) Comfortable bed Breakfast was good - pastries, toast, fruit, selection of hot food and coffee Helpful concierge desk - easy to get taxis etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Relaxing....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very unpleasant when they offered us a room without windows and were very aggressively when I asked to change it, The booking rooms are without windows, they mentioned. Although we have selected a large room (around 50 square meters) this room does not have windows. They do not have maps in the hotel, it is difficult to arrange a tour and the personnel from reception is extremely non-polite. Except location, which is good, I do not recommend this hotel.

    The localization is the only good think. It is located at 5 minutes walk from pedestrian street, 10 minutes from Metro station and 40 minutes walk from Tianenmen square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    the concierge can help to arrange good tours eg great wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beware. a standard room is below novotel standard. if you want to enjoy 4 star comfort you need a higher level like superior.

    the concierge can help to arrange good tours eg great wall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.4
    Hotel is way too pricey for its current condition. Good location though and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a foul smell in room 2619. It was so bad that we had to request for a room change which they obliged after much haggling that the room is inhabitable. My children’s room, 2620 started to have the same odor after our 2nd day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfortunately door to our room can not properly closed so i have to put my suitcase to hold the door just in case Rooms looks kind of need rejuvenation i guess for name of a hotel such as novotel.

    Location is good, walking distance to places of interest such as wangfujing, shops and places to eat.. overall i would say very handy location.. but unfortunately door to our room can not properly closed so i have to put my suitcase to prevent people from intruding. Rooms looks kind of need renovation i guess for name such as novotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great breakfast, staff helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I emailed the hotel requesting airport shuttle but they never replied, so we had to organise our own transport, not a big issue however.

    The location was great, just around the corner from Wangfujing Street. Room was lovely and clean and included breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay if not for the disappointment with the given room with no window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not happy with the room given to us.There was no window,For the same price ,we could have got a better room at another hotel.We were rather disappointed.

    Location close to various types of food in the same building.only 10 minutes walking distance.Staff very helpful and pleasant.We liked the overhead shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent property for sightseeing Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little tired & our room smelt of cigarettes.

    Great location within walking distance to Forbidden City, Wangfujing st & subway. Staff extremely helpful, breakfast awesome & quite rooms!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi driver organisation from the property. We payed 75 yuan airport hotel taxi And 175 yuan hotel airport taxi. The concierge organised us the luxury taxi (black ) one. Maybe he will get commission for that. So take care take the normal taxi. Otherwise everything was perfect:location ,food, value for money

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    great location; premier rooms are updated and excellent; and breakfast is good value and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing. we had no experiences there in 5 nights [at 2 different times] that needed improvement

    location was great- close to subway and to shopping street and restaurants. I stayed in 2 different rooms- the Premier room was updated and great. The regular room was identical except it had not yet been upgraded in the bathroom or new carpet. Take the premier room! Breakfast was excellent quality and value. And concierge staff, and all staff, were great- friendly, courteous, and really helpful. Excellent value for money. And as gay travellers, we did not feel any sense of discomfort or discrimination within the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets on the beds were not changed at all during our stay and they would make the bed without making sure it was tidy. Lotions in bathroom were not changed and leaked on counter. Shower head was not working properly.

    Breakfast buffet was really good and the location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location for first timers to Beijing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dated and can b upgraded. Bathroom door is glass and doesn’t seal properly which was a bit challenging with a family.

    Excellent location for first timers to Beijing. Very helpful staff and concierge. Coffee good, Nespresso. Starbucks and malls nearby. ATM Bank across street. Big shopping street and tourist attractions within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    hotel well placed can walk to forbidden palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there are 8 rooms in the hotel that did not have windows so make sure you do not end up with one of those.

    breakfast was good. hotel tourist information was also good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    fantastic location but old property
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel is quite old. rooms were small

    location. right opposite Peninsula and Hilton, next to waldorf astoria. Very close to Metro station, and shopping. good chinese restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    I had booked a standard room but it was so run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a standard room but it was so run down. The bathroom tap pipes had lost the coating, the shower tap was almost broken, the basin counter had marks all over it, the veneer of the table in the room was coming apart & the room was so dingy! Novotel must renovate the rooms immediately.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.8
    A fraud. Selling old rooms using high reviews the new building gets
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room - old, looking unclean, uncomfortable bumpy bed. The staff - some are rude and unprofessional, barely speak English. Money - got charged a “room service deposit”, then was charged for the actual room service above that. Still not sure if I’m getting the money back. If you get put into the second - old - building (room number starts with 2) prepare to get disappointed in the Novotel brand.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay. I enjoyed every moment of my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room is so spacious and the bed is excellent. The breakfast buffet is way too good and delicious, too many varieties to choose from. The location is also very close to the mall and subway. Overall very good experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    if not for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like about how the standard room was advertised. It could have been more straightforward in informing prospective guests that standard room is in the old building. It really needs refurbishment. The room is dark with red lights which honestly white lights are better and brighter. The carpets are stained. The armrest of the chair fell apart due to its wear and tear and age. There was no signage for housekeeping so the lady went to our room during our bfast at 8am and we were caught offguard because we left our wallets in the room with no knowledge that housekeeper will go in . At the other new building, room is much better but A/C WAS A problem. The room was humid and electric fan was used to cool the room as they wont switch the A/C CENTRALIZED due to cold weathet outside.

    The location Breakfast was just fine. It is repetitious but its better than going out to buy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    THE AIRCONDITIONER NOT WORKING IN THE ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    NO AIRCONDITIONER IN ROOM. THE ROOM IS HOT!

    THE AIRCONDITIONER NOT WORKING IN THE ROOM. THE SAFETY DEPOST BOX NOT WORKING TOO. THE CONCIERGE IS NOT POLITE, THE HOTEL CHAIN IN AN INTERNATIONAL THEY SHOULD BE SERVE AS PROPER AND WELL SERVICE.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Good location, great breakfast, very friendly, nice staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in the rooms are nit very convenient. Furnitures are bit outdated.

    Good location, great breakfast, very friendly, nice staff, comfortable bed and pillows, very good selection of tv channels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    I was satisfied with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I drink a water in the mini bar, but I replace it with the same item, still I was charged for it.

    The staff are kind and helpful. Selection of food in the buffet is good. Location is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Great Breakfast and good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had bad smell, we changed the room and after one day, the new one also started to have bad smell :(

    Great Breakfast and good location! Big rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.6
    Worst Novotel I've ever stayed at - expected more level of standard.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Concierge could only order one taxi at a time, which made no sense. Thus if they ordered one for another guest, would have to wait until their taxi arrives before concierge will order one for you. - Rooms were small, mediocre, just OK in cleanliness. Beds were small and uncomfortable. - Staff was nice enough (they were trying, I guess), but did not seem to know what they're doing.

    Pool and sauna was really nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    It was below my expectation considering that the hotel is part of a well known hotel chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have been to many hotels and they make sure that they change the breakfast menu after every few days. This hotel did not bother to change the menu and the food being serve is less than mediocre

    For the length of my stay we have the same menu for breakfast. Breakfast was bad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was just perfect! High standards of hygiene! Comfortable standard room! An unsurpassed breakfast buffet! The subway was nearby as were shopping possibilities and very nice restaurants!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend this hotel. Staff made everything very easy - from tours to city advice. Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only SMALL thing was that the pool was only average. Didn't make much use of it as it was a bit small and quite cold. A jacuzzi or hot tub would go a long way, I reckon!

    The breakfast was amazing every morning. Great selection of various foods for the conservative eater and adventurous alike. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff are very loud in the corridors early in the morning meaning it's difficult to sleep (Our room was beside their store cupboard unfortunately). Pool is freezing cold and sauna wasn't on. Room was on the small side.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, really helpful concierge. Fantastic breakfast-lots of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    4.6
    I'm really disappointed this hotel. Very bad furnished. Bad breakfast, cold room in winter time
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very old, seems not clean. Bad odor, very high price, poor breakfast, cold room in winter time. No good choice of tea or coffee in room. No iron, no tissue for shoes. We are very disappointed on the difference of price and service. Very different than other Novotel hotels in Beijing. Bad furnished.

    I not happy. I've paid more than 150 USD per day per room. But room was very cold, not clean, very bad furnished. No iron, no tissue for shoes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    4.2
    If you search in your records I stay at Novotel Peace since...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you search in your records I stay at Novotel Peace since 2013, or more. At the beginning was very good. But it is getting bad. It must be renewed, quickly. Maybe this was my last time using your hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: