Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Wuhan Xinhua

No.558 Jianshe Avenue, Hankou District, Jiang Han, 430022 Wuhan, China

#38 of 116 hotels in Wuhan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Restaurant to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, too much Asian oriented. Very few things and not very good if you are looking for something different at Chinese cuisine. Even pizza was terrible, ketchup instead of tomato! Sightseeing: local attractions are not at walking distance

    Room was not big but price interesting

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    All the staff whole-heartedly assisted us for every single...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hope Gym area is more carefully designed so work-out will be more enjoyable :)

    All the staff whole-heartedly assisted us for every single thing during our stay. The restaurant manager, receptionists, housekeeping staff, all in all, two thumbs up! Chinese hospitality was found in Novotel Xinhua :D Also the lake for night walk and Zhongsan Park at the back of the hotel, department store right beside the hotel were all good options for convenient daily needs! Thank you very much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Inexpensive for the quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Under the sink, you see a panel coming off, that is supposed to cover the drainage.

    Inexpensive for the quality. Good access to Metro. Staff was efficient, smooth check-in/out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is pretty old actually and the smell and dust. It's on the other side of the river that takes extra time on crossing harbour tunnel. Some taxi drivers refused to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    The hotel charge me the room TWICE !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel charge me the room TWICE !!!! when I book using BOOKING.COM a credit card I use with BOOKING usually are NOT touch by hotel . Indeed I usually pre-pay the room deposit with MY OWN credit card . This time too. I checking out and pay as usual with mine . 5526xxxxxxxx9194 . I pay normally 2245 CYN , room rate plus few extras. BUT ... few days later also the other credit card 5586xxxxxxxxxx0087 was charge with the room rate, 2069 CYN . That's not good . I ask you to refund me in a way or another . Best Regards

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.3
    Not a bad place to stay a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit dated. I stayed in a non-smoking room, but I could still smell smoke in the hallway and in my room.

    The bed was comfortable and the buffet breakfast was plentiful. There is a metro station approximately a five-minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Close to subway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little hot, even with the AC on,so we asked to be moved. They did move us to a better room.

    It was a block away from a subway station, and also close to restaurants and a park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.8
    Booking.com misrepresents this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The list of disappointments is lengthy, but advertising a hotel with massage and sauna when neither are at the property is outrageous misrepresentation.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swimming pool -closed and too far, not easy access. I had to walk through the restaurant then take the lift and walk along a corridor, take the stairs to find out that the swimming pool was closed. The hotel needs to be freshen up. I will come back for the staff and the comfy bed. Unfortunately not worth its 5 stars compared to other hotels in the area. However I had a good stay and I like that you had some mall and convenience shops around.

    Bed, staff and Breakfast at the restaurant. I was pleasantly surprise by the quality of the food. Executive bedroom was very spacious. Good breakfast in the lounge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and staff. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel not having cool central a/c on.

    Pretty much everything. When we arrived, they upgraded us. The room we got was hot as the central A/C (cool) was not on because of low temperature. Upon hearing of our discomfort, the staff was courteous and changed our room to one with an individual A/C. The toilet in the first suite was fantastic. The second room was decent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Great value and good service in Wuhan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet connection was pretty poor in my room, even for China although it was fine in the lobby.

    I needed help booking a train ticket to Changsha. The front desk manager Judy was particularly helpful, spoke very good English and sorted out my arrangements. Very good service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.8
    mediocore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apperance looks five stars, however i give one star to the room, carpet seems unwashed for 10 years with moulds and blacking dots everywhere, small bed, one more thing sucks is no reacheable windon and the tiny one on the very top cant let so much air in even though it is opened. Gym and swimming pool were closed as opposed to what it was advertised on website.

    Location seems to be perfect, there are two big shopping malls 15 mins away by taxi depends on traffic, and a very nice and famous food street called wan song lao jie is adjacent where you can find some great deals and food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.8
    It is still a decent place to stay if you are not that demanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I chose a superior room but it is the same as the standard one. Maybe 9F is superior? I had expected a slightly bigger room. The cost adds on 10% and 6.6%, while the extra 0.6% is not shown anywhere. The staff trends to be not that helpful. When the Fox Sports channel was not working properly at around 10pm , I called the service but the lady who answered the phone said the engineer was off the duty. It was until I insisted, she sent someone to check after 10 to 15 minutes, and then fixed the problem from back-office system.

    The location is good, in downtown and close to Metro Line, easy access to railway station, airport and close to a food street and a department store. Other that that, the hotel has a big swimming pool and tennis court on the roof. Though you need go to the other side of the building to take the elevator and go through an area with no light.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.1
    Some improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service is terrible! Took over a hour to arrive and when it did it was cold- after complaint they took back and just heated in a microwave clearly as was hot but not fresh- waste of money and time I was given a free breakfast as compensation which is at least reasonable and the manager who dealt with my complained spoke excellent English and showed good service

    General improvements in service since last visit

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    very good personnel, room was quite good.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for swimming pool you need swimming hat but we didn't know

    very good personnel, room was quite good. I will definitely choose again this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant gym and swimming pool.

    Good location. Fair price for good room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.0
    Very old rooms need to update
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old rooms need to update

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    There are so many cozy restaurants around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a good hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay and would happily stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay and will stay again here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good. Service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the AC is seriously doubted

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Not excellent, just good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Concierge service was almost non existent, counter always empty

    Location, probably the only thing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Its the comfortable enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its the comfortable enough. Hope to stay again in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Excellent did not want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing veiws

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is good

    great location and nice facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and fitness center are not easily accessible

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.2
    Air conditioner hardly worked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner hardly worked. It was hot and sticky. Mold kind of smell everywhere. Not pleasant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    3.8
    It was shock the hotel was the old-fashioned one and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was shock the hotel was the old-fashioned one and the staff attitude was bad, i will never come back again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with re- decorating as as they where getting a little shabby.

    Excellent breakfast, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Wuhan Novotel..good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, it was fine.

    Breakfast was very good with lots of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.1
    the front reception duty manager was helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the front reception duty manager was helpful and polite. but the breakfast at 12th level was screwed up by the service staff there. She check my Accor card and allowed me in , but as I want to start pick up my food , she jump in to say I ve to pay if I want to eat ! Puzzled by the invitation and sudden reject , I demand an explanation . Finally the duty manager step in and rectify the embarrassed and angry me!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Currently teaching English in China so booked this hotel as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Currently teaching English in China so booked this hotel as a mini weekend away with my boyfriend for his birthday. The room was lovely and clean, great wifi and best of all great blackout curtains (hard to come by in China!) staff couldn't be more helpful and all round lovely place... Will definitely be taking a trip back

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    6.3
    Outdoor temperature was about 2-4C, for the comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outdoor temperature was about 2-4C, for the comfortable indoor temperature I had to set 28-30C, the upper supply of hot air flow does't provide proper mixing, thus temperature in middle and down level of room is uncomfortable. Moreover old-fashioned air control unit. Water distribution system works with low pressure, water flow from shower is very weak. Small bathroom: door could be closed hardly from inside.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, always trying to help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a few memebers from the staff speak english.

    Very friendly staff, always trying to help you. Room are clean, and have a good size. Very well located, close to metro stations.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    5.0
    Staff was helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Way too worn out for a 5-star hotel. By far the worst 5-star I've ever stayed in. The toilet is small and light switches are tricky.

    Staff was helpful and friendly. Easy access to dining and shopping area.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    10
    All staff spoke English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All staff spoke English. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was kind to arrange for a taxi for the next day at 5:30 am. Also great location.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    7.5
    A comfortable place to rest after an interesting but tiring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Why are there never maps available in English or even western characters.

    A comfortable place to rest after an interesting but tiring exploration of new cities. Metro close by and well signed

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Good and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.5
    Location is very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NA

    Location is very convenient

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    5.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    good location

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    far away from metro

    good location

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Clean and the staff were friendly and spoke good English
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and the staff were friendly and spoke good English

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old facility. Small room.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    Staff so helpful and the room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff so helpful and the room was fantastic. Fresh linen every day and the staff were so helpful and very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    7.1
    The chance to have a comfortable rest after lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The chance to have a comfortable rest after lots of travelling in China

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: