Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Beijing Xinqiao

1 Chong Wen Men Xi Da Jie, Dongcheng, 100004 Beijing, China

#129 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1151 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant location, brilliant hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraordinary conveniently located in the centre of the city and next to the subway station from where you have access to almost the entire city. If you are a foreigner, i suggest its the best place for you to stay as their staff is very well trained to deal with the foreigners. If you book a week before your stay, you will find the most cheapest rate among all the well rated hotels. So its definitely value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.8
    It was not customer friendly experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was talking to the hotel staff everyday telling them that we three families are reaching on 30th. When we reached there on 30th, June to our surprise, we were told to speak to Booking.com. It was all rubbish. It was as if they were obliging us while we were staying there paying hefty money. We felt cheated by the hotel staff. We were provided ordinary rooms and charged full as per the booking amount.

    We had booked the accommodation for two days Booking Reference Number 1917725677. Although booking was made through my debit card which was referred after reaching that payments were not made so we dint book for you. However, I reached Shanghai on 26th June itself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    One of my worst experiences EVER!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so old you feel like you're back in the 80's. The landline phone was broken. The shower head didn't hold on the right position. The drain didn't work and the bathtub got full of water in a few minutes. The air con was broken, súper noisy and making sparks. The bed was so so... A nightmare. Ridiculous how expensive it is for such a bad place

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old. Need to be renovated! Very! dirty restaurant!! Bad breakfast. Too expensive for that conditions.

    Good location. Close to Lines 2 and 5 Beijing Subway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    An OK hotel for young couples :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is a little old, walls of room were slightly peeling and the door of he shower screen could not close properly so the water keeps leaking out, causing the floor to get wet.

    Location is good, subway is just in front of the hotel. This subway station is pretty close to Beijing West Railway Station where the high speed rails depart. Breakfast spread was awesome as well, dining area is really huge so no overcrowding with the tourists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel but certain lack of english knowledge and friendship of some people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some Chinese people working at the front desk, restaurant and concierge don´t speak good english so is difficult to communicate. But I think this is a general problem all over China because we suffered same problem in other Chinese cities hotels too. Some are rudes also. What a big difference visiting Japan hotels where everybody were good english speakers and very kind with us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    The Subway Chongwenmen Exit A2 is at the main entrance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Subway Chongwenmen Exit A2 is at the main entrance of the hotel. Very comfy and nice hotel. Superb location that’s just 10mins walk to McDonald’s and other convenient stores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Novotel xongqaio in beijing ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small .. staff have problems with understanding english.. have stayed in No hotel in other countries. Surprised to note that this was not as good as others

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.0
    I picked the hotel randomly as it was a last minute trip but I won't go back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Suite Premier Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was in very bad condition (sofa stained, broken chair...) and the staff at the front desk very unfriendly. I checked in late and refurbishment were done on the ground floor (which I do not mind at all) but 2 workers were arguing very loudly and very aggressively which did not make me feel safe. Room service cannot be billed to the room, it has to be paid cash or with CC.

    The security guard at the entrance is super helpful in finding a taxi and giving directions to the driver. You can tell he is putting a lot of efforts considering the hotel is not on the road but along a side alley. He is also very smiling and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Hotel for Family or Friends, I will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    people at check-out and check-in work very very slowly. Average time is 15 min/person. Even if you want to ask a small question you need to stand in same queue.

    Our booked type room was not available hence the Manager gave us another bigger room. Cleanliness Metro Station is just across street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Expected better from the star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were lots of areas in the room and throughout the hotel that needed minor repairs or cleaning (broken tiles, common area floors that needed washing, bathrooms that had mould on grout lines). Not good for the claimed star rating or the price.

    Location next to a subway station for access to all parts of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Meh, wont be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought by booking a Novotel we would be guranteed western style beds, wrong. And im never bookong a driver through them again, the manager of tourism was rude and pushy to get us on a tour we didnt want, booked us a driver who spoke 0 english and he tried to rake advantage of the fact we were foreigners by going the slow way home already realising we had to oay overtime. Their rates are ridiculous for a driver as well.

    Not much to be fair, the food was good and the sauna/spa/massages downstairs was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    It was our first visit to China and the Novotel was I first port of call so that was a good start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service a bit hit miss mainly due to language barrier.

    Staff very friendly and helpful,breakfast buffet style with plenty to choose from,bar very relaxing with a good selection of drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.0
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was hot and did not have AC. I paid a lot of money and it was sad that the heat made it so uncomfortable.

    The fact that the staff were helpful and spoke English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Simply great.The front desk staff was supportive .Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There should be few who understand english at th breakfast.

    I liked the support and cordiality of the front desk staff.The location in the heart of the city is excellent .there was wide variety of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    A hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The aircon in the rooms didn't seem to work well on the first few days due to cooler weather outdoors, but once the outside temperature went up, the aircon worked a little better. We suspect this had to do with control of the central air-conditioning by the hotel, more than the aircon not working. The room was located over a courtyard that housed the breakfast area, so every morning, you can hear the clinking and clanging of utensils as early as 6am, when the guests started eating breakfast. The water pressure was a bit dodgy (sometimes strong, sometimes not) when using the shower, the rain shower was placed in the corner, so you had to squeeze into the corner to get wet. Additional bottled water provided was chargable, they start you off with 2 bottles per day!

    Excellent location, the Metro exit is just outside the hotel, and the stop is location on the circle line, so it was very convenient for travelling anywhere in Beijing. The breakfast was good. The concierge was excellent in recommending good restaurants for dinner. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    The bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in staff were misarable particularly the girls. It took 40 minutes to check-in with only 2 other couples in front. The impression they gave was they did not like non-Chinese people. Rooms too hot even with the air con on.

    The bed. !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel has a very good location but it was hot in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was really hot in the room and when we claimed the receptionist told that they cannot help because it is still heating season and the air conditioning is not in function yet. Through the windows we could not get fresh air either since they face the aula with smell from the kithcen.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, directly in front of the metro station, 1 stop from the forbidden city and other sites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Help staffs and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO ac in the room at night! Reason given was no ac provided during Spring time! The room at block B 327 where I stayed was so warm at night which I couldn't sleep well.

    Help staffs and great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    good location but hot hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free Wifi did not really work. The internet access in China is very limited. Central Aircon in the whole hotel made the room temp unbearable. We did not have an outside window so no way to cool it down. Staff did their best to assist.

    Dim Sum Restaurant very good. Near underground entrance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    I really enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at breakfast, it was hectic and the tables needed clearing away quicker.

    I had some hassle ordering room service as they were convinced I had no credit on my tab - which I had so that was a little irritating. This was mainly due to the staff not understanding my English though. BUT we did have the BEST time!!! Thanks NOVO hotel :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service was average. Non smoking room smelled of smoke, Air con terrible.

    Room basic but did the job. Spa access isn't free but gym is good. Overall OK hotel, good location and train station on its doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Good discovery
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is convenient because two subways run through it but nothing interesting is around the hotel. Food options are also limited.

    Not sure why the bad reviews. The hotel is well managed, the room was spacious and clean, staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast is included and abundant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Great comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a lovely stay. The bed was warm and comfy and the bedroom cleaning service was fantastic. Location was brilliant as it is next to the subway station and there’s a lovely bakery next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Clean. Nice staff. Pretty spa only for men. Woman spa is crap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am so very disappointed that the pictures of the spa were only for men. I looked forward to relaxing in the spa that I saw in the pictures but when I went to go check it out, the women’s side of it was very different. So cheap feeling. Small room with two tubs you could only sit one person in with showers right across and a sauna. While my husband checked out the men’s side it it was actually the beautiful spa that the pictures showed on the site. It may have said it on the site that that was only for men but I didn’t know so I was very disappointed. Not to mention you would pay the same for either side so it’s not fair. Lol also, we went to breakfast on the weekend where it’s supposed to close at 10:30. We got there at 10 and just about all of the food was empty. All of the other days when we got there early we really enjoyed the breakfast. Many dishes to choose from and stuff. But paying $12 usd per person to only be able to basically eat an egg and a bowl of cereal is pretty lame. So make sure to go to breakfast early or you could miss out on getting your moneys worth of food.

    The staff was great. The location was amazing. Had a metro stop right in front of the building. Close to a ton of malls and food. Close to many temples.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Well-appointed room with nice little extras (a switch by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature was quite high, and during the winter there was no way to activate the A/C. Hotel provided a fan. Still, I would stay there again even during the winter.

    Well-appointed room with nice little extras (a switch by the bed to activate a Do Not Disturb indicator outside the door; toothbrush and toothpaste kits automatically included in bathroom)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.0
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit old. the temperature in the room is not circulate, no cool air just HEAT! very hot.

    location is good, easy to get from airport(airport express Train to final stop, then transfer to subway line#2, just 1min walk up from subway station to Hotel.)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable, but wouldn't stay again.
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable. When we booked the room, we paid for a room with a bath...but the room didn't come with a bath and they wouldn't swap us to another room. Upon checking out, there was a confusion with the payment. The woman on reception kept interrupting us when we tried to explain the situation, which made checking out pretty stressful. No meat free options at the restaurant.

    There was a young male standing at the entrance, and he was very polite and helpful every day. The staff spoke English...which was nice. Very close to the train line. Half hour taxi ride to the airport. 5 minute walk to multiple shopping centres.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Brief overnight stay at Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a standard type with windows facing the inner yard. The air condition was off due to Winter season and it was really hot in the room.

    Great location for sightseeing in Beijing with Tiananmen Square and Frobidden City at walking distance. At the heart of Beijing shopping, clubs, etc are all near. The hotel and rooms are decent and of reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location close to tousist spots
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    smell of cigarettes in the halls and in the first room we had

    Staff were very accommodating as we had to change rooms 3 times. Buffet was very good & reasonably priceed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Price was great for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was cheap because they told us there would me no windows in the room. Thinking that would be fine and we could use the fan/ ac if needed...wrong. The fan only produced hotter air and there was no air flow really whatever...made for a miserable night.

    Price was great for location...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice holiday in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel staff was very nice. We reached hotel very early in the morning (6am), and they allowed us to keep our luggage and process our room as early as 10.30am. Facilities is okay, nothing to shout for. Perfect location as it is very near to underground station and shopping malls.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for the tourist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms have cigarette smell.

    Location is fantastic. There are many services for the tourist, for example, booking airline ticket, arranging the tour,, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is so small, I had good experience with this hotel before, but for the last couple of times I found the room they have given me getting smaller and smaller. I was trying to book for bigger room, don’t know how. Anyway I am not going back again.

    Average service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Needs more western affordable food selection, changed rooms three times due to problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Hardly anyone spoke any English and communication was difficult, the choice of breakfast menu for English people was limited and if you do not like chinese food the evening menu was a total disaster and far too expensive to eat in the hotel. There was no entertainment in the hotel and the drink selection was expensive.

    The cleaners made a good job of tidying up your room etc

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a metro station right opposite the hotel, making transport easy. The hotel staff helped us get taxis whenever we needed it. Lovely rooms. Enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.3
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it can be quite cold in the winter here, but the room only provide heating in their air con system. It makes the room temperature so high, and we can’t even get to sleep under such unbearable heat.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location, metro station is right at the front door, easy access to main attractions, many department stores and food choices nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    The spring bed mattress was hard and uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The spring bed mattress was hard and uncomfortable. The toilet bowl was stuck, drainage need to be solved. Booked for double bed room and was given twin instead.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    Location was great - subway station literally 3m away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture in room needs some upgrade or renovation, but still good

    Location was great - subway station literally 3m away from the hotel. Room big and nice, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Good location, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing except for the confusing subway exits at Chongwenmen which is not the hotel's concern anyway. There are two lines 2 and 5 and they have separate exits. The exits of Line 2 are closer to the hotel. The other exits lead to the other side of the street.

    Buffet breakfast had lots of choices. Concierge staff were very helpful with information to go around the city, booking a taxi, finding specific places. Room was peaceful and quiet. We were allowed to check in an hour earlier because a room was available. +1

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend to stay here, would not recommend the hotel room service or restaraunt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had 2 rooms, the second room had 2 single beds they were horribly hard and uncomfortable

    The hotel was located close to everything and it was very easy to get a cab from here. The staff were helpful when it came to getting us places and translating things for taxi drivers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did not at all correspond to the photos on your site, not one single chair in the lobby. The lobby looks like a train station, empty and cold. Dirty carpet in the bed room and very noisy from traffic outside and from other rooms. The concierge spoke very little English and could not explain anything. The map provided is not at all representative, but rather misleading regarding the actual distances.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    It sucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time was 20 minutes - absolutely unacceptable; elevators on one side of U shaped building were down so we had to use the elevators on the other side and each time walking to our room we felt like we were on the set of The Shining; low corridor ceiling height, poor design; outdated furnishings; bathroom basin has no hot water, shower was inconsistent in distributing hot water, I’ve stayed in a number of Novotel hotels (New York, Shenzhen, Jinhua, and now this one) and I won’t stay in another one.

    The maid was really nice, as was the young man at the taxi entry

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Memorable. Hotel within walking distance of all amenities. The sub way is also just 2 minutes away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and the room didn't have a window. I was also charged more than what was stated on my booking.

    The hotel was good. Friendly and helpful staff who speak English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Very near to metro station .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it's not the property's fault , but if you are travelling by subway with heavy luggage , there is no escalator or lift at the metro station .

    Very near to metro station .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    While clean and generally good the property is getting old - renovations ongoing but not disruptive.

    Excellent hospitality from general manager and other senior staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    We like the location and its assessibility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff attitude and training need to be further enhanced and improved.

    We like the location and its assessibility. Hotel room is rather old and the overall room lighting is not bright enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Viva Beijing and Novotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The light in bathroom very low and could hardly see to shave. Refer was not cold enough.

    The maids were excellent. Location great. I lived in Beijing just a little bit down the road for 10 years, so I know the area well and always stay at Novotel when I am in Beijing yearly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room Premier Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being a very international hotel brand in a very international city, I believe the management should invest with more language training for staff. Otherwise, the staff are all great and very helpful and accommodating after we figure out what we're talking about!!! :)

    Excellent location! Rooms are clean and well-maintained. Lounge is great for a more quiet atmosphere. Breakfast buffet definitely has plenty of selection!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    We had an excellent stay overall and would stay there again if we travelled to Beijing again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast was a too expensive there was a large variety if that's what you wanted however cafe's nearby were value for money. We had our son and his partner join us but due to an unforeseen flight delay we were still charged for that day.

    Staff were friendly and helpful room was clean and comfortable. Location was perfect very central right next to the subway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location but average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite Premier Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in slow, had to return downstairs 2 times because they forgot something. Impolite at check-out. Huge hotel but without charm.... BAD English skills

    Positive point.....excellent location Big breakfast even if not so "European"!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Staff was nice and locations very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is a very loud hotel. The floor of the room was not clean (especially under the beds) ans it's seems a little dirty in the bathroom. But the bed was clean.

    Staff was nice and locations very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location,subway line 2&5 jus infront of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But don't have drinking water machine.just provide 3bottles of mineral water perday.that's not enough for us

    Good location,subway line 2&5 jus infront of hotel.clean and comfortable,provide room service everyday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is good, in front of MRT line 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The hotel is OLD and very BUSY, the renovation of the lifts makes it worst. Non smoking hotel but weirdly some of the rooms on floor 7th of building A smell smoke plus in the morning smell food. The offer price for room with bathtub and shower is different in the booking.com but they use to put guests in the room with shower (building B) first, according to them the price is same. The bathtub is just 30-40 cm depth but the bathroom with shower is smaller

    The location of the hotel is good, in front of MRT line 2 and 5, there is bus stop with route that brings to WangFuJing, Beihai Park, Temple of Heaven. Nearby there´s supermarkets/malls, The front staffs can speak english and they are very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    excellent location for shopping and subway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location for subway access is excellent. you could go to important sites as well as shopping centers. access to Beijing railway and International airport is very easy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Good Enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel was good enough, the look and feel of the rooms felt dated but still clean and comfortable to stay in.

    the location was a good enough place to get to and from key areas that we were interested in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    1. Just outside the Metro Line 2 exit B1/B2 - no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast buffet egg's station - request for a 'sunny side up' egg in English and the cook point me to the bunch of pre-cooked 'well done' eggs lying on the food tray. He grudgingly cook me my order after I insisted - the egg is not perfect but just 'passable'. What a 'not so good day' to begin with - perhaps the cook had a bad day or maybe I'm an Asian, I just hope it's the former.

    1. Just outside the Metro Line 2 exit B1/B2 - no escalator nor elevator access. However for Line 5 exit F has escalator after short flight of stairs - bit further to the hotel. 2. Easy access to places of interest nearby. 3. Buffet breakfast was great if not for a 'minor' encounter 4. Bed was comfortable - good sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Great location from which to base yourself for visits to all Beijing Sites and the Great Wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location with Metro station right outside the main entrance; only 1 stop from Tiananman Square and the Forbidden City. Reception Staff provide an excellent service. Clean room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    The Staff were very helpful, offered us a new room due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Staff were very helpful, offered us a new room due to building work above our original room. Also the cleaning staff were very accomodating for our lie ins each morning. And always said hello and smiled when they saw us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding seem to be very quiet during night time. The room seem to be a bit run down

    Location. The subway just right in front of the main door. It is just a few foot steps away. Superb Walking distance to many places of attraction as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Superb for Leisure as well as Business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long queue at check-in and check-out, you need to consider average @25 min for that, which is very high.

    Location next to subway station, makes it easy for transport in Beijing. Most of Staff members speak English. They also helped to get Taxi, provided Map and guided how to go to tourist places. Very good Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice location, the metro station is right in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a bit noisy, we could here people from other rooms talking...

    Very nice location, the metro station is right in front of the hotel and the Tiananmen Square is really close. We took the shared bikes to all close places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room layout (courtyard style) lots of noise during early morning hours from the restaurant area.

    Very close to the tourist attractions. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.2
    Nice staff and location, but old, dirty hotel. Would not recommend.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room. The room was super tiny. For the price, I would have liked little bit more space. The hotel itself was old so the facility, the rooms are bit overused. The bathroom was a total nightmare. The bathtub had very strange, disgusting blackish stains all over it and because the shower handle was clogged, it sprayed everywhere.

    Staff knew good amount of English, so that was helpful. It was great that they had iron and ironing table. Location is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Room seems too old and beds were super hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room seems too old and beds were super hard. I was expecting more from a Novotel. I compared with some other Chinese hotels and except from the breakfast, which I didn't tried because of the high cost, I didn't found many differences. Of course, better English level of the emloyees but not much more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    during stay in Novotel Xinqiao, everything was nice, good value compare price and facilities..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no shuttle bus to airport.

    I am very pleased during stay in Novotel Xinqiao. There is a special Customer Service in our floor, so It make us easy to asked something (we stayed at 12th floor). The Staffs are nice. The location is easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Good night sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't know why the minibar was empty and you have to order room-service even for a coke.

    I loved the mattress, super comfy, had super good nights sleep. Very rich and nice breakfast with a good choice, balanced between western and eastern taste. Staff quick and efficient. Convenient position, just outside line 2 Chongwenmen stop and also easy for the cabs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel - unacceptable check-in wait
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took more than 20 minutes (possibly 30) to get checked in at 22:30-23:00, not enough staff on checking for the number of arrivals. Given I had one night in the hotel and had to be up early for onward travel this was around 10% of my stay :(

    I was upgraded to a very nice room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Perfect location, bad room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Toilet didn't flush, even after serveral complains no solution. It took 4 days before it worked There is a terrible stench inside the room.

    Perfect location to visit the City, next to the sub way station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    A reasonable priced hotel with excellent food in Downtown Beijing close to attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Experiences on booking in can be challenging I have been using Novotel; XQ fro 10 years as guest of Beijing Hospital abd checking in and out is tough However this time Wa or Sophia at the desk was superb best yet

    breakfasts are good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location & Friendly hotel for vistors
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    long waiting time for elevators to reach.

    nice international type hotel in the heart of Beijing with easy access to public transport and most of site seeing in Beijing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    i will come agin
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the Bed mattress is some what hard, maybe it is healthy as they said but it is not comfort for me.

    the location is great, and the service is good, and everything is close or around you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location close to metro station, hotel a bit dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room (no window)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cups in the rooms are too tiny (about 1/3 the size of a normal cup), hotel rooms are a bit dated; at night I heard some loud and weird noises coming from the ceiling and it only stopped a few minutes after I turned off the aircon so I figured it could be that. I found out my friends who were in the room across from me also had issues with the aircon making weird noises (different from the ones I heard though!). The noise in theirs was so bad they asked for the room to be changed. Bed mattress is a little stiff.

    Hotel is situated right in front of Chongwenmen metro station which makes transportation very easy. Overall the room was fine and service good, front desk staff speak English (however other staff members do not.)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    value for money, good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we wait quite long to check-in and staff didn't pay attention to that long queue. It was also a bit confused when check-out, the price in invoice wasn't well clarified. Anyways, it was okay for the stay.

    value for money, good stay. The room is clean and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    An hotel to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking in the toilets and in the room, like everywhere in China.

    Very good hotel and very well located to visit Beijing. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Ask for a upper level room. The restaurants within the hotel are good except the Japanese one. Friendly staff membres.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: