Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

319 Dongxin Street Shaanxi Province, Xincheng, 710004 Xi'an, China

#26 of 149 hotels in Xi'an

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It met my expectations.

    Great location for eating, drinking and shopping. Not far from the Western train station if that’s what your after. Staff were helpful and welcoming and the breakfast was a very good mix of Chinese and Western favs. The swimming pool was very good too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Hotel was a good choice.

    Mercure is part of a Accor hotel complex that includes also Sofitel and Legend. Mercure is ideal for tourist, as it provides a reasonably priced accommodation, while good facilities are available at Sofitel and Legend in next buildings. Excellent breakfast is at next building (Sofitel) Besides the consierges at Legend (next building) are of great help for foreigners to make arrangements for daily tours and activities... thanks to them we really enjoyed our time in Xian.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Xi'an is a little rougher than Beijing, so be prepared. If you bike on the Ancient Wall, bring a helmet! .. Heard a bad story of an Aussie getting put in ICU in Xi'an while we were there. Brakes failed.

    There is an awesome food market nearby, but very hidden. *Hint* look for plastic flappy drop things hanging from a door. Inside is a massive food hall. No advertising on street. 10 mins walk (left).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an official taxi at the reception and they tried to get us into a hotel private taxi that wanted to charge us X3 for the same traject. The conditions of the room were not the best, with the wall paper peeling of. This was a Deluxe room.

    Ok location between train station and city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a warning, cabbies may have trouble finding the Mercure because there is a Grand Mercure in the same complex.

    This is a beautiful, comfortable hotel situated within a complex of other hotels and restaurants. It offers an extensive breakfast buffet with western dishes located next door at the Sofitel. If you’re up for a long walk you can walk to the Bell Tower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel wasn't close to the Bell Tower, but it was near a street full of restaurants (5- to 10-minute walk). One male staff member refused to speak in Chinese when spoken to in Chinese by a fluent member of my party.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The bathrobes were nice treat. The hotel was in a quiet encircled/gated area surrounded by greenery. The staff were helpful, especially the female staff members.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location set in a private square with other Accor hotels. Easy walk to the main attractions and close to the quieter east gate for walking the wall. Room clean and tidy, well kept. Gym and pool and breakfast is next door in Sofitel hotel -only 1 or 2 minute walk, I didn't mind but some might. Pool was always quiet as was gym, it has nice outdoor terrace next to pool. Xian feels really safe, I was happy walking alone at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't really match the pics - was expecting something nicer for my money.

    my room was quiet. At first I was given a smoking room, and requested a change - was much happier when I was put in a non-smoking room (not sure why I wasn't just asked to begin with...?)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very nice hotel in its own private grounds offering various grades of accommodation all seemingly maintained to a very high standard.......

    This is a very beautiful hotel in a very private location but has easy access to many interesting aspects of the unique walled city of Xian.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wise it’s good, but the property doesn’t technically have a side gate (that’s open), which can be troublesome because you may have to walk a whole round to the main entrance to get to the hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was good, very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was excellent, the location for the hotel is absolutely good near to everything These staff very friendly and helpful Congratulations we enjoyed a lot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a bar or restaurant on site, but these were available at other upscale properties in the same complex within easy walking distance.

    Nice hotel in an upscale location. Quiet room and staff took care of my tour booking with dispatch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds were hard the old Chinese style. It was hard to communicate with the staff, both in English and Chinese.

    the breakfast at the next door Sofitel was great. it is good that the Mercure have this deal with Sofitel. For a one night stay in Xian just to visit the touristic sites no need for more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot but housekeeping brought us an air con unit instantly when we said so

    We were actually upgraded to the Grand Mercure next door on the same complex so can’t fully review this property in itself. Had use of the pool and spa in the Sofitel hotel on the same complex Staff were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I was told about the change in hotel. Very confusing. Staff at this hotel spoke very little English, when telling us about the ‘upgrade’. Not able to review the hotel in detail because it’s a building site inside.

    Moved to Grand MERCURE Xi An because this hotel was close. Staff said it was a free ‘upgrade’. The area the two hotel where in was very nice, location was good too. Grand Mercure was very nice, clean and helpful staff, but update is needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice to be upgraded from the Mecure. Better English language skills would have helped. The restaurant at the Sofitel had a comprehensive selection and Justin the manager was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon turns to heater during the winter so it’s quite hot in the room and I found out the mistake during checkin process i was book for three rooms but the hotel system was 5rooms so it kinda wasted my time to discuss about this thing

    The bed is so comfy plus the big bath room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could have been better, tall person problem of the shower being lower than my head - no adjustment available.

    Good Buffet breakfast, walking distance from most attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Mercure is not easy to find, completely hidden away behind Sofitel and Grande Mercure. Luckily we knew this, so we found it, but it needs better signage at the front of the site.

    Some reviews complained that the beds are hard. We thought them firm and good for the back but perfectly comfortable. Breakfasts in the Sofitel were very good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room itself was small but clean-- nothing really special about it. The breakfast buffet (although a bit expensive for food in China) was amazing! Huge selection and tasted great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet at the Sofitel next door is excellent - the range and quality of foods is great, whether you are seeking Chinese or western cuisine. Staff were very helpful in organising transport for me, my luggage and bicycle to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was rather hard & pillows too deflated - probably an age issue with both. Power sockets in room are inconveniently placed near the floor & not close to any furniture - we had to balance some gadgets on top of our suitcases to charge them & place the electric kettle on the floor to boil water. No wine glasses or wine openers in minibar - most international chain hotels place these in guest rooms. Amenities were not sufficient - no body lotion, & ONE all-purpose bath gel/shampoo/conditioner liquid provided in a wall-dispenser - bit backpackerish?

    Most staff are English speaking, courteous & helpful (male Receptionist & male Concierge particularly pleasant & proactive, lady Receptionist not at all). Standard room makes very good use of limited space, managing to provide everything necessary while still appearing airy & spacious. Quite the contrast with a similar-sized room we stayed in at a Beijing hotel (Inner Mongolia Grand). Hotel is located inside a large, closed-off compound so very quiet & restful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deposit is a little high and the receptionist could not explain how it did work. However it went fine.

    Hotel is very good and clean, very close to the city center, towers and night market. The Swimming pool is free and the staff is really helpful, 24h front desk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no other facilities in the hotel. You have to use the Sofitel for everything else, pool, breakfast, etc

    The staff are really helpful, and speak good English

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are rather firm, which is common in Chinese hotels.

    I always stay at this hotel complex when I visit Xi'an. The Mercure is the most economical, but I also have stayed at the Sofitel when traveling on business and Grand Mercure when traveling with my family. The buffet breakfast in the Sofitel is excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit awkward filling kettle in sink but hardly a deal breaker.

    Staff super helpful & pleasant. The Mercure is within the old city wall & within walking distance to many interesting things including the amazing & ancient 14km wall that is 600 years old & is intact right round the citadel. Also Muslim Street - a very lively market where ancient & modern mix, plus the Bell Tower & Drum Tower. We also had a fantastic private tour to see the Terracotta Army fr the hotel. Taxi to airport 160RMB or about £16 - pretty good as an hour's drive away. Stick with the Green & Yellow cabs! Hotel in a complex of hotels owned by same group - lovely pool & spa in Sofitel next door & good choice of dining options if like us you don't have a lot of time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay a deposit of 1000 RMB which is very expensive in my opinion and they originally asked for 2000 RMB deposit which was unusual for a room in my experience it's usually 200 RMB

    The beds were so comfy and the room was really clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the sockets which they hadn't fixed during the day but didn't tell us, so we had to move to another room around midnight

    Good breakfast in Sofitel, good rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool at sofitel hotel is a bit old and dirty,

    Excellent hotel in great location. 4.5 stars hotel with access to swimming pool at sofitel hotel. Breakfast at azur rest sofitel hotel provide both western and Chinese cuisine and value for money at Rmb75 per person

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Mercure itself has no facilities but guests can use the excellent pool/spa facilities of the sister property Sofitel. Also the breakfast (very good!) is at the Sofitel. Superb location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was expensive, so it was better to eat nearby. Also there is price difference in same restaurant and same foods, depending on if you are in a 5 star or a 4 star hotel which is not positive or negative, but something you might want to consider when staying in these hotels. Either way, I recommend to eat outside.

    The hotel was 4 stars, but there was a nice hotel complex with a free gym and swimming pool nearby, which is big + for comfort and something I always watch when travelling. Great location and staff was nice, rooms were good and comfy. We got this hotel with a discount from the page. Overall I highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds, was there even a mattress? Staff barely spoke English, facilities located in different building, cleaning not thorough, gym way too hot! (Despite having aircon, doors are left open so hot and humid air from pool area makes working out impossible)

    Great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn't work at all really and the heat was unbearable.

    The helpfulness of the staff - they all spoke English very well and wanted to support where they could.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smell like old cigarette smoke and beds were like sleeping on the floor. The shower leaked in the corners making the floor slippery. The door when closing was annoying as the alarm kept going off. The key card was difficult to use as sometimes the door lock would not open. The air con was noisy when set to high and did not cool the room properly. You had to go to another hotel to use the pool, which was very small and the water was cloudy plus you had to walk up and down marble steps to get changed with wet feet.

    The service and staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff couldn't locate our booking initially, and spent 1 hour waiting for our room to be readied even though we arrived at check-in timing. Hard to find the hotel within a huge campus with other affiliated hotels (Sofitel, Grand Sofitel, Grand Mercure). Couldn't access back gates, hence need to walk one big round to the nearest bus stop.

    Located in a very safe area; Staff were courteous; not far from the Airport shuttle; good water pressure; lovely cake prepared for our honeymoon trip by the hotel staff; whole range of hotel facilities but shared with Sofitel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed some medicine and. I asked at reception, I got no help at all. It is these little things that make A good hotel a great hotel.

    A great hotel in a great complex. Perfect room. Breakfast great value, I recommend. Staff were great. As in most things you pay for what you get. I liked it so I extended my stay here..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired,bathroom ammenities need an upgrade.

    Comfortable room with access to ammenities shared with Sofitel nearby.Pleasant location in walking distance to shopping malls,food outlets and supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better Physical maintenance/upkeep of bathroom shower cubicle

    It's a few high end Accor brands hotels in one big gated guarded Old government. style refurbished compund

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheets were a bit smelly (probably smoke). Wi-fi signal was pretty weak in the room so each time I had to go in the floor s "living room". They have fixed price for taxis which means that I paid 150rmb to go to the airport instead of 80rmb shown on the meter.

    Very good value for money! The hotel is located in the Sofitel complex so guests have actually the chance to use Sofitel's facilities, including swimming pool. Breakfast is also at Sofitel and has a good variety of food (75rmb extra). Staff speaks English. The 7rmb bus to go to terracotta warriors is only 20min away from the hotel. Muslim neighborhood is walking distance. There is a bus going to city wall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower door can't be closed tightly so water seeps out of the space. We put a bath towel in front of the door. Perhaps the design can be improved.

    The hotel is centrally located in a compound that is quiet and beautiful. The front desk staff and concierge Mr. Wang were all extremely professional and friendly. Mercure has Excellent staff that are helpful. Mr Wang advised us to take public transportation to the Terra Cotta soldiers, although the hotel also offers a tour that cost a lot more. This is our second time staying at Mercure and we'll come back when we visit Xian again. Also, the breakfast (75 RMB) was a great bargain for the variety and quality they offered.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot sun! And waiting for taxis.

    Clean, friendly, easy to get around. We spoke Mandarin so it was easy to manage the local buses which were so easy to take, and cheap. Only 1 yuan each or 2 yuan with airconditioning. The swimming pool is at the affiliated hotel next door. It is indoor with a glass roof. There's a jacuzzi with warm water too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at the Mercure were not friendly and were not helpful when asking them questions. Most of the time as we entered the lobby we were completely ignored as if we were not there. We requested a room switch as our first room smelled terribly like smoke. They moved us without much hassle and the new room was much more spacious than the original. The original room size would not have made it a very comfortable stay if we had stayed in that room. Needing to go to other buildings to access facilitites such as pool and spa.

    I liked that we got to enjoy the facilities from the other hotels on the compound. The spa, the pool, hotel bar and the restuarants are all located at the Sofitel Hotel next door. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Staff at the Sofitel were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price/quality rate is very high. The hotel is very close to the city center, it offers a wide range of high quality services, especially for the SPA and the swimming pool. The receptionists are very kind, they are english speaking and they are available for trying to fulfill almost everything you should need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and modern. Good walking distance to Drum and Bell Towers, Muslim Street and access to the Wall. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very outdated. It may have been a good hotel 40 years ago. It is not a 4 star hotel. By western standards it's a 2 star hotel.

    The price was good. It was fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Mercure is a "poor cousin" to the Sofitel next door. Restaurant, Bar, and any facilities are in the Sofitel. It is only 20 meters away ... but it is away. The Mercure offers a Paris sized room but it isn't Paris.

    The concierge went out of his way to finding a good driver (and negotiating a fair price) to take me to the National Panda habitat a couple of hundred klicks away. The staff in general were superior and made every attempt to be helpful. The staff are why I stayed, not the premises.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Really nice hotel with great facilities including pool, jacuzzi, gym and ping pong table ! Massage and spa facilities also available at an extra cost. The hotel was clean and of a high quality standard. The room was lovely, it was light, with an extremely comfortable bed, modern facilities including hair dryer, tv, mini bar, complimentary coffee and water, and everything we needed. We did not sample the restaurants available as they were rather expensive. Great location too and the hotel is very close to the Muslim quarter, bar street and drum tower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, must go to another building to get to the pool, not enough outlets in the room and very poorly placed. Tiny shower, closet was hidden, light switch is only behind the bed. Room faces the parking lot, no bkfast included, driving into the place is a little confusing.

    Close to markets

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location could be a little more central, but we still could reach the city centro in 20 minutes on foot

    Staff was very helpful and speaks a good english for the chinese standards.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find on first arrival.

    The attention and helpfulness of the staff helped enormously to become acquainted with the city in s short space of time, their advice was invaluable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the Grand Mercure were not very helpful and gave little information. I was very disappointed since the hotel had received a very good rating.

    The highlight of my stay was meeting Kevin Hu who was the concierge at the Sofitel. His english was awesome and his knowledge of history and helpfulness was exceptional. He gave me suggestions of an itinerary so I could see the most in my trip, booked anything he could and briefed the taxi driver. He is a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful and some spoke reasonable English. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to the Grand Mercure (which was around 100 meters away). This was a pleasant surprise which we found to be very comfortable. This rating is based on our stay at the Grand Mercure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The free upgrade to a smaller sized bedroom and then having to request a larger room the following day. 2. The rather confusing large complex of builidings makes it difficult to find the right building at night.

    1. A safe complex with a sound location. 2. The bell boy service and warm welcome by reception. 3. Breakfast time starting at 6am

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were much to firm for our taste, but the staff added more padding to try and make us comfortable, so I give them an 'A' for effort.

    The staff was very friendly and the grounds were very nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - There is no restaurant in the same building and guests have to go to the neighbour hotel. - There are not many restaurants around.

    - convenient location to explore the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs Behaviour - unable to speak or understand English did not help but overall very disappointed with everything about this hotel plus the staff did not help to improve our stay at this hotel.

    Location only

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local tax raised the price by ¥400. There was no mention of this possibility, I was led to believe that the price I booked was inclusive of tax and booking fees.

    Comfy bed. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was to our expectation and value for the money. The building we stayed in, was older than the others, but that was reflected in the price.

    This Hotel is in an enclosed precinct of Sofitel Mecure buildings in the walled part of the Old City. It is very near the shopping and business district and easy walking to all facilities. All the staff were very helpful, booking us an escorted tour of the Terracotta Warriors, giving us instructions to various places we wanted and needed to go; pharmacy, supermarket, tourist areas and arranged a taxi for us to the airport. Nilson Liu and Amy Zhang were expecially helpful. Breakfast was not included, however we were able to get a very extensive buffet breakfast at the adjoining Sofitel for only 75rmb pp, very worthwhile.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff don't speak English.

    The hotel is not in the city center but you can get into it in 20 minutes walking. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The room is good and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the Mercure was a 4star hotel the amenities were of the five star Sofitel, where the prices reflect, restaurant and bar were expensive. The price of wine rediculous.

    The location was good, left outside of the hotel complex, about 5 to 10 min walk were plenty of eating and shopping. 11 to 15 yuan will get you a taxi to the South Gate, there is a bar street five min walk to the right when facing the gate, where food and drink are served at reasonable prices. Take the taxi from outside of the complex, not via hotel reception, ask for a price. Carrying a small calculator or phone for receiving prices is handy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent pool, spa and fitness studio for free at the sofitel next to the mercure hotel. The price of the room was extremely fair. Location is good (about 10 min bus from train station), but not much activities directly around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool was very crowded with non-staying guests learning to swim. Water pressure at bathroom was so low in the evening that made showering almost impossible in the evening and it was a 36 degree C day! Front desk never got back after the complaint.

    Location was excellent! Very nice ambience and surrounding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was absolutely amazing! Great location close to the main attractions, spacious and very nice clean rooms. The stuff was also very helpful, storage of luggages was possible as well. I couln't have asked for a better hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little bit too hard, but no big deal

    Wonderful stuff, especially older porter that was super helpful with everything and his English was great. Great location, excellent buffet, ...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive breakfast for what you got. Instead of calling a metered taxi we got duped into a higher set rate (unmetered) one by reception.

    Overall the hotel is to a high Western standard. Lovely grounds. Access to the Sofitel pool (a must during summer in China).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff really friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing, plenty of choice I requested a Mini bus to take us for sightseeing ( Terracotta army, wild goose pagoda and Ci En temple, Hua Chin Royal spa etc) good value for money. Driver friendly and gave us lots of information. We had a fantastic time so thank you very much.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had excellent service from the front staff and other staff members. Really made our day! The pool was open until midnight, which was positive. Very, very clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel loses a half star for being a bit well-worn. It's a 20 minute walk to the metro, but a new station is being built nearby.

    We spent 6 nights at Hotel Kapok with two teenage boys. The hotel is a well appointed and contemporary. It's close to the Forbidden City, Wangfujing St shopping, and transport. The chinese and western breakfast buffet is good. We restaurant is fine if you're too tired to go out. Staff are very helpful arranging tours and lost access cards. I recommend asking for an upgrade; the suites are much larger than a regular room and they over look the street. We used the free bikes early each morning to circle the Forbiddden City before the traffic became unsafe. Great fun.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable priced hotel. Clean, convenient, helpful staff. Best part was being able to use Sofitel pool, ping pong and other facilities. Beautiful complex.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is kind of small. The shower space is so tiny that a person has to limit movement to avoid bumping around on the walls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we arrived late. Check in was at a different location then gotta walk yo s different building in the dark.

    Good comfortable bedding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very dated and dark

    The breakfast was good, a lot of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice staff, the manager spoke very good English. Very nice restaurants! Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, good location, breakfast very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke smelly room and very far away from Metro. The nearest one is 15-minute walk and very inconvenice for the traveller with luggages.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: