Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oriental Garden Hotel

6 Dongzhimen Street, Dongcheng, 100027 Beijing, China

#101 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Communication with reception staff was mostly Google Translate/non-verbal. Not a huge issue, the basic processes of booking in/out can really be done almost without speaking. Setting up wifi was problematic. I'm not sure how the login page read in Chinese but the English version isn't up to much. After trying and failing twice it was up to me to realise I needed to clear my browser cache to connect.

    The location was very handy. Although not itself close to the big tourist draw-cards it was very near a transport hub for buses and the Metro so easy to get everywhere. There were also restaurants, convenience stores and even a supermarket nearby - although the latter was not obvious and we found it by accident.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff hardly speaks any English. Hotel is not easily accessible by car due to heavy traffic during rush hour.

    Hotel is located conveniently close to subway station and airport express station. To Tiananmen Square it is only a 30 minutes subway ride, to the airport 15 minutes. Various shopping malls with food courts are close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is convenient to get to by subway or bus. The room are clean without smoking smell. Bathroom and bed are functional and clean. Reasonable price. I would stay again when I go to Beijing again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Very pleasant place to stay except the bed is very hard.

    The location is excellent. We came for an expo at the China International Center which is about 15 minutes away by taxi. Walking distance, 10 minutes walk, there are 3 malls with restaurants. Dongzhimen subway station is also near the malls. 30 minutes walk will take you to the Worker's Stadium and Salintun area. Hotel is nice and clean. We got the Business room which is spacious. Staffs are very helpful, speak a little bit of English but then again we are in China. The breakfast buffet was good. Small but good selection of food to power you up for the morning. Overall, I will consider this place again next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    feels a bit old; meals are expensive when compared to what is available in the mall next door.

    excellent location with walking access to the airport express terminal; though, with luggage the ~100m distance with uneven pavement and the staircases are still not easy. the hotel is also next to a multi-level shopping mall with many dining options and direct underground access from the subway stop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no view. Bed is a big hard. No swimming pool is a big minus.

    Rooms are great. Staff is great. Clean, posh and well decorated/equipped. Easy to get to from airport express. Shopping mall, convenience store and massage places near by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Conditioning was turned off, and the weather was very hot in the day. Worse yet, I called first and they confirmed there was air conditioning. On the website they state air conditioned. They just won't turn it on. Or not in April. The carpet and furnishings looked a bit dated. Also very few people working the desk spoke English.

    Number one reason to stay there - the hotel is very close to Dongzhimen, and you can get to the Airport Express in less than five minutes by foot. The train is cheap and fast, the traffic jams in Beijing are horrible. You will do better with the train than a taxi. The staff was nice, the room was big and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a few staff members speak English, that could definitely be improved. When I stayed here, the airco was not working and with temperatures well above 25 degrees, it became very warm in the room.

    The location is very good, close to a metrostation line 2. All special locations can be travelled too in an easy way. Very good service in keeping the rooms clean; and also having sustainability implemented in cleaning the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most taxi drivers get lost because the entrance is on a side road and not clearly mark.

    Short walk to public transport to the airport line, open 24 hours, after hours room service, We didnt have breakfast, king size bed, quiet room (But we were there on a public holiday and the town was empty)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect for access from the airport using the subway then getting around the city for tourism. The staff were very friendly and could speak enough English for me to get by with almost no Chinese. The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. I will use this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because it as Chinese New year, breakfast options were very limited.

    I stayed here over Chinese New Year, so there were not many guests in the hotel. I was upgraded from a twin single to a business double on check-in which was great. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. the decor was a bit dated, but it was good value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the ventilation system I lost my wallet during stay in the hotel. The business centre charge for printing is: 6 RMB per A4 page for black and white, 20 RMB per A4 page in color. Also the breakfast is 85 RMB. All these prices are in the high range

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning only turned on from May. Easter is usually hot in Beijing so guests are advised to book rooms at the back where traffic noise is minimal with open windows.

    Excellent service. Excellent western breakfast (full English) with generous selection of fresh fruits, cereals, seafood as well as the traditional local dishes. My favourite hotel in this area of Beijing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The middle aged man at reception rather curt when I asked for directions.

    The breakfast was great with helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is good...close to shopping malls and restaurants...staff is also helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable and hard. Security bond was very high, and you even have to pay for tea bags.

    Lovely looking room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No INTERNET!!!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - quite noisy (room to the street)

    - clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff at bar doesn't speak English at all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is worse than the dial-up 25 years ago. Do not stay here if you need to get online.

    Nice hotel. But forget wifi here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very low level of English of the staff. The rest was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac in the hallways.

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff so and so, noisy air conditioning

    Good position near the metro station, nice room with a big window

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a massive upgrade

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room. Excellent location. We will definitely stay in this hotel next time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Polite staff. Comfortable bed. Access to CNN.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty - no english

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were old.

    Location was really good, next to subway station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near transport,subway

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1000rmb deposit

    staff speaks English, close to subway

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room (insect found)

    Position

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Position near to subway 2 and to airport express.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is ok By The people don't speak english

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility. Air con not working, staff not helpful immediately, shower not comfy

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    there is no outside space. its rather non-exciting

    Staff were very eager to help. When I couldn't get connected to their wifi, they brought into my room a wifi router and didn't stop working until they had me online. There was always someone working that spoke some English, but not always to high level

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    it takes about 6 minute walk from the subway station with underpass and stairs on the way, water goes down really slowly in the shower and it got flooded easily, minibar is very pricey

    nice hotel, clean spacious room, good and speedy service

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    hard bed, shower not functioning well, not very good breakfast for that price

    5 minutes walking distance to the airport-shuttle, easy to find. was given a gigantic room.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Just two points: 1. Breakfast not included and quite expensive, but you have convenience store 1' walking from the hotel. 2. They don't organize day trips around the city

    THIS HOTEL IS JUST PERFECT PRICE vs QUALITY! 1. Staff so kind, smiley, helpful, nice... 2. Location perfect 5' walking from metro station line 2 3. Spacious rooms, very clean, more stuff than you can need! 4. Room service is awesome, they visit your room at leat twice a day to check what they need to replace P E R F E C T , I strongly recommend you to choose this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I have booked the room priced for RMB607, but it cashed out for RMB 689. I don't know if it's a system problem or other reasons.

    the staff here is very nice

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really think the hotel needs to get its WIFI together. We did get a decent modem from housekeeping, and - to be fair - it did the job even though it was still fairly slow.

    Very good, informed and attentive staff. Swift handling - even at an early morning check-in (3a.m.!). Great location at a pretty reasonable price, and the room was fine. An all-round nice stay. I'd definitely go there again.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some things could be more efficient, check out took a good 20 minutes, most of it for printing a receipt.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Something was amiss with our booking, and we were given a free upgrade.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress/bed was extremely hard, apparently this is standard in China. The breakfast was expensive, we tended to eat breakfast out.

    The rooms were spacious with good en-suite facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very hard. Deposit of 2x the cost of the booking was taken (charged to credit card) upon arrival. Staff unable to give a receipt showing that the charge had been reversed when we checked out.

    Close to the station (but located on an expressway), so easy to get to from the airport. Rooms are very big.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very convenient for Dongzhimen metro and airport express. Perfect for optimising time on a short transit stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no one in the Hotel who is able to talk in English. We had fungi in our bathrooms.

    It is near to the airport express.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was spacious and had a very elegant feel about out. A fantastic room to relax in after long hours of travelling.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    staff are very nice

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the reception staff does not speak English

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor understanding of English

    easy to reach from and to airport as well as downtown

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a bit run down place in serious need to be redecorated, especially the bathroom

    Nice staff Comfortable bed close to metro

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast choice, Internet speed and strength

    Location, convenience, value for money

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi signal is weak

    location is very good and staff is kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited options at the restaurant

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Oriental Garden Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: