Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Regal International East Asia Hotel

516 Hengshan Road., Xuhui, 200030 Shanghai, China

#139 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Great Location, Welcoming Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I could not figure out the A/C for a couple of days and the room was too cold. Should have asked earlier, but finally figured it out.

    This is a property that has been around a while, but is very well maintained and in a great location. It is a great neighborhood to stroll around in - quiet with a part nearby, but also near Xujiahui, the busy shopping area. I loved the perfume smell in the lobby when coming in after the long, hot days walking around Shanghai. Also, the pool is nice, great for lap swimming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location . Best to have a newly renovated room when stay.!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I stayed was being upgraded to a larger room but old style one. I would rather be staying at a newly renovated room with standard size. The door card didn’t work every morning when I tried to get back to my floor after breakfast. Something is wrong with the key system. It created inconvenience to the clients.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.8
    Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First the reception is very condescending. Then the paiement was a nightmare, only cash and credit cards, no alipay, WeChat pay, Apple Pay, debit card pay ... Then the deposit amount was not mentioned anywhere so I had to go outside the hotel withdraw money twice. The rooms are old just like all the decoration inside. Old style, old smell, all setup.

    Well located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, good value, comfortable rooms, some parts of hotel a tad dated, poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior of the hotel as a whole is looking in need of refreshment. Although I had specifically booked the room rate with breakfast included, reception insisted that it would be charged extra until I fished out my booking confirmation. I wonder how many guests forget and end up paying twice? If you need to pay, then breakfast is RMB200. Frankly, it's a disappointing breakfast: e.g. sausage, bacon and baked beans barely lukewarm. Coffee comes from a pot on a hotplate. For the price, freshly ground bean to cup coffee would have been better.

    The rooms are really nice with comfortable bed and good bathroom. On the 2nd floor they have a top notch Chinese restaurant. At the back of the hotel are some nice tennis courts. If I try to put breakfast out of my mind, which as disappointing, then this is a comfortable, clean, well-located hotel that I would probably use again. Overall, good value on the room rate and excellent Price/Quality for Shanghai.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Huge location with plenty of activities to offer e.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet connection wasn`t any good. Ridiculous prices for drinks at the bar (e.g. Cappuccino EUR 7), for breakfast (EUR 40/day) and to use the tennis courts even though they belong to the hotel. Quite often it was very difficult to get a taxi.

    Huge location with plenty of activities to offer e.g. tennis, gym, swimming pool spa etc. Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff. The location is good, many restaurants/bar and metro stationin walk, ing distance of 15-20 min.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    For sure not staying in this hotel again
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was staying for two nights and the bad experience started at the check-in: FIRST was about the payment-according to the confirmation letter they would charge half of the fee on your card the night before arrival and the rest should pay when you arrived, and there was NOTHING about RMB$1000 deposit. The truth was they charged you the total fee PLUS 1000 when you arrived, although we got the deposit back when we checked out....still you should tell us about the deposit ..... at least for me, the first impression was not good. SECOND, when we (two Asian females) were back to the hotel after dinner. In the lobby, there was a staff (?) rushed toward us asking "do you have the keycard?" .... I was wondering why he asked this question ... something wrong with two females in this "4-star" hotel or something wrong with our nationality ... no matter what that was either gender discrimination or racial discrimination .... THIRD, a four-star hotel was using lumpy pillow and no one refilled the running low stuff (eg shampoo) ... This was the second 4-star hotel I stayed in China (so I don't really know how the system in China working) but this hotel definitely doesn't meet my standard.

    it is clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.6
    The bed was wide and comfortable, and the staff helpful with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amenities, decor, are right out of the European hotels from the 70s, the smell too with the heavy carpets in brown and grey tones -defintely it's a vintage exerience. The toilet could be cleaner, the phone didn't work and one has little control of the air conditioner -my room was freezing, hopefully the staff managed to turn it off.

    The bed was wide and comfortable, and the staff helpful with anything needed. The rooms are fairly big and well furnished for work with a big desk and lots of plugs next to it. Good view too over the streets of Shanghai from the upper floors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    i only liked the tennis court
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they couldnt find my booking, it took them about 40min to find it. then I got a room and the temperature was 18 degrees Celcius, it was freezing cold. They lied to me saying the hotel was fully booked and that there was no king size bed. After insisting, they finally found a new room for me with a king size bed. Not great. The only reason for me to stay there is because they have a tennis court. Otherwise I would stay in another hotel for sure.

    i only liked the tennis court

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    quiet room and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I book a queen bed room and They offer me a double single bed room... I complain to get the one I booked but the girl at reception was quite tough to understand it.

    quiet room and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Almost nobody speaks English or any other language, except...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nobody speaks English or any other language, except Chinese. They refused to heat my baby's food. The swimming pool is in maintenance and this was not informed. The mattress is in a bed shape. It is impossible to set a temperature in the shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, clean, but a little overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet was not very good - the speed and reliability was not great. Also, I think that the hotel is a little overpriced compared to similar ones in the city.

    The staff were very helpful, including when I collapsed in my hotel room and they accompanied me to hospital. The hotel was very clean and the room was a decent size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location, ok facilities and generally poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for check in, the service at this hotel needs to be improved. I had to ask three times to get extra towels on first day.

    Quiet and convenient location with swimming pools and tennis courts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.3
    3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is minimum 20 years old in the room. Bed is very bad, curvy. Very expensive breakfast and room bar. No sound isolation in the rooms.

    Free umbrella Free water Free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommeded hotel in Shanghai
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not take breakfast, is relatively expensive, there is a small coffee shop in the lobby, where I took breakfast.

    Location is excellent. Always take this hotel when in Shanghai. Very good price quality ratio. Whole hotel (including all rooms) are non-smoking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    Clean, but unfriendly taste
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow Wifi Personell unprofessional: one day the manager got into an argument with my driver right in front of me. I was pucked up in the parking area and the driver has waited there for me for 10 minutes (15 minutes were said are free). Tried to charge $ 2 without reason. At that time nearly all parking lots were free. I wonder if a 5 star hotel needs to charge for parking space even though we were told it's free. Unprofessional behavior, leaves a bad taste! Breakfast is ok, but not worth $ 27. Waitresses unfriendly and I was only asked for more coffee/tea on one day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.7
    Good if you don't require the internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throughout the hotel the internet speed was terrible making it impossible to work. For a business hotel this is very poor. Travelled to Dongguan later in the week and had absolutely no problem in that hotel!

    Clean rooms and no smoking throughout hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Shanghai business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is really good, plus, all people at reception are really helpfull, do their best to assist, liked the full atmosphere , good hotel, if have a chance, will stay at it again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A couple of days were kind of cold so I needed some hot air in the room and this was not possible

    I liked the facilities and the people working in the hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    2.9
    Dirty towels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hotel I have stayed! For 2 consecutive nights, I found hair on "clean" towels! Price paid for each night is not cheap too! Difficult to get taxi... staff are not willing to book taxi for you, so you just got to wait! Will never get back to this hotel again!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wanted a king-sized bed, but got two twins (although it was an upgraded room, which included a tub); was difficult to find the wifi code, and wifi didn't always work well.

    Didn't get king-sized bed, but did get tub, which was great; room was large and comfortable; fitness room is quite extensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    2.9
    the smell of the old furniture is spread in the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the smell of the old furniture is spread in the hotel corridors and rooms which I do not like at all the hotel should renew the furniture and a lot of things

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.5
    I like the executive rooms,and the neighbourhood to nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    since some years I am always staying in this Hotel, in my cogntion I realize that the emploees at the executive area and the chambermaids are contantly cordial,the rest of the staff downstairs at the reception counter I would call not enough professional,arrogant,impersonal and partially not well educated. they should get some lessons in behaviour for continue working in a five star Hotel.

    I like the executive rooms,and the neighbourhood to nice and charming Restaurants,metro not far etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    lovely hotel in need of better management
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wifi did not work in my room level of service has slipped over the last 10 years I have been visiting this hotel. breakfast needs some work.

    room was very nice with everything you want. location was good with easy access to lovely parks and restaurants Facilities were great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Not bad but not excellant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temperature control, airconditioning

    Just as expected

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect for me and the Hotel has an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect for me and the Hotel has an excellent gym facility as well as being a nice hotel even though it is getting older !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel to stay within Xuhui area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and staff attitude.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    There a lot of good bars and places to hangout nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a confusing one to find in the map.

    There a lot of good bars and places to hangout nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, big room and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breafast a bit expansive in regards to the quality

    Clean, big room and good service. Very nice swiming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Will stay again if price is right
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service is very prompt. Laundry service efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The fastest internet I ever experienced in any Chinese hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fastest internet I ever experienced in any Chinese hotel, a decent desk and adjustable chair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Will defiantly stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel great hotel great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was not included and charged for over 200 Rmb is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included and charged for over 200 Rmb is too much for the guest stay in the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    very expensive breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    very expensive breakfast large difference between deluxe room and suits. Deluxe room have older furniture, but is still relative expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bell staff

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Our favorite hotel in Shanghai, stayed there many times already!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The Regal International East_Asia Hotel is our favorite hotel in Shanghai. Good price value ratio and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concierge service was extremely helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Drainage of bath tub was blocked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drainage of bath tub was blocked. We complained on first night but no improvement

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best hotel in Shanghai Reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Reasonably happy have stayed there many times before primarily for location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many staff distracted by playing on their iPhones. Primarily male issue females do most of work

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast is edible, but can be better.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is edible, but can be better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.0
    Clean room with great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Great gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great gym Good value for money Comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast buffet was lacking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was lacking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of helpful staff at arrival.

    The location and ambiance of hotel. Staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel at a very good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is good.

    Clean & quiet Rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    The location might entice me back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be more service orientated. The buffet breakfast was not of a good standard.The location might entice me back

    the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no

    value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    Not worth your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated. Definitely not worth what we paid for. Swimming pool has a weird smell.

    Good location. Big rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Great Hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel use some kind of arometherapy which I think the scent is a little too strong.

    Great location and close to the Subway public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.5
    Hope change staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the staff because I have to show him my booking then they said no have booking they wanna change the room

    I just like the building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    The automatic curtain and the shower.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could have let me know that they do not have smoking room.......

    The automatic curtain and the shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Good rooms modern and spacious
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft and sunken old mattress Staff robotic

    Good rooms modern and spacious Great price Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Great accommodation if you stay in the renovated rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New renovated room excellent- old room absolutely terrible

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.3
    Bit out of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electronics in the room were problematic. Older hotel

    Loved the spa

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    ok hotel in a nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    food poor, hotel needs a face lift, no interaction with staff.

    nice beds, room clean, good facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.9
    to keep it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    to keep it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Very good option in the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff never smile.

    The cleanliness and comfort.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    An amazing hotel, very lovely staff and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An amazing hotel, very lovely staff and a great neighbourhood for eating, drinking and walking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.4
    buffet breakfast overpriced and awfull
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    buffet breakfast overpriced and awfull

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    Courtesy at check in and an unexpected upgrade
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't there long but found nothing to complain of

    Courtesy at check in and an unexpected upgrade

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    I'd stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was slow and their was little hidden costs.

    The room was beautiful and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    3.3
    Won't come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just about everything else

    Spacious Room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    The room was clean, nice and modern.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little bit far from the city center or touristic places

    The room was clean, nice and modern.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    9.2
    Lovely room - great fitting and furnishings, lots of space,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Lovely room - great fitting and furnishings, lots of space, great view over city. Cleanliness, décor, close to bars and restaurants of French Concession, easy access via taxi or Metro, nice staff. Very reasonable price

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    The staff were very courteous and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A charge was indicated when we logged onto the wireless Internet, even though it was canceled at the end, so that was confusing.

    The staff were very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. The hot water kettle in the room was highly welcome. The swimming pool was an excellent experience.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    7.1
    I liked the service for the most part, great mix of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    View was just okay, I didn't feel like there was a lot of great on site options for food etc either.

    I liked the service for the most part, great mix of international visitors. Convenient via subway

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    9.6
    great location, good for doing business from.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No negative comments

    great location, good for doing business from. friendly and helpful staff. Great Business Center.. In particular the Concierge Team are terrific.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    7.5
    Good location on a main road within the Former French...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is okay, but not quite five star standard. Traffic noise might be slightly louder than some would like if you're on a lower floor and facing the road.

    Good location on a main road within the Former French Concession. Close to some of the most beautiful and interesting parts of the city, as well as a major subway line

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    Great location, good gym with free weight equipment, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint is that they charge you 3kuai a minute to use the WiFi and on that only thing wrong its still enough to make me want to choose another hotel where WiFi should be free.

    Great location, good gym with free weight equipment, good room and nice big bath.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    8.3
    Tennis courts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps the rooms were a bit bland/plain. No plug points anywhere but by the desk, but it's such a minor gripe. In fact I take it back. The hotel has tennis courts, and is within walking distance of my favourite restaurants. That's all I need.

    Tennis courts! Indoor and outdoor. In the heart of the French Concession district. Great big desk to work from.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is terrible. The food is such that very few Chinese would touch it. I now book without breakfast, spend less than 30 CNY outside for youtiao, noodles, dumplings (xiao long bao) The renovated rooms are big, but the quality of the installation and appliances is medium only. This hotel does not feel like a 5 star hotel.

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.9
    The gym and tennis facilities were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee in the lobby was too expensive.

    The gym and tennis facilities were great. Live entertainment was a plus. The tailor in the lobby is worth a visit

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    7.5
    - value for money was good for Shanghai.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - I only experienced the Western food in the breakfast buffet. It was not up to the standard of an international hotel. I didn't have breakfast included in my rate, and I was glad because I would not want to feel I had to eat there every morning for a week.

    - value for money was good for Shanghai. - The pool is great for a lap swimmer, though somewhat inconvenient by being in a different building. - The Chinese restaurant (Cantonese) was surprisingly good, and the prices there were pretty good considering the quality. - the staff were nice and helpful. I was there for nearly a week.

There are also 64 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Regal International East Asia Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: