Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel

800 Ling Ling Road., Xuhui, 200030 Shanghai, China

#152 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 230 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, since it is located inside the gymnasium, if there's a game, might be bit hard to get asleep.. extra charges if you want to change two single beds to one double bed

    Located beside 2 different subway lines Has great value with clean room and good facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was very bad, room smell quite unpleasant, poor air conditioning. Breakfast not suited for non-Asian taste.

    Location and staff were on the positive side of the experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating system in an all-marble bathroom with a one degree (centigrade) outside temperature and a huge window that brings all cold inside. Hard to go shower when temperature in bathroom is around heighten degrees C.

    The room was very nice, outstanding

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to access by taxi, there are more than one entrace and some of then are not open. Is not clear what you can use, mainly during night.

    Nice room, big and confortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was meagre in club rooms. Internet was a bit spotty. There was a step in the middle if the room which was dangerous.

    Bathroom was stunning and 2 sinks appreciated. The toilet was slow to flush.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the hotel fare, the staff cannot speak English properly in some cases.

    Breakfast with a wide buffet, position close to three metro stations, cleaning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facility with worn down rooms. Noisy room with peoples voices coming through window from outside. No view at all.. just a window shield put up in front of window. Breakfast soap.. nothing special. Bacon was not crispy.. Long waiting time for taxi

    Good location and goof price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed was a bit hard. Toilet was not working well. Very few TV channels in English. It was not easy to make changes in the reservation at hotel due to language/translation limitations. ATM in the hotel lobby was out of order for more than a week.

    lots of space and nice lighting. nice shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is smaller for a double room.

    Regal Shanghai east Asia hotel was my first timer, and the reason I chose it is because it close to my favourate sports facilities (squash and swimming). After I was upgraded to the executive floor I was able to enjoy a glamorous view of the entire Olympic sized sports arena. Though without breakfast, a short stroll walk will take you to the very famous local dinning place and underground station is about 5-7 minutes walk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Rooms were not very sound proof and the air conditioning did not work as it was winter so the room was too hot at times.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Good selection for breakfast. Rooms were comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the waffle cook used low heat on a open waffle maker so the batter never got up to temp and the waffles consistency was like stale soft pretzel, there was no cheese for the omelet and the ham pieces looked two days old, at check in they gave me another persons paperwork to sign, at check out they charged me for six breakfast meals even though I only ate three, she claimed she could not process my credit card until 7am ( my prepaid airport shuttle ticket was for 7am) even though they still have a $950.00 USD hold on my credit card, the bed was the worst it felt like it was full of large rocks, the clerk the morning I checked out reeked of dishonest-I think I am so smart because I can rip off tourists mentality, I am taking a big chance writing this because they will probably retaliate by charging my credit card even though I paid her cash in full when I checked out,

    the hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful and spoke good English except for the morning when I checked out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    if you want to take the risk having a roomview showing the main stairs of a sports stadium, go for it. and dont let the shiny lobby get you too excited; the rooms dont meet up that first impression.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was food poisoned from eating a croissant but since the others in my group ate the same thing and didn't have any problems, I didn't report the problem. Bad call since until now, 3 days after the event, I am still suffering from the effects of being food poisoned. This is why I rated Cleanliness as poor. Also, it would be a plus if some of the front liners spoke English. I only counted 2 out of maybe a dozen who we could talk to.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in the room are thin and we only knew there's pillow menu after we had check-out. The customer service at The Peak was nice and friendly. Even though the speed of serving the dishes was slow.

    My Friend received a surprise birthday cake from the hotel. Very sweet of them for a memorable 50th birthday to her. Assistant Manager, Steven Li approached me upon check-in to follow up an email regarding the dining venues there. Good example of extra mile service. Chose this hotel as it is within walking distance to the Shanghai Grand Stage where we watched the Blackpool dance competition. The metro station near to the hotel is only 1 stop away from Xu Jia Hui where the Metro City is.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staffs are all very helpful when i ask help from them because i dropped my HKID.........they helped to show me where the police station is, and they called up immigration to find out more details for me.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurants could have stayed open longer in the evening

    Staff were excellent, they did go the extra mile if you needed anything. Hotel is an integral part of the stadium which was great for people going there

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and great price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pen and paper in the room

    Large room and a swimmingpool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Pillows can be improved on. Too hard.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is a bit old.

    The service is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aged facilities Air quality is not good

    Convenient location Fair price Staff is friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not working and very unstable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception, all the stuff were really unfriendly and rude

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing wrong with the property

    Breakfast had a great selection. Rooms were fairly big and very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi couldn't find the hotel. Problem with check in using a credit card.

    The room was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unreasonable staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con temp is so warm

    The window can be opened

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    far from the center

    modern and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room thermometer control didn't work.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's really good an experiences. close to the gymnasium. too convenience for watch a concert!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    every thing was perfict

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was great with music and really nice washroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    gym

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet.

    Breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Convinient at a far price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to complain about

    The staff were attentive cooperative and friendly. Well mannered

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a view inside the stadium... brilliant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting a Taxi was difficult

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff attitude would be better.....

    pool was cool!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big. The housekeeper are very nice and helpful. Good service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room comfortable as were beds. Location gave good access to the metro and shopping areas. easy to get to the main city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Back View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big problems getting a taxi at this hotel.

    Clean and quiet rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Limited offer - Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and value for money

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Need to add more international TV channels please like Star movies etc , or movies on demand and pay

    The cleanliness and the cosy temperature inside was liked ..

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Since located in a stadium, the inner rooms have the windows giving on the inner construction structure of the stadium. Not a problem when we know it.

    Professional and helpful staff. Very quiet while located at the center of Xujiahui. Comfortable rooms with all amenities for business. Close to subway lines 1 and 4. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have book single bead bet they hotel provide twin bed and ask me all rooms is full, you're booking is not registered in my hotel system are you talk for your booking co. Check photo for room.

    Staff and overall hotel management not corporate good, Reason low price booking and ask not happy for booking.com, providing low category room also half and hour waiting for room checking. My experience is very bad for this hotel. They all hotel staff not happy for booking.com discount prices.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cheaper non-view rooms feel a little cramped. Although, you get what you pay for... (since I was not willing to pay the small premium for an outward facing room).

    Good location within sports stadium provides good access to surrounding facilities. Also, with two metro lines (Line 1 and Line 4) within 5 minutes walk. Very convenient. Well managed, clean hotel with professional servicing and staffing.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Property is not so bad, but the problem with Staff. Their English quite poor and they are able to assist you in very basic batters. Free Wi-Fi really poor and it's enjoying when you have to reconnect it every few minutes. Hotel take deposit twice amount of your stay price, thats doesn't looks reasonable.

    Location not bad.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The local "Massage" sellers are particularly pushy and the staff do little to remove them from the area.

    It is a nice hotel. The staff are friendly and most speak at least some English. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The local "massage" sellers at this hotel are particularly pushy and the staff do very little to remove them from the area.

    Nice hotel all round.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Confusion over booking staff not at all helpful, but call to Booking.com soon sorted the problem.. Not the room booked instead of view of stadium Tribune got nothing but filthy stadium roof and concrete no sunlight and windows do not open, no chance of correction as hotel full (football match), Ticket touts allowed to sell fake tickets in reception.! Generally room old smelly, stale smoke, carpet dirty, definitely overpriced .

    Air conditioning worked, close to metro.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -Rooms are too old : drapes and carpet dirty (a long time ago without washing) -even if floor is no smoking area, it smells very strong especially in the bathroom, may be condicioning not adapted

    Seems Ok lobby but not the rooms...

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The one thing to watch out for when booking this hotel is they might give you a different bed than the one you asked for. It's always a pain so enquire with booking.com or phone ahead to make sure you get the right one and be insistent, cos they always try to give us a twin when we want a double! why you can't just select the bed you want, god knows.

    We've stayed in this hotel several times and it is always comfy and clean. We like the pool and the facilities overall. Well serviced by three metro stops nearby.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    lift access wasnt working had to get help frm front desk to scan card to access our floor. Front desk staff was less then helpful. And, they never respond to our Thank You

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gym little poor, sometime not so easy catch a taxi(round 5-10 min)

    Perfect location and facilities. Nice swimming pool, friendly stuff. Good room with nice view, High-speed internet(really good for China). Price.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location near the main subway lines of Shanghai Good quality of facilities Kind staff

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were not so clean, no complimentary coffee or tea

    Location and convenience

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is too old and smelly.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi need to log in everytime, staff need more training as different person gives different information

    gd location, well equipped spacious room

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hard mattress, double bed should have been bigger seemed so small.

    Nice bar, nice breakfast, good location to subway and dining options

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was located at the track, . I liked the bar in the foyer.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good price with location

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Couple

    Not convenient to the airport

    clean hotel

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: