Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Happy Dragon. Saga Youth Hostel

No.9 Shijia Hutong Chao Nei Nan Xiao Jie, Dongcheng, 100010 Beijing, China

#114 of 594 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1990 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Unpleasant staff experience at departure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was mainly nice and helpful, however, the day of our departure we asked the hostel to call a taxi for us to bring us to the airport early in the morning. The guy at the reception, barley speaking a word of english, told us that a lot of custumers recently complaint about cab drivers asking for way to much money and, therefore, he wanted to call us a didi (Chinese uber). We agreed since that seemed like a great advise, however, when the didi arrived, the guy at the reception asked for 150 yuan which we paid to him. It turned out that the didi costs not more than 75 yuan. So instead of risking to be cheated by a cab driver, we were cheated by the receptionist. Not a pleasant feeling to not even be able to trust the staff in the hostel.

    The hostel with a nice spacious room, a bar, and rooftop tarrace was really great and we can definitely recommened to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    I will be recommending!Lots of space in the rooms with lockers, no bunk beds,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Location, but still within walking distance to metro stations, just nothing much around!

    Staff were excellent, very nice and helpful and spoke English. I went on a tour with the hostel to the Great Wall and it was excellent. Very clean and comfortable. Good Wi-Fi, nice cafe and bar!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Standard room, lovey bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay a deposit for the key, which is fine but be sure to have money on you Mine was a flying visit, but I'm not sure how much mirror space there was - there seemed only to be one sink in the bathroom It's further from the subway than you'd think

    Good local beer in the bar Free locker for bags Each bed has a curtain for privacy Bathroom wasn't too busy Room wasn't too stuffy, nice temperature Met some lovely people at the bar! I checked in at 9:30pm and they were fine with that, no extra charge :D Great directions to the place, picture made it easy to find

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Nothing flash, but had good basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is tired looking, dated decor etc. room was a bit pokey, small and not a lot of space to move around. There were also a few mosquitoes in the room.

    This was a transit stay for us to break up our travel so we weren’t looking for anything too fancy. It was close to a subway station (10 min or less walk), had some good restaurants nearby, lady that checked us in had really good English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Great staff but room could have been much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very worn and felt dirty. The shower didn’t work properly and bed linen was badly worn

    Very helpful staff and good location. Bar area and food very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    A place where you feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were somewhat hard, like most beds in China, but I just slept on top of the duvet so that was fine. I would really appreciate it if the staff made a comment on their website about how to find their hostel. There is another Happy Dragon Hostel and the Saga Hostel is not listed on the Didi Taxi App. For those who don‘t want to get lost like myself, put: No. Nine Shijia Hutong as your destination

    Staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. They speak English well and are quick and efficient at getting you checked in. There is someone on duty 24 hours and so it doesn’t matter if you arrive late. I mentioned my arrival time when booking just to be extra sure. I stayed in a private room with my daughter. Although there is no fridge in the room I was allowed to store my milk in their fridge. The breakfast is very good and at a reasonable price. My daughter particularly liked the French toast. Also the lunch options like chicken paninis and Caesar salad are very tasty. Staff can organise tours or drivers to suit you which we took advantage of as the tour times were a little late for us (we wanted to climb the wall early morning as it was so hot) The rooftop patio is also worth a mention. Lovely to sit out there and enjoy a drink on a warm evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    - Near the city center and Wangfuqing street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - You need to walk around 800m (~10-15minutes) to nearest subway station (DongZhiMen). You can consider taking the taxi if you have luggages

    - Near the city center and Wangfuqing street - Staffs are very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Located 10-15 min from a metro
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really expensive for what you get... clean, but really basic room Uncomfortable bed Noisy, the cleaning staff yield to each other from 7am...

    Located 10-15 min from a metro

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Easy access to the subway and close to many attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom could be cleaner.

    Easy access to the subway and close to many attractions. Nice atmosphere and good breakfast. The rooms and the beds were comfortable and the personnel was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Don’t hesitate to stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing staff! Beautiful hostel, really cool pub and excellent location ! Close to everything, 10 min walk to subway station walkable distance to many tourist places (forbidden city, Tian’anmen square, etc), really clean and comfy rooms and amazing staff. Can be better?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Quiet location in the Hutongs, around a 10-15 min walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quiet location in the Hutongs, around a 10-15 min walk from the subway station. There's a nice balcony on the third floor, perfect for sitting outside in the evening, beware of mosquitos though. Staff is friendly, rooms are cleaned daily, bath towels are available even in 8bed dorms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Good choice for Beijing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesnt matter to me at all, im not picky but since I've seen some people dont like this, the shower and toilet were not separated so toilet did get wet after showers

    The street was very cute and safe. 8 minute walk to subway station which is how we got everywhere minus the great wall. We booked the great wall tour with them (280 yuan each) they took us to the entrance by bus, fed us lunch, and took us back. Water bottles sold at main lobby for 2 yuan each which was very convenient. Food was phenomenal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls and bathroom tiles are filthy. I stayed in a room with a private bathroom but there was no toilet paper provided. I asked for some but still did not receive any.

    The location is excellent. There is free wifi and the bed is comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    It's one of my best hotel experiences in China!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's one of my best hotel experiences in China! It's not very local (a more traditional menu would have been appreciated) but the people was amazing, the wifi great, the room clean and cosy and the location perfect. Do not miss it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    A nice place in a traditional hutong area, within a walkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was cleaned every day, but sometimes there was a bit of a smell in the shower.

    A nice place in a traditional hutong area, within a walkable distance from public transportation and touristic attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a pretty good place to stay. The location is spot on! So many things close. The staff is great, beds are great, service is great. Plus side, the local beer at the bar is really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Probably one of the best Hostels iv been in for some time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were happy and very helpful, they assisted with any issues or questions. The place was clean and tidy with all working functions, bathroom though a little old was cleaned regularly and functional. Location is a little out of the way witch only adds to the charm, this is probably one of the best Hostels iv been in for some time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great hostel with lively bar and restaurant. Staff were incredibly helpful and took a number of parcel deliveries for us as we had some documents shipped from Australia. Easy walk to multiple subway stops and also walkable to Beijing train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was clean, however there was a little smell in the shower. And there are only two toilets for women for the whole floor and 3 showers.

    Very nice location, 10 minutes from the MTR, located in the heart of a hutong, many restaurants and convenience stores in the area (less than 5 minutes walk). The staff was kind, there is a luggage scale you can use, and a nice rooftop in the hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hostel for solo travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -WiFi sometimes failed to work correctly

    -The staff was amazing and very helpful -Bar atmosphere in the lobby is very good -Good happy hour beer price -Very fun dumpling class on Friday’s

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Accomodating staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No social activities ,available This is a Hutong hostel. Restaurant menu predominantly western. Deadline for visitors 9pm ,which is a shame ! Sharing room facilities on second and third floor ,although prices are the same,the rooms differ from night ,to day.Same bed price ,should provide the same benefits .Request for a bed on the second floor. We would have liked to taste local food ,in the restaurant. No car park Facilities should be upgraded. Hot water for showers not always available No money exchange service. Some basins taps do work

    Location,24 hour reception,close to subways. Staff,friendly, Good source of info. Excellent Western food. No lounge available Service and delivery of beverages.fast and efficient Its the staff members that makes place a success.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    expensive, overpriced. more than 40 euros for a room without a window and a toilet, with a dim light, with shabby walls. The room has air conditioning, but there is no air supply (forced ventilation), however it is a common problem for Chinese hotels, sometimes there is a window.

    quiet place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There no kitchen and any fridges to keep food. No lobby or other places where we can sit to eat.

    Location was good. Close to subway. Staff helpfull and speak English. WC and showers were clean. AC in the room worked properly. I really like this hostel and reccomend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Beds in 8-Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, in an 8-bed dorm, my partner and I were given one key between the two of us - which didn't even work. One of us had to be in the room to let the other in. The lockers' locks were also faulty. We found that we could unlock one another's lockers with the other's key. Thankfully we only stayed for one night, so maybe that's why they gave us the dodgy set of keys?

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location to explore Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were very hard by night 4.

    Extremely friendly staff greeted us on arrival. Very good English by all of them. But would always suggest you print of your confirmation in Chinese as it is very helpful. Very helpful with information and had a map for all guests to use. Able to organise tours through them to the great wall, which we did, was good value for money. There is a restaurant/bar there - great happy hour, but didn't get to take part in any organised events with them. Stayed in a double + twin room for 3 of us - was on-suite. Really large space for us. We were on the ground floor. Corridor is all tile, so can echo quick a bit. Doesn't make it too loud, but wouldn't be the best for light sleepers. Beds were really hard, but apparently that can be the norm in China. There are restaurants just around the corner from the location with a good variety. There is also a fresh fruit market close by. There is really not to much else going on in the area. Really close to a metro station which was very handy. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Hip hostel, comfy bed, social environment, great bar and restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The whole bathroom gets wet when you have a shower - The room was expensive for what it was (but maybe that's Beijing)

    - Centrally located, easy to walk to many places (as much as is possible in a big city like Beijing) - Located in a hutong (traditional Chinese alleyways) so that felt "authentic" - Big room with comfy bed - Free local draft beers on arrival - Daily happy hour promotions at the bar/restaurant - Very cool and lively bar/restaurant - Nice staff - Lots of other cool travellers - Cheap and prompt laundry service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location and price. Wifi never works and beds are harder than rocks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've never in my many years of traveling and staying at hostels complained about a bed, but these are ROCK HARD. I woke up with back pain they were so stiff. Also, the wifi never worked, even with a VPN. If you stay here, expect to not have wifi access for the entirety of your stay.

    A private room and bathroom in downtown Beijing close to a metro was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, perfect staff, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not the most luxurious place to stay, but you still get more than what you pay for.

    Very friendly and helpful, English speaking staff. Very good location, great price. Nice community of international visitors. + They have draft beer! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Had a lovely stay. We are returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked that the staff was very helpful, spoke well english, could help book trips and stuff for us. Our room was also nice for the price. Location is ok, maybe 10 mins from metro station. Close to 7 eleven, cafe, restaurants. There's also a restaurant at the hotel which is very good. Even a few vegetarian options. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to china and we will return for a second stay at the end of our trip. I recommand

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Big hostel with associated advantages and disadvantages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a twin room with private bathroom. The drain was not the lowest point in the bathroom, meaning that water stayed after taking a shower. We had an internal room with only 1 window to the internal hallway, nice and dark but not very much fresh air. Very noisy because of karaoke and noisy people in the hallways (they should inform guests to keep quiet in the hallways and try to enforce this policy)

    Friendly staff. On the day of checkout we were allowed to use the common showers before our flight in the evening. Location was great, near many restaurants. About a 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station but 20 minutes to a more useful subway station with more direct connections.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a nice stay, enjoyed meeting new people and discoverying the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our private room was on the ground floor on the other side of the bar so it was a bit noisy every nights as people are often partying late and the wall could let the noise pass to our room. We could also hear people talking loud in the hall. Sound-insulation could be a little bit improved.

    The staff was very friendly and there were activities (dumpling cooking class) and happy hours almost every day! They provide good services and organize nice excursions on the Great Wall :) The location of the hostel was great, close to restaurants, shops, subway and ofo bikes!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Location was interesting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not very helpful. Also, did not like the fact that dorm rooms were of mixed gender, which is not very nice in terms of overall comfort and feeling of security, especially for a woman, who travels by herself.

    Location was interesting. Very close to the bus station compared with the train station. I did not have much time to explore the neighborhood, but it seemed to be interesting. I stayed at the 4-bed dorm room and it was pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    A no-go unless you want to be drunk during all the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly dirty and horrible bathroom, the shower didn’t even have a curtain so every time I opened the water it would go all over the whole bathroom. Barely some paint on the wall, white light reminding me of a hospital. Very bad smell all the time.

    At first the atmosphere, since there was a lot of people from different countries having fun. Then I realized this hostel has a function of local drunken bar. Pretty horrible karaoke till 4 am and very weird people around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff was very helpful in giving us pointers in exploring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was very helpful in giving us pointers in exploring Beijing and the surrounding attractions. The in-house bar/restaurant made for a great place to meet other travelers and wind-down after long days of exploring. Very welcoming environment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Just OK if you are on a "Budget"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double bedroom was very dirty. The walls were full of footprints and the floor was also dirty. The bed is a chinese kind of bed with a hard mattress.

    Location, staff and bar. The hostel is located in an Hutong and it is 13min walking distance to the metro station. The staff was very nice, helpful and speak good English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Beijing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room need some paint. Bathroom should be more clean. Bathroom curtains should be changed!! Although was ok.

    Comfortable bed. Towels are included to the room. Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Super satisfied :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard

    Staffs are very helpful and accomodating. We even ask directions how to get to tourists spots and they also give advises. It is also good thing we booked there for Mutianyu Great Wall tour, because it became easy for us to get there and get what we paid for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place overall!!! Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom had a certain smell at random times. Perhaps the pipes or something. Beds were a bit hard as my friends said.

    Close to Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Dengshikou station about 10 minutes walk. Staff were friendly, helped us with getting to some locations and booked the Mutianyu Great Wall tour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location. Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is unqualified to help you with anything. If you ask them questions and directions they simply get lost and say something like “Well, you can check it online yourself”. And I was thinking how can I describe their way of treating customers and I would say -“Careless and irresponsible” For example, we had a tour in the morning with breakfast included. So people gathered in the bar for breakfast when it turned out that you have to carry receipt-like paper with you in order to get it. And receptionist didn’t even bother to tell about this fact. In order to make people do something, you have to speak it out first, right? Well, not the case of Happy Dragon. So some tourists had to go back to their rooms and look for their receipts. When asked by one girl “But I’m on the list, why can’t I just have breakfast?”,receptionist just kept silence. Then, the directions on their page how to get to the place are vague, to say at least. Another thing-it’s not only their problem but I found that there are at least 4 hostels with similar name “Happy Dragon”. This lack of imagination can give you some trouble first time, if you check the location online right in the middle of the street.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location close to the metro and in the hutong area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren’t as clean as I’ve experienced in other hostels, with wallpaper peeling off the walls. Also (and this is out of the hostels control) there was a lot of construction on the roads which meant that there were pretty strong fumes. That being said, my dad works in construction so he was fascinated all the same in Chinese construction!

    Wonderful location close to the metro and in the hutong area. The staff were very helpful and the hostel offered several budget tour options, such as a day trip to the Great Wall, and more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    This hostel is ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress could be softer. The shower is not safe. TV needs to have English speaking channels.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice to have a good breakfast at the hostel restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Quiet Area & Comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay a deposit for the key (CY100).

    Along a nice quiet alley/road. Bar/restaurant was a great place to relax. Great happy hour deals. Beds were quite comfotable. About a 10-15 minute walk to the metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere, great staff, great bar and super happy hour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if hostel has elevator but not a big deal.

    Staff was great i planned to stay 3 nights and then to switch to Leo hostel, however, I felt sorry to leave so I cancelled Leo and stayed at Happy Dragon Saga. Bar is excellent and atmosphere the best I experienced so far in hostels I stayed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    I loved the cozy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was kinda unstable. I used my mobile data most of the time.

    I loved the cozy place. The atmosphere and vibe that the hostel gave had pretty much enlightened and I had enjoyed my stay in Beijing more than I had expected. The food was really cheap and so fabulous that I preferred having most meals of my day at the hostel. And the best part of the hostel is the restaurant/bar. The friendly staffs, the happy hour, the karaoke, the music, the football match on screen....let's people enjoy how they wish to...I would definitely go there again, if I am in Beijing again, and would recommend friends this place too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Conformable stay, near to subway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything is awesome!

    Staffs were super friendly. Toilet was clean. Very comfy pillows. Slightly hard bed. Overall, it was a good stay! Make sure to download maps.me for offline map before arriving. It could be confusing for the first timers in China.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    We'd highly recommend this hostel situated in a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We'd highly recommend this hostel situated in a lovely Hutong, in a nice neighbourhood and 10 min walking distance to the metro. Once on the metro we were approx 15 mins to get to Tian'anmen Square/ Forbidden City. Staff were incredibly helpful with excellent English. The hostel has really great advice and information on all tourist attractions on the walls of the stairs - a very nice touch. Our room was simple but very clean, comfortable and they provide shampoo, body wash and towels which was great. Lots of local, tasty and inexpensive Chinese restaurants nearby at both ends of the Hutong (just as you leave the alleyway ). Overall a really positive experience staying here and would definitely recommend it. Conor & Jen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok but a bit dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dated Bed super hard Paper thin walls A/C and (old style) TV did not work A bit of a walk from the subway

    Staff very kind and helpful Good breakfast and coffee selection Easy to find

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Careful, shower has no partition, so bathroom floods. Not a major issue, bring thongs.

    Clean and comfortable. Staff is very (child-)friendly and speaks excellent English. Great little bar with very friendly barman. Hostel offers many different tours and helpful tips on various attractions and how to get there. Short walking distance to shops and public transport. Internet strong in reception area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    The stuff was super nice and we had a delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed wasn't too soft and the toilet paper was missing sometimes.

    The stuff was super nice and we had a delicious breakfast. The location is great and the whole place is clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Near Dengshikou Exit A (near Forbidden City)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells funky. Heating not really good and room seems damp all the time.

    Few subway stops from Forbidden City. Staff were helpful and speak fluent English. They are responsive when I called them prior to arrival and their restaurant is cozy. Many foreign backpackers! Nice way to meet friends from all over the world. They clean the room everyday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    The room was comfortable and the hostel was quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception will try to charge you extra money if you want to extend your stay. You better book online if you wish to extend your stay.

    Quiet neighbourhood and the internet had a good speed. Subway is 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Simple, nice but could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't so clean. The room was really dark. Only one blanket for a double bed.

    The staff was really nice and helpful. It was in a good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Beds in 8-Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were a bit gross. The floor seemed to always be slimy.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. They let you book tours at the front desk and the tours were awesome. The large lockers in the room were nice to have and even better that you didn’t have to pay for a lock or bring your own. They had curtains for privacy which was nice, especially when people turned on the light at 3 in the morning. The bathrooms were clean and they even had a laundry room. They serve decent food on the main floor as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard. Central heating was turned off and it was 1 degree C, but we used the split system in our room, so we were ok

    Staff are very helpful and speak great English. Place is in a great location 5 minutes from metro

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location close to metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The toilet facility is not enough, the entire floor sharing two basins, four toilets and six shower facilities. Toilet has some smell due to not being flushed regularly.

    Convenient location close to metro station. Bed and room are clean, a rooftop to relax. Nice staff and good atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice Big Hostel, Good mix of people, English speaking Staff, subway is a little bit of a walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The subway station is a little far, maybe a 10 minute walk.

    Nice, Big Hostel, common room can be quite lively, good mix of people. Hostel staff speak English and are happy to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Not hard to get to from the train, and not bad for what we paid. A one night stay is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses are really hard and not comfortable at all. Feels like you're sleeping on plywood. Also the shower in the bathroom is right next to the toilet, no seperation. Not a huge deal since everything works fine and seems to be cleaned well, just kinda gross when trying to use the bathroom after someone has showered.

    Hostel was pretty quiet. Water heater in room is nice for tea (if you brought some with you). The downstairs bar is really cool and seems like a fun hangout spot. My friend and I didn't really spend much time in there but when we got in the night we stayed, it was pretty packed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Stay was OK for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite old, could do with fixing the shower which is hanging off the tiles but general cleanliness was ok for Beijing budget stay.

    Location was quite good and the staff were helpful. Good information boards around the hostel with tourist info

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Extremely Bad location.Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Extremely Inconvenient location as it is not as close as mentioned on map.You have to take your luggage in your hands and walk more than half Km in 6 ft tiny street by facing traffic on your back

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    great place, nice stay, excellent to visit the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. If you still want to improve : - Is there a way to make to city bikes available for tourists (even by paying a caution in the hotel) - Caution for the key in local cash. You can't spend when you get it back and go to airport directly

    Good english speaking friendly staff. Clean room. Infoboards available for visits. Nice bar with excellent choice of beers, quick meals. Great open atmosphere, even some expats or local people come to have a drink after their work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    One of the girls at reception was quite patronising when I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the girls at reception was quite patronising when I asked her if she could call us a taxi. Kinda laughed at me. I didn't appreciate that too much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    China Cup 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are brilliant. The location was great to get a feel for China with plenty of choices for food in the locality. Happy hours were great. Ideal place to pass on advice to and receive advice from other travellers. Had some fantastic fellow guests while I was there. Although a walk to the metro qite a few of the main sites to see were only a few stops away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    We had a nice stay here overall !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need to be refreshed a bit.

    The staff is helpful and nice. The bar/restaurant is very pleasant and offers a lot of choice. The room needs a bit refreshing, as well as the bathroon, but it was comfortable enough for 2 nights and given the price & location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Staff speaks English ,breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changed my room ,and given on 3rd floor ,washroom too far from the room ,very old fashioned furniture ,asked for 100 rmb card security ,felt as if I’m in a cadet college

    Staff speaks English ,breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm inside the room without windows, bathroom sometimes little bit dirty

    Good staffs, helpful , lot of restaurant near the hostel , easy to find , rooms clean and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    - friendly and helpful staff member (English speaking)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - heater didn't work (very cold room, especially in the night) - broken wallpaper

    - friendly and helpful staff member (English speaking) - peaceful and quiet area - about 10 mins walk from the metro station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff makes all the difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was plain. The shower area had no separation from the toilet and sink area and every time you took a shower you drained the whole bathroom in water drops. The beds are not overly comfy and the the walls are paper-thin so you can hear every sound from the narrow hallway and adjacent rooms.

    The staff was very nice and friendly and spoke decent English. The hostel was located very close to the main tourist attractions and to the local family-run restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is pretty good, just a little walk straight from the subway. The staff was very friendly, we did a tour on the Great Wall of Mutianyu and it was very nice, the price was reasonable. The food at the bar was very good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is inside an Alley, 10minutes walk to the nearest MRT, some taxi didn’t want to enter the Alley so they dropped us on the main Street

    Value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent price/quality ratio. There seemed to be a lot of foreigners staying at the hostel and it was one of the few places in Beijing where reception spoke English. The hostel bar seemed also nice, though we didn't use much time there. Reception helped us with printing and even the wifi worked!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent place! You will love the location and the cleanliness.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hmm..around 10am, I was enjoying the first sleep-in that I have been able to have in a long, long time...until I was woken up by the sound of the cleaners in the corridor talking EXTREMELY LOUDLY. I actually asked them to keep it down...They acquiesced which was great. Please, staff, consider the guests' need for quiet and rest!

    Very lovely, quiet room which was large, well lit and clean. It was very quiet most of the time and I was able to get a LOT of work done with the excellent WIFI. The shower was FANTASTIC and the check in staff were very sweet and kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Its ok. Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train station is a bit far.. Witj your luggage seems further. And the street super narrow and dark... Imagine that you have to stop and hide every time a car will pass. There is no space for both. The hostel didnt have internet when i arrived! And even they repair it... Still didnt have internet in my room. No toilet paper and showers not do clean but acceptable.

    Staff is really really nice. They will help you with everything. Free beer makes your night. Hot showers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    The location was perfect, about a 10 minute walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, about a 10 minute walk from the subway station, down a street that feels perfectly safe to walk down. The hostel staff were amazing, perfect English and the facilities themselves were great too, hot water all day, and enough showers and toilets that you didn't have to ever wait for one to be available. We stayed over Chinese New Year and they also had a free dumpling making class! You can also pay by card here!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was our air con wasn’t great and it was very hot in the room but it was nice to be warm.

    Lovely staff that were very helpful and happy! The hash browns in the restaurant were great as well. Very nice atmosphere would stay again. Short walk to the metro and the 24 bus drops you a few minutes away if you get the airport line to Dongzhimen you can pick it up from just outside the station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    The hostel is near to the heart of the city.
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is near to the heart of the city. Here the staff is amazing, too kindly and present to help you every time. The common room is amazing too. I like to much there, to meet other people and drink a good 🍺 beer.it was good choise 100%

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: