Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Want Hotel Shanghai

No. 650 Yishan Road, Xuhui, 200233 Shanghai, China

#185 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Really nice hotel let down by useless wi-fi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good, possibly great, hotel let down by next to useless wi-fi which was so slow during the day as to be worthless. During the night after 1.00am it did work, slowly. Location is a long way out of the city centre, 30 minutes by metro.

    Room was great, very spacious and comfortable bed. Bathroom also excellent. Metro station right next door. Close to the Everbright exhibition centre for business travellers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Everything was ok except their central air conditioning: ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok except their central air conditioning: Air condition was set too low! Outside temperature was 29c, inside room needs to wear a thick sweater and skeep with thick covers! It is wasting electricity ! Though hotel provided me with a heater to compensate the cold room, it just does not make sense with such a regid management .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    It was good, but could definitely be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Not all the staff spoke English. 2. Booking did not include breakfast. I had to pay additional fee everyday for breakfast. 3. I requested for a Standard double room but was given a Twin room instead. I was informed that the Standard double room was not available. During my stay, I was promised that I would transfer room once it was available, but it never happened.

    1. There was a wide food selection for breakfast. 2. The room was cleaned everyday. 3. Foreign exchange was available in the hotel. 4. The location was accessible to a train station and supermarket. Also one train station away from our office location. 5. The Managers were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    4.2
    Unprofessional staff and old hotel, not very clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is already old while the maintanence seems poor.

    The staff is very unprofessional and even report "no show" to booking.com for another booking under my nam while my friend actually checked in and stayed for 2 nights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast, near metro stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are smoking room floors, centalventilation system makes room smelling tge smoking even though in non smoking room! Far away fromdowntown. Poor air quality. There were smokers in the hall and elevator.

    Breakfast, near metro stop

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    6.7
    they do not trust you
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They deposit 2000 CYN from my credit card (more than total amount of my stay) as soon as I chekin. They do not do it for every person I personally witnessed from somebody else who were checking in. This kind of implementation has not been written in my booking confirmation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.1
    A convenient stay for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had asked for a non-smoking room during booking and check-in, but the front desk staff still gave a smoking room in the beginning although later they changed the room to the non-smoking floor after being complained.

    Next to a subway station exit for accessing subway and near Xujiahui area for dining.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not much around at a walking distance for the leisure time. If a subway station is very close, it is lacking a bit the charm of an animated street.

    Good comfort at affordable price. I had a suite for the price of a normal room elsewhere. Quiet while nearby a busy road. Very close to a subway station. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Good enough, confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    minibar

    staff quality good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    price is on the high side for a hotel in such location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    price is on the high side for a hotel in such location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    4.6
    Location was close to our meeting place but far from city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I checked out they charged me 5$ for the laundry bag that I took to take my laundry home!!! The bathroom facilitiea were quite old. Breakfast is not included and very expensive

    Location was close to our meeting place but far from city center and from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    10
    We stayed for two days while we explored the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed for two days while we explored the area. the subway is literally next door, which was so convenient. The rooms are spacious and clean. There was free wi-fi and your typical freebies of shampoo, toothbrush, condoms and razor. A lady came by our door daily in the early evening offering free fruit. We didnt stay long enough to use all the amenities but there were restaurant, bar, spa and exercise equipment. I am very pleased with our experience and the price was better than other hotels for the price. I feel very fortunate picking this hotel based on a few reviews.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.5
    Next to a subway station exit for accessing subway and near...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit expensive during weekdays.

    Next to a subway station exit for accessing subway and near Xujiahui area for dining.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free, but slow FiWi.

    Comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    6.7
    normal hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Every extra you ask is very expensive

    normal hotel.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: