Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. China hotel reviews
  3. Beijing Area hotel reviews
  4. Beijing hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Reviews of Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

No. 24 Songshujie, Xicheng, 100009 Beijing, China

#75 of 576 hotels in Beijing

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 782 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2019

    8.3
    A nice and petite family style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice and petite family style hotel. Walking distance to the public transit center where you can take a non-stop bus to Badaling Great Wall. The alley is narrow, making it hard to drive the taxi in. the subway station was only 10 mins away. Breakfast was great! Staff is friendly. The Piying performance was fun. The bed and room was a little small, especially for a tall person.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2019

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were very friendly and spoke good English. We booked all our trips through the hotel for a good price and they provided us with information on what to do in the area. Every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday there is a free shadow art performance show at the hotel which is good and very interesting. They also provide group/individual classes. I would 100% recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    5.5
    relaxing art feeling environment, a quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 3 breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not many facilities within the hotel, and bit strange & inconvient the way we have to handle the used toilet paper.

    relaxing art feeling environment, a quiet place.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    10
    Fantastic place, beautiful atmosphere and the staff was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic place, beautiful atmosphere and the staff was very helpful. My room was little but cozy and the bathroom was astonishing, beautiful and well furnished. Many thanks again for the wonderful stay !

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2019

    10
    Everything was as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as expected. Breakfast was very good and the staff always very helpful. The location is great, in the middle of the Hutong. A very pleasant stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2019

    4.6
    Wonderful Staff. Terrible everything else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is terrible. Taxis dont get there. no elevators. the beds are hard as rocks. durty walls. no windows. avoid it at all cost

    The only good thing about this place is the staff. Very kind people

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2019

    8.8
    Nice and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear noises from the corridor quite well. However there is not so many rooms next to eachother so It was bearable. Breakfast was served only till 9 am.

    Nice and helpfull staff. They help us to arrange trip to great wall and mings tombs. Everything went smooth and was really nice. Rooms where clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    8.8
    This is a very thoughtfully designed boutique hotel in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk to the metro stop was not as close as I’d hoped (about 10-15min was walk).

    This is a very thoughtfully designed boutique hotel in the Hutong area near Houhai. It’s hidden and quiet, but still within walking distance to the action around Houhai. Though the rooms weren’t large but they were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious and well stocked of toiletries. Breakfast had a decent selection of food and beverage and the staff provided some free snacks and tea upon arrival which was nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    6.7
    Novelty Shadow Art performance, but that's about all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt a bit commercialised - Despite the staff being extremely helpful, every "activity" seemed to have come with an extra charge. Want to try your hand at making dumplings? Sure, we could set that up for you for 58 yuan. Want to paint your own shadow puppet? Sure, that will be 200 yuan ... And such. Breakfast - Usual chinese fare (cold vegetable dishes, congee, tangerines and boiled eggs). They do have attempts of Western fare like store-bought pastries and oil-soaked bacon, but the safest bet for us was toast with jam. Transport: If you are taking a cab, high chance would be that you won't be dropped off at the lobby like many other reviewers have pointed out because hutongs are pretty narrow. So, you have to walk with your luggage for about 5-10 minutes. But as you walk further in, you will realise that it is possible for cars to travel into the hutong. If you are leaving for the airport, the hotel staff can help you book a cab to pick you at the lobby but it comes as a cost as well. In the end, I used my mobile app to book a didi (Chinese uber), which was much cheaper. Therefore, I suggest packing light and spending one day here? Probably best if you can leave your luggage at your previous/next hotel stop.

    Great if you are looking for a Hutong to stay in Beijing, as well as to experience a cultural art-form in house. But, that's about it all in my honest opinion. For novelty's sake, you could stay here for one-night to experience the Shadow Art performance (it doesn't run daily, do check the schedule on their website) and hutong feels, but I wouldn't recommend staying for more than 2-3 days since for the same price you could get a more comfortable hotel which is very much more accessible. Shichahai Shadow Art hotel is about 10-mins walk from the nearest subway, and the hutong alley gets pretty dark at night, although I did not feel unsafe. Suggested itinerary: Spend one day here. Check-in, explore the hutongs for the afternoon till about 5pm, have some dinner at the nearby Huguosi food street, return to hotel to watch the shadow art performance (at 8pm). The performance lasts about 30-45 minutes, after which, walk to the very nearby Houhai bar district to have a few beers to end the day. (Won't suggest doing this on your last day in Beijing, getting to the airport could be a bit tricky, read below)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    9.2
    Nice hotel in lake area with English-speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very cold outside and our room would only heat up to maximum 20 degrees, so we could not really warm up at night.

    The Shadow Art Performance was great and the dumpling making class was a lot of fun. The staff was very helpful and spoke English quite well. The area next to the lakes was also nice, because there are many restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    9.6
    The breakfast was good with plenty of western and Chinese...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not very close to the restaurant area. Maybe about 15-20 minute walk but we ate in the restaurant in the hotel a few nights and the food was good.

    The breakfast was good with plenty of western and Chinese choices. The staff were friendly and helpful. The shadow puppet show was really interesting.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    8.8
    Hidden gem in Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little off the beaten track. This is clearly spelled out but when it's -10 and the subway is 15 minute walk away, it's not so great. Wifi is patchy. The bathroom could be cleaner.

    Cool oasis in hutong location. Staff are super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Breakfast was a great - some of the best bacon ever. Shadow Puppet Show is great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the middle of the Hutong
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only inconvenience was that the soundproofing was interrupted in the middle of the night by guests who were wandering the corridor loudly, dragging their slippers. This, of course, will solve the problem if the guest keeps good manners.

    It was very comfortable for everything! I was satisfied that there was such a lovely hotel in the middle of the life of the locals. And it was very kind all the staff, special thanks to Damon :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    7.9
    Warm cozy stay in middle of Beijing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "dumpling making" activity is bit expensive for what it is. If you are looking for the hotel and it's dark don't loo forth huge pine tree as described

    Everything was really nice, the location, the hotel itself, the staff really helpful, the extra activities. Great breakfast combination : Chinese and international

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2018

    9.2
    Loved the traditional shadow puppet show!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy. The shower in the bathroom was a bit broken.

    The location was excellent: 10 min walk to the nearest 北海北 subway station. The hotel had a thick cultural atmosphere. Situated in the 胡同, the interior of the hotel is decorated with traditional architectures and fabrics. There were shadow puppet performances everyday, and the master teaching its audience the technics of such artistry.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is a "Hidden Gem".
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a "Hidden Gem". Stayed here twice and hopefully certainly would stay again.It is a tranquil place and the staff are exemplary.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    10
    I highly recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like that the staff was very helpful and understanding as I had a toddler with me. They are also very helpful in giving tips and directions on how to get to tourist spots nearby. We were so relaxed throughout our trip!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    8.8
    The professionalism of the staff Adele handling my check in .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hutong roads quite narrow but subway Beihei north is still easily accessible by 10mins walk

    The professionalism of the staff Adele handling my check in .. also Jocelyn pointing via Wechat hotel direction, I especially like the traditional shadow art show housed in-house.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful character and ambiance at great location compensates for breakfast and room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms on the inner courtyard are small a bit hot and dry. No ability for fresh air. Next time I would make sure to get a room with a window that opens externally. Breakfast is basic. 3* at best.

    Ambiance and location are great, lovely staff who work hard to get all arranged. Hotel serves good wine at reasonable price. Staff tries to help and facilitate every possible reasonable wish.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    6.7
    Nice location but don’t expect service as a 4*hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really pour breakfast ( based on 4 stars) We booked a 8 hours private driver from the hotel to the Great Wall , driver couldn’t speak English. We asked to the driver to drop us in the city on the way back as we still had 2 hours left and he said no . Wi-fi didn’t work at all , We had some light not working in the bedroom , and water leaking everywhere on the floor from the shower every time we had shower. The manager didn’t care.

    Great location , Worms bedroom

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    6.7
    It s a small compact hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress wasn't great but the size was very good. It was too hot in the room, we couldn't control the temperature really.

    It s a small compact hotel. We had a big size bedroom. We liked the nice breakfast which was free. The small lounge area where you can have a drink in the evening is quiet and you can get food there at reception. They have a Chinese shadow puppet show 3 times a week at 8h00pm. They also show movies on the screen of the puppet shadow performance stage. There is a happy hour for drink, I think it is buy one and get one free and the beer is good value (20¥) for a can of Qintao.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    6.3
    The staff were really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room is very small, with a tiny TV. The room and bathroom could definitely use some update.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. They were very accommodating and went out of their way to help. They made the stay very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    9.6
    It was very nice experience staying at this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there is noting to complain about

    It was very nice experience staying at this property. It is walking distance from Metro station in a very safe area. Room was very clean with all facilities we needed. I enjoyed the most delicious food at restaurant and entertaining shows in the evening. Staff was very helpful with booking taxi to the airport. Would definitely stay there again when I visit Beijing next time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    6.7
    The staff were really friendly, especially Henry who helped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Room very small and very hot and quite a lot of noise from the lobby area. Breakfast wasn’t great.

    The staff were really friendly, especially Henry who helped us out a lot. The lobby was lovely. Staying in the Hutong was very unique.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    8.8
    + This small hotel is well situated in a Hutong not too far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Windows are mostly for show as they don’t open on anything.

    + This small hotel is well situated in a Hutong not too far from the Forbidden City. + There’s a subway station about a five minute walk away. + Very well “stocked” bathrooms: everything you could possibly need, especially if you’re on a layover, is there: toothbrushes, razors, combs, etc. + Decent enough breakfast buffet. Overall, I’d recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    8.3
    Super friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly staff. Excellent English of the staff. Great location, though a bit difficult for a taxi to get there because of the narrow Hutong lanes.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, wonderful staff and great ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From arrival onwards we were incredibly well looked after by the staff. The hotel is amazing and you really feel like you are in China. Breakfast and the tours were really good value for money. Wendy and Michael in particular were amazingly attentive and so so helpful. They also have shadow art performances that you can watch and then afterwards you can paint puppets which is really fun. Also we made dim sum one evening and they cooked it for us. You get a real taste of the Chinese culture staying here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    7.9
    Excellent boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in small alley and car can not go in so you have to walk a little

    Stylish and friendly staffs especially Micheal who is very helpful and communicate well in English. Thank you Micheal 🙏 . The hotel is just about 15 walk to subway Beihai bei station. Since the hotel is in Hutong - old charming area of Beijing so it’s a little hard to find at first time. If you take taxi , tell driver to drop you at liuhai hutong street and then walk in small alley till see the junction , turn left and walk straight for 100 meter. The hotel is on u right.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money. Nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a window in the room, but no daylight comes through the window.

    Staf was friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a nice neighborhood. Breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    5.4
    Location and cleanness, yes. Roominess and service, not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "upgraded" room was very, very small, and mattress was like a stone! Ordering food or anything extra was difficult and overpriced

    The neighbourhood is amazing, with Shichahai right next door and Beihai in walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a residential part of the city but close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hutong was a bit dark to walk back through at night (as I was by myself) but did feel very safe so not really an issue :)

    Nice hotel in a residential part of the city but close to the subway and interesting Hutongs around the Houhai Lakes. The shadow puppet show was definitely worth a watch and the staff we helpful booking a taxi to the airport for me. I stayed here a few days to see the sights after a conference in a hotel near the Olympic park - it was great to see some more residential areas and more traditional life (rather than the high rises further out) - - plus, if you’re craving some coffee or more western snacks (which I was after a week or so!) there’s a Starbucks on the way to Ping’anli subway station

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with 3 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s located in a Hutong, and although I very safe it is hard to get there for people who goes to Beijing for the first time.

    The hotel is beautiful, very nice installations and the rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and the staff is very friendly and willing to help you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    5.0
    The shadow art is beautiful and colourful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walking distance to hotel as vehicles won't drive through the small lanes. Hotel has very limited variety of food, breakfast is moderate, be prepared to carry your luggage two floors up.

    The shadow art is beautiful and colourful. The ambiance gave me a trip in the past especially those old rustic feeling. The room I had, had a huge bed and bathroom. You can view the shadow art performance from your room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    7.9
    Nice localisation, the river is 5 minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really dark, there weren’t any window.

    Nice localisation, the river is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Near subway stops, it's very convenient. The hotel proposes touristic tours, especially to go to the great wall, everything is prepared, it’s very convenient. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    6.7
    Guest house in shabby area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby locality, on narrow matrix of poorly lit lanes in ‘traditional’ area, subway 12 min walk. More of a guest house than a hotel. Interior room with no window. Poor sound insulation between rooms.

    Breakfast better than expected, staff pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    7.9
    Quiet and private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    5-10 min walk to reach the hotel. Location is too narrow for car to enter. Not convenient to walk when raining. Breakfast and meal selection quite limited.

    Quiet and private. Cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    5.8
    My parents liked the location because it was close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But the hotel was not clean. They came back to the hotel at 4:00 pm and the room was not clean, they complained and they told them, it was their fault because normally people don't come back before 5:00 pm. So the hotel sent someone to "Clean" the room and literally they took 2 minutes. Under the beds were A LOT of dust.

    My parents liked the location because it was close to restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay in a Unique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower grouting was a bit grubby. The cleaner was very loud with her phone on loud speaker one evening until a little late.

    The dumpling making class was great. We learned how to roll the dough and we were taught a couple of methods of how to shape the dumplings. They also catered for a vegetarian requirements. The free shadow puppet show is excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable. The hotel was relatively quiet and calm. The hutong location is great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small

    The buffet breakfast was delicious and had chinese and western options to suit everyone. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the dumpling making class and the shadow puppet show which the hotel provided. The location is great and is a lovely area to walk around.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was great. It is located in the old part of the city, very close to the nighlife /forbidden city etc.. Staff was very attentive and everything was clean. Would definitely recommend staying there

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    A Hotel built to promote a true sense of Chinese Traditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very friendly helpful staff. The atmosphere was relaxed and the communial seating area very welcoming. We liked the in house shadow puppet performance and that we could choose activites including dumpling making and puppet painting. It is easy to walk to nearby park, restaurants and subway. The streets are narrow and we were quickly soaking up the atmosphere of a more historic part of Beijing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Everything, nice hotel at a perfect location with a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better, but it was ok

    Everything, nice hotel at a perfect location with a great price/night and a super warm and kind staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Great location within the old Beijing neighbourhoods called...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location within the old Beijing neighbourhoods called Hutongs. Close to the lake, subway and great restaurants. As a first time visitor to Beijing don’t be influenced by the perceived “shanty” town feeling as you approach the destination. It’s fantastic and the staff if super helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel - you shouldn't miss the shadow art...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not all of the staff spoke English therefor it was not that easy to get some information.

    Very nice hotel - you shouldn't miss the shadow art performance - it was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.0
    The hotel is located in a Hutong, which we liked very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small, and the subway was not close enough (although we knew it in advance)

    The hotel is located in a Hutong, which we liked very much. Breakfast was good The shadow art performance was very special

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    The communal areas are beautiful, bathrooms very nice, main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The communal areas are beautiful, bathrooms very nice, main bedroom a bit basic. Very nice comfortable feel to the hotel and the shadow art performances and activities for mid-autumn festival were good fun.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautifully decorated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were courteous but did not really help us with recommendations for local restaurants or transport to places of interest. Better briefing for staff?

    Beautifully decorated hotel. Excellent choice of tasty foods for breakfast - Chinese and international buffet. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Very cosy hotel with a traditional design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personally I think that the position was a little bit too far away from the public transportation or from the main neighbourhood of Shichahai. If you are on a private tour with private car, then you will have no problem with that. A little bit boring is also the impossibility to arrive in front of the hotel with a taxi or to have a taxi called by the hotel: this is due to the very narrow roads of the Hutong, but it is really annoying especially at night since the hotel street is not very lighted and doesn't seem very safe.

    The hotel is very well-furnished and the services offered to the guests are definitely valuable. Very much appreciated is the Shadow show that is proposed for free to all the guests: I thought it was very romantic. Also many other activities are offered to the guests. The staff is prepared and offers information about everything, together with the possibility to book restaurants or tours if you need. The rooms are big and cleaned, with all the necessary for a nice stay. The hotel is situated in one of Beijing's Hutong.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    The staff completely went out of their way: helped to book...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff completely went out of their way: helped to book tickets online (Forbidden City) and rent bikes as we didn't have WeChat as a payment option. We also enjoyed the free performances at the hotel and sister hotel (Tai Chi, Shadow Art). Other than that: location is great, rooms are beautiful and clean, breakfast is adequate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at this hotel, I would stay here again on my next trip to Beijing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was very little about this hotel that I didn't like, if I had to pick one thing, I found the beds to be a little hard for my preference and from what I'm used to, but the sheets were changed regularly, the room and hotel was clean and despite this, I would still stay here again regardless.

    This is a boutique hotel situated in the Hutongs of Beijing. I'll admit, even I was a bit skeptical of the location at first, but don't be off-put by the location, it will give you a true sense of life in old Beijing, we were two women in our 30s and found it's extremely safe, close walk to the metro station, and the Houhai Lakes which come alive in the evenings, the rooms are clean, free bottled water, and the bathroom was quite roomy with excellent water pressure in the shower. After 5 nights here, the locals on the street started to even say hello to us in the mornings and the kids waved as they passed. It's a bit tight for taxis to get to the hotel due to the narrow alleyways, but we had no problems and the staff at the hotel were happy to help arrange to get us to the airport. We also did the tour to the Great Wall that they offered (Jinshanling) and highly recommend it, it was one of the highlights of our trip. The breakfast was small but tasty and had various offerings to keep you full, the coffee was good. The hotel is actually quite pretty in aesthetic and felt very welcoming for guests. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to experience real Beijing in a comfortable setting, if we ever return to Beijing (and we hope we do soon), we would definitely return to this hotel for it's accessibility to the city, metro,, comfort, and amenities, we absolutely loved our stay here!! Thank you Shichahai Shadow Arts Hotel for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and particular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice place in the Hutong of Beijing, very close to the lakes and very famous hutongs with a good nightlife. Very tipical hotel, we really enjoyed our stay in Beijing. It is also quite close to the underground station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is very nicely designed, architecturally very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was made up, but apparently never cleaned (a few stains on the floor were there the whole stay). Room right on the lobby, can get quite noisy during breakfast hours. Window view blocked.

    Hotel is very nicely designed, architecturally very interesting and beautiful to see. There are different types of room, those away from the lobby are actually VERY nice (despite a problem with a leaky shower). The one we had for most days was - all in all - ok, with just enough space for luggage and a comfy enough bed. Various and good breakfast, in mixed western and chinese style. Staff always present and at least tentatively helpful, with good english spoken: just beware about the quality of the information, we were actually misguided a few times (no sir, it wasn't "easy" to book a ticket for Forbidden City: you absolutely need a chinese phone number in order to book it, but we only found this out the hard way). Shadow art performance was beautiful and very interesting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    staff was very helpful, the free art show was nice, provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no outside window at the double room, far from the subway station (15 min. walk) no currency exchange in the hotel.

    staff was very helpful, the free art show was nice, provided complimentray breakfast when we arrived, unique and very nice hotel design, rooms and showers were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is super nice and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small

    The hotel is super nice and cosy. They also propose you activities and art performances. It is located in a very interesting area, in hutong' s district less turistic then the others. Great place to stay, walking distance to Drum tower's area. English speaking staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Price was decent, expect small rooms/spaces and even the entryway.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was inside an alley. Bus tour pick ups required you to walk around 2 blocks to get to the main street. Standard rooms felt cramped (you only had an alley to walk into) and bed was against the wall.

    Decent breakfast. Staffs spoke good english. Dumpling and stage performances were offered free (although we didnt see it). Clean rooms, pillows etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Great place in middle of Hutong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location and service! arrived very late at night and they helped taxi driver find location and was easy and fast check in. rooms are very nice and accommodating with excellent bed&shower. breakfast is great. location is super very near subway and nice Behia park. were very helpful throughout. puppet show is nice and worthy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was nice and authentic, don’t be put off by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although being in the old Beijing area was nice, there isn’t much around. On our arrival, the taxi man dropped us off down the street due to not being able to get the car to the hotel which was pretty scary as we didn’t really know what to expect.

    The hotel was nice and authentic, don’t be put off by the area as it was easy enough to get around and everyone was lovely. The shadow art performance is worth a watch whilst you are there. We was close to the subway station which was very useful, and the staff are helpful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Shadow art show is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very inconvenient and you have to walk to get out. It is difficult to get a taxi from the hotel.

    Shadow art show is nice. And the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Getting closer to China in the middle of hutong :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - do not expect western breakfast, even though they try to do their best; - do not order smoothie when you want smoothie: it's a milkshake (even though they have both, smoothies and milkshakes in menu); - do not order a hamburger (mortadella, cheese and piece of meat 3x3 cm - it was definitely a strange experience) .

    - location is perfect: 10 min walking from Beihai North metro station; 10 min walking to HouHai lake; in the middle of hutong; - hotel looks nice and clean; - shadow art performances and other organised activities are really worth participating in! Can get you closer to Chinese culture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Once you get to know the area around the hotel - you will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of window (the one facing corridor provides no day light) makes the room depressing and dark. Forget your makeup, bathroom and room are too dark. Standard room is too small for two people - the bed covers half of the room. But the lobby is nice to relax.

    Once you get to know the area around the hotel - you will love it! First impression mamy be scary, but don’t get fooled. The neighbourhood is very safe, even in the evening. Shadow performance is great both for kids and adults (take the painting class!).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room didn't have a window other than the one facing into the corridor, which really was an unpleasant surprise, and the smell in the bathroom got quite bad at times.

    The location was really nice. The overall look of the hotel was also good, and the staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay. Reccomended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning of the room was hit and miss. It is something that can be improved. The closest metro station is 15m walking distance fron the hotel. The temperature in the breakfast room was always too cold.

    The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was quiet and big enough for two and the bed was comfortable. Internet worked well for China's standards. The location in the hutong provides an authentic experience. The breakfast (half chinese, half western) was good in taste and quantity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Amazing experience in the Hutong! i really recommand this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Employees were extremely nice and helpful during all our stay beautiful and peaceful place to rest after a day in the city shadow art show very beautiful and we enjoyed also the dumpling making class. nice breakfast with good coffee (quite rare to find!)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Great to stay in a quite hutong to experience Beijing authentic daily life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is rather simple and not much of culture elements implanted into the room, not what as expected. No hooks in the room so hard for guests to hang the clothes/ jackets.

    The Chinese Shadow Art performance prepared by the staffs (not every night, please check the schedule with the staffs). The hotel works a professional to teach the staffs how to perform the shadow art and moreover, they have after-show activity to interact with the audience/ guests. I took up a shadow painting session with the hotel, too bad I didn't get to be guided by the teacher/ master (only the hotel staff explained the painting rules/ ways to me). The price of the piece is rather expensive (they do have cheaper and smaller item for painting) so I would expect to have a so-called professional to guide me along then only we could learn useful/ right knowledge from the professional with the money that we have paid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Unique Chinese Experience Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the bathroom

    This hotel has something very special, shadow art performance free for the guests(each Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday), which is a very beautiful old traditional show. It also has paiting lessons on shadow art small dragons. The staff is very friendly, the room is good, big bathroom. The location is in the middle of a Chinese living area, very warm and welcoming people, small grocery stores, very safe area. It is near a big park with a lake and there is an area of restaurants. Distance to subway is about 900m.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    ist realy beautiful inside, very cozy and well decoredade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with 1 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    only the air conditioning it was terribly cloud inside the hotel . . .

    ist realy beautiful inside, very cozy and well decoredade. the staff are very hellpful the room are very spacious and clean, the breakfast it was averag, In the end its was very surprising . . . very nice hotel ! ! !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice, enjoyed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size is small, but then the lounge area and comfort makes up for this

    The staff were really helpful, the evening event with an insight into the shadow puppets was excellent extra which we had not considered

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Special stay in traditional hutong village, would recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went above and beyond. Service was always with a smile. We enjoyed the diverse hearty breakfast, including local breakfast sweet buns, purple yams, fried eggs, congee, and fresh fruit. Lots of restaurants with 10-15 min walk in multiple directions. AC worked great. The free puppet show was a treat for my 10 yr old daughter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Different set in a Chinese community well worth the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit dismal especially closer to 9am!!

    Lovely place set in very local Chinese community who are very smiley, if you smile, and lots if little shops selling beer and fruit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very courteous and also location was great ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with 1 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very courteous and also location was great , as a visitor this place was very ideal for location to get to the metro, other things, also this hotel has a car service to the airport, it’s additional but it makes a big difference.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    The shadow art performance was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 3 breakfast
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared that taxis would not want to drive in as it is too narrow. Breakfast choices were limited and repetitive. On one of the days, the water turned too hot and couldn’t really regulate the temperature. The location is a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest subway station.

    The shadow art performance was very good. We took a family room for 3 and it was quite spacious. Staying in the hutong area allows you to have a glimpse of locals’ daily life in the narrow alleyways. The location is close to the Houhai area which is full of street eats and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    It's a nice small hotel with just few rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is in one of the old city hutongs which looks a bit creepy. However it is quiet and calm quarter.

    It's a nice small hotel with just few rooms. The rooms are small but comfortable. The only issue is that it could get a little noise. They offered tasty food (we had dinner there several times). The shadow show was quite interesting as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay with great shadow art
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly tricky to find if you arrange your own taxi, so I would suggest using the hotels offered station/ airport transfer. The food on offer in the evenings is also quite basic, but there are plenty of restaurants around to try.

    The staff were amazing and very welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable and the facilities were excellent. The shadow art show was incredible and the hotel offered a lot of extras free of charge / for a small fee which made our stay very easy. Overall we loved the hotel and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    A hidden gem in Hutong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with 2 breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    15 minutes walk from metro station, a little bit far if you are carrying luggage.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, clean room, comfortable bed, you can experience traditional Chinese culture with Western comfort right in the middle of Hutong.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    The team was really nice and answer all of our question.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with 2 Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The team was really nice and answer all of our question. The location is difficult to find but inside the hutong it is really nice. The shadow art proposed is refreshing; thank you laoshi!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: