Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square

319, Dong Xin Street, Xincheng, 710004 Xi'an, China

#11 of 149 hotels in Xi'an

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had lounge access included in our package. The first two nights of our stay the guy who was seemingly in charge of the lounge informed us that the cocktails we were entitled to consisted of beer or red or white wine. On our final night different lounge staff actually produced a cocktail menu and told us that cocktails were available and this should have been the case the two night before. Lazy guy with bad attitude was my take on it! Swimming pool freezing cold, had to take our child out before hypothermia set in! 550rmb for a small bottle of beer in the downstairs lobby bar? Really??

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants within Renmin Square not well advertised

    Concierge staff were very helpful Particularly Mark and Jay who went out of their way with helping me with my personal phone setup

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very friendly. Our flight was canceled and they let us use the payment for that room for an extra night with no charge with proof of flight cancellation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice to linger in the hotel but we needed to leave for the tour and make the most of the trip.

    You cant go wrong with Sofitel Hotel. Their price is high but you get what you pay for with the quality of service, location and amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Luxury Room with City View ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a smoking room the first night. They were very kind about moving me to a nonsmoking room and took care of my luggage while I was gone for the day. Excellent, beautiful, clean, and comfortable hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of interest in the immediate vicinity. A 10 minutes walk to nearest shops/cafes etc and longer to the points of interest.

    Comfortable beds, little road noise and located within city walls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is managed by a separate entity from the hotel so it’s not a high touch experience at all. Also the pool itself isn’t impressive. The club lounge food and wine options are beyond underwhelming. Definitely lowest caliber of any club lounge we have encountered in China, in a Sofitel and in Asia.

    Excellent breakfast buffet with multiple healthy options. Junior suites are very good size. Comfortable beds and linens. Good water pressure in the shower. Check in and check out were both quick - no lines. Elevators always available- never a wait.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a room that included access to club lounge. But the breakfast and happy hour there was not top quality. Maybe better save the money for other alternatives.

    Walking distance to most attractions. The travel centre in the lobby was very good. I booked a tour there to the terracotta warriors, which was cheaper compared to what the concierge suggested. And the guide, Nancy, was terrific.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxury Room with City View ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chinois restaurant was poor quality food and service. My husband asked for a beer and they only had warm ones! He suggested they went to one of the other restaurants in the hotel, it is not unreasonable to ask for a cold beer, and they couldn't.

    Excellent location, club room was def a worthwhile add-on , our room was well laid out, large in size and comfortable bed, Excellent buffet breakfast, many healthy options, with plenty of fresh food. Pool area was nice. Helpful concierge, and despite us speaking no mandarin, plenty of information and help to make the most of Xi'an, we loved the city. Fabulous walking around the Wall, Drum Tower, Bell Tower and the Big wild Goose Pagoda is stunning. We caught the public bus 306 to the Terracotta Warriors, this was easy, and meant we had as much time as we wanted there, we then caught the 307 back to the Pagoda.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t working, it was quite hot in the room and i could barely sleep because of the heat. For an hotel of this category this is just unacceptable. Then we had an issue with the breakfast: i had one room without breakfast. I was travelling with 2 friends and their 3 children sharing 2 rooms one with breakfast included and one without. When we had breakfast, the staff literally harassed us during the whole breakfast to determine who had to pay the breakfast. We explained them several times. After a 3rd request by a 3rd employee we told them that we just would like to enjoy our meal and that we would explain and sign the bill at the end of the breakfast but they continued to come. At their 5th attempt i saw for the first time my friend loose his temper. This experience was annoying and embarrassing in front of the other clients. Last but not least the hotel looks nice at first glance but definitively needs refreshing/renovation when you look closer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was extremely disappointed in the room service beef burger. I was only staying for one night and arrived late and left early, so just wanted a simple easy night in. The burger was frankly atrocious. It's not difficult to make a reasonable burger and that is why the room service burger is pretty standard for five star hotels. This one was a rubbish meat patty that even a fast food restaurant would not serve, coupled with sandpaper bread and flaccid lettuce, and it was not cheap. Come on Sofitel, you can do better than that.

    The hotel is great, very comfortable modern global five star type, nothing too unusual but huge beds and wonderful linen and quiet rooms and good location and attentive staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too hot in the room and we were unable to adjust the temperature. We were advised this was set during winter. We had to sleep with the window open and it was still hot. Also checked in at 9.15 pm and we're told the restaurant last orders were at 9.30 pm. So we went straight in. Ordered the buffet. It was cold and tired. Cheeses were hard and dried up whist the beer was also being kept in a large juice dispenser. It was warm and flat.

    Nice rooms. The beds were coming comfortable and breakfast was nice. Restaurant manager was helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got smell in my room at the 9 th floor, made me can’t sleep for the whole nite n renovation sounds early in the morning when we stayed at the fourth floor.

    Friendly n helpful staffs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too warm for comfort even in winter and I was disappointed that there was only little attention given to details for a hotel such as this. For example, The body lotion was not replaced, pillow case not changed and the sugar sachets for the coffee were dated 2016! I got a shock upon returning one night to find my bath tub filled with cold water which left me wondering who used it in my room!

    The convenient location where I could find some reasonably nice restaurants and a 24-hour one located within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv can be bigger with more english channel, the tour can be cheaper, and the access to the hotel could be more easier.

    The room is bigger than expected and modern spacius looking. The bed is comfortable and the sitting area near the window is nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was rather underwhelming, too small to use without feeling close to other guests and there was a constant buzzing in the background. Also receiving a knock on the door from hotel staff at 9pm was intimidating as a woman travelling alone.

    I liked the bathroom in my room, as I had a separate bathtub that was very spacious. Breakfast was also extraordinary with a strong Western buffet as well as Chinese food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxury Room with City View ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was dead in terms of atmosphere. No bar worth mentioning; no guests around; limited choice of restaurants.

    Room - one of the best I have had in Asia in 23 years (but we did get upgraded to a suite). Food in Le Chinois chinese restaurant was excellent. Service very courteous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property have a veneer of beauty; very well decorated. But there seemed to be some big maintenance issues. We had gross, dirty water coming through out pipes. The pool area needs some love, and the hot tub didn't work. The room was incredibly hot and we were offered another room that was equally as hot and smelled stale. It was disappointing as I expect higher quality from the Sofitel.

    The location is great; walking distance from the train station, close to many attractions. The property is in a swanky, gated area so we felt very safe. The bed was very comfortable, especially for China standards. The croissants at breakfast are amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxury Room with City View ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility itself is in need of cleaning and repair. The edges of the curtains were black and obviously hadn't been cleaned in a long while. The water pressure in the shower was weak and the metal drain cover kept coming off. The room was on central heat with no way to adjust the temperature, so it was very hot to sleep in. Worst of all, there were multiple leaks in the hallway ceiling on our floor (although not in our room itself) and there were buckets along the hallway to catch the falling water. There is definitely some work that needs to be done in the hotel.

    The staff was truly outstanding. When we arrived a bit early, they upgraded us to a suite because that was the first available non-smoking room. The breakfast was great, with a wide, high-quality selection and quick hot coffee refills. We used the concierge service, which prompt and attentive. The staff members smiled and acknowledged the guests. All in all, the service level was definitely five-star worthy. Whoever is in charge of staff training and morale is doing a superb job.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - front desk staff didn't look too welcoming & friendly - my pre-ordered breakfast came late 2 days in a row (called room service hotline but no one picked up)

    - location is quite central, walking distance from the bell towers - it's located together with Sofitel Grand & Grand Mercure, the square itself is quite unique

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aircon without cooling function. Hotel brought an portable cooler, but the result was unsatisfyingly.

    The Hotel are really very good. Stuff friendly, helpfull anytime. Rooms, shower cabine, toilett clean. Breakfast buffet perfect. Any time again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bellman has obviously an arrangement with the taxi drivers for airport transport. He ordered a taxi for me to airport at a fixed price, no taximeter, no receipt. When I asked for a receipt, the driver drove me to a place where a fake receipt were produced. That was a terrable experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing that the pool wasn't heated due to maintenance and no prior warning. Chose this hotel for the pool facilities, amongst other things

    Hotel lovely, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Luxury Room with City View ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard. Staff were friendly but appeared uneducated to see what a guest may want.

    Beautiful hotel, good facilities in our room, friendly staff, lovely lobby bar with fabulous piano music.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is too dark, not enough lighting. More electricity plug near the working desk should be provided.

    The bathroom is clean. Both shower and bathtub are comfortable. The bed is large and soft. The working desk is ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If you want to use the swimming pool for just relaxing a bit it's not really designed for that, it's more of a proper swimming pool meant for exercise than spa-like relaxation.

    The people in the hotel really went out of their way to be super helpful with everything. The rooms are modern and clean and the breakfast is very tasty with lots of choice. The massage is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    The whole experience was fantastic. We booked the Mark and Henry Apartments and they were disgraceful, dirty, we could never had stayed there. We cancel that booking after seeing the apartment. It was not what was shown on your site. We then chose The Sofitel and Omg it was a fabulous experience. They even upgraded us to a suite. Will definately book a Sofitel hotel when we next travel. And that is frequent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is not really much to complain about but perhaps the swimming pool was not really appropriate for swimming laps. The gym area was quite decent but could do with better air conditioning

    Very good location at walking distance to most major sights, excellent breakfast, the best gourmet Chinese restaurant in town "Le Chinoise", extremely friendly and helpful staff, best bed in any hotel we have ever stayed at etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was horrible value for the money. This has got to be the oldest and dirtiest looking Sofitel I have ever been to. The staff were nice enough, however, the building looks like it is falling apart, there is literally no view (its blocked off by a balcony wall which you cannot enter. Furthermore, they would not let us use the facilities after checking out without paying a ridiculous fee.

    They had the option to choose any style of pillow you like.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Corridors to rooms on each level is in darkness. There wasn't enough lighting at all. It gives out a creepy feeling. The only sunlight is from the window near the elevator yet even that was being blocked off on each level by placing a partition right in front of the window. Is there a particular reason to block off the only sunlight? It is just too dim and very uncomfortable. Entrance to the hotel does not look warm and inviting when using white dim lights. Most taxis do not like to come to Sofitel as most commented it is out of the way and will get caught in heavy traffic especially during peak hours.

    I like the bedding, the bathrobe and the spaciousness of the bathroom plus the complimentary mineral water bottles provided. Breakfast spread is good. Love the fresh juices prepared each morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little bit outdated. But fine (given the price).

    Value for money. Since we arrived very early we were offered a complementary breakfast. Very big room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor quality, old and worn out, nearly every aspect of this hotel that pretends to be of a high standard. The mattress was deformed and compressed on one side. Room service food was very poor, old and stale. The breakfast buffet was quantity over quality. most fixtures and furnishings were worn and tatty. Lounge chairs on the bar had holes in the arms. Perhaps the Sofitel should spend less time on pretentious flower arrangements and put any effort at all into the things that matter. A good hotel is the same anywhere, but it is the quality of the services and the small things that make it great.

    At least it was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant was expensive... wine was a ridiculous price. Wardrobe in room very badly designed could not open drawers as door had jammed on hangers.

    Stayed here before several years ago and it was great and was not disappointed this time everything worked well. Hotel arranged excellent trip to Terracotta warriors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers to arrange visits to Terra Cotta army with a taxi for... 500rmb which is the most expensive price in XiAn. We took the bus 306 from the station for 7rmb per trip and per person, it was safe and fast. During our stay the hotel called for a larger deposit to be given which we refused...

    After three weeks touring China, we were happy enjoying the comfortable room and the hotel facilities.staff was helpful (especially James)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel with the potential of being a fantastic one but just like everything in China it lacked attention to detail. The ceiling and floor finishes were a bit damaged and the bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Affordable, excellent, professional, and helpful staff with large rooms. We were upgraded upon arrival. Air conditioner was good but could have been better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location in the middle of the old city. Terrific on-site amenities with easy walking access to Bell Tower, Muslim Quarter, city walls. Well-appointed, quiet and comfortable rooms. Extremely responsive staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at reception were a bit unsure of them selves - possibly due to language issues.

    Patrick, the concierge, was exceptional - one of the best I have ever seen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad service to the above.

    The request for airport pickup upon booking was not arranged. We called the Sofitel after my flight arrival at 11.30pm and the following were replies: 1. First call at almost midnight, the reception at Sofitel said, no car arranged. 2. Second call fifteen minutes later, the requested car broke down and no other car was available for pickup. 3.Third call 15 minutes later, we were requested to find our own transport which we finally did. Reception said they will reimburse the taxi ride. It is not about the money but more about the service and commitment. 4. Upon arrival at the hotel about 1.30am, we complained to the reception upon checkin and were told again by Kevin that the car broke down. We were tired from the flight and being so late in the night we got our checkin room keycard and retired to our rooms. 5. Duty manager met us at the hotel lobby and said to us they couldn't find our car request in the room bookings. If the hotel could track my credit card details for charging my credit card , how then is it possible for the hotel not to have my car requests as contained in the bookings. I travel widely each week and this is my first visit to stay at Sofitel, it has been a disappointing affair and experience with Sofitel. For your information, my regular stay anywhere in Mainland China is the renowned shangrila hotel or hilton where I am a regular customer and the status of most frequent member. 5. On my last day, another duty manager came to me at the hotel lobby and offered apologies again, I told her it is over and I am about to check out and go home. I don't want to relive the disappointment of having to take a public taxi. 6. I am a frequent traveller and I always have my hotel pick me up in the hotel limousine. 7. I am An accor member but i have never been impressed which is why i am never an accor hotel regular guest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is a great oasis from the outside hustle and bustle of the city. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Rooms and public areas were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Luxury Room with City View ( 2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Sofitel was the perfect hub for my visit to Xi'An. Many of the inside the city wall attractions can easily be reached walking, by taxi or taking public transport. The hotel staff was exquisitely friendly and helpful. The concierge team, especially Kevin and Will, went out of their way to provide excellent restaurant and local eateries recommendations, including drawing me a map and writing down instructions in Chinese, so I could show it at the restaurant. All in all I was very happy at the Sofitel and would stay there again during future visits.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The staff from check in to check out were extremely helpful and accommodating... one can see that the Accor group pays attention to customer service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "headline" price turned out not to be the full cost, I had to pay the larger amount in smaller print lower down the Booking.com confirmation, which I hadn't appreciated when I booked.

    Lovely bathroom, and within walking distance of the Muslim Quarter. Also free bicycles for guests to use- but note you can't take these bikes on top of Xi'an City Walls, the only bikes allowed up there are the ones they hire out on the wall itself.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is at most 3 star quality, but it has 5 star prices. The chairs are uncomfortable and the bench seats were dirty. The breakfast buffet was not impressive and the coffee was substandard. The ambiance is more like what you would expect at a diner. The only thing we did not like about our rooms was the inadequate lighting. At nighttime, when you can't get sunlight though the windows, you only have good lighting sitting at the bed.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The walk to the city center (and the Starbucks) is about one mile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many eating options within the hotel, in room dining was very good too. Concierge was extremely helpful, nice lobby bar to come home to at the end of the day for a drink. Room was very comfortable and a good size. Easy walk to the Muslim quater & bell and drum tower. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is getting a bit dated but still had nice rooms and good facilities.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The location was fantastic . Close enough to walk to the drum and bell towers and a good walk to Muslim St . The location is out of the regular shopping area but close enough !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful. My every need was catered for and it was very convenient having a range of good restaurants in the hotel complex to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC did not work and we had to have a fan in the room. We were in a King Suite which was a great room and we loved the hotel and room, but not having AC was brutal.

    Location was good and food was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful staff that couldn't do enough. They booked flights, a private tour to the Terracotta Army, airport taxi and gave me access to the gym. Very helpful and great service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't find one thing I disliked about my stay.

    The property is beautiful and very well kept, but I really appreciated the staff. Super helpful. Sherry, Mark, Patrick Zang, Leo, Jack and Solo really made me feel welcomed and valued. I also used the SPA. I had an Oriental Massage and a Cupping. Ashley was extremely good. I will gladly return and recommend this place in the future.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very attentive and offered an upgrade when there was an oversight on the booking. Fiona went above and beyond the call of duty. Breakfast buffet was first rate and the croissants tasted like they came from France!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really but if I have to say something, the bathroom door was not very private

    The hotel is beautiful, the rooms was elegant, staff was very friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't normally complain about rooms but our experience wasn't great at this self-proclaimed '6-star' hotel. Even with the heat off our room was over 30 degrees and there was a strong musty smell. Staff moved rooms immediately but our new room was a smoking room and still had the smell in the bathroom. The pool was very cold and not very clean. Generally service wasn't very consistent or detailed for cleaning, room service and concierge. No compensation was offered for room change, not even a room upgrade, or for room service errors. I think generally I expected more from Sofitel.

    Location was excellent. Staff was helpful when we had a problem with our first room. The room service food was some of the best I've ever had. Particularly the Singapore noodles!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great hotel, excellent management (sherry) and concierge (Patrick). Both went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable, we didn't want to leave! Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice, all fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit dark due to French style low lighting and the smog outside which was horrendous

    Luxury feel amazing beds. We had interconnected rooms perfect for family. Very close to excellent restaurants loved the local hot pot! Also very quiet and luxurious

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location could have been closer to public transport and the airport bus stop. Nothing within walking distance.

    The size, comfort and design of the room. The staff. The breakfast. The swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very nice with great restaurants. We received a free upgrade to a suite, a nice surprise. The room was huge, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very tasty, and there were plenty of options - well worth the slightly higher price when we booked. The staff was friendly and spoke English, and the head concierge was extra helpful. It was a great location to the main sites of the city (the bell tower, muslim street, city wall, etc.).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our hair dryer wouldn't stay plugged into the wall and not enough USB/powerpoints close to the beds.

    The concierge were always willing to help. They organised a personal taxi for the day at a reasonable price and on very short notice. All staff went out of their way to communicate with us in English. We were lucky enough to be there on Christmas Eve/Christmas where they had a huge buffet dinner and dessert. We had a all you can eat dessert. They must of had over 50 different mini desserts to choose from! AMAZING. they even delivered a Merry Christmas dessert to our room on turn down service. We felt very secure and safe. Huge variety of different types of cuisine available. Short walk to local sights. We made use of the car airport transfer. Fantastic. We had a massage which was also awesome. Breakfast also has a wide selection to choose from. Cannot rave about this hotel enough!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The concierge were a bit funny with taxis and kept ordering unmetered or very expensive metered taxis when I just wanted a normal taxi! And they didn't tell me that the taxis would be inordinately more expensive either. It was very strange. My taxi to the train station cost me double what it should have! I would not recommend using their services though the room was nice enough.

    The room was large, location is good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly bathroom

    Upgraded to a Jr suite but had horrible sewage smell coming from toilet and shower stall...believe improper construction venting... Staff were very helpful, especially concierge services

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there just for one night and in the morning there was a stench coming from the bathroom. It was as if there was sewage gas coming in from the pipes. There was no smell at the beginning but by morning it was awful.

    The location was amazing! Great breakfast and good customer service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were excellent in terms of how they treated us. Being vegetarian as you can imagine is difficult in china. However they went out of their way to find us every day and ensure that we had a good breakfast or dinner at their restaurant. Probably one of the best stays i had in china.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like the fact that the staff is very nice and - most important - has experience. The hotel itself is maintaining its standard and I did have a cozy stay. From the hotel, places are walkable, including the train station and subway station. But allow for some time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was being serviced but that job has to be done some time!!!

    Concierge Leo was outstanding. Very knowledgeable, unflappable and could not do enough to help. He recommended Cyclist restaurant which is just outside the hotel. It was excellent in a city where little English is spoken. Leo's English is very good too. He is a great asset to the hotel. The hotel has a central location inside the city wall and is in walking distance to Muslim Street and markets.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was not flexible. They offered us breakfast at a cheaper rate, when we asked if we can decide later, they said cannot. So we only booked 1 time. If it was more flexible, we would have gone to their breakfast more times. Receptionisf's command in English was poor so most of the time we didnt understd each other

    Rooms were comfortable with good amenities inc good quality towels Free use of bicycles

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the fixtures and fittings were looking a bit tired.

    This is a very good hotel close to the centre of Xi'an. The rooms are large, and the staff are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the breakfast room and the selection were poor. Sadly no local alternatives nearby.

    Great location and nice ambience. Set back from the road so quiet and private

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast is not great. The coffee is terrible- it the old stewed stuff I recall from the 70s. The bread tastes strange: a weird attempt at sour dough maybe? I couldn't eat it. The area around th Hotel suffers from the lawlessness of the traffic. You take your life in your hands every time you cross and the traffic police couldn't care less. At least some traffic stops at the lights when pedestrians have the green man in Chengdu. We had cars and motorbikes coming across the pedestrian crossing directly at us in the Hotel area. If you want more safety stay at the Westin. The area around there is newer, more regulated and much more inviting for pedestrians. You would need to get a taxi to the Wall though.

    The Hotel is spacious and not far from the City Wall: the Bell and Drum Towers, Great Mosque and Muslim Street. Riding bikes along the top of the City Wall is great fun. The Hotel Concierges are really helpful and friendly. The Hotel's Italian restaurant Dolce Vita is upmarket but worth the cost. We loved our meal there. The Chinois Restaurant is also pretty good and not expensive. We had two good meals there. If you want Western food of sorts the Cycle Restaurant is closeby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking. So used to staying in hotels where there's no smoking inside; it's a shock to find it's still allowed indoors here.

    The full air-conditioning was the main attraction, as the weather in Xi'an was ferocious at the time. Places to eat indoors. Comfortable beds. Etc ...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel lost hot and cold water from the city. Lasted all night. Extremely inconvenient

    Hotel management was very courteous in compensating us for the loss of hotel facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better signposting of which buildings the various facilities are in, particularly during current renovation work to one building.

    The hotel offers free bicycles for use by guests, so you can cycle along the old city walls if you like!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the FO staff ' sattitude has some problem. However it has been nicely solved.

    the food was good, I really like the layout of the room and the king size bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a negative experience at dinner. Our order was significantly delayed -- it was soup and salad. We finally left and asked the meal to be delivered to the room.

    Patrick at the Bell Desk was exceptionally helpful in showing us locations to shoot pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly front desk staf but check in procedure could be quicker

    Very friendly and high percentage of English speaking staff. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The concierge however made the stay perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Club Access and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Welcomed by a funeral in the lobby (ended two days after by police intervention), it was almost impossible to communicate with staff (only Chinese please). Service was sketchy and again only in Chinese (even "scrambled egg" was a mysterious word). From an international 5 stars chain, charging top prices, we expect more.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: