Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

3388 Sichen Road Sijing Town., 201601 Songjiang, China

#6 of 19 hotels in Songjiang

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long queue for check in and check out, I wished that more can be done to improve the situation in the future as I saw that some people already made comments about this issue. The hotel common areas are nice but the room that we got was quite worn out, it smelled like cigarette smoke although it‘s a non smoking room, we found out that the curtain actually was the culprit, probably was never cleaned :( It‘s a pity because my kids really like the hotel! Breakfast buffet and dinner was average, they even recycled some food from the dinner buffet for the breakfast buffet the next day. I would recommend to eat out if possible.

    A nice place for weekend staycation with the kids, huge pool area and nice artificial beach. My 3 years old really had fun! Oh and shut out to the bell boy at the front desk (the young guy), he was super nice and super helpful :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff dont really speak english. other than main pool the other smaller pool looked unclean. need to wear swimming cap in indoor swimming pool.

    The beach was good - soft sand and clean! That was the best part of the resort for us. They even have movie screening by the beach. Though the water is little too shallow (height max of 1.2m). Others: Clean room, beautiful interior design, breakfast has wide selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms next to ours were really noisy. Some pleople were talking loud, going from one room to an other, running in the hall way, slamming doors. I had to tell them to be more quiet. They stopped at 23:45... We would appreciate if there was more staff who could speak good English.

    The room was comfortable. The food was good. We were happy to enjoy the outside pool with this beautiful weather. Karolina (front office manager) was welcoming. It was great to see her again (we came earlier this year at spring time) ! It's so nice to have someone who speaks perfectly English!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no English speaking staff and the room was too hot (we couldn't change the temperature on the air conditioning).

    The brunch and the pool were amazing. They have a well equipped gym and very nice rooms with balcony's. We had a very nice dinner in the Japanese restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room with Pool Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was said that Vie restaurant is "all day dining" which I assume we're able to have our meals at time we prefer. However, due to the buffet dinner, we were not able to order anything, but to wait for the buffet at 5.30. Other restaurants seem to have the same opening hour for dinner, so we were not able to find anything to eat after swimming whole afternoon and were starved. It'd be easier for guests, those with children especially, to order something quick somewhere in the hotel anytime.

    We requested for an early checkin and got there way early, but the hotel staff was kind and let us have our room first. The swimming pools were awesome! We had a pool access room and we had a lot of fun there. The beach was clean and quiet. The slide at the beach was great fun for children. The food (both dinner and breakfast) at Vie restaurant came with great variety and was sufficient. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's also very accessable from downtown to Sofietel by metro, as the metro station is only a 5-minute drive. We'll definitely come back again for our next staycation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some mix-up when we checked-in, we were assigned to and given the keys to a room that already had someone living in it! (We were able to enter the room with our keycards!) When we called to complain (after trudging quite a ways from the lobby with our increasingly cranky toddler in tow - through very warm hallways on a hot summer day) the staff was not very apologetic, and were implying that we had chosen to go to the wrong room, on the wrong floor even though we had the writing on the slip for this particular room.

    We were here to celebrate our daughters one year birthday, and she had a blast hanging out at both the indoor and outdoor pools. The outdoor pool is awesome with the manmade beach. Our room also included "happy hour" at the club lounge, and buffet breakfast which had a good selection of choices so it was altogether a great experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a renovation. There was furniture in the lobby in terrible condition. The design of the reception and restaurants floors is very confusing and inconvenient. For the money they charge, I would expect higher quality service and better trained staff.

    nicely designed, spacious room nice swimming pool with artificial "beach" with sand great breakfast, big variety, good quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing protections for the kids in the fountains. The hotel is nice but need a serious pressure cleaning on the outside walls and floors. The rooms carpets need to be changed.

    Saturday dinner's quality is really good! The Managment staff is really caring for the guests satisfaction.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Suite with King Bed - Club Millesime Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not trained, impossible to order food. Around the pool, staff not available and asking us to go to the hotel kitchen to order food. Poor checking and checkout process.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good property , however no maintenance. Service non-existent. English speaking staff rare to find but even speaking Chinese doesn't help. Staff not trained very well. Complete melt down during breakfast rush hour.

    Family friendly property with great potential

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thanks Karolina for being so helpful and welcoming! Great room, we loved the outdoor pool, the gym, the food. Just what we needed for the whole family (kids 1 and 5 years old)!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the swimming pool is too cold.

    Very nice pool, perfect for kids. And relaxing. Nice room, good breakfast and good Sunday brunch. In general good facilities for kids.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sevice in the pool area was shockingly bad. Not only did we have to hunt down a staff member in order get towels, drinks, or food, it took forever to recieve the order. At such a nice hotel I expected better service.

    The pool is really nice and because it is a little outside the city it feel cleaner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room with Pool Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is either a disgrace or a joke (I could not find the hidden camera). Knobs are falling off in the rooms; staff is useless (and does not speak a word of English but I speak Chinese so no big deal); they play music at 6:30 am full blast to wake up guests !; food is atrocious; you have to wait in line about 15' to get to breakfast; half of the warm food at the buffet is actually cold; they use surimi instead of salmon in california rolls at the Japanese restaurant; and their prices are ultra high compared to the value. NEVER GO THERE

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 2 similar rooms, next to each other, but with totally different designs. It seemed one room was recently redecorated, the other one was a bit old looking. Services at the resort are a bit pricy, and you need to take a car to to Sheshan and Songjiang to do anything exciting. The resort itself only has its swimming pool and some basic amenities for kids, so its not a long term destination on itself.

    Swimming pool is nice, with an artificial beach where kids can play with sand. Indoor swimming pool was nice too. Buffet dinner was very good and affordable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with 1 King Bed - Club Millesime Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely but overall facilities are looking a bit dated and run down

    Good for the kids, convenient for a getaway out of shanghai city center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is it legal to renting floating boat for rmb100? And we still see people smoking in hotel area. And the concierge staff has limited english skill.

    There are afternoon tea and happy hours, makes our family not worried to looks for food outside hotel in lunch and dinner time. The beach pool is excellent. The indoor pool also great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Breakfast is ok but it is really cold there, check in was fast but the service number is not reachable. And also the price is much higher than other website,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent my birthday there ! The hotel is perfect ! And the staff is great ! I got a cake for my birthday from a hotel ! Thanks I spent a great day !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting and expensive food, unprofessional service, rooms dirty, very poor overall maintenance

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hôtel is getting old - few amenities in the room

    Kids facilities are excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late check in - had to waiting for 3 hours

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor English speaking staff. Cleaning the rooms worst seen in my hotel experience of 5 star hotel.

    Kids activities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We got a good deal through booking.com as when we checked prices directly with the hotel they were almost double the price so it's worth shopping around. The hotel also asked us to pay a deposit of 10,000 even though the cost of our room was just over 6,000 for 2 nights (premier suite). We negotiated down to 8,000 which I felt was still too high. They also debit your credit card this amount rather than just swipe your card as security so if you don't have much cash In your account you may not afford to come to this hotel. They also kept chasing us to pay for things that perhaps were not included in our package. I.e boat hire and dinner as they would not let us put in on our room finial bill (even though we paid a huge deposit). Put a damper on our stay. We enjoy this hotel and have been about 3 times now and each time the service has got worse. It has great potential as a family holiday but don't think we will go back due to the above.

    Love the beach. The pool is great. Overall great facilities for a family to enjoy themselves

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to get a non smoking room Quite noisy in the room with guest having doors open Thick carpet in the room retain moisture

    Location close to Shanghai Gym, pool Brunch (even if a bit expensive)

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great rooms, location, breakfast and Wifi. Bed was heavenly. And quiet. A lot of TV channels even for foreigners which is highly appreciated. Breakfast buffet was great, and usually I am not a big fan of hotel breakfast. No time to use the pool or other facilities. Great Lobby

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very limited food or drink to enjoy in executive lounge. Afternoon tea only with soft drink and 3 cookies, happy hour at 17~19, serve salad and some food, can be considered as dinner but not that good. Would rather prefer happy hours from19 like a lounge with snakes and good drink.

    View is fantastic from the balcony. Various choice of breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very poor English of the staff who operate room service, their solution is to either hangup or send you the housekeeping who speak no English at all.

    the facilities, pools and surprisingly great food at the bar.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant service is really poor we had to wait more than one hour to get the dish and 1 hour and half for small kids.

    Gréât location swimming pool big and very suitable for small kids. Efficient check in /out

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    especially the foreigner receiptionist (young male),he is very nice and excellent. When I gave up to find my small stuff, he came quietly and helped me to find it. Very professional.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast buffet was just alright for the price.

    The location and facilities were great.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The pillow, beddings, reception staff are helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fluent english spoken Food expensive for the quality

    Large rooms Facilities (fitness, swimmingpool, ...)

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unable to buy a snack at lobby bar on arrival. Dark lighting in foyer and unfriendly, not helpful staff.

    Comfort of bed. Bathroom facilities.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bottom of the swimming pool is coming out (blue pieces can go inside the nails of the toes)

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not clean enough and a little expensive

    The swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The light in the room is really not convenient. The check in/out was laborious.

    The bedroom was so comfortable. The beach is great.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: