Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Harbin

68 Ganshui Road, Xiangfang, 150090 Harbin, China

#27 of 108 hotels in Harbin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    excellent place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none.

    this is a fantastic hotel with all the facilities. I stay here all the time when I am in Harbin. Breakfast is excellent. this hotel is also close to Wanda plaza where you can do your shopping and find good place to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. Would book again in a heart beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The one evening we went downstairs to the coffee shop and ordered hot chocolate and cappuccinos. The service was great, the venue is stunning and the drinks looked amazing. Unfortunately the coffee was very disappointing, very weak and the hot chocolate tasted just like hot milk with a slight hint of chocolate. We also felt that the price of our drinks was very expensive.

    What a fabulous hotel. From the moment you walk into reception to the time you check out, you know you are staying in a luxury hotel. Our room was fantastic. Huge comfortable bed, with good quality white linen and very comfortable pillows. When we did the booking, we had requested a rollaway bed for our 11 year old daughter. We arrived very late (after 23:00) and when we checked into our room we found that the rollaway bed had not been provided. We mentioned it to the gentlemen who brought our luggage to our room and within 10 minutes housekeeping had arrived and made up the additional bed. Really great service! The room was huge so even with the extra bed we still had plenty of space. The bathroom was exceptional. Large shower with great water pressure, lovely deep bath and good quality toiletries. The bath towels and robes were super soft and fluffy. TV had enough channels for us to catch up on some international news. We opted not to have breakfast as we were keen to explore Harbin so I cannot comment on the breakfasts. The pool and sauna were fantastic, just remember to pack swimming caps. The service we received from all the staff was friendly, professional and very efficient. Most of the staff could speak enough English in order for us to make ourselves understood. Harbin is an amazing city, filled with friendly people and so much to see. The food is exceptional - especially the street food so be sure to try it. Getting around is very easy as taxis are plentiful and really cheap - just be aware that not many speak English so be sure to take the hotel information card with you. We cannot wait to visit Harbin again and will definitely stay at the Sofitel when we do!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Great quality five-star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain, loved it! Maybe staff communicating better in English if I had to mention something but it seems it’s common in this city and country in general. Keep up the great service!

    The hotel lives up to its five star rating. Beautiful lobby, comfortable bed and very good sized rooms. It is right next to Wanda shopping centre. Had a fantastic stay here with my girlfriend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Twin Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding stay at Sofitel. Location is excellent and adjacent to a large shopping mall. Easy access via taxi to major city landmarks and very pleasant stay. The duty manager Lydia came to introduce herself and made us and the children feel very at home. We travel regularly to Harbin and always appreciate the facilities here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall good stay, no major complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of out dated, though kept reasonably clean, you can tell the hotel requires a renovation soon

    Location is great with a mall next to it so you can get your Starbucks fix. Lots of local food options around the area too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.5
    Well placed next to a cute shopping mall (Stabucks, Subway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well placed next to a cute shopping mall (Stabucks, Subway and Macdonalds) and walking distance to two cool restaurants (ONE western sytle and one pizza)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    The beds are comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although the bathroom is good size, with separate tub and shower, the counter is a bit small.

    The beds are comfortable. The staff overall is very helpful. We had access to the exec lounge, and that staff did a wonderful job in accommodating our wishes. Even the GM greeted and helped us. Overall experience is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but room service was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Burger ordered through room service was terrible. On one evening room service did not arrive and I had to cancel it after 45m. Front desk staff apologised but thats simply not good enough for a five star hotel.

    Bath is standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Excellent service, ideal for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were incredibly helpful. We lost our bags on our flight in from Beijing and the staff helped us immeasurably trying to track it down and eventually arranging for it's pickup. We stayed in a club level room which was pretty large and comfortable. We tried 2 of the 4 restaurants in the hotel and they were lovely; pretty great buffet and a fantastic Japanese restaurant. We went during the ice festival period and there was a lovely ice structure just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    Unhappy guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough packing space in the rooms for clothing. Breakfast area was not clean. Table mats were reused and filthy. Coffee machine never worked. Fruit juices were not topped up. Cutlery was not clean. General appearance was terrible. I stayed in cheaper horels in China and had a better ecperience.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel on a whole was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Club Twin Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the temperature of Harbin being -20C, the room was too hot to be comfortable. We were unable to control the heating in the room and sleeping was difficult due to the discomfort.

    The hotel on a whole was amazing. Access to Club Sofitel is worth every penny.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    5.4
    An overpriced 'strictly business' choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel offers a 3 star experience for a 5 star price. maintenance and service are not up to standard

    hotel has a good standing to business partners. the swimming pool was nice for a workout in winter

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.8
    Great five star stay, if going for Ice Festival expect to pay in transport to the grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was terrible. I never got connected on my phone. A bit of a journey to the Ice Festival and the heart of the town. A taxi to town was about 30RMB where we took the cable car to Sun Island.

    Great five star hotel! The staff were very helpful. The breakfast is good, not the best we have had in China but good. Lacking in western options, otherwise very good. The bed and room were perfect. We ate at the Japanese restaurant and it was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. The bath tub was also great and a fairly big one, I am tall and never fit properly, but this one was great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Strongly recommended! We'll be back FOR SURE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is not that high. We booked a deluxe room with a king-size bed and were promised a city view. Unfortunately, when we looked out of our window, we faced a tall grey building. Luckily, the room itself was beautiful and clean so we decided to focus more on the inside ;) The dragon tower is at a walking distance from the hotel, so for the ultimate city view, Sofitel Wanda Harbin isn't that bad of a place to be staying at!

    We loved our stay at Sofitel Wanda Harbin. The staff was very friendly, the building is very clean and has a beautiful and cozy interior. Breakfast was delightful. We especially want to thank the head concierge, Joseph, for his help. When you go to a hotel, you expect people to be polite to you and to respect you because that is what you pay for. This man does not only that but he is also genuinely friendly :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    Mgmt & staff service was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No smoking floor was full of smell of smoke, moved to different floor and it was much better. First night room ducted heating not working, hotel mgmt had put in additional heating which helped.

    Mgmt & staff service was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.7
    Lazy staff downgrading the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    front desk staff has been terrible. called 3 times to know the hour of our arrival. Advice to reach and enjoy the Ice as Snow festival were poor nor to say unexisting. Staff approving (in the morning) a late check out for 3pm, still our room cards were deactivated at noon. Of course, front desk staff even not apologize for the troubles. Fortunately, restaurant and house keeping people were great.

    Restaurant buffet is very nice either for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    6.3
    Not Sofitel standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received a call from Booking.com the day before check in asking for credit card details as the hotel had lost it. Lady who processed our check in was very grumpy. Room had 2 shower gels and no shampoo the first day. Rang reception for shampoo and none turned up till day 2. Booked 1 king room and ended up with 2 single beds. Hotel offered to push beds together. Wanted to visit 3 attractions in Harbin and concierge was very keen to stress the difficulty of getting there and wanted us to book a driver and car and gave us a quote. Presumably he stood to benefit from the deal. The second time we enquired about it the price went up by RMB100. Understandably Sofitel clientele have cash to spare but we don't like unnecessary spending. Luckily stumbled upon visitor centre in central street and found out could catch a bus (RMB1) to all three places. Day before check out got knock on the door at 8.30am asking if we're checking out - they had mixed up our room with a tour group checking out that day. Had to get a document printed out urgently and was charged RMB8 per page.

    Good and cheap breakfast places nearby - very handy as hotel breakfast cost exorbitant. Mostly helpful and honest (see dislike points above) concierge staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.3
    Comfy but expensive with very delayed service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant both in the evening and at breakfast was very very very slow if ordering off the a la carte menu and was also very expensive. Cappuccino was lukewarm, granola was like porridge but cold with milk already in it making it look more like congee! Not international service for a said international hotel.

    The concierge service was great. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    The room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is not up to the standard you would expect for the price and the star rating. We had to argue with the staff to get al a carte breakfast even though it was on the menu.

    The room was great. Having a bath tub was a godsend!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Very nice duty manager!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Very nice staff in the hotel, especially the Duty Manager Mr. Gao!! My colleague left the phone at the restaurant and he helped my colleague to get the phone without accepting anything! Very nice guy!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    The room is comfortable and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is comfortable and quiet. Facilities are good and the indoor swimming pool is excellent. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Rooms are not really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.8
    room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast

    room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    To avoid if you trip to the 5 star hotel often !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not professional enough for 5 star hotel !!

    Location of hotel, comfort of room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    If you have to make a business trip to Harbin, this hotel is my first choice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful large room with a city view. Plus the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    NOT Bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO Nonsmoke floor.

    I like the bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    4.2
    Poor service over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk and service attitude

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.9
    handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very dark. I had to use my phone torch to see the safe!

    handy location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Bed comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Bed comfort

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel off city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lacks choices

    Swimming pool facility is good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very nice hotel and second time booking! Good choice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    5.8
    Club room no air con and warm even window open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Club room no air con and warm even window open. Change to 6 floor but room key cannot excess to club level. Tea n dinner do not replenish..always empty....

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast offers a wide range of choices.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection is really bed. It's slow and it often gets kicked offline. Room is too warm even when aircon is turned off.

    Breakfast offers a wide range of choices.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    9.6
    i like the people there , very warm and friendly , the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Japanes Resturant need to improve their service , I ordered a famous expensive Japannese brand liquor , but i didn't see they show the original bottle to me and open it in front of me . I am confused what kind of liquor they gave me during the holiday lunch .

    i like the people there , very warm and friendly , the service there is very good .

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.3
    Position.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Conference room staff hopeless. Conference restaurant for my 20 guest unacceptable food no good no staff no service. Not happy. Then they wanted to charge a premium for it.

    Position. Room size and hygiene. Lounge area for meetings.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    7.5
    The rooms were pretty nice and the facilities overall were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service at the breakfast buffet was just ok. It was super crowded so you had to find and wait for your own table and then wait 10-15 minutes for someone to bus it and set it. They set the table one item at a time which is why it took so long. And, one person would bring, say place mats to your table, then bring something else to someone else's table, then bring half the number of chopsticks you need to your table, then a couple of napkins to someone else's table, then finally the other chopsticks to your table.... You get the idea. What should have taken 2 minutes takes 15. I think they were trying, but no one had taught them effective methods for cleaning and setting tables. By the end of breakfast, the place was really quite a mess. The food was pretty good though.

    The rooms were pretty nice and the facilities overall were fairly well appointed. The concierge, Frank, was awesome! He helped us arrange for a van/bus for the weekend with driver and answered all of our questions about seeing the sights of the winter festival. The french press coffee at breakfast was actually quite good.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    7.9
    the breakfast service is terrible, no supervision in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast service is terrible, no supervision in the restaurant, the waiters are not organized at all, the buffet food was never replaced, once finished, that was it, asked the waiters if there was going to be more bread, eggs, etc, they didnt know, none of them spoke english, they turned out to be students to cover the high season, no supervisor around, a terrible experience, specially when we paid a higher fee to have the breakfast included for 2 days, the second day we didnt even bothered to go, we went to the lunch buffet instead, which we were told by the recepction and the concierge it started at 11 am, this was important since we had to go to the airport at 12, when we got to the restaurant, they said they started lunch at 1130 !!! again, nobody knows what is going on, but this time the sous chef, whose name i didnt get, helped us and made some quick breakfast a la carte for us... he saved us. Dinner buffet fantastic, Julien, was in charge ´, amazing service and food, its a shame the morning shift of the restaurant is abandoned by management.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    9.2
    Friendly Staff that could speak English (rare in harbin).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    28 degrees feels too hot for a room but this seems to be standard for harbin. No issues with our stay but it was only one night.

    Friendly Staff that could speak English (rare in harbin). Lovely room. Good choice of restaurants and room service options. Gym was nice too..Overall hotel had a very relaxing feel about it so we will be coming back.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff unhelpful

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    The room of the hotel is very spacious, people at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room of the hotel is very spacious, people at the concierge were really helpful during my stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Hotel location is very convenient, the service of the staff...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Hotel location is very convenient, the service of the staff is great.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.8
    Swiming pool , location close to shopping mall, good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed too large , Pillow too soft ,break-fast too expensive .

    Swiming pool , location close to shopping mall, good and honest laundry

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    6.7
    A great and warm base for our winter activities in Harbin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A great and warm base for our winter activities in Harbin. It's very comfortable but pretty expensive.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.1
    The room, the swimming pool and the sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The position is not the best in Harbin, very slow service in the restaurant

    The room, the swimming pool and the sauna

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.1
    Confortable rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    High tax not included and expensive mineral water that seemed offered.

    Confortable rooms

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: