Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Somerset Xu Hui Shanghai

888 Shanxi Nan Road, Xuhui, 200031 Shanghai, China

#13 of 95 Holiday rentals in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    A world wind experience. I plan to use this group whenever I travel and they have facilities near
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing and I'm hard to please

    It's easier to say what I didn't like and that was nothing. Being from America the Asian breakfast was different. But with the huge variety there was choice after choice of food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.5
    Not that worth it...the second day moved to another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn’t good, too far away from the center of the city. Around the hotel were hotels which offers cheaper price. Breakfast choice was okay, also the location was not that easy to find.

    So expensive and the photos on the booking.com was totally different from the reality. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable base to explore Shanghai, convenient for the French Concession and Jaishan Road metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment(Including 2 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast choice was limited and the breakfast area was windowless and too warm - loads of interesting and delicious street food choices available nearby so wouldn't recommend a breakfast inclusive tariff.

    Rooms were comfortable and spacious, good facilities including a well equipped kitchen and washer/dryer, we had a two bed room with 2 bathrooms so choice of shower or bath. Our upper floor room had views toward the Bund skyline and the river with small balcony. Air conditioning in the main living area and the bedrooms was good and beds were comfortable after long days of sightseeing in Shanghai and beyond.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is close to the Metro station, The stuff are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment(Including 2 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is close to the Metro station, The stuff are very friendly and helpful and thy try to accommodate all the gusts needs, the room are clean and its served in daily base, the hotel is very safe, the bed room has an international electricity plug, each room has its own wi-fi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Highly reccomended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment(Including 2 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pooor breakfast. If you pay it extra then don’t order it and better go to costa coffee just next to the hotel. At breakfast none speaks English so simple request of double espresso they didn’t get.

    The Appartments are spacious bright and comfortable. The location is just around the corner of French district with lots of shops, shopping mall and restaurants. The staff is very helpful even if not all of them speak English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    The apartment is great, good service and nice facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little overpriced

    The apartment is great, good service and nice facilities. Location is really nice, it is close to all main places and downtown, it is really easy to move around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment(Including 2 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 13 nights

    a bit dated and the sofa was not comfortable, also not many tv options.

    the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and the kitchenette was very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Cosy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a little dusty despite me informing the staff ahead of time to vacuum it thoroughly. I personally didn’t feel it but my wife developed an allergy which we resolved at the pharmacy. Staff were so-so. We actually asked the reception for help to order food from Sherpa’s app that requires a china mobile no. which we didn’t have, but they said they couldn’t help as it is linked to a personal account. They also didn’t give any advice. We later found out by ourselves that we could order by phone instead of through the app.

    Location is quiet, but there is “Costa coffee” and the famous hotpot “Lao Wang” restaurant nearby. Across the road opposite Lao Wang is the metro station. There is a convenience store next to the metro station, some restaurants which we weren’t interested to try, a pharmacy, and some tea stalls. 200m from the metro station there is another convenience store. The location is a 10/10 for me. Washing machine has a dryer function which is useful for a long stay during winter (- bring less clothes). I wished the hotel provided softener for washing, but I’m not complaining here. We had a 2-room apartment. Space was a little tight, but the tight space probably made the stay nice and cosy. Very homely feeling. The air-conditioner came with heater and it was really, really fantastic during winter. 10/10 for AC. Breakfast has few selections but, in our opinion, good enough. Toilet has a bidet that has adjustable water strength, front or rear spray and even can adjust left and right. Loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Good value for long term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not advertised correctly. My 2 bedroom apartment didn't have a bath tub which I was expecting for it.

    Very clean and convenient for public tranportation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    4.6
    Wait until renovation is completed!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment(Including 2 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was in renovation. No breakfast, no gym, no pool. Noisy. Very hard for taxis to find the hotel / they always head to another hotel having the same street number.

    The size of the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    We stayed in a 2-bedroom apt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The housekeeping and porters of the hotel need some training. Housekeeping consists of superficial cleaning (i.e. emptying trash, changing linens/towels, etc.) Despite staying for nearly three weeks, we had to repeatedly ask them to vacuum behind the doors, under the bed, under the sofa (i.e. dustballs were forming). The toiletries in the bathrooms were old or used (open cap) and were only replaced at our request. Our pots were very old and needed replacement which weren't done until we requested it. On days when we clearly had our 'do not disturb' sign on the door, housekeeping would nevertheless ring the doorbell to ask if they could clean. Upon checkout, despite a lot of luggage, and repeatedly asking the porter (bellhop) on duty to come and help with luggage. He failed to show until the end when we were nearly done loading the car to the airport. In summary, the apartment hotel is in a good location, the apartment is well proportioned for a medium length stay, but the service could definitely be better.

    We stayed in a 2-bedroom apt. for nearly three weeks while visiting family. Overall the apt. was comfortable and quiet. The children's playroom was a hit with our daughter. The front desk staff was helpful when we needed questions answered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Rooms were spacious and clean and staff was very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment(Including 6 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing bad to say. Somerset met all our expectations.

    Rooms were spacious and clean and staff was very attentive. Great location and next to subway. Close to shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    A good place to visit Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You have to bring or buy a swimming cap in order to enter the swimming pool; the water in swimming pool is quite cold, including the jacuzzi; however, the nice hot sauna is compensating it. During breakfast we missed the eggs options during day 1 because we did not know that you can (must) ask for them (the same with coffee).

    Breakfast included; swimming pool, sauna and gym; inside playground for children; 5 minute walk to subway station; 3 minute walk to SPA; clean and large apartment with two bedrooms, kitchenette, small living room and two bathrooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Excellent family stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Water in the pool was cold, so as in the jacuzzi pool, it should be warm at least.

    Fully equipped kitchen amenities (even scissors) Super comfortable beds, there was even a waschmaschine. Very helpful and cheerful staff. We felt like at home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Great apartments for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment(Including 6 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have been to other service residential apartments and it could be refurbished a bit more .. looked a bit worn and older but was just as expensive possibly bec in central Shanghai. But clean, friendly and great location.

    Excellent equipped kitchen, Near subway. Safe area , local shops. Central . Everything we needed. Lovely stay. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Perfect 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment(Including 6 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Can not recommend this hotel more. The location is only about a one to two minute walk to the metro. SH metro is so clean, fast, and convenient that we used it everywhere. Although I would not recommend taking metro from the international airport to the hotel by Maglev because after the train you need to change to Metro and change lines twice, which is crazy with luggage and a group. Taxi would be fine though. It is in a great residential location, so you get a feel for how Shanghaier's live. And yet it is so convenient for tourists and in the heart of the French concession. Lots of small shops to buy fruit, snacks, groceries. Restaurants as well. Starbucks and Costa coffee next-door if you really get homesick. It is just a leisurely 10 minute stroll to Tianzifang. It was our favourite thing to do in all of Shanghai. Fun, unique and fascinating, everyone in our group from age 3 to 75 loved it, and we went almost every day. The coolest bar I have ever seen is The Bell Bar there. It is so much better then Xin Tian Di or the bund in my opinion. You can walk up Sinan Rd to Fuxing Park and XTDi from there. We did with little ones and elderly. When my cousin arrived later in the trip, the staff even walked her to Tianzifang to meet us when she tried to ask for their help in calling a taxi! Unreal service, better than any five or six star hotel. The breakfast was amazing. It is not huge, although it is large for the size of hotel. The food was delicious for everyone, those with completely Canadian taste, including young and old, as well as my elderly Chinese father. The local homestyle Chinese dishes such as noodles and rice, vegetables, and meat dishes allow you to try different things without the risk and hassle of ordering mystery foods at a restaurant. There is also dim sum, Chinese and western pastries, eggs made to order, fruit etc. Also at all hours you can get a free delicious milk tea, hot water or coffee from the dispenser in the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Best stay ever, cannot envision a better choice for SH. Wish this hotel were in every city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really is nothing I did not like about this hotel. It probably sounds like I work for them because this review is so positive, but if you read my other reviews, I am fairly picky. I can't tell you how pleased I am that somewhere in the world meets my exacting standards!

    Can not recommend this hotel more. The location is only about a one to two minute walk to the metro. SH metro is so clean, fast, and convenient that we used it everywhere. Although I would not recommend taking metro from the international airport to the hotel by Maglev because after the train you need to change to Metro and change lines twice, which is crazy with luggage and a group. Taxi would be fine though. It is in a great residential location, so you get a feel for how Shanghaier's live. And yet it is so convenient for tourists and in the heart of the French concession. Lots of small shops to buy fruit, snacks, groceries. Restaurants as well. Starbucks and Costa coffee next-door if you really get homesick. It is just a leisurely 10 minute stroll to Tianzifang. It was our favourite thing to do in all of Shanghai. Fun, unique and fascinating, everyone in our group from age 3 to 75 loved it, and we went almost every day. The coolest bar I have ever seen is The Bell Bar there. It is so much better then Xin Tian Di or the bund in my opinion. You can walk up Sinan Rd to Fuxing Park and XTDi from there. We did with little ones and elderly. When my cousin arrived later in the trip, the staff even walked her to Tianzifang to meet us when she tried to ask for their help in calling a taxi! Unreal service, better than any five or six star hotel. The breakfast was amazing. It is not huge, although it is large for the size of hotel. The food was delicious for everyone, those with completely Canadian taste, including young and old, as well as my elderly Chinese father. The local homestyle Chinese dishes such as noodles and rice, vegetables, and meat dishes allow you to try different things without the risk and hassle of ordering mystery foods at a restaurant. There is also dim sum, Chinese and western pastries, eggs made to order, fruit etc. Also at all hours you can get a free delicious milk tea, hot water or coffee from the dispenser in the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Great family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift problem during stay, which could be very dangerous... really scary experience. Also room for improvement for breakfast.

    Good for family travelling

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean and great location, great for family and business .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible.! Really need to improve on it.

    Very clean and spacy . Great location, only 2mins to the subway train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Good location. Very clean . Home away from home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location to walk towards the French concession
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As everyone says, Western breakfast could improve

    Great location to walk towards the French concession

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Bathroom and location only
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very bad , WiFi not working

    Bathroom and location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the hotel is a bit odd

    Spacious and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist needed more experience in getting the job done because I was late when check out the hotel

    The worker is helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good value.

    Location and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special

    Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    The room spaces are big
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment(Including 6 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast can be better

    The room spaces are big

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable... Excellent experience...Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad pillows.

    Facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Newly remodeled, clean, friendly staff, great location, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Newly remodeled, clean, friendly staff, great location, nice city view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Good Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment(Including 6 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Accommodation is a little dated.

    Good Service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool. You needed to wear a swimming cap even in the spa!

    Spacious apoartment. Great for groups or families

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    No car arrangement service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car arrangement service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment(Including 4 daily breakfasts)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.2
    The convenience of apartment living with kitchenette and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast standard including food, staff, and service stood out as a mismatch to the overall quality. It was also odd that kitchen towels and dishwash detergent were not provided despite of a fully equipped kitchen.

    The convenience of apartment living with kitchenette and laundry. The reception and concierge staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel great room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much. Gym only open certain hours. Breakfast was rather varied but not completely included in the price (one per room not per person) also not entirely a good breakfast.

    Great hotel great room size. Very comfy beds. Very good wifi. Could access Google which isn't usual for China. Very easy to access via subway system. Very friendly staff though little English is spoken. Easy access to the rest of city with subway. Gym access was available and pool too didn't take advantage as too much to see during the times it was available.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    8.3
    Nicely renovated apartment that is suitable for family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Renovation is still ongoing. Probably finishing soon. But noise starts as early as 8am which can be a little disturbing as you are still in the room.

    Nicely renovated apartment that is suitable for family travellers. Within short walking distance from the metro.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.2
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The renovation works were annoying. There wasn't water during showering. Not sure if it was due to the renovation work. Lastly, the breakfast buffet spread should be improved.

    The location is excellent. The MTR is within 2 mins walk. The apartment is right at the downtown. The places of interest are just a few stations away.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    5.8
    Large apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I got sick while in Shanghai and spent a night in hospital. When I arrived back to the hotel I wanted to rest, unfortunately there was renovations going on during the whole weekend. We asked to get upgraded but they told us there was no extra rooms and they would call us the following day with an update - they never followed up with us. Breakfast selection very limited.

    Large apartment

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    8.8
    Good location, very near metro, good value for money, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just the noise from the refit of the other rooms that is happening until the end of the year.

    Good location, very near metro, good value for money, room just been refitted very clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    I like the team members of somerset they were helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was very simple and I'm sure they can improved it.

    I like the team members of somerset they were helpful and they pay lot of attention for every things. They are ready to support you. They have good facility to spend time with your family and for biz as well. All the staff include management are professional

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Price to expensive for the quality of the hotel Looks very dated Doesn't look like the photos on the website Construction was going on the room above!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.6
    Very near to the subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not much eateries within 100m.

    Very near to the subway.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.3
    Good location and good value
    • Business trip
    • Group

    breakfasr could be better

    Good location and good value

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    10
    All the staff are really helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the staff are really helpful and friendly. The renovated rooms are great with good facilities. The hotel location is also great.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Value and quality of rooms was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Value and quality of rooms was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.1
    Big space and nice accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Whole payment requested the first day

    Big space and nice accomodation

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Spacious and very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious and very clean rooms. Proximity to shopping centre, Metro and boutique alleys of Tianzifang was great. Kids loved the pool.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is a real gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel is a real gem. Fantastic location for transport and restaurants. First choice pick in Shanghai.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.5
    club house is good, good location and big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    old room, need to renew

    club house is good, good location and big room

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: