Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Minghantang Suzhou International Youth Hostel

No.61 Xiatang, Guangji Road, Gu Su District, 215008 Suzhou, China

#70 of 157 hotels in Suzhou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hostel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Great Location!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was assigned had an ac unit that dripped loudly the whole night. When I woke up in the morning , I found my bag that was sitting on the counter, completely drenched (ruining important documents) and there was a puddle on the counter and floor. When I explained this to the staff, they nodded like they already knew that was an issue. It was also a little difficult to find the entrance to the hotel. I was able to find it with the help of some locals by showing them the address. Even though booking.com says they take credit cards, they don’t! This was an issue as it ate into my cash reserve ,and when I went to a local bank to use the atm, the machine kept my card!

    The hotel is right next to all the action! It’s situated right next to the canal where you can take a boat ride. It’s also relatively near the metro ( about a stop away from the station where you can take a 30 min bullet train to shanghai and back) and a popular street market. There is a cafe attached to the property that is open to outside patrons and hotel guests. The staff was very nice and accommodating. You’ll be greeted by Chow Chow the dog and a beautiful grey cat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Romantic place in Suzhou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no payment by card. There was no breakfast, even though on booking it was mentioned that it is availabe for additional price. May be we just asked in such a way that the stuff did not understand us. Poor flush in the toilet.

    Very close to the metro station and located in a very spectaculous touristic street. Normal shower, sophisticated toilet panel. Friendly staff and very-very cosy inner yard. It was fantastic with flowers and small trees, you could see the stars and have a romantic evening in that quiet place. Also there were two big and very friendly dogs and a an elegant cat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Only location is good, everything else is so-so only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs too busy, less friendly. Found two dead spiders on the bed. Aircond if swinging mood very noisy. Room quite small. Toilet is small as well.

    Near to train station and tourist spot at shantang.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Terrible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all the rooms are quite shabby. But it does not matter a lot. what I did hate was the dog. I am allergic - so I am not fond of them. But this one is really hateful. It barks at night. On our night there it started barking at 4:30 in the morning in single barks. Every half a minute or every minute. untill 5 o'clock. You can imagine it was impossible to sleep at all. Our room was on the 1st floor. with windows overlooking the terrace. With people sitting there talking till late in the evening it was not hard to sleep as well. There was a table with an ash-tray on it. when someone does smoke - all the smoke goes into the room. And as for the staff... They are not there during the night, only the dog. I asked the girl to call me a taxi early in the morning. She refused, afraid that the driver will call her so early in the morning. Told me there were buses. I asked her to check if they run at 6 o'clock. she made me wait for 40 minutes for it (it took her 2 minutes to look in her phone), she even washed the dishes with me waiting for her!!! and the information she gave me was wrong: she said they start at 5, but they start at 6 from terminal station. If I was not lucky just stopping the taxi in the sterrt, I would have been late for my train. So the experience is totally bad. will never stay there again.

    The location is great: near the metro station, very close to the railway station, the main tourist street is just there. There is a nice terrace inside the hostel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Great room, poor reception and social area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very hard...even by Chinese standards! The main reception area smelled horrendous...like wet dog and dampness. Though advertised as there being an option for breakfast, the bar/easting area was largely unkept and no-one was around to help us. We ate across the street and a delicious noodle place. I wouldn't really want to eat there anyway, given the smell.

    Great location close to subway and Shantang Street. The room was small but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is cheap so don't expect any frills. It's as basic as it gets. The exterior looks pleasant but inside - it's run down, paint chipping, water damage on the walls, it could use some renovations. The bedroom is okay - I stayed in a 4 person bunk bed room, there are lockers but I noticed some of them are broken, there's aircon, pillow, bedsheets, duvet and shower slippers that I didn't dare touch! The bed was really hard, I may as well have been sleeping on the floor!

    Super cheap hostel and well located. It's one tube stop from Suzhou railway station and really easy to find once you get out of the metro station. Internet was superb! Works well in the room and is super fast! The bathrooms and toilets are clean but bring your own toilet paper in case theirs runs out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Lovely buildings and settings, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suzhou was extremely busy, but hostel was quiet quite, no around at night to share a beer with at the hostel bar!

    Nice friendly staff, great location and very nice courtyards and bar area. Private room was nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    The staff very helpful and they did not request me to paid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff very helpful and they did not request me to paid the key deposit due to I need check out at 6am which the reception only open at 7.30am. Location very near to subway station and easy to get there. 1 min walk to Qilishantang Scenic Area (七里山塘) and 10 min walk to Lingering Garden (留园) from the hostel. The place really value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no enough plug in the dorm. The toilet pipe is leaking. No more toilet paper. The dorm door is terrible make noise when open/close the door.

    Near to Shantang Street and metro station.Great staff.Cute pets at there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location, Damp room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was damp, reception smelt of wet dog. wifi didn't work in room

    Building has character and felt very comfortable. location was perfect. 2 minute walk to metro and you are right in the ancient part of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed not so good but everything else it's ok

    Good place for the money, Location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Very near to ShanTang Street and railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very near to ShanTang Street and railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Would stay at this place again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perhaps complimentary shampoo and body wash would be nice!

    Extremely convenient location, next to Shantang street Lots to do nearby!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Was OK, but I'm not sure I'd go there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very hard. Most bathroom door locks and shower heads were broken.

    The location is very good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    6.3
    Localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, shower, smell.

    Localisation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    This should be the most popular place in Suzhou - next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was dirty even for Chinese standards. Hard bed and you have to ask for anything - even for a second towel in a double room...

    This should be the most popular place in Suzhou - next to old Street, nice connections to other recommended locations.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Very beautiful hostel in the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very beautiful hostel in the best. location, we stayed in a small courtyard that had a beautiful lounge with tables and a lot of flowers,room was super clean and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    4.6
    The position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dirty - cold water- no toilet paper - please paint the wall!! Humidity, unconfortable bed, dirty walls, you can not sleep well in this conitions. Smell of dog in the recepion (and i love dogs)

    The position

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    The location was great and the staff extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work in the room but only had to go a couple of metres from the door and it worked well.

    The location was great and the staff extremely helpful. The room was small but very clean. Extremely close to one of the metro stops so easy to get to from the train station.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    4.6
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very tiny toilet. very uncomfortable to use. no toilet rolls.

    good location

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    6.7
    the building is old Chinese feel, very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the toilet water tap for my room are broken, but still not repair or change it, even still can use.

    the building is old Chinese feel, very special.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.9
    Location Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Facility so so.

    Location Excellent!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    the position next to the old part of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hostel is not on the street and was hard to find

    the position next to the old part of the city

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: