Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swissôtel Grand Shanghai

1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an, 200040 Shanghai, China

#38 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1197 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t have anything to write here

    Big room, big swimming pool, very nice jacuzzi, hammam and sauna, Nespresso and bottles of water everyday, super clean, very well situated near facilities including shops, underground station, bars, restaurants...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast can be improved. Too many guests. The service in the restaurant is not too satisfied.

    Clean bed, clean pillows. Very satisfied. Will be back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reasonable room size but the table is arranged in a super weird way that the main path is mostly blocked. Only one staff available at the reception when we checked in, had to wait for around 10 minutes til we were served.

    Beds are comfy but pillows are too soft for me. Excellent cleaniness, and the cleaner did a great job tidying things I left the bathroom as I stayed for three nights. Free TV including STAR MOVIES and AXN! Very satisfied on the whole

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is indeed time for a renovation. Furniture isdirty and all ruined especially in the public space. from a 5* stars hotel I would expect more and for sure I would not expect to have copies of famous furniture pieces. Staff is so so and quite weak in helping you to get a taxi.

    Room was bigger than expected, great shower and bathroom area A quite wide offer at Breakfast it is in a great location close to metro station, bars, restaurant, shopping, Jing'an temple, etc etc etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location is very near several metro entrances and the neighborhood is actually very nice. Tree-lined streets and a number of great restaurants in all styles from local to international (even a great BBQ restaurant a few blocks away). The hotel itself is high end and modern. The spa is great, the staff are generally all friendly and the beds are extremely comfortable. Will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice pillow, but the quilt should be better.

    I came for business trip. The fantastic location and room condition allow me to conveniently get anywhere and had some really good rest. Will come again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly the hotel is in a fantastic location with easy access to the metro, with the beautiful Jing An temple just next door. It gives off a very good vibe once you enter the lobby, spacious and clean. The room was almost perfect, liked the layout and the toilet. especially, bed was really comfortable and there were a lot of channels on TV. Room service was prompt and food was delicious too. Overall a fantastic stay and excellent value-for-money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good location such as near by airport limousine bus station, especially close to Nan Jing Xi Liu is very convenient to go anywhere for tourists I think

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both my rooms smelled like smoke even tho the hotel is “smoke free”. People were obviously smoking in their rooms and I was sick because of it. I asked to change rooms and in the second floor/room it was the same thing.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one helped us with our offloading our luggage when we arrived till we stepped into the lobby. Think its the direction of their desk which means they are not facing the doorway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was amazing. Wow! So clean and staff were excellent in English and very professional. Housekeeping was awesome. Wifi was great and had VPN. Pool and hot pools were so nice. Excellent fitness facility and beautiful spa. Elevators were always so fast never waited long for any.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a baby bed and they give us one very old and damaged. As a swissotel I was expecting more... we had to wait for the check in and the check out and the staff didn’t seem very pro helpful...

    The position is AMAZING, close to the JIN’AN temole. We had a classic double bedroom, big enough, very comfortable because the room was very silent and quiet ( no noise from other room) and the matress was firm but good enough. We really appreciated that the room is also dark enough when you close the window curtains and for us is a must to sleep well. ( in shangha in this period there is light around 4 a.m.) the bathroom was nice, clean and big. The SPA is amazing, big and clean. 2 swimming pool (28 and 30 degree in the baby swimming pool ) our 2 years old daughter loved it! The Chinese restaurant is very good. We didn’t have the breakfast because for 218 rmb you can find a lot in the neiborhood,..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is atrocious. Weak, slow and only allowing a limited number of devices on at the same time. The location of the hotel was somewhat disappointing and I would venture to say it is therefore more of a business than a leisure hotel. Although there are metros very close by, should you want to walk, there is not much around the hotel of interest. For that reason alone I would not stay here again.

    The rooms are first rate. Clean and comfortable. Housekeeping cannot be faulted. The lighting is somewhat dim and could do with an upgrade though. Aircon works very well. Rooms very quiet with no outside noise. Breakfast was magnificent and something for every taste and preference.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast price seemed a bit excessive, although probably very good, so simply went out and about.

    Excellent hotel and super value for money. Very comfortable room, nice spa and wellness, good english speaking staff and very good wifi. All in a top location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Swiss Advantage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely hard bed. Breakfast service truly appalling. Reception / check-in facilities nowhere near big enough for a hotel of this size. This hotel needs some serious attention from someone higher up the chain. The Swissotel brand is usually much better than this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff aren't very helpful when it comes to calling taxis or explaining costs. We were charged more at the desk than the agreed rate on booking.com so be sure to double check!

    Great location right next to Jing An Temple and plenty of shops nearby. Facilities and rooms are excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Swiss Advantage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could not change the credit card to others from the card I used for deposit.

    AWESOME LOCATION, 1 min away from the airport bus terminal and subway station. nice staffs, services

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was slow and spotty, maintenance of the building no so great (the big central swiss clock in the lobby didn't work), health club was small, a little dirty. Laundry serve was VERY expensive

    firm bed, good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Swiss Advantage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast’ s quality is so low. Clearly frozen chocolate croissants and croissants, no cereals bars, poor selection of fruits. Expecting a lot better.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Checking in and out takes forever...! Long lines due to the bureaucratic process

    Fijne kamers, internet (wifi) is prima, locatie bij de metro (200m om de hoek)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Thanks for staying words at the checkout. That was a pity :-(

    The facilities look gorgeous. I like the design of the room especially the bath room. The room was spicy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Swiss Advantage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear the neighboiring room when their tv is too loud...

    Location, right next to the line 2 subway, very practical Quality of the room The pool area the jaccuzzis and the saunas are no joke

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning que to check out. The breakfast service staff is not the most professional. Lighting in the room quite dark.

    Very good value for money. Everything is high quality and location is good. Reception staff are friendly and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Facilities are old! There is no master switch in the room to shut all lights. The curtain couldn't completely shut either. 2. Staff doesn't speak much English and they are not particularly helpful at all. We arrived late during Chinese New Year. When asked about dinner options, concierge said "Nothing is open. You can try your luck around here". I can't believe this came out of a staff in a major 5-star hotel. He didn't even suggest room service. BAD! (Trump would say)

    location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit too hard and bathroom door wouldn't completely close, but all in all still good

    Staff very well trained and helpful. Much better than in other high end Shanghai hotels. Rooms are great and pool facilities outstanding for a city hotel. Great lunch deals in the steak house

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 25 nights

    There was some confusion with credit card and staff asking me to pay breakfast that I had already paid for. I had a nice view, you can see the tallest building in the city when there's no fog, but the windows were dirty. Other wise everything went well.

    Breakfast has continental and asian options. I stayed for a month and enjoyed everyday. Starts at 6am, great for an early snack if you're jet lagged. Spa is free access and open until 11pm, the water in the jacuzzi was a bit too hot. The pool on the other hand was too cold, never too crowded. Small gym, but enough to keep your routine going. The room was exactly like the photos. I appreciate the room as a shower and a bathtub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was expensive (218 RMB, i.e. 30€) and below the usual standard of Swissôtel. Drawers in the room are microscopic (too narrow to place a folded shirt). Cable TV does not include either French or German channels, which is incredible for a Swiss chain belongig to a French holding company.

    Location is among the best in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately soundproofing of the hotel is bad, you can hear conversation of people from next room

    Location, location, few step away from metro line 2 and 7, and if going to and from the airport by bus same few steps away from the bus terminal, maybe need a quick shopping, across the road is Crystal galleria shopping mall. Around the hotel lots of restaurants with western and Chinese food Famous Nanjin road with lots of shopping malls and luxury brand stores is half block away

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit distant for Bund area. The room lighting system could use a little improvement

    Great structure, close to a subway station in a good neighbourhood. Very Helpful staff. Extremely good pool and Spa and fitness area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all of the staff speakers proper English, not even the concierge or at the reception. Sometimes it was very difficult to communicate

    Amazing Spa with Finnish sauna, Turkish Bath and Swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little frustrating that the staff member that served me did not fully understand the visa registration polices of the PRC - as I have a residents permit and don’t technically need to be put through the system like a tourist...

    Swiss “Hotel” is always a pleasure to stay at...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drainage system of the basin did not work very well at the beginning until we found that one had to lift the cap in the basin to let the water down.

    Excellent location, three minutes' walk from Jingan underground station. Good hygiene.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As with all big hotels, it felt corporate but that was good for a business trip.

    Good business hotel, all amenities covered. Expensive but worth the money to be so central and to have the comfort/size of room to work. Good bar, lovely breakfast and helpful concierge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an unexpected room upgrade with a lovely couch and views over Eileen Chang's former residence. The location couldn't be better. I chose the hotel for the pool as I'm a regular swimmer, and it did not disappoint. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    business centre service to be improved! otherwise it's a good one if you have a business in jing an area and it's convenient to go everywhere and the service is good. breakfast is not worth paying unless it's included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive. We didn't take it. I have booked 1 room with 2 single bed. They give us a room with 1 king size bed. Faucet in the Bath tub was broken. I have Claimed but they didn't repair. Too expensive for this service

    Location very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Swiss Advantage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Booking.com blocked the money for the whole week on my credit card when I made the online booking. May be I missed the instruction on this however I did not realise the implication. On arrival at the Hotel I had to make an additional payment as a deposit. The combined value of the block on my credit card and the deposit I had to pay on arrival ment that I was effectively charged more than the total value of my stay at the beginning of the week. I had money returned to me when I settled my bill. This is the first time I have experienced this when using online booking. The hotel explained that they do not consider the block on my credit card a deposit as it is an arrangements with booking.com. At the time it was frustrating and now seems excessive. It appears that online bookings ony work with this hotel if they are actually paid for up front.

    room cleaning was to a high standard and the breakfast selction very good. I appreciated the lactose free milk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always need to ask for extra bottles of drinking water.

    Great as always! Especially after renovation. Best place to stay in heart of Jingan in terms of money/value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, nice breakfast and good quality of roomservice. The buffet in the evening was a bit disappointing, but for the rest I can recommend staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    exec level club food choices and quality poor, I have been staying at this hotel for over 3 years and it has been getting worse every time. I'm a Swiss Circle Member and I see no benefit therefore I will not stay there in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were signs saying no photography by the pool yet a woman was going around taking photos of everything with her phone which was disturbing. the bed was not soft and the bath did not drain. They wanted 500 rmb plus taxes to use the exec lounge where they only served drinks from 5.30 to 8pm.

    The pool and sauna/jacuzzis were wonderful. Very friendly staff and concierge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms without a view, facing a red wall and very dark. The hotel only offers 2 interconnecting room on each floor.

    Location next to the metro and nearby local neighbourhood

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the bed is a little firm..

    i stay here all the time because of the location being handy for downtown area. Also the subway is 2 mins away for line 2 and line 7. 45mins to pudong airport on maglev and line metro so faster than driving and no traffic stress, especally when leaving china. Food and shopping everywhere here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My credit card was over charged for Pre Auth on check in and staff were not able to provide me with clear information on why it was done. We had dinner in the Chinese restaurant the first night and the team member was sleeping on the desk.

    The location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were large with excellent amenities. Service from staff was excellent. Much cheaper than other options at the time I booked - excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of intimacy (pb of toilets in the room)

    Comfortable room. Lack of separation btw the room and the bathroom, including the... toilets. Nice breakfast, but too much expensive. Good location in jingan, near the temple.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really liked the rooms. They are spacious and comfortable. The Housekeeping neatly organized my things like it was someone from my home doing this for me. Also the concierge team was very helpful, I needed eyedrops on one of the days and they guided me to the nearest pharmacy with the name of the medicine written in Mandarin as the pharmacist did not speak English too well. The hotel is also very well located near the Metro line and big shopping centers and lots of restaurants, so you never have to worry about local food options. Surprisingly there is a Vegetarian Restaurant very near the hotel, which serves multiple cuisines in vegetarian. All in all a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Booking such a long stay through Booking.com was a bad idea. I wanted to leave after 10 instead of 12 days due to change in program, but impossible. Next time I will book directly with them. Also avoid a room on the lower floors. Very noisy (airco). See also attached picture. Luckily they allowed me to move to a higher floor.

    The location of Swissotel is great; add to the European style management, and it becomes a great experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a great hotel with all the amenities and in a fabulous location around the corner from the Jing'an Temple metro station Tip: having the hotel card, and the address written in mandarin is definitely required if using taxis

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would add is an electricity socket close to the desk, in order to charge the laptop when working.

    I reached the hotel in the evening and, as the hotel was overbooked, they gave me an upgrade in the suite room. The room is very big and very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in a convenient location. Nice pool. Rooms are well organized. Concierge staff was very helpful in arranging train tickets to other cities. They also helped me with the purchase of a China mobile telephone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was pretty good but a little less tourist friendly than other areas (further out).

    Great hotel. The room was fantastic (we got upgraded to a suite). The hotel staff was very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Years ago was a 5 starts hotel according to international standards. Nowadays due the management and staff running the business is a pure Chinese hotel. They look to customers as ATMs nothing else. Short vision in every movement they do. Sad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They should have a dedicated room service person on the phone line who is familiar with the in room dining menu. Instead, it's the front desk who answers and depending on who is working they often were not familiar with the menu.

    Bed and pillows were very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing yet so far

    This is my second stay at this hotel, used to stay in Portman nearby, but i found this with better location, staffs are friendly and professional especially at reception and check in and out process are fast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could be more vegan options at breakfast. Air conditioning seems hard to regulate. I wonder if it's even possible to change the air con temperature. It was too hot considering you're supposed to sleep under a giant doona.

    Great location and very comfortable hotel. Staff are always friendly and attentive. I asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel away from the air vents because I like to sleep with the window open which they did straightaway. Couldn't be more satisfied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two small notes to be addressed 1. The Swimming pool had problems and sand settlement but the management did not bother to notify the guests. Only the staff informed me about the situation. I appreciate the staff's information but management should close the pool till the filter it is fix as it is a serious health hazard to guest. 2. The furniture in the room, such as the sofa and the clock had signs of wearing and peeling off shows the management does not put a lot of investment into repairing or keeping their furniture in good condition, which is a pity.

    I had a very nice time staying at Swissotel Grand Shanghai. Everyone from the Receptionist (Stella), Spa/Swimming Pool Reception ladies, Room Service, the gentlemen at the Concierge were all very considerate, attentive, helpful, and spoke great English. The room and property facilities were overall satisfactory, such as the Jacuzzi, with the location close to my office. Overall, I enjoy my experience and if so would choose to stay at the hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi drivers did not know there was a slip road to enter the hotel so they all got lost going in circles to find the entrance, asking us to walk out to the main road or side roads as they could not get in or were on the wrong side of the road. It might be a new entrance or something? Some signage would help the drivers

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were pretty hard, but thats custom in China. You can ask for them to be softer though :)

    Location was excellent. Lovely area with Jing'an Temple just around the corner. Lots of shops close by too and the metro lines 2 & 7 just around the corner too. A short walk from the French concession area, which was lovely. We had a great view at the front of the hotel. There is also a Starbucks a few metres away if you're on a room-only rate!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here 2 years ago and enjoyed it a lot, unfortunately, the prices have sky rocketed at the property and seeing the price of a half litre bottle of German beer at a price of nearly £12 equivalent is daylight robbery. Even the cheapest Chinese beer is charged at 750RMB which quite frankly is scandalous. Food prices have risen steeply too and I will not be staying at this property again as it really is not offering value for money. I'd also forgotten about the beds being more suited to Chinese people who prefer a very firm bed, not like Western styled styler softer beds which I'd enjoyed in a Marriott hotel for my first few nights of my trip.

    Good location close to subway making it easy to get around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative part was they had difficulty in locating my booking.com reservation at first when I checked in (both times). Finally resolved in the end.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are quite hard but softer can be requested.

    Great location with public transport links close very close by. Easy to get to the bund on the bus! Overall amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the breakfast room. Exit door and fixtures need to be repaired. Mobile phone and adaptor located on a noodle table need to be taken away with immediate action - F & B manager of this restaurant need to be trained to a 5 stars standard.

    The location. Fresh fruits and vegetables selected. Comfort chair and bed in the guest room. Good customer service at the front desk as well as their duty manager - Jack.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wasn't aware that we could book a private car instead of a taxi, and it has to be at least 2 hours in advance. Taxi is good for going form A to B, but private car is better to go from A to B to C to D, especially when you need the driver to wait for you to do some shopping and sight seeing ... If the hotel can explicitly tell guests about this service from the beginning, that would be good.

    I was offered a free upgrade to a better room. The staff speak English very well and go out of the ways to make things easy. The staff on the phone speak English very well too. They order a taxi and tell the taxi driver where to take us, we don't need to talk to the taxi driver with our limited Chinese. The taxi that are associated with the hotel are good; their drivers don't smoke, don't speak impolitely, cars are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be good to have electric outlets by the bed to be able to charge the phone and also it would have been great to have a simpler access to the wifi.

    The hotel was very clean, staff very professional and friendly, the location is great also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst staff ever seen in China. Starting from the valet to the reception, smiling and talking nicely seems to be forbidden in this Hotel. For this range of prices, service should be a priority.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Swiss Advantage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not have my reservation at check-in, although I had the confirmation from Booking and showed them that the reservation was live. It took me 20 minutes to convince them to get me a room. And, in the end, I noticed after the check-out that they charged me much more than they should. I will have to contact them to receive the reimbursement. Terrible staff throughout the stay.

    Good location, comfortable room, great views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They should also co-accept other loyalty cards like from the Accor group. The reception area for check-in and check-out; was too small and not enough staff to handle customers during peak times.

    location is execellent!! just steps to metro station. a lot of dining, entertainment and shopping place close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hallway and the room are very dark. There is only one power outlet in the room, it is at the desk so for bedside charging you have to unplug the only lamp there is in the room, making problem no.1 even worse. Minibar was locked so no way to get an extra bottle of water.

    Very good breakfast, except for the coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness only opens at 6am

    Nice club lounge, good breakfast and cocktail hour. Centrally location, can be reach by bus from pudong airport, shops close by; rooms are spacious with nespresso coffee machine. Staff is very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could be more soundproofing - I could hear people in the corridor and in surrounding rooms if they were very loud. But this is rare and you can't hear any street noise, so it's mostly very quiet.

    Large, clean rooms and bathroom. Very friendly and quick service. Staff can speak good English.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The socket near the kettle was not working and the fridge was warm inside.

    Staff at the concierge were super helpful, thank you so much! Comfy bed, good gym and at a convenient location. Very well sound proof, didn't hear any honks from the street (I was at 11th floor) or noise from the corridor even my room is next to the lift.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast far too expensive.

    Great hotel in a good location - can walk many places. Very friendly staff who speak good English. Room is clean and spacious. Shower is big with good water pressure. Free wifi and good internet connection.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug sockets in room could be in better places , really dislike the glass divider in the room if you are sharing with colleagues

    Good size rooms and decent price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Swiss Advantage Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk staff not very warm and friendly. Did not seem have a good command of English, although I spoke Chinese. Very limited space for bathroom counter, must juggle to fit in all the sundry items. Bath towels too hard. Toilet tissues ran low should have been replaced with full rolls after midway through. There was no extra roll of toilet tissues. Toilet tissues also too rough. No face tissues in the room. Must run to the bathroom to get one. Room temperature hard to re-adjust, although I could have ask the hotel staff. Room light switches a bit hard to navigate.

    Nespresso machine in the room. Friendly room cleaning staff. Good cafe food with value. Good and friendly cafe staff. Good room amenities. Good guest room design.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Swissôtel Grand Shanghai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: