Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bund Riverside Hotel

No 398 Beijing Road East, Huangpu, 200001 Shanghai, China

#366 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Good fun
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room-without window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning could use a tune up

    nestled just two streets over from Nanjing Road. All the fun with little of the noise and traffic. Short walk to the Bund. Right by the river

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Bearable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is certainly not a 4 star hotel, though it might have been one 20 years ago. We took a room with a balcony and city view, however the balcony was locked up and in a process of renovation. The balcony door was the only external fresh air opening and not being able to open it was claustrophobic. The "city view" was the wall of the next building.

    The best part of the property is its location, getting to Nanjing is a breeze' same to the Bund. If you are looking for a place to just sleep a couple of nights it is an OK place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    No complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the coffee in the hotel bar! Haha. Worked out to be $7 CDN. Seriously though, it was a great hotel and the staff were beyond helpful. I would stay again.

    No complaints

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel location was great for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management must clean the windows regularly. Also fix the air conditioner, it did not cool the room, while working all time.

    Riverside view was phenomenal. It was the best in our stay.room was clean, except the windows. Hotel is located close to bund and walking street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    2.9
    Only the location is good but the hotel are very old and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very very old the bed is very hard smelly room electric sachet no good all is old im dissapointed

    Only the location is good but the hotel are very old and smelly dissapointed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Big rooms, have complimentary bottled waters everyday,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls and ceiling, can hear next door neighbors. A bit far from subway, not entirely suitable for old people. Reception desk cannot understand, speak English. Far from The Bund

    Big rooms, have complimentary bottled waters everyday, overlooking creekside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    The location is good, the staffs unpleasant, rude , unwilling to help, could speak english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff especially front staffs they are very rude, could speak english and unwilling to help

    The manager named jackson Lu, he was the only person who can speak English and very helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend this to family' and middle aged couples to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much wrong with the place overall. One lift had no carpet and other one that had carpet is a little dated. Bath tube floor was just a little slippery. Air condition is centrally controlled which is a slight issue. So as stated really nothing to complain about.

    We have now stayed at this location 6 times, and we like it. It is good value for money, staff are helpful and it provides good comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in a very central location in Shanghai with nice Bund view from the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I entered the room there was a strong smoke smell.

    The location was very close to Nanjing Road and the city centre with a nice view of the Bund from the room window. The room was very big with a comfortable bed, nice furniture and private bathroom. Staff is friendly and helpfull (they are fluent in English!). Breakfast is both Chinese and international with a huge variety of food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location hotel with nice size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no one to help with luggage when we arrived, especially many steps to lobby floor. Also we did not know the hotel takes deposit almost double of your room charge. But they refunded the deposit on checking out. Room cleaning is very lax, proper vacuuming needed.

    Location and price. It is walking distance to Bund and nearby many local restaurants which are very reasonable and tasty. Bottle water was free and daily replenished. Cruise terminal shuttle bus was a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    2.5
    Crazy! Unprofessional and inconsiderate
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unprofessional. Arrived at 2am and they did not accommodate us. We looked for a hotel around and all of the hotels are fully-booked. Can you imagine that! They let us sleep on the couch til 5am and even told us we will have to wait until 8am only to find out it’s not sure that they will have vacant room. Traumatic! Never again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Second day they shifted us to city view room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not given as was told, we felt like cheated as we had asked for a city view and they didnt give that. Just a small window. That too like a basement window. Also please buy currency exchange from bank as hotel charges too high exchange rates.

    Second day they shifted us to city view room. So was nice of them. Location is very good. Overall experiance was nice. Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    Bed quality was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small. Heater/AC was making lot of noise. Plus, after 930am there was a renovation in upper floor which was noisy too. When I ask for upgrade, they ask for 500 RMP per night which is 2x the online price. Overall, experience was not good.

    Bed quality was good. Bathroom was new and nice. Area is close to Nanjing road and near Metro station. Good connection to exhibition and airports via Metro. Evening one can spend time on Nanjing street for shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall good but have been there before and seen the motel do much than they did this trip.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a little higher than other 4 visits, i have had. No doorman this time.

    Good clean rooms, (except a little mold on ceiling) have stay before so knew what i was getting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful night in a clasically styled Hotel with wonderful service in The centre of Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, I can't Think of Anything negative to say. Staying there really was a blissful experience.

    I Loved The ambience of an older style Hotel But with modern facilities, Even The welcome message addressed to me on The tv in MY room gave MY stay a personal Touch. Also it was easy to find and close to The epicentre Shanghai. I will definitely stay Again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Very good location, walking distance to 南京路步行街,外滩。
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel, although it is clean but It is quite dark..and made me feel gloomy, the furniture, lamp and carpet looks like never changed since 90s.

    Very good location, walking distance to 南京路步行街,外滩。1.8km from 城隍庙. The room’s view is great, with clear river and city landmark view (东方明珠). The old town full of restaurants, taste good and cheap. Nearby is a wet market for locals, interesting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location, many local restaurants, don't expect too much with customer services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the staff at the hotel (some front counter, door man, and cleaning staff) were polite and helpful. Our experience with the check-in/check-out staff (same person) was not completely positive. He would response to our questions with little/no eye contact and very stern facial expression. To some extent, it feels like we were not welcome. Our hotel room has no window and it is relatively dark. Room located at the end of the hallway and my husband has a bad knee.

    Our room is clean and facility is pretty nice. Hotel is centrally located (about 10 min walk to the Bund) and there are many restaurants only a block away from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were exceptionally unhelpful. Two spoke some English but weren't keen to help. An example - someone mucked up my room service order but staff insisted on charging me anyway. When I asked for advice they weren't helpful etc.

    My room was clean / nice and location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is okay and clean place. Location is good. But room was freezing cold, even with heating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold and hair dryer didn’t work properly. Only entrance was via lots of stairs. But concierge assisted with the bags

    Location is close to Metro and main street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    Location is good, close to the shopping district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a room with a view, ended up having a room with a small small window, river view.

    Location is good, close to the shopping district. Nice bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.8
    every time i go back to my hotel room my TV does not work i...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    every time i go back to my hotel room my TV does not work i have to wait for the technician to fix it. and on the last night of my stays I showered at 3:45 AM there is no hot water and it was 0 degrees outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is green and smoke free. Unfortunately it smells of smoke once you get out from the lift to head out to our room. Our next door neighbor smoked in their room. I know so because i could smell it so strong. I had to put the sheet under my door to keep the smell from entering into my room. I almost choked.

    Very near to nanjing st where the happenings and shopping places are. The bund is within walking distance. Nice view of the river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.3
    Mediocre, and not a good value for the price. Would not stay again because of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and not helpful. They were not willing to answer our questions and were quick to dismiss us when we needed help.

    Close to Nanjing Road and close to the subway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    Won't be back
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor service. Lobby lounge not open. Bathroom not replenished. No exec lounge despite representation. No free 2 hrs/day meeting room despite representation. No airport transfer despite representation. No good really.

    Convenience of loacatio

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Nearby to the Bund
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their midnight staffs, cancelled my booking even though having putting the remarks of late arrival. Morning staffs much better in service.

    Nearby to the Bund

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Close to the bund area with good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    - some front desk receptionists are on their phone in late night and unwilling to engage work apparently

    - close to the Bund area - friendly valet at the reception helping calling taxi and carrying luggage - good value for money if you don't want a room with windows, which is good for sleeping too (dark room)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with excellent location and good value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change the room twice because the a/c was not working properly. the first night was terrible. Finally they moved us to a renovated floor where everything is impeccable but it was on the 5th floor so the view was not as the previous higher rooms

    The location and the view in some of the rooms is awesome. It's very clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent in many ways for mid level hotel. No problems in any way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the immediate neighborhood, too many industrial supply stores.

    Excellent location in town. Good restaurants and shopping nearby. In the heart of the Bund area, most popular for tourists.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were small and stinky with really old furniture. I have got an allergy the second I stepped into the room. Also, the aircon was super-noisy. What was advertised as "city view" room was actually a window which looked directly at a residential building 20 meters away. Pretty disappointing.

    There was nothing I liked

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    The Wifi was unreliable, the bar was extremely expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was unreliable, the bar was extremely expensive.One entering the hotel at night, I was asked twice if I required the services of a prostitute by a guy at the door obviously friendly with the staff. My room had no window

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Very nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could hardly watch TV channels. WiFi is very weak. I was hard to use. I wish there was an iron for business travelers. However, I want to stay again when we go to Shanghai next.

    Very nice! The night view of Huangpu River and Oriental Pearl through the window in night was fantastic. The room was large and clean. The better thing is that it does not smell of cigarettes. It was a great trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is very good for sightseeing in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi from the Maglev to the hotel was a disaster - the driver did not show the meter and ripped us off. Should have argued with him more and refused to pay. Hotel shuttle back to the airport was excellent.

    The location of the hotel is very good for sightseeing in Shanghai - easy to get to the underground and close to the Bund.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Stayed there 3 times and will stay there again, when we travel to Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We like it and took our parents there this time. Our 3rd visit to Shanghai. We live in China now and this is the only hotel in Shanghai that we would stay, as it is good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    I wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hotel should pride itself on the cleanliness of its hotel reception conveniences, unfortunately with this hotel it wasn't the case. The hotel lobby toilets were absolutely disgusting.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Close to all you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were three days, my wife and I, in those three days we drsnk 6 bottles of water, they did mot have any price label and in the chec out I have yo osy 268 yuans, 28 yuans each one, it was a robery, I wss disagree but they do not care.

    Close to all you need

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.3
    close to the city center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The personel was very rude! After check in they sent us to the room that has not been cleaned (food on the floor, things everywhere, very messy, bed was not made up). When we came to the reception they told us in very arogant and loud voice there are no clean rooms and we need to wait. We booked and paid for Superior room with Queen bed but they give us different cathegory room (small room, very old, small bed). After asking they just told me the rooms I booked are already full and they can do nothing about that. The cleaning service usualy came about 4 p.m. in the afternoon. Poor quality for a high price!

    close to the city center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    An excellent Chinese hotel walking distance from the Bund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee is drinkable but not great. Like all hotels the minibar prices are on the high side.

    A Chinese hotel (not a western one) in an excellent location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    3.8
    Beware of the deposit process
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the first day of the booking, I didn't get one of the 2 rooms I had booked, and as the hotel was full, I was accommodated within a single family. They have taken a deposit from my credit card, which has still not been refunded 3 weeks later.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the 4 stars they claim to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unprofessional people at the reception. They should have taken an authorisation on my credit card on the first day, instead I believe they have charged me. The deposit is 35% more that the whole stay's costs. on checking out, I had to additionally pay the stay's costs, now 3 weeks later I still haven't been refunded. Staff barely speak English, hotel is not that clean, unless you specifically ask to clean a space in the room, they will not vacuum clean.

    Location is good, near Nanjing East area, easy access to buses and metro, and walking distance from the waterfront. Fortunately got 1 staff that could understand English and help us out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    Good locaiton. Everything else poor. Won't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) The rooms were tiny 2) The city view was terrible 3) The A/C didn't cool the room. (Problem in all Chinese hotels it seems) 4) Upon seeing my room, I was horrified at the view and wanted to switch to a different view and was informed that I would have to pay $50 per day (so about $250 extra for my 5 days) while on Booking.com earlier I had seen the riverview rooms was a total of $50 extra for all 5 nights.

    1) The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location and our room had a view of the river and the incredible Shanghai skyline. The Bund is less than 10 minutes walk away. Staff very helpful. Great breakfast. Considering the location, very good price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Loved the location-easy to get around. The manager, Philip was very helpful and generous in accommodating our requests. It was also an advantage that he spoke good English.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.3
    Good location, big clean room but Unfriendly staffs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs are not friendly. Staffs are not willing to call taxi for you even when it rains heavily, i was told to walk to metro and take metro...very disappointing

    Big room, clean, about 10 mins walk to metro.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.1
    Value for your money nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff behind the counter are such helpless bunch individuals and have no compassion to travellers that just spent twenty or more hours to get there no greetings and they have hard solid faces

    Location and the river view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Splendour over the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some dubious marks on the wall. Room could have done with fresh decor, felt it had not been done for some years.

    Massive bed. Definitely worth asking for river view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Constant smell of smoke in a no smoking floor/room. No Wifi in the room. Wet floor, there was a soaking patch of carpet in the corner of the suite.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Helpful staff and 5 star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to the subway and a short walk to the Bund. I stayed at the economy room without a window. I can say I got a 3 star rate for 5 star service.Pleasantly surprised and greatly satisfied.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.2
    Worst hotel I have ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seriously this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed. Staffs never smile at you, they don't answer your questions, and they don't solve problems for you. We paid for a one-night fee two days before the day we actually checked in and this fee was described as a deposit by the hotel and this mean to be given back to us 10 days ago and we still didn't receive it now, and when we called back to this hotel they said there is nothing to do with them and they will not give the money back. I am literally disappointed with this hotel and I don't know how this can be a four-star hotel. It is dreadful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    2.5
    Search for something better....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude reception, they charged 200 rmb more than the price agreed , room was terrible, a/c was broken, no shower, no shampoo and even hand soap on the room....overall a terrible experience...

    There's nothing to like in that hotel...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were not well maintained. Tiles were lose.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed like concrete

    Location and price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Everything’s ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price more expensive

    Closed to the bund around 15 min Comport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    I don t like that hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad

    Wifi don t working

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Disaster on The Bund
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms without windows, without hot water, old furniture, dirty

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    We have stay here now 4 times and will return every time we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stay here now 4 times and will return every time we visit Shanghai.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.2
    Do not like
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad receiption guy

    Do not like

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    location, close to the Bund
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location, close to the Bund

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Credit card was charged several times and it made the stay a whole mess, but the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard and the staff not very friendly.

    The view from the room was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    It is what it is. If I was in the area I might stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their attempt at English Breakfast was somehow 'lost in translation'.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant can be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old and need to be upgraded. On last day of my stay, the room door n toilet door locks not working!

    Good locality! Near MRT n tourist area!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location, good stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Good location, good stuff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Close to metro and bund
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor english. Dirty surroundings

    Close to metro and bund

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    It was good except that after paying for an extra guest, we didn't get the amenities for the person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid extra for the extra bed, but was not given extra pillows or blanket or towels. That was not acceptable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Good quality service, rooms clean and neat, price was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good quality service, rooms clean and neat, price was very good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic Art Deco hotel by the river lovely view of The Bund
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is amazing!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. Near the subway and main shopping street. Service staff was very helpful too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    great view!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    Good location but terrible service
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff service.

    Reception staff were lazy and unprofessional

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    I was given a free upgrade to a suite, and the views were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a free upgrade to a suite, and the views were absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Position of the hotel and room with view are excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of the hotel and room with view are excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Not bad but improvement needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very courteous. The AC temperature could not be adjusted properly

    The veiw was good.The rooms were large and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Amazing value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No allow people to solicite yiu inrhe doorstep

    Huge room and very comfortable- better value for the money than Sofitel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    We liked our stay at The Bund Riverside.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant at 17th floor is ok for breakfast, but lunch offers were not delicious.

    We liked our stay at The Bund Riverside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.1
    Old Shanghai Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor dated, needs a refurb. Throwback to the 90's.

    Proximity to Subway and Nanjing Road.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable and accessable
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient for moving around

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Bund Riverside Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: