Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Eton Hotel Shanghai

No 535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong, 200120 Shanghai, China

#127 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    6.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extreemly slow staff at check in & check out - one needs to spend 20 minutes in que, even if only 3 people in que very big varity of food for breakfast but mostly chinese. For european cusine only fried eggs, bread & butter + of coarse tea & coffe big road construction

    excellent location in the centre of Pudong. Big clean room, good gym & swimming pool with jacuzi excellent view from the windows - you can see all Shanghai as birds view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.1
    Overall nice hotel in the public areas and, despite the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At arrival, the staff told me that the room I had booked was not available, and pushed to either downgrade my room and keep the same price, or go for a substantially more expensive one. After I refused to change and pressured them - surprise surprise - my initial room turned out to be available. This unapologetic lying was made worse by general rudeness throughout my stay. Furthermore, the rooms smelled of cigarettes.

    Overall nice hotel in the public areas and, despite the smell of smoke, the rooms were nice as well. Location is quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    5.8
    Facilities in room and hotel were complete.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The concierge service was a mess. I think the management should look at improving the concierge support for the size of hotel. The deposit was not explained as well to be 120% of the projected total bill. Only when I received a message from my card company did I know that they held 8k for 5k projected bill at check in

    Facilities in room and hotel were complete. Except they did not provide in-room dining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.5
    fairly good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    could be humid inside, funny smell in shower, not enough light in rooms in the evening, quite expensive when normal rates applied.

    good location, nice rooms with views if you pay extra to be at top floors, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    The short stay was pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I was sick, I requested for fish porridge, cooked with little salt to give me flavour and comfort. But was turn down by chef. I had to settle for the chef standard set. All item separated. Porridge, salt, minced fish, salted egg.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.9
    Good choice if your destination point is close to this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price, rooms are overstimated. In room of my colleague was too high humidity and room was very smelly, like a swamp. Bad ventilation. Bunch of striptease clubs in 100m. Maybe it's an advantage for someone.

    Pleasant view from the windows, nice placement, comfortable rooms. Metro station in 1 minute of walking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the expensive price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't worth the price in cleanliness and quality of the room. Headboard was dirty, the room was dark with such minimal lighting, and the bathroom felt divided into glass cubicles.

    The hotel had great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    7.9
    breakfast;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - low shower preasure; - no shampoo in the bathroom (soap only); - 500 CYN deposit that is still on hold.

    breakfast; location; the view from my room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not appreciate the cockroach waking across the desk when I entered my room. Response was fast though, I was given a new room.

    The breakfast is great. They let me stay on floor 39 to enjoy absolutely great views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    3.8
    Very unprofessional business ethics ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The unprofessional business ethics of booking.com. I booked two rooms. One for 6 nights, the other for 4 nights. Both were special rate, non cancellable. Days later, booking.com wrote to us saying the hotel entered the wrong rate. They were going to raise the rate to an unreasonable new rate. After 2 weeks of communications. They finally agreed to keep my rate @ still 732 rmb per night. My Friend with 4 nights had to leave ok else where. How unprofessional can both Eton n booking.com. We booked with full confidence , once accepted u Honour the price. In my many years of booking with others, it never never happened to me. Just shows, how u Professional booking.com is n both blame each other in their communications to me. Very upsetting, I had to travel to meet my Friend in another hotel during my stay. I have instructed my friends to avoid booking.com n never to stay at Eton shanghai, pudong. What a let down, booking.com. Shame on you.

    View was good. Bath tub was huge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    A Great Place To Stay In Pudong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a little too far away from anything of interest - but that can be a good thing too. Expect to use a taxi to get just about everywhere.

    Located in the Pudong area of Shanghai - This new and very modern hotel is definitely off the beaten path as far as Shanghai goes. It's a 30 RMB taxi ride to the Bund or the Yan Gardens and you have to take the tunnel. We walked to the Pearl Tower in about 25 minutes one night. Lots of nice little restaurants just across the main street and a good convenience store too. The staff at the front desk and concierge were all very attentive and friendly - the doormen were always very quick to get us taxis. There is an ATM just outside the main doors and down about 50 ft. Stay up high to get great views of the River - we stayed in 3223, which did not overlook the Bund but we saw further up the river which was still nice. The breakfast buffet was vast and varied with lots of good Chinese and Western food. Shower and Bathtub were all great and it was very safe and extremely quiet. We had left an umbrella down in the lobby by mistake and when we came back they had saved it for us. Special thanks to Ken in the restaurant for getting me a corkscrew for our wine one night! Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    4.6
    Frustrating moments, can do a lot better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in process took forever. The front desk took so much time that it makes you wonder if their processing systems are outdated. Long waiting queues during many parts of the day. Short staffed. The wifi was horrible. Pointless. Even if it is free, there should be a certain standard to it. The front desk staff look grumpy, but then again so does every person in Shanghai who stands in a uniform, tucked behind a counter. The hotel needs more improvement if it wants to live up to its boastful status as an exclusive 5-star hotel. The development is currently far from being a 4-star. The management is foolish to think those "accolades" that hang on the wall actually mean something.

    The location. It was close to my place of business.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    5.4
    Calamitous, uncaring and ignorant staff - 2.5 star, not 5! Highly disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a great deal to be honest. Overall a poor experience. As an international 5 star hotel, I rightly expected more. After 24 hours of travel, I arrived at hotel for check in at 2pm, which is check in time. There was a line of maybe 8 people in front of me. Over half an hour later, I still have not reached the front desk and checked in. when I finally get there I am greeted with ignorant rude staff who can barely speak English - every 5 star hotel I stay at around the world Fluent English speakers is almost the norm! Not only that, no apology for keeping us all waiting a very long time - completely unacceptable. They also thought a double room was two beds, thinking I wanted to take a bed out!?!?!? I tried to explain there is a double room, then there is a twin room with 2 single beds - they couldnt even grasp that!!!! Room (Double Deluxe) was big but on closer inspection, dirty carpet, scratches and chips out of wooden furniture. TV didn't work, hotel replaced it. Mini-bar was pitiful. 3 miniatures; vodka, whiskey & Bacardi, 2 cans of coke, 2 cans of local lager, 2 cans sprite and each item over £4 each. Not bad price really, but if 5 star, you expect a fully modern stocked minibar, not what looks like a converted caravan minibar with hardly any stock. Ate at the Chicago hotel restaurant - very good food and cooked perfectly. Same problem as reception, no English speakers and the reaction to me speaking English was rude and aggressive, eventually got English speaker. Same experience in Pool with attendant, and with breakfast manager. Breakfast food for westerners was shocking; burnt bacon, cold under-cooked sausages, cold beans or 'Backed Bean' as they called then. Cold eggs, and cold hash browns. Jams were vile, french toast, soggy and flavourless, I could go on. There was no point in complaining as they wouldn't understand what I was complaining about, not only that, Even if they did understand, I doubt they would have...

    Location was near to my business address for meetings. On initial impression, it looked the part, but no, not to 5 star standards, support or experience. Chicago restaurant; Steak cooked perfectly as was the veg, but service and attitude, not. And at 6;30 in evening I was only person in there, says a lot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.1
    The room was really nice and the view from our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff are the worst almost nobody dosnt speek english and they were really unfriendly.

    The room was really nice and the view from our room was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable large rooms, closeness to the metro station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very slow check-in process, wifi did not always work in the room, breakfast was ok, but nothing special

    Comfortable large rooms, closeness to the metro station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    6.3
    fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for breakfast, always short of utensils. front desk slow to check people in and out. the area around the entrance always blocked by cars or taxis waiting to pick guest.

    the location for me is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    6.7
    The view is the only worty thing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from the room (41 floor) is FANTASTIC! And the hotel is in quite a good location.

    The breakfast is quite specific... non-european, and those soya-sausages... My room was not cleaned not a single time. The deposit was a surprise for us. The HAIR DRYER IS NOT WORKING.... The iron was not easy to be installed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing deterioration in service and standard- I have been a regular guest the past few years.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Clear deterioration in cleanliness. Visibly more worn out furniture etc. and lack of maintenance. Too few staff leading to deterioration in staff satisfaction and thereby service. (specially noticable in breakfast restaurant and cafe.)

    Previous experiences

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money option
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff at the front desk need to be more consistent and could be friendlier. Breakfast is way over priced!!!

    The bathrooms are great, better than most hotels at this price point. The beds and bedding was fantastic, no sore back and broken neck.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    7.1
    Nice Hotel but in need of a refurb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place in alittle run down now, the road works didn't help and from my last visit to now the staff don't appear to be very helpful. asking for taxis was a nightmare and didn't get the directions correct, this has never been an issue before in 10 years of going to shanghai and being in this hotel.

    Rooms are OK. close to underground and some cheaper bars. Nice views from hotel rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but average location, might be better in the warmer months when walking is more pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is bit too far out to easily walk to nearest good shops/restaurants etc. Hotel restaurants & bar lacked customers and therefore lacked atmosphere, although the food quality was excellent.

    Good size, comfortable, clean room and excellent bathroom with separate WC and shower cubicles so easier for sharing. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2016

    9.6
    Convenient and quality accomodation, highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roadworks beside the hotel were a little troublesome, but no doubt will make the hotel even more accessible in the future.

    Great value for money. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    6.7
    Good property. Service needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to get hot water in bathroom. Check in and Check out takes super long. Breakfast spread limited.

    Shining property with good views of Pudong ares from other side

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    5.0
    Location very close to metro station and breakfast was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not worth the money spent. The room was humid with mold like odour, maybe due to not properly working air-conditioning. There was a lot of condensate on the windows in the morning. The service was just average.

    Location very close to metro station and breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.1
    The silence and good central position of the Hotel in Pudong.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast price is too high and coffee or tea area available only in the lobby.

    The silence and good central position of the Hotel in Pudong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.2
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities are quite old and service shall be improved.

    Location is great. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    Well priced, fairly unpretentious hotel conveniently situated next to underground station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in breakfast a bit disinterested. Need to smarten up and be a bit more attentive to welcoming guests, showing to table serving coffee etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and comfortable hotel in Pudong area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very nice hotel situated in Pudong ave. Breakfast still same but tasty. Fruit, domestic food and international as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Excelent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive food

    Excelent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Cleanliness, the house keeping is really doing their best to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can’t think of any

    Cleanliness, the house keeping is really doing their best to satisfy you. The bathroom is amazing and big.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    It is nice hotel and I think I will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some dirts and dust in my room ceiling

    Near metro, nice view, staff are very helpful, facilities was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    6.3
    It was OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can hear the voice of next door room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC was off all the time.

    very good service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    6.3
    Housekeeping
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    service center,concierge

    Housekeeping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.1
    nice business hotel in Pudung
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok. The room had nice windows and everything was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.2
    excellent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not all of the personnel speaks English well. or maybe it was just me)

    excellent hotel. definitely will stay there when I am back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    4.6
    A bit frustrated
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet connection is awful

    Near where I want to go

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to stay for business purpose. Lacated in pudong area which is s business district
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi can’t use to access Whattaps

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    7.1
    water pressure of the shower can be stronger
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    water pressure of the shower can be stronger

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.6
    location excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    6.3
    Overall hotel's facilities are good, just the workers there require better training
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room has cockroach, restaurant service (steak house) very poor, and concierge not very helpful (Lee Li)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    6.7
    Wifi was terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was terrible

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.1
    Good fitness centre, clean rooms and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No smile or service from the receptionist. Phone was never picked up

    Room is clean. The gym and swimming pool is great. J

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    7.5
    Location is excellent , walking distance to the Financial...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is excellent , walking distance to the Financial Center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    4.6
    It is not upto 5 star standard
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in was slow and the check out was having a long queue. The counter was not having enough staff to handle the guests

    The bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.6
    Convenient Place for a financial business visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very near to CBD, the financial centre. It even has a shuttle bus service in the morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.2
    Overall good stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    limited menu and in house restaurant facility

    Room comfort

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    6.3
    SPacious clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check in is too slow and the staff at reception is not really helpful.

    SPacious clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    9.2
    often upgrades for free, just ask!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    often upgrades for free, just ask! nice western restaurant with top quality (steak, pizza, happy hour, ..)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable and clean room. Conveniently located near the metro, convenience stores and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.9
    Roum,roum service,komfort ,spa massage,spa
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception personal

    Roum,roum service,komfort ,spa massage,spa

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    6.3
    I couldn't visit my friends in their room as the room...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I couldn't visit my friends in their room as the room cards only allow you onto your own floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    9.2
    Pricing too high
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pricing too high

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    6.3
    Good rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff is not very friendly. Strictly follow check-in Check-out rules. I was not allotted room till 2 PM even though it was available.

    Good rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    8.8
    One night in Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I was granted to executive rooms, with cocktail in the evening and breakfast. All for 450 yuan. Great deal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2016

    7.1
    great hotel with a great location next to subway station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surrounding mess due to construction work.

    Room was comfortable and had a good view.staff were efficient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2016

    7.1
    Service needs improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The queue at the reception was super long and staff were not helpful

    Great breakfast,comfy room snd great swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    8.3
    The view of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The qiult of the hotel is not as good as its view.

    The view of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    10
    Location is close to metro, so easy to get to any places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But Pudong avenue whole area is on constructuion and blocked near hotel. Even if good loaction, it is problem. Staff's exact understanding and care as client asks is not good due to their poor english. Every day bed sheet is not exchanged, so I had to ask everyday(I mean only sheet not blankit and others and I I think bed sheet at least must be exchanged newly)

    Location is close to metro, so easy to get to any places.

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2016

    6.3
    The leisure centre is really great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Food is prohibitively expensive and portions are tiny. Front desk staff are ignorant and cannot distinguish between foreign currencies. The clerk tried to take an authorisation on my card for four times the amount due and after the third attempt the card was blocked for the duration of my stay. It should be made compulsory for these luxury hotels to have a fluent English speaker or else they should only stick to local guests. The furniture in the lobby seems to be from the days of revolution. Business centre closes at 6pm on Friday!!!

    The leisure centre is really great. Well kept, secure and modern.Staff at the concierge desk.

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2016

    10
    The pool was better than any I've seen in a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a lot of construction nearby, but that goes with the territory.

    The pool was better than any I've seen in a hotel. Gym facilities were very good. Location being right in front of Metro was excellent.

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2016

    5.0
    The room rate is reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The lobby smells like inside a kitchen. Some people are smoking in the lobby and sometimes in the front desk and nobody is stopping them. This might be the case in China. The wifi is very very slow and stops midnight in the lobby.!! Also, the hotel is taking unneccessary deposit.! All china hotels are doing so. There is an ongoing construction infront of the hotel main enterence.

    The room rate is reasonable.

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2015

    6.3
    There is a big construction on going right next to the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    There is a big construction on going right next to the hotel therefore there is a lot of noise and also the roads are all blocked off making access to hotel difficult

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2015

    9.6
    Staff are very friendly and speak reasonable to good English.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I got a cheap rate, but the hotel is not very cheap. Quality costs.

    Staff are very friendly and speak reasonable to good English. Location is perfect. Nice warm hotel that breathes good taste and luxury, without overdoing it.

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2015

    8.3
    The position very close to the metro;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I was with a group of other people, we arrived at 2 p.m. and had to wait more than 2 hours to get into our rooms, as they were not ready. The restaurant is not particularly good and too expensive for what they offer. Most of the staff does not speak a good English.

    The position very close to the metro; the room at the 39 floor was spacious with a great view; the swimming pool and the gym. The bed was very comfortable. The kettle. Most of the staff was very kind, though they do not speak a good English. The best were the ladies at the bar in the lobby.

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful and courteous throughout my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Had some difficulty with room service (misunderstanding due to my not speaking any Chinese), but they were quick to rectify the situation and provided courtesy service in compensation.

    Staff were very helpful and courteous throughout my stay.

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2015

    10
    Great Staff - speaking English and Cantonese!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great Staff - speaking English and Cantonese! Room was clean and big. Great value for money - no compromises that I was aware of. Lovely view from 27th Floor.

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2015

    7.5
    Free upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room service was very bad. The mushroom soup seemed just like a microwaved instant soup. Internet was extremely low. I had to connect using my mobile phone.

    Free upgrade. Room was very specious.

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    7.5
    Location, just in front of metro station, nice view, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Realitvely small room,part of the room is occupied by the bath which you hardly used, no possibility to sit together at the table,very expensive services, e.g. breakfast,water in a bar 10 USD/liter, costs of a shuttle from the airport (we arrived late) 200euro, stains on carpets in the room

    Location, just in front of metro station, nice view, nice vestibule

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.3
    Good location, very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    restaurants very expensive and overpriced as was the basics in the Lounge Lobby like tea and coffee. The lack of people in them should make them realize this. Room rate has particularly as it did not include breakfast

    Good location, very helpful and friendly staff. great facilities.

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    7.5
    the staff did their best to help us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Due to circumstances we had to use the laundry service for 10 articles of casual clothing. The bill cost $250 au which was more than the entire accommodation. The pricing is disproportionate to the work involved. Management took no notice and we had to pay. It would have been cheaper to go out to buy new clothes. They need to review the pricing as it has turned me off the hotel completely.

    the staff did their best to help us. room very comfortable. easy access to the metro.

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    8.3
    Free Upgrade to a Suite - the room was very nice, Great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Not convenient location for tourists, Hotel is showing it's age a bit

    Free Upgrade to a Suite - the room was very nice, Great Breakfast, Convenient if you are doing Business in Lujiazui

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2015

    5.0
    Hugh bathtub and separate shower and overall large bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Not sure this rates a 5-star hotel: Very slow Internet, which, in addition to all the blocked sites, including Google, in China, caused problems. Difficult to get the hotel to procure a taxi for me, which forced me to walk out trying to find the metro. While close to the hotel, I got lost and suffered from the high heat and humidity trying to find it. Also, my first room in the hotel, while a free upgrade to a "junior suite," had a bad odor in the front room--perhaps from the new building materials--and overlooked a construction site. I changed rooms to one with a very nice view, though as with the first room, the lighting wasn't very good.

    Hugh bathtub and separate shower and overall large bathroom. Comfortable king-size bed.

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2015

    9.2
    I have to many 5 star luxurious hotels and I can say this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bellman to help us with the luggage or maybe u need to request for one. Check out was very slow and long queue. No chairs or sofas to relax in the lobby. The business center was closed because it was holiday although in other hotels they are open all the time since we may need to print or use the computer in emergency circumstances. The view from the room was not good. Facing an old building.

    I have to many 5 star luxurious hotels and I can say this hotel is one of the best. Ur room will be awesome. The subway station is just in other side of the street and u can go anywhere in the city very easy. Smooth and fast check in. I even had a TV in front of my bathtub which was really amazing. I liked it... The gym and the swimming pool was good as well. The lobby is very nice and beautiful. The lift was so fast and easy. the office chairs in the rooms are awesome. Overall it was a great experience and we will recommend it to our friends.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: