Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Seagull on the Bund

No.60 Huangpu Road, Hongkou, 200080 Shanghai, China

#211 of 802 hotels in Shanghai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 179 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C wasn’t effective and room was stuffy. Attitude and service levels of reception staff, except the man who checked us out, was far from satisfactory.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    comfortable and convenient, great location and views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i think is a travelling in China thing, we know that Facebook doesn't work, but also no whatsapp. at the Hyatt across the road the whatssapp worked fine. it less international... chinese target market i guess but good value for money

    Location great. i am there for business and so the area works well, close to the shipping commercial area but also on the Huangpu river and close the old bund buildings. great at night with a view of the Asia pearl and lights

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    The view, if you select the river view rooms :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I book in advance I am expecting to stay in my room and not be forced to switch rooms because the hotel didnt not get their job done. Repack everything after one night so that other can move it is annoying. The general clean feeling was not to the standards that the hotel claim, dust not being properly cleaned everywhere. Bathroom showed already signs of being "older".

    The view, if you select the river view rooms :) The staff who organized us the taxi on the day of departure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location for shopping and scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - only one lady in the reception spoke English the others struggled to communicate with customers - on one of the nights we could smell cigarettes (maybe it wasn't a non-smoking level)

    - Location (The bund): perfect for beautiful scenery of the Hunagpu River and very close to Nianjing Road. The hotel is in a very safe neighborhood and we never had problems walking around anytime of the day. - Despite their poor English the concierge staff were very helpful, doing their best to help us find what we wanted. - The room was good with a nice view of the river

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.2
    I've wasted one hour for check-in because they lost my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've wasted one hour for check-in because they lost my reservation and due to some tech issue couldn't accept payment via Visa and MasterCard. The next morning I was late for a business meeting because hotel staff could not call a taxi in time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Could not sleep very well due to noise, room was clean and staff was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a very loud speaker just outside the hotel blasting a commercial that doesn't end until very late in the middle of the night making it very hard to sleep. According to staff this has been a problem for years and there is nothing the staff can do about it. The windows are very thin so light sleepers should stay away from this hotel.

    The view is amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    A reasonably priced hotel at a good location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a bit faded. The building and the style is not modern. The breakfast is quite simple though there was a nice cake which I have never tried before. It is better if you contact the hotel beforehand and find out how to get there. Otherwise there are some "criminals" at the airport who pretend to be the airport staff members and try to arrange a "fictional" taxi. I met such a "staff member" with the badge "Lily Staff member" who tried to organize a "special taxi" for me on the second floor where there is no any taxi stop. They even arranged a phone call to the manager who was persuading me that the staff member care about me and the hotel is very far and hence, I need a 'special taxi'. There is a chain of crooks at the airport--drivers, fictitious staff members and "remote" managers presenting themselves over the phone. Another taxi driver dumped me at the next door hotel Astor and refused to give me change. So the best way-- contact the hotel and find out how much the taxi can cost for you to get there or what is the nearest subway station.

    The hotel seems to be not too far from Yu garden and Old Shanghai. The staff is attentive. There is a spa on site, unfortunately I did not have time to try it. They give you a card which roughly shows how much one should pay for taxi when going to different famous places. Otherwise it is easier for taxi drivers to take advantage of foreigners.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    perfect Bund location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant didn't serve lunch or dinner except to pre booked big groups. There are plenty of others locally though.

    Perfect location. Lots of Bund character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.3
    best view in Shanghai, affordable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning is a bit so so in the bathrooms but the sheets and beds are always excellent. Since it is a chinese hotel you sometimes experience a smell of cigarette smoke from the central AC but this will decrease now that the government has banned inside public smoking. The reception boss is not so happy to help and the feeling in the reception is not great. We booked a cab the night before to arrive in the morning, the reception confirmed the reservation but did not acctually book the cab and we had to wait for 30 MINUTES on the street to get a hold of one before they realised they had to call and book one... Not up to par. If a customer reserves a taxi, they should book the taxi and it should be waiting on time. The taxis has changed since uber-services was introduced and it is not always easy to get a cab spontaneously anymore as it was 1995-2016...

    The location is outstanding. Great view if you take a room with a river view which in my opinion is a must! One of the best viewpoints in Shanghai because of it's location at the suzhou creek mouth connecting with the main river at pearl bridge where you can see both pudong side of shanghai and the colonial side. The rooms are ok, the superior rooms are on floor 2-3 and not as high up but very nice. The bellboys, portiers and piccolos are so very nice and great but the reception staff is not so nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.4
    Location next to the river and free wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room smelled of smoke. Lots of noise in the hotel all night. Staff OK but far from friendly. Breakfast was very basic.

    Location next to the river and free wifi

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.5
    Hotel with a View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a non-smoking room but they had those only in higher price range. Even the nearest metro station quite far but luckily taxi rides are ridiculously cheap.

    The view was amazing! Good, versatile breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice Space for relaxing in a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The had my Credit card by asked for Deposit, and only in cash! Not even accepted my Chinese Card! The only way was to go to ATM and withdraw money for them!

    Good Hotel, Good location, Good Staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    4.6
    Good location and views, but desperately needs an extreme makeover!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel needs a very serious makeover. Everything is old and worn out. As you step out the elevator, the musty stench of the passageway carpets invades your nostrils. The carpets in the bedrooms are worn through. Staff are rude and disinterested on both check in and check out. I would rather pay a bit extra and stay in one of the brand name hotels in the area.

    The location right on the waterfront is excellent. If you have a river facing room, the views are superb. For the location, you won't find better pricing in the Bund area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    6.7
    i have informed through booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i have informed through booking.com for a late checkin, but once i reached there they that your reservation was cancelled. then after few discussion they allot a room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.0
    Good location, be careful with the payments!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They are quite cheating. They charge us three times for breakfasts as according to them the card didnt pass. They tried two cards. One mastercard from City bank and mastercard from Raiffeisen bank. At the end I had to pay by cash, but the payments were recorded.

    The location is good. Very near of the Bund and the restaurant with the view of the skyline in perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Terrific sala for breakfeast overlooking the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific sala for breakfeast overlooking the river. Food oitstanding. Excellent coffe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Clean Comfortable hotel rooms a little tired
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff had limited English skills

    Hotel location ideal for bund area with good panoramic views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    Think twice before you choose Seagull on the bund
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't understand a bit of English... Gave us poor rooms and took a lot of time for check in ... Taxis were never available

    Only location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great views, but don't use their restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, especially the restaurant.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    My bank card was CLONED at this hotel only use cash never...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bank card was CLONED at this hotel only use cash never use your debit card

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Turn-of-the-19th-century charm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is exceptional and the interior is stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The bathrooms are clean and the location is great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.3
    great location but lack of english speakers
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff barely spoke english, check out, taxis, services were almost impossible to ask

    The location vs price is the best over the bund

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    2.9
    Good location , beautiful city view , comfortable room ,but...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location , beautiful city view , comfortable room ,but the sound-proofing is not good .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Great Location, friendly service. Cannot fault.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room (No Window)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy rooms and great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    The hotel had an atmosphere of classic Shanghai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was not well organized

    Location and kindness of the staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Not enough vegetarian options
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough vegetarian options

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.3
    it has a history and it is on the Huangpu river forefront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom is small and had water mark on the ceiling.

    it has a history and it is on the Huangpu river forefront.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    the scenery from my hotel's window was stunning !
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's quite a long walk from the metro's station

    the scenery from my hotel's window was stunning !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    6.7
    average hotel well positioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms could have been cleaner, the reception area smelt musty.

    lovely view from dining room, very well positioned

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    4.6
    Location was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    If this package was with breakfast it would have been better. Moroover there was no coffee and sugar in the room with the kettle? It was my first experience of this kind and completely unacceptable

    Location was good

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.9
    comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms a bit cramped, tea and/or coffee in the room poor, no sugar. Poor shower fittings and pressure.

    comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, great position, charming old style hotel

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    5.0
    A very good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Stuff is not helpfull as i imagined They couldn't speak English well. The Air Condition is not working well . They didn't serve Halal Food

    A very good location

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    5.4
    Clean linen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dirty corners. Peeling paper. Asked for milk. Told not possible. Not overly helpful to s although young chap on door was lovely and helpful.

    Clean linen. Fab views.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.5
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's a pity they don't clean the windows more ~ with a view like that, a clean window would be great. They seem to cater for a very Chinese clientele ~ only green tea available and almost no English language programmes on TV

    The view!

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    3.8
    well, basically nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room I already booked was not available for no reason, I waited about half a hour to fix this problem - changed to another room without window. That small room's furniture is pretty old, and has a terrible smell from the bathroom. In one word, its a awful room. Service is bad as well, maybe the staff at reception just don't know how to smile.

    well, basically nothing. Terrible experience

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    8.8
    Proximity to Bund
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They charged me more than the Booking.com price agreed to a week before. So why agree to a price? I think Booking.com should threaten to remove this hotel if it continues to vary prices upon arrival.

    Proximity to Bund

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.1
    Great location and nicely furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was cold and staff refused to put our heating on. The bath plug didn't work so that water leaked out and we couldn't have proper baths. Also the water was only like warm. I asked if the heating could be fixed and was told it is not possible. If the heating was fixed it would have been perfect. But a luxury room is not a luxury room if you are freezing! Pretty furniture doesn't keep you warm! The laundry service was overpriced. The staff wanted us to sign lots of forms in Chinese and were annoyed when we asked them to be explained.

    Great location and nicely furnished.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    5.0
    The hotel is near by town area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room I book have no window, no doubt the weather is cool in china, n the room Aircorn is centerliase by the main counter not in the room but that doesn't mean they off the Aircorn,as we pay high price for the room, with Aircorn supply, my booking of room is 3nite, I told them if they don't on the Aircorn I will check out immediately, but the say the will not refund me the balance 2nite as it will be forfited, I told them no one can stay in a room with 27C temperature, they ask us to up grade the room with window with additional RMB 96 per nite payment, it really rule our family trip , we spend 10nite using booking.com n on Tis 10nite we pay, seagull is support to be 4 start hotel, the things written in ur web of the facilities given "Aircorn supply" is a lie, amount the 4 hotel of the 10nite I used with booking dot com Tis seagull hotel is not worth to be rated 4 start it should be 2 start hotel n the most worse of all it make ppl feel is cheating not worth the value we r paying, would be appreciated booking dot com look into Tis matter, as I also check the comment of ppl given about Tis hotel many bad comment but it was too late for me.

    The hotel is near by town area

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    7.1
    The river view is why we stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a return booking from last year. However, this time, put on a lower floor, with 2 twin beds rather than a large single bed like we requested on the web site. Hotel is still 10 years behind the times - they CHARGE for wi-fi, 1rmb/minute, 120 minutes max/24 hrs. Not worth it; stayed off the net.

    The river view is why we stay here. Very convenient location to the Bund. Nice room furnishings. Higher floors better than lower. Did not try the restaurants, plenty of places to eat outside. Front desk business like (more on the cold side rather than warm). I like it for the view, but Astor House better value.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice wiew over haungpu river .
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the fuse in one room went when we try to ironing

    Nice wiew over haungpu river . Like the atmosphere in the hotell old classical the restaurant outside river wiew excellent good prices.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only available in the lobby and even then you needed to stand in the right place. There were only a few chairs in the lobby and they were not in the right place for wifi..

    The location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.5
    The location was fantastic, the view from our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have been charged twice and we are now waiting for the hotel to cancel one of the charges.

    The location was fantastic, the view from our room was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.1
    The location was the best thing about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was very weak and we weren't able to google anything like maps or things to go and see. We were dependent on the concierge staff to provide this information which they did although it seemed to be quite an effort for them.(We felt very much that we were imposing upon them).

    The location was the best thing about this hotel. The bathroom was pretty old and tired but the beds were comfortable and the lobby was smart.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Location is tops!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WIFI in rooms, only available in lobby. We made a lot of trips from the 10th floor to use wifi. A VPN is essential in China, they don't allow internet connection to western websites, such as facebook or google etc. you must use Baidu. At the airport even my VPN was totally blocked and we could not get access outside China.Print road maps and any thing you are planning to visit before you go. They don't speak English in China, and is is very difficult to communicate. Even the taxi drivers are not interested in a fare from a foreigner. all said though... it was thoroughly enjoyable exploring China, we went to Beijing and Shanghai.The Seagull is a beautiful landmark hotel.

    Location is tops! Right on the Bund, with easy access to downtown sight seeing and wonderful shopping. Friendly staff , room made and fresh towels daily. Romantic old fashioned hotel with old English style furniture's. Location Location Location !

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    location, and service is very convenient for travelers...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    - I never like the foods as foreigner, the breakfast should be improved to add more choices that suites western people, as middle astern nationality, I never had breakfast there. - wi fi is only free at the loby, should add this facility to rooms as well free, they charge RMP 120/day for using cable internet, no body still use cables any longer .

    location, and service is very convenient for travelers either for business and pleasure. easy hitting both sides of Shanghai , Pudong / city center.all what you can need is in nearby

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.8
    location is outstanding if you chose a river view room,...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    there is a bad smell of plumbing drainage in the back side of the hotel, every time I go I noticed. breakfast is not suitable for western people.

    location is outstanding if you chose a river view room, nearby by pedestrian entertainment , near by famous shopping street (E. N.R).convenient location for both airport.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OK for a short staying, but it could be considered expensive bearing in mind the status of the building and service. Views to the city are quite dissapointing. Showers are too old. Part of the staff wasn't too friendly. Breakfast it's too expensive. No Internet in the rooms nor in the hall.

    Great location. The restaurant Seagull, besides this building, is perfect to relax after a never-stop walking day.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    Location is great, just a five minute walk from the Bond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi is awful: none in bedrooms and accessible in the lobby only on a few spots and until 21:00!

    Location is great, just a five minute walk from the Bond. Really nice 1930s lobby.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Could have been cleaner. Poor internet connection in lobby. Expensive Internet in rooms.

    Great location. It is actually on the waterfront, unlike many other "bund" hotels.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.3
    Location and view from the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast! If you're a Chinese tourist, then there's no problem. But westerners like to be given knives and forks (which were not provided, even when asked for - by the staff who barely spoke any English. I'm not being judgemental : they really didn't know what a knife was), like to have their own tables (not sharing with people they don't know) and like to be shown to their seat and offered tea or coffee. None of this in this hotel. The English of the Chinese reception staff was better but still poor. Remember, this is a Chinese run hotel for Chinese people.

    Location and view from the room . You can see both sides of the Bund. Price was quite good for the location.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    6.3
    Room service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have booked for non smoking rm but they provided smoking rm saying that if u not smoke than its non smoking It was smelling due to carpet

    Room service

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    7.9
    Location, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    check-in/out personnel and concierge are not very friendly. The view was nice but the windows were filthy.

    Location, comfortable bed. Nice doormen.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    The staff were excellent, friendly,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no table to use my laptop computer. I don't think there was a business centre. I was not informed by the staff.

    The staff were excellent, friendly,

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    4.2
    This hotel is old and needs a clean up.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is old and needs a clean up. Noisy outside till about 11 at night . Check in was a night mare and no wifi in rooms. Bathroom needs a makeover. No taxis want to travel from here.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    6.7
    I like the view and accessibility of the hotel in tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didnt like the staffs who cant communicate well in english, having a hard time to understand each other. The wifi is very slow. The breakfast has no new choices everyday.

    I like the view and accessibility of the hotel in tourist spots.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    5.4
    Quiet area close to the Bund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No small shops or street food nearby. Decor more like a 3-star typical Chinese hotel. Given twin room instead of double room on the 5th floor, with a bad view of the city. The windows more overlook the Bund than Lujiazui. Dirty walls in the bathroom - need renovation. And no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby.

    Quiet area close to the Bund. Fantastic, very helpful staff who helped me find my missing passport. Easy to find. Convenience store nearby, and a Hyatt with an amazing roof bar.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.5
    Night shot huangpu river from window room ,and waibaidu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staffs look unfriendly since they have limited english speaking

    Night shot huangpu river from window room ,and waibaidu bridge close to the hotel , free wifi at lobby hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    The view is so nice
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Price

    The view is so nice

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff--both receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too far from metro station.

    Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff--both receptionist and porter team.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    i would wish more no Smoking rooms (only second Floor is no Smoking)

    excellent location

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.1
    service and personal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    fare from the transport

    service and personal

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    view from 10th flor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    weather

    view from 10th flor room

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    9.6
    The location, staff and free upgrade :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Nothing bad about this place

    The location, staff and free upgrade :)

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    8.3
    A very good location but a bit expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facilities are old.

    A very good location but a bit expensive. Very easy to go to waitan by walk, ca 10mins.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable bed - great size of room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff not friendly - not a good hotel for non Chinese speaking visitors

    Comfortable bed - great size of room

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable.
    • Solo traveller

    Internet inaccessible for a few daytime hours. Distance from a subway stop.

    Clean, comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    6.3
    I paid for my hotel room ahead of time online.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I paid for my hotel room ahead of time online.. but they made me pay all over again once I got there!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.8
    Close to The Bund, Nanjing Road etc, The staff are always...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Close to The Bund, Nanjing Road etc, The staff are always friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    5.8
    3 min walk from my meeting.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    mold in AC and bathroom. very old feeling to everything.

    3 min walk from my meeting.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    8.8
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints.

    The view!! It's a hotel with old-time charm and great location. Our two rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    6.7
    Good location, size and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel whilst grand from a distance was slightly run down and the bathroom was not as clean as I would hope.

    Good location, size and services.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.3
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location river view

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Seagull on the Bund traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: