Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel

367 Huanshi East Road (opposite the Garden Hotel), Yue Xiu, 510065 Guangzhou, China

#59 of 555 hotels in Guangzhou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2715 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    I late check out 5-10mins late 2.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I late check out 5-10mins late 2.10pm and reception says I have to pay half day , after my explaination day waived it , I am not first time stay , previously was no issue upon 2pm check out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    In generally its service for 4 star not 5 star
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad smell in the breakfast The bad WiFi in the room The resepection staff it’s very tuff We have more things should be change or make good mantenance in the room

    The location The service in the main door

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Could b a lot better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th above comments

    Location......room allocated was vry small....breakfast not incl in prc.....it shud mandatory...lobby shud b much much bttr...too little sitting place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff couldn't speak english very well

    The location of the hotel is perfect, and has a lovely restaurant at the back of the hotel. Shops are great within the hotel too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff free upgread bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blackfast everyday same even I was visit after 3 week also not much different menu.

    Staff free upgread bedroom.I was very happy with no smoking area level.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Not equal to its reputation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtains were visibly mouldy. Facility is dated and not very carefully maintained.

    Excellent location and food. Clean for the most part.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Poor experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their thug management

    Pathetic staffs and no cooperation with customers . Overall experience was bad ocean hotel is much better . Baiyun staffs try to thug customers with the deposit in their hands

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    I arrived at the hotel about 0.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at the hotel about 0.30 AM. I booked the hotel by booking and i had booking reservation number. At the reception they told me they cannot consider my reservation, because they dont have somebody to check if it is true. I told them i have that email from them with reservation. The manager told me that email is not from them, anybody from the street could write that email so they are not responsable for that email. So they ask me to pay the higher price first and they will check in the day time my reservation number. In the time i staied and talked with them, another two guys had the same problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    Average not happy with the price paid
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is becoming worst now -The bathroom water pressure was not good and overall cleanliness not good Even i asked to clean room they did not cleaned the room . -The bed was having dirt particles and hairs on wash basin even after cleaning This hotel is not worth the price now

    only the reception and entry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel staff was prompt and courtious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurants were pricey and no decent vegan food. The food ordered was not well cooked and even my chinese friends didn't like it.

    Hotel staff was prompt and courtious. Rooms cleaned regularly. Right next to metro station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Next to a Turkish restaurant, Upscale Shopping Mall and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    TV and Bathtub are too small.

    Next to a Turkish restaurant, Upscale Shopping Mall and Taojin Subway Station, Walking distance to Walmart, KFC, Moda Ice Cream, Starbucks and 7 Eleven. Taxi to other busy area such as Beijing Road or ZhuJiang New Town cost less than RMB 20. Cost about RMB 40 Taxi to Pazhou. From Taojin to Pazhou station, takes about 35mins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little hard, it took me a couple of nights to get used to it.

    I stayed the a whole week in their Deluxe Double room in April. For all their amenities, and service from their staff, the front desk, concierge and housekeeping I would say it is value for money. The check-in was a little slow as there were certain required procedures, but after that it was an enjoyable stay. There was a huge bathtub with bath soaps and relaxing music with a side table to put your drinks in the middle of the entrance as you walk in your room, a lounge chair in the bedroom if you like to spend some time reading. The housekeeping is very speedy, they clean your room when you go for breakfast, and if you have laundry, it is done by 6pm the same day. Wifi is a little spotty at night, I have dined at the Western Restaurant a few times and went for their buffet dinner. Although it is a little pricey, it is a great way to sample Western/Cantonese food, and if you have a bottomless pit for a stomach, it is worth it. I am not familiar with Guangzhou, but in a taxi, no place is too far away, I did not pay more than 25 yuans anywhere, plus the hotel is connected to a mall, and there is a 7-eleven, plus a Starbucks around the corner. I would go back without hesitation to this hotel because of the service. One day, I walked in the lobby area with more shopping bags than I can handle, and the bell boy rushed to my aid to help me with them. If I needed help with a direction, I could always ask the conciege to help me write it in Mandarin, they never put on a sour face. And yes, I do recommend this hotel if you have never been to Guangzhou before.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    overall it is alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is fine if the operating system using android, otherwise no connection at all. As check in time has to be at 02.00 pm or later, suggestion to come to hotel not earlier then.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    The lobby connection with the mall and area
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff did not speak English, the staff did not inform us about facilities or local area, they did not have the metro map. There was not wifi inside the room or tv signal.

    The lobby connection with the mall and area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    There is a good chance I will stay here again during my next trip to the Canton Import Export fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The restaurant was way too expensive, considering there were many places to eat close by, including some very inexpensive small traditional Chinese restaurants

    Overall a very pleasant experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient Location!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big negative for me was the smell of cigarette smoke on our floor. We even had to change one room as it reeked of smoke from previous guest. The smell of smoke was really a big inconvenience, I do not believe it should be allowed in any public spaces especially hotels, where you need to consider your other guests. This was really a big concern for me, to the level where I would probably consider a different hotel for my next stay.

    The Location is excellent! Have a lot of great restaurants and coffee shops around to choose from. A favorite for us was Modo, a really short walk from hotel entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Room was good .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front office and security, they stopped us from going to the room even after us showing the room keys they made us go to the front office and request them to let us . This is after we staying there for 3 nights already . They were arrogant and just wanted to trouble us maybe coz we were Indians .

    Room was good .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    ok, but probably WONT stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    somebody should tell the front desk we are paying customers and should be treated as such. bad attitude. price is different than booking.

    hotel is ok, staff is not nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    nice but dissapointing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the front desk staff need to know how to be more helpful and nicer, they dont smile, for a quality hotel like this, they definetely need to be more human and less robot. other than the visiting situation, just dealing with them checking in and out is not pleasant. they dont do anything to make you feel welcomed.

    the hotel is good, the staff seems like they go out of their way to be confrontational, i had somebody come by to drop something off, he had the room number but not my last name, and they refused to something as simple as to call the room to let me know he was waiting for me, this after me previously calling the front desk to let them know of my visitor, he was made to wait 30 mins until he finally was able to get in touch with me and i came down. totally unhelpful and when i confronted the clerk she was standoffish and smirky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel the mattress is stiff hard mattress all rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great , out side two Turkish Resturant and Italian cafe

    Good hotel the mattress is stiff hard mattress all rooms same issue since long time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel blamed to Booking.com for every thing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel did not charge the amount at which it was booked and further did not clerify when asked. Our security deposit was also not returned without any justification. The hotel did not give us proper proof of booking, advance or security deposit and then final adjustment at the time of check out.

    The hotel provided us registration of Canton Fair at their premises and also provided bus facility which we liked most.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    they are playing with the rate of rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they are playing with the rate of rooms I knew that they have new rooms (redecorated one) this is my second time i book and upgraded my booking but still in bad one now i new they manipulate with discount with very bad rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Great hotel with many dining options near the location all...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manner we were spoken to in the lobby bar has ensured we will not stay at this hotel again. It seemed strange that one individual bar staff member refused to accept room charge, and insisted on us paying cash. This lead us to think he was not being 100% transparent with us and his motives of what he would do with the cash. It put us in an uncomfortable position which lead to us getting the hotel manager to help us pay for the bill via room charge **beware**

    Great hotel with many dining options near the location all staff apart from lobby bar were very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Always Wifi disconnect and very old repeated TV channels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    The Wifi were very poor and many times disconnect . The TV channels are very poor for international guests, just one channel of English movie which always show very old repeated movies Tnx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.8
    Herewith, let us share our experience about staying at the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Herewith, let us share our experience about staying at the hotel Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel from 21/04 till 25/04/2018. We’ve booked 2 rooms via booking com : Business Double Room & Executive Room . Total paid-13 888 CNY . In reality, rooms turned out to be small and old . The main frustration was about Executive room. Though we’ve especially asked to have bath instead of shower in the room, we were given room with the shower. The hotel refused to give us the room with the bath despite of the booking …. Things , that additionally spoiled the impression : 1. Unfriendly and slow receptionist – we’ve being waiting for 30 min for check in and 20 min next day to book the breakfast 2. No sitting /waiting area in the lobby except few narrow benches on the right side of the lobby 3. Deposit – we were asked to pay 2800 USD deposit in cash !!! When we refused, saying that in Four Seasons we used to pay 400 usd, they said OK, pay 500 usd. Strange difference , isn’t it ? 4. Very small bed – 2 people of normal built, could hardly fit in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Worth staying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices are a bit high and corridor was smelly on 28 floor . Complained to cleaning staff as well

    The location, cleanliness, Receptionist Amanda and Vicky were very helpful , close to halal food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Extremely pleasant stay . Very satisfying.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complains :)

    Overall a good property with excellent location and such courteous staff talking and understanding English which is a rarity in part of the world. Very good breakfast .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Good place, definitely not my last time there
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has good reputation so many people wanna be there while coming to Canton fair,what makes the front desk busy all the time, so waiting for check in and out is a little uncomfortable

    The location is good,just out of the taojin metro station.the hotel earned his reputation by giving amazing service by a great crew. This hotel is a regular place for me every year while coming to GZ. I warmly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was old, musty, carpet was stained, the faucet was broken, no water pressure Not worth the money. The rooms that are not renovated, are not those of a 5 five star hotel.

    Service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    I might come again to this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet very skow When I arrived at 3 pm room not ready So gave to wait 1 hour Asked for late check out untill 4 pm refused they give to 3pm

    Location is near metro just infront of hotel Staff friendly Room cleanness Bed comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.2
    Not recommended, many options near by can be much better to stay as crown plaza or the garden
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room check-in took a very long time, reception staff english speaking abilities is suboptimal Ladies outside the hotel offering escort services, massage ...etc Rooms are out dated and noise is horrible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet speed though signal is strong is slow at times. I requested for a non smoking room but got a smoking room instead.

    Location. It is attached to a mall but mostly selling branded stuffs. The bed mattress is firm which I liked. Going to the fair was easy with buses every 30 mins which was free. There is a Starbucks about 5 mins walk from the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    INSPITE OF BOOKING NON SMOKING ROOMS THRU BOOKING .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    INSPITE OF BOOKING NON SMOKING ROOMS THRU BOOKING .COM WE WERE GIVEN SMOKING ROOMS. HAD TO CHANGE ROOMS TWICE CAUSE OF SMOKING SMELL. NOT EXPECTED FROM BAIYUN HOTEL

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Definitely my preferred hotel to stay at in Gaungzhou
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very long wait to check-out in the morning - no difference between check-in and check-out line and a group arrived just before we wanted to check-out.

    Very good breakfast - help desk was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the reception the people should be able to speak better English and waiting time for checkin and checkout should be less

    The breakfast and the room size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    sweet and enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Communication in English & French with the population by providing city guides interpreter services.

    Bed very comfortable, room space good. Aeration and air conditioning well adjusted. Small amenities provided catered for all customer needs. Security and helpfulness of staff excellent. Artistic lobby center piece decoration well done with natural materials eye catching as always.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    Very bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelly , I book executive but they close executive lounge no privacy no value for money room humid they put humidifier , check out long time , waiting my bad 20 min to come from room

    Shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    We were on business trip internet was very slow .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on business trip internet was very slow .I did not get the room that I booked .They said the room they are giving to us is better than the room I booked.I booked non smoking room but my room was near the smoking room and I always got the smell of smoking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.6
    Pictures are nice but the stay was terrible and would not be recommending to anybody!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds were extremely hard and was difficult to sleep and be comfortable. We had booked three different rooms with our group and one of the heating in the room was broken and instead of changing rooms they had opted to roll in a small heater - which was still not warm since we traveled in February. They had rooms available because when I had asked to upgrade one of the rooms there were still rooms they just chose not to move them. The food at the restaurants there was sub par. Couldn't drink from the tap water but unlike other hotels that I've stayed in the area they limited you to the consumption of water bottles on a daily basis. They permitted smoking and so the halls smelled like cigarettes and they would be smoking by the elevators even though there is a no smoking sign right there. There was a funky odour that lingered in the main floor, and I am of Asian decent so I'm used to certain smells but this was unbearable. They don't heat the common area so it was ridiculously cold! Even the restaurant we had to wear our winter jackets and scarves to eat, you would think that they would consider turning on the heat considering the prices that were paying. I travel to this area alot for business and definitely would never stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.3
    Air Conditioning was stuck on Very hot .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Conditioning was stuck on Very hot ... I could not cool the room down in any way even with the window open a small bit and the Aircond turned off.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.4
    Definitely not five star quality, stay away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything feels old and run down, three star at most. They gave me a breakfast coupon, but when I finished breakfast, they asked me to pay, saying the check-in staff gave me the coupon by mistake. Bad experience.

    Good location, reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Very satisfactory and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel lacked a bar of its own. For a five star hotel it's nice to have somewhere to sit and relax, especially late at night, and preferably with some live music. When I checked in there was a problem making the deposit. The reception didn't want to accept a debit card because the money might exceed what would actually be due and there might be problems making a refund. They wanted a credit card, which I don't have. In the end they did accept a debit card. I had no problem settling the bill with a debit card at the end of my stay.

    The hotel is quite luxurious. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, right next to the metro and an excellent shopping mall. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    Needs renovation, but position is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some heavy renovation, i stay here often, but rooms are worse every time. My room smelled smoke (that happens frequently even if I ask for no-smoking room).also they sometimes cant give the bed chosen (i often get a twin bed room instead of king bed). And thet are sooo slow wheb checking in and out...

    The location is the plus of this hotel. And the restaurant at the ground floor serves very good Chinese food. I was upgraded to a superior room which is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    Enhance Guests Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of seats close to the Reception area for guests whilst waiting for service. Lack of hand held shower in the bathroom.

    Hotel locate infront of thd shopping mall and walkinv distance to MRT station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, easily access to public transport, beautiful...
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Could not be able to adjust the air con temperature via the panel in the room

    Great location, easily access to public transport, beautiful shops and good restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Very Fabulous!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    location is perfect few steps away of Metro station, Elite room is perfect and are located in the higher floors which have a nice view of the city. Breakfast is cool specially for Muslims :) Houskeeping very helpful. I've used the Hotel safe for free and its very useful Massage is available but a expensive. Taxi service is available and they help you by translating the english address to taxi' drivers. Just few steps from Al Sultan Restruant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent stay except for the above comments
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a checkout time at 4:00 PM. I have pay half a day to make the check out around 6:00 PM. So, I went to get my luggage down, I was late about 10 minutes. At this time I had more than 4-5 calls to move out from the or I have to pay more money. I do not mind to pay more money, but to get so many calls in this short time, I do not think is fair. They should consider the concept of customer relation and money is not everything.

    Close to everything I needed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    Have stayed here 5 times original room ordinary and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and badly in need of updating

    Have stayed here 5 times original room ordinary and very small but transferred to new room which was what I had expected

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.2
    Not the best choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is a major problem. Its very slow and they dont have international vpn so cant access facebook, whatsapp, google, gmail etc. Also the shower thermostat setting is complicated. While having shower the water turns from very hot to very cold on its own. I booked the executive rooms. Not worth it the price. For International travellers Westin or Sofitel is much better.

    Most of the staff was able to communicate in English

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I don't like.

    This is the 3rd time I have stayed in this hotel. I like it for its location right next to Taojin Station & close proximity to several good eateries. During this trip, I've noticed a marked improvement in the service level from the few staff who attended to me. Special mention to Amanda (I hope I got her name right) who coincidentally attended to my recent 2 check-ins. She went out of her way to try accommodate my request for early check-ins. Strongly recommended to anyone looking for a good Guangzhou hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    good hotel. will come back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception is always busy and take a long time. the beds are pretty standard in comfort.the whole internet is blocked.

    hotel is a standard hotel. very standard rooms,clean and normal size. most of the staff speaks english and helps alot with the taxis.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    When i check out ,I request to park my car till lunch and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i check out ,I request to park my car till lunch and shopping, two hour,thay accept,But finlly I have to pay parking chages ,nobody's understand

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful pearl near Taojin metro station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. Maybe the breakfast buffet can be improved. But overall nothing upset me. If that was the case i would not have stayed 10 days two years ago and this year 11 nights. There are many hotels in Guangzhou and I would have reconsidered my choice. But no Guangzhou meets my expectations each time.

    I was first upgraded to a vip room in the 25th room giving nice views on the Garden Hotel. I liked it. However there were works going on right next to me refurbishing a few rooms. I complained and I moved to an other room. Very nice, modern, quiet and comfortable on the 11th floor. Not my first time there i lile Baiyun and location is v central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    Quite disappointed even though I knew and liked the hotel since childhood as a local Cantonese
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My impression is the cooperation among different departments of the hotel were not that seamless or guest-oriented. I booked a twin room three months prior to my arrival, and explicitly wrote in the remark of my booking that we would arrive at midnight due to our late flight. However when we arrived after midnight, the hotel told me there was no twin room available. But I overheard the employees at the front desk discussing with each other, that there were twin rooms available indeed, but they were reserved for Bureau of Tourism so the front desk was not allowed to give us the room. After long time searching, the front desk upgraded us to an executive suite, but still it's a double room. As a double bed was not suitable for me and my friend, finally we could only solve the problem by adding an additional spring bed in the living room. And the next day we moved to a real twin room. As a guest of a five start hotel, my wish is, if I booked a twin bedroom and explicitly specify my arrival time, I would get it at check-in, and didn't need to wait 30 minutes at the front desk hoping I could be lucky to get twin beds. On Nov 13 we had to check out from the superior room and checked in to a standard room. Front desk promised us the new room cards would work and our luggage would be automatically moved from the previous room to the new room. Nevertheless, when we went back to the hotel in the evening, we found out with our card we could not enter our room nor the elevator, and when we finally entered our room, the luggage were not there as expected... Again it took quite a while till we settled everything...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    Good location and easy shopping area around .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taxi drivers in Guangzhou are big cheaters they took me long way and charge over 225 RMB for both times ( sorry it's not hotel fault Room size are okay not too happy. Good view from room.

    Apart from view and location , i don't impress much. Thanks for fruits and free water ( 2 bottler per day ).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    The bed was very stiff, hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aircon not working and the very hard bed

    The bed was very stiff, hard. The room was nicely decorated, although it was warm in the room and the aircon didn't seem to come on so I kept the window open.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    When I arrived, the check-in staff told me Booking.
    • Couple
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived, the check-in staff told me Booking.com has sent twice the cancellation to the Hotel, which I was never Aware. I still Need to clarify this with booking.com. After 10 min alignment finally we were able to get a room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.3
    NOT FUN A DIRTY DATED HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was dated / dirty/ the buffet on the 30th floor was very poor quality and very dirty the bar was the size of a shoe box . The staff and security very rude not a place to stay unless you cannot find anywhere else very disappointing

    just the location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    The airconditioning was too intensive and I could not really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The airconditioning was too intensive and I could not really adjust it to my comfort level. Basically, it was blowing the cold air all the time, and was quite noisy. So, I had to switch it off at some point during the night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    It’s an excellent hotel with fair price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WC do not have water line in order to be used whever guys finished . In addition we recommend to add more English and Arabic TV channel since hotel has several foreignal gust at least the international one for the news

    Hotel is an excellent one and adivse other to use it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    It’s one of the best hotel I stayed ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checking in and checking out was easy and good. No time waste. Excellent staff service. Exallent restaurants. Very clean room. Very friendly. Most of all one of the best location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a one night stay at Baiyun Hotel. Usually I stay at Garden Hotel across the street but choose Baiyun because of a good rate. However the Hotel was disappointing as they did not manage any request I made: 1; I ordered breakfast to the room the night before, but the breakfast never arrived and I had to call for it. 2; I had in advance requested a late check out (14.00) that I had to request again upon check in, but even with the request granted the room key stopped to work early and I had to spend extensive time at the reception to fix this. Basically the hotel didn't manage to fulfill any simple request and that is just too sloppy for a 5 star hotel. Will go back to Garden Hotel on my next trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location and facilities in Taojin Metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff barely spoke English. My room was a bit dated, bed was hard.

    Lobby was very nice, beautiful sunroof pool with a view and a Spa with steam room and sauna. Very nice restaurant with many options for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Old room with old furniture.Last time i have new room.Usualy for booking.com costumer.

    Good service and location of hotel.Also comfortable bed.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Was kind of happy and guess i will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 18 nights

    close to bars & restaurants sub station 100 yards away from the hotel entrance other than this nothing to smile about

    Great location rooms a lot smaller than the on line images room should have had a bath but only a shower lifts took a long wait great bus service to the fair & back each day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A big room on the 25th floor with an excellent view. Add to this a very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi good above ground floor. However, one would need to check bookings, emails, bank accounts, etc. in the lobby when checking in or going out for various adventures, or preparing for take off.

    They helped us very much with our baggage last day after checkout and we continued to do shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant room-cleaning crew in 28th floor, making sure...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Elite Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast time: Saturday, October 28, 2017, 6:00 AM - Extremely arrogant cook, refusing to cook for us 4 over-medium eggs, totally ignoring us. At 6:05 AM, the egg tray was empty, at 6:25 - upon our departure to airport, the egg tray was still empty. The front door staff just shrug their shoulders and did not help at all. For USD 220.00 per night ? Not anymore.

    Very pleasant room-cleaning crew in 28th floor, making sure that we have all we need 3 times a day. Thumbs up ! Great improvement in English language skill of the front dest staff !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Central location , big rooms , polite staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning was not working to heat mode to many rooms.When I complained all they could do is to bring a small heater. Besides the reception desk, the level of english to rest of staff was not good for communication.

    Central location , big rooms , polite staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Good for a couple days stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air condition hard to regulate.

    Good hotel to stay for a couple days. Fast check in and check out this time. Clean and modern room. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast is very bad
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast is very bad bed too bad bathroom too small and very old very noisy all the night from the near pub which we couldn't sleep all the night then we ask to change the room Room rate very high which deosnt worth the standers of the room I don't recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Great experience at Guangzou
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the food was a challenge but this is obviously due to different cultures. Plus language barriers, I think you should have more staff that speak English

    The personnel were friendly, well organised & expedetious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    If I ever return to Guangzhou then this is the hotel I would choose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was unable to call reception from my room in order to extend my stay. Phone not answered.

    A beautiful looking room in a 5-star hotel for a superb price. Excellent value for money. Very safe, well run and with friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    We will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be improved.

    Excellent location. The hotel is right beside an upscale mall which is great for shopping and dessert at the Godiva cafe. Loved the room. Bed was super comfy after walking around the markets the entire day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    It was a good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The English movie channel just one channel available (channel 30 ) which repeat showing the movies many times and it is pity for a 4 star hotel . The internet Wifi connection disconnected many times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    It was a pleasant stay in the BaiYun Hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    location location location!!!! It locates in the center of the city, and close to everything: subway station, bus station, taxi always around, malls, restaurants etc., It is so quiet inside the hotel (especially in the room), even it faces to a major avenue of the city.. Staffs (and the housekeeping) are so nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: