Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Colombia hotel reviews
  3. Antioquia hotel reviews
  4. Medellín hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Black Sheep Medellin

Reviews of Black Sheep Medellin

Transversal 5A 45-133, El Poblado, 050034 Medellín, Colombia

#82 of 300 hotels in Medellín

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hostel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2019

    10
    This is a hostel where you want to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all was good :)

    Great hostel if you want to meet other backpackers its a perfect place. has a nice social area ( couple of them actually) Staff amazing very friendly, explaining everything, helpful. Great job :) great area as close to metro ( 5 minutes walk) in centre of El Poblado ( where gringos want to be) Wifi very good works fast. Close to bars, shops, clubs and restaurants ( all walking distance) HOT WATER in showers - loved it as this was the only hostel which we had with this in Colombia

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    9.2
    Social areas, cheap beer & great sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all was awesome

    Social areas, cheap beer & great sized rooms. The hot water shower was great as was the comfortable beds - the wifi was really good too. From the first moment we felt very welcome & the team were helpful to give us maps etc

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    9.2
    Super hostel for exploring Medellín
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had fan but it was still a bit warm for sleeping.

    Good location. Very helpful staff regarding activities etc. Good space to relax as well as nice large room.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    10
    Warm showers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work! No main bar just a fridge to help yourself

    Warm showers! Really social and fun place!! Cheap beers at bar! Super welcoming and friendly staff always happy to help! Big facility so you don’t hear the music in your room! Close to main area with bars and clubs!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    7.9
    Clean, modern, sociable hostel with everything you need in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a bit confusing having arrived at night and told to hang around for ages, without an explanation why, before I could check in. The member of staff, who didn’t speak much English, then said my bed in the 4 dorm wasn’t available, again no explanation. She then took me to a 6 bed room and directed me to a bed which had clearly been slept in. When I questioned this she said she knows it looks like it had been slept in (bed was made up unlike the other new ones and covers were rumpled) but it hadn’t. I spoke to the other people in the dorm and they said someone had been sleeping there - so I chose another bunk! It’s also rather crowded for its size, with a lot of people essentially sharing 2 sinks and 3/4 Showers. Peak time there’s some traffic.

    Clean, modern, sociable hostel with everything you need in a nice part of town. Met some great people there! It’s a party hostel in the sense it’s filled with travellers who like to party, but the partying happens outside of the hostel and the music stops quite early on. Very peaceful, chilled out place. Friendly Kiwi guy (owner?) in reception who gave lots of info which is great when you’re new in the country/in town. Also you simply MUST do the Guatape tour - still one of the highlights of my entire trip!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    Great hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down point is there aren’t really any restaurants near to the hostel but there are some great ones only a short taxi ride away.

    Great hostel! The place to stay in Medellín. Staff were excellent, great facilities and double room with private bath felt like a hotel room. Good location in a nice area, felt safe.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    8.8
    Excellent choice to meet people
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. In the upper floor only one bathroom.

    Close to the metro. Place is relatively quiet, yet good to mingle. Travel services are great, especially the van to Guatape and the football matches. Plenty of social areas to chill.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    7.5
    Nicely located, offer good tours, sell a variety of soda’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a bit noisy at night. Room was a little humid.

    Nicely located, offer good tours, sell a variety of soda’s and beers. Nice big kitchen and there is always coffee.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, welcoming vibe and excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The eastern side rooms can get very hot as the house staff generally raise the blind to clean...and leave it up. During my stay, I kept the blind down to block the heat and that helped to keep the temperature down a bit.

    The owners and staff here really make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible. The hostel is run in such a way as to encourage interaction without promoting rowdy parties. All the staff are knowledgeable and helpful with anything. I needed a tiny screwdriver to reattach an arm of my sunglasses...and they managed to come up with three! I spoke to an ex employee (who now has his own business) who praised Black Sheep highly and still reckons that Black Sheep is the best hostel he's been involved with. Great owner-managers = great and happy staff. The location is excellent if you're doing anything in or around El Poblado, and it's a 5- to 10-minute walk to the Metro station, which gets you pretty much everywhere you need to go. The rooms can get a bit stuffy during the day so thank heavens for the fan that's provided. If you want to have a bit of outside time, there are two (or three?) terraces to choose from. I'm so happy I picked Black Sheep as my home for the week I was in Medellín...it's a fab place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Big hostel, good for meeting other travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a private room with shared bathroom but were given a room with an ensuite, the hot water basically didn't work but the shared showers on the 2nd floor were great so we used them.

    This is a big hostel and can get pretty lively on some nights, but on others it was very quiet. There's lots of little areas to hang out in and a good terrace area with a few hammocks. It's a short walk to a big supermarket and the kitchen is small and always busy, but is handy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The socket in our room was pretty dodgy. We also only had one which wasn't ideal. No air-con and only a fan.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think of anything to improve. The location of the power points in my dorm bore little relation to the location of the beds, which meant unless you have your own extension lead you couldn't have your phone under your pillow in some of the beds. Also the energy saving light bulb in the dorm could only provide dim illumination (a blessing if you're sleeping when a roommate switches the light in the middle of the night, but a pain if you're trying to read).

    Everything was above average.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Second visit to the black sheep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second visit to the black sheep. Both times the lady that has worked at front desk is exceptional she is super friendly and great with names and very helpful. Hang onto her she is a great person for hospitality. Also loved free coffee and common areas would always recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Not a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were not given a very warm welcome. Room was terribly small, not well ventilated, no space to put your belongings and a cat sitting on the bed! Told the receptionist that I was allergic to cats and he basically shrugged his shoulders and replied 'Ya'. Evening staff were quite rude. The layout of the hostel is a little strange, the place smelled of cigarette smoke and it is far away from the centre of El Poblado. We had no choice but to stay one night as he said we would be charged if we leave. We only stayed one night out of 5 and moved to a much nicer hostel in El Poblado.

    The morning staff seemed much nicer and more helpful. Showers were good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place but can be noisy until gone midnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite there being numerous points saying noise to be at a minimum after 11pm and no door banging, the night staff don't always seem to make sure this happens. Yes a lot of people want to party from the hostel but when you've got an early your or flight the next day it's not easy to sleep as the sound travels throughout the open property. One night there was constant noise with people shouting and banging doors until gone 1am. But we'd still stay here again.

    The staff were super friendly and helped us with anything we wanted and booking tours etc. Definitely do their Guatapé tour!! Private room was very spacious and shared bathroom was fine. Kitchen was well equipped and always tidy (although limited forks). Nice to have free tea and coffee. WiFi is the best we've found on our travels with great connection throughout the property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    New hostel in quiet area of El Poblado.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although knowledgeable and helpful, the staff came across pretty arrogant.

    New hostel in quiet area of El Poblado. Extremely clean, and with nice comfortable beds. Close to metro, bars, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Great accommodation for your trip to Medellin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airconditioning might have been welcome during the hot days, but luckily there was a fan. It's a hostel and not a fancy hotel after all :)

    1. staff speaks English - SO handy when you have low proficiency in Spanish! 2. good wifi - perfect if you need to plan your trip further and book flights/accommodations/... 3. best shower in a month in Colombia - both good water pressure and hot water! 4. the room has a fan - it got quite hot in the room so the fan was a delight 5. safe location - after sunset it is still OK to walk to Zona Rosa to have dinner or to go to the supermarket. Also at walking distance from a metro station 6. we stayed there for 2 nights, then went to Guatape for 2 nights and then stayed again for 1 night. The hostel was so kind to keep our main luggage safe for free while we went to Guatape for 2 nights. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Well worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen seems to be cleaned last, as in a few hrs after the maid has arrived. Coffee seems ti be brewed a few hrs after her arrival also. Just small things, kitchen dishes should be put away 1st and coffee brewed. Drying clothes for dishes would be handy, I know not many travellers use them but we would.

    Friendly and helpful staff. The room was tidy. A good location also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Really sociable without being too loud, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very close together in the 8 bed dorm, could reach out and hold the hand of the boy in the bed next door

    Really sociable without being too loud, staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, great value for money. Would really recommend this hostel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice, friendly hostel!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could definitely have more bathrooms.

    Staff are excellent. The hostel is in a nice neighbourhood, a large supermarket and the metro are about a 10 minute walk away. Kitchen was clean. I loved the receptionist, she is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to walk 10 minutes to get to the area with bars abd restaurants (+ taxi back for 2-3 euros)

    Very nice central location close to the metro (go explore Medellín) and 10 minutes walk from the restaurant/bar area of El Poblado. The hostel was spacious and very clean. Would recommend a stay in this hostel! Also the staff was friendly and had good recommendations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good spot in Medellin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive but similar to prices in the area

    Very clean, private rooms were great with tv. Nice areas to relax - not a party hostel, about a 15 minute walk to party area. 15-20 minute walk to most things including metro which makes it really convenient. Staff were helpful with good advice about activities in the area. Kitchen was a decent size with 2 fridges. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Simple and clean. Sociable and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Triple room could have done with a small chair / table. Just something to put an item of clothing on!

    Fantastic staff, very friendly and helpful. Triple room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Well organized hostel with comfortable rooms and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better if the staff/owner take a close eye on the security status of the Communa 13 tours that they act as an intermediary for the tour agecies. They recommended us to join their tour while the major tour agencies cancelled the same tour due to some security concerns in that region in the same days and we learnt that by chance.

    Well organized hostel with comfortable rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv control didn’t work.. that’s it lol

    Great location. It’s not in downtown however it’s five minutes walk from th metro which is a few stations to downtown. It’s also a 10-15 minute walk from all the cafes and bars. Very clean and social. Staff are also excellent and very helpful with information and organising tours!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was that the room was pretty hot at night... one fan isn't enough for 8 people. But no real complaints!

    Really great all round hostel. Friendly staff, always clean, large en suite in the dorm room good location close to Poblado station, decent WiFi and nice communal terrace very easy to meet other travelers,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Awesome city to visit! And awesome spot to stay while exploring this amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean and comfy as was the kitchen. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great! Close to everything! We really enjoyed this incredible city and loved being so close to everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor wifi, no social atmosphere because there are so many different social rooms, no breakfast included even though it's a rather pricey hostel

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the kitchen is pretty big it gets over crowded at peak times. With only one stove area (albeit with 5 hobs), it can be hard to access. Fridge was also near full capacity/in a bit of disarray. Think it was a particularly busy time at the hostel. Available toilets also seemed limited at times, though they were in the process of finishing off new showers & toilets so this will help with capacity. Would also highly recommend using the provided lockers as we lost one of our smaller bags on the day we checked out (we didn’t expect a predominantly food bag with a hoodie & hat in it to go missing?! Definitely more of an inconvenience & annoyance than anything of value!) - use the lockers, it’s a busy hostel.

    Clean rooms & bathrooms cleaned constantly. Bed was really comfy & quiet at night. Good & powerful hot showers. Good numbers of outdoor common areas - perhaps could be good to make only one smokers & the others not. Friendly & helpful reception staff. Location is good in quiet safe neighbourhood. Good level of social & atmosphere to meet people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    great staff, cool vibe, angelic patience of the household...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everybody was married :-D

    great staff, cool vibe, angelic patience of the household staff, superb kitchen, tasty coffee all day long, and last but not least, party guests were held under control in a friendly but determined way to calm down from a certain hour. Super pro's everyone! The water of the showers was a bit too wet, but it was nice and hot ;-))))))))

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a large private room with a couch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a large private room with a couch. It was on the second floor so it was far enough from the common areas to have a good night sleep. Nice quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place to meet other fellow travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If the room is close to the common areas it can be sometimes a bit noisy as people tend to hang out till late. Also a bit of a pity that the cleaning of the common areas is not done first thing in the morning. Not so nice to take the breakfast with empty bottles and cigarette butts from the night before laying around.

    The Black Sheep is the perfect place for anyone wanting to discover Medellin while traveling alone. The staff is very helpful in providing recommendations for things to do and places to see, they also make the effort of remembering your name which is always appreciated. This is also a nice hostel to meet-up with fellow travelers while hanging out in one of the common areas. I had a private room and it was spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, helping you whereever possible;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom floor tended to get a bit dirty and wet in the evenings

    Great staff, helping you whereever possible; good kitchen with all necessary equipment; good location: not directly in El Poblado but reachable in 5-10 min, supermarket + places to eat + metro 5-10 min

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful and very knowledgeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common areas could have been cleaner and the lighting in the room was too poor to be able to read.

    The staff were very helpful and very knowledgeable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    This was the best hostel I stayed in during a 3 month trip to SA!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    This was the best hostel I stayed in during a 3 month trip to SA. It felt more like a home than a hostel, and the private rooms are better than some hotels! Socialable, friendly staff, in a fantastic Neighbourhood and close to the station. I couldn’t recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Ok place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place kind of lacked atmosphere. Didn’t meet many people around. Facilities and cleanliness were ok, nothing special

    Great staff and location of the hostel. Great view from the private rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking is kept to the outside, but since there are big open doors, smoke is in the inside as well.

    Great well maintained hostel, nice and helpful staff, comfortable location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    Social hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Negatives would be a small and untidy kitchen. It would be great if they could either enforce better cleaning or have regular cleaning by the staff. Rooms were quite small and the water from our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor.

    Very friendly and social hostel, great if travelling solo. They offer lots of tours and advice about maximising your time in Medellin. Great location near an array of food outlets, massive supermarket and the metro station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice and quiet place, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heaving to wear a bracelet is a bit annoying

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room had a plenty of shelves for all my stuff. 10-15 min walk to great restaurants, 5 min walk to 24/7 food court and a metro station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Great staff good location and always had an amazing...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff good location and always had an amazing backpacking crowd . Good for single travellers to meet other people. Every time Iam in medellin I come here. The owner and staff are really good and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    The owner was super helpful.
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a few more toilets and showers. :)

    The owner was super helpful. The beds were really comfy, you can bring in your own food and drinks. Free coffee!! And sometimes bananas

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    nice location, that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only two toilets available, beds are narrow and old, moving all the time

    the hostel is located very wellmnear the metro, shops and lots of restaurants! the staff was very different: mostly female staff cared about you, and the toilets were kept tidy, but parts of the male staff were not so helpful and did not care if there was no toilet paper...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    You can get lucky and meet a fun group to go out with!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -- I couldn't shower there. It didn't seem clean to me so I showered at my next place instead.

    --I was there overnight and magically had some pretty cool roommates who invited me to go out on a night on the town. It was a fun night out! I was in a 4 bed dorm. --The front desk staff during check-in and check-out were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Very nice hostel experience, good location, friendly staff, reasonable prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, not far from a train station for the Medellin metro. Very friendly staff, good rooms good bathrooms, nice vibe. Staff recommended the tours which were really good, so don’t forget to ask them for their recommendations. The Guatape tour with “vanporcolombia” and the walking city tours with “real city tours” are very good. We didn’t have time for the bike tours or the fruit tours but were told by fellow travellers that they were fun. The City is amazing and this is a great place to stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit remote.

    The staff is super friendly. They organized amazing trips including a private trip to a coffee plantation. The room I stayed in was on the second floor and was very quiet, very clean and pretty spacious for a hostel. I loved my stay there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice and spacious room, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available, kitchen a bit chaotic and fridge too crowded.

    Nice and spacious room, very helpful staff. Lots of areas to hang out and meet other people. We booked the Graffiti tour which was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Busy, social hostel. Great for the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's about 10 minute walk to town, but can get a 2 dollar taxi so not a big deal. Not a lot of plug sockets in my dorm and beds could do with a shelf.

    Great hostel to stay for the weekend. Very social. Everyone was up for going out until the very early hours. Clean, good staff and big kitchen. WifI is also really fast. They can also help you with booking the city walking tour etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Great social vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (on the top floor) got very hot and the fan they had in the room was very noisy and didn't really do much in terms of cooling. The shower pressure was a bit on and off as well.

    Very social atmosphere and a nice place to stay. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Chill in the safe part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available, there was a slight leak from the cistern of our bathroom which slowly flowed into the room every day a little bit and had to be mopped up daily (dorm room 108) quite stuffy in the rooms at night a fan would be great or air con. Quite close to the poblado metro station but a little bit of a steep walk to get to the main area near park lleras for bars and club space and other hostel backpackers. Wifi is patchy in the bedroom I was staying in but fine everywhere else. Big shortage of plugs in the dorms and in the hostel in general but I managed a bed beside a plug socket so can't complain.

    Comfy clean bedrooms, short walk from the metro station poblado in a safe upmarket area of Medellin. Lots of good tours ran through the hostel or organised by reception. Good base for relaxing I spent two weeks here and did lots of day trips. Nice system with the tabs for using anything from the drinks or snacks fridge makes it easy not to be carrying cash all the time and saves walking to the shop. There is a huge and well stocked supermarket just around the corner (exito) with atms and lots of food stalls. Also plenty of restaurants and cafes around the corner on parallel street. Excellent tv room with tonnes of sports and entertainment channels. Loads of couch space and massive tv. Great balcony upstairs with hammocks and chairs for relaxing and drinking in the evenings. Nice space on ground floor outside also. Two pet cats give the place a bit of homely atmosphere! Lovely reception staff who take the time to learn everyone's name and are always in great mood. Nice cafe Al Alma around the corner two minutes walk away for excellent breakfast. Good security with cameras and a buzzer system to get in the front gate. Nice lockers but perhaps a few more of them would be useful. Clean showers with good water pressure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Sociable hostel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a few more bathrooms as we had to wait a while sometimes for a shower or just to use the toilet.

    A good mix of party and chilled vibes. Its not the biggest hostel but that makes it easy to meet people. The rooms are great and there is a a good kitchen to make your own food if need be. The hostel is located close to the good party district full of bars and restaurants. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Medellin. The staff are really friendly and are always willing to help too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hostel with loads of activities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall is you are a good walk away from all the action - restaurants and bars. Location isn't ideal.

    Wonderful stay at Black Sheep. We had 4 days in Medellin and there was so much to do! Everyday was planned out thanks to the hostel. We met some great people as well. We had a private room with bathroom which was great - good bed and hot shower! Definitely book the Guatape tour with the hostel - worth every penny!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Very good value place to stay; helpful staff, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your room faces the side of the building with the patio it can get noisy at night. The fridge in the kitchen is huge and jam-packed with people's food, and stuff gets lost in there. There are some places to eat around there but we usually ended walking up to the livelier part of El Poblado.

    Nice double room on the second floor with a view to the north, trees and apt. buildings. It's a busy place but the owners are super-helpful. We're older so didn't participate in the club hopping parties etc but the people who did seemed to be having a blast. There's a shared kitchen and some nice lounges. Wifi was blazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Well run hostel but doesn't get in the way of the fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here twice during a month in Colombia. Met lots of fun fellow travellers but things quiet down from midnight within the hostel which isn't a bad thing. Rooms clean, showers and internet connection were good. Not in Poblado but only a short walk there or to the nearby metro. Staff at the desk excellent for organising trips/taxis. HIghly, highly recommend paragliding if you're in Medellin, not sure there is a view like it anywhere else in the world! Special mention for Daniel behind the desk!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Best hostel I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Private room was big and better than most of the hotels we stayed in on our travels. Atmosphere is lively but not antisocial. Staff couldn't be more helpful. You get so much more out of the city with their advice and tours etc,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Backpackers friendly hostel with everything close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Medellin is a cool city and Black Sheep hostel delivers. It's a backpackers pad for backpackers, we stayed in the really comfortable private room. Having got the overnight bus we arrived ridiculously early and had a nap on the sofas in a chill out zone before catching the close by metro to all the major sights. There's an incredible pizza restaurant nearby-ish called Cafe Zorba. The hostel also has two cats.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic base for exploring Medellín
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is very cosy. We had a two person bedroom in the back that was comfortable and quiet. I wish we could have stayed longer. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Must stay place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the downstairs communal area there is an part that smells funny (could be sick/cat litter?) 15 minute walk to Poblado plaza, but my favourite place in Medellin.

    We got a free room upgrade for 2 nights as the dorms were full. The design of property encourages a good atmosphere. They supply free bananas! It is really clean. The hostel is busy due to its popularity and they helped squeeze us in so we could stay longer. All beer is same price and cheapest have come across in Colombian hostels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice place for a stay in Medellin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With breakfast it would have been even better :)

    I really enjoyed my stay there - a good vibe and a lot of common areas like terasses, balconies, living room, kitchen, etc. Moreover there were a lot of organized tours and the staff was more than helpful and friendly. Definitely recommendable for a stay in Medellin.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Best hostel in Medellin. Great value for money and in an excellent location. Helpful staff and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hostel in Medellin! Excellent value for money and very clean. Located 10 min walk or 3 min taxi or Uber ($2) to Parque Lleras. Cool vibe, great place to meet people. Spacious rooms in a safe neighbourhood. Fun and well priced tours. Comfortable beds, a big supermarket and restarunts near by. Look no further - The black sheep is where you want to stay in Medellin!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    I loved that it was on a quiet street yet close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything the staff could have done to improve the property.

    I loved that it was on a quiet street yet close to everything. The staff are very helpful and keep the hostel super clean. There is a big kitchen and several social areas which are very nice. Overall, this is the best place we stayed while in Colombia!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has very few bathrooms which were dirty on each occasion I used them. Staff wasn't friendly. I thought the hostel was overrated as it is well known, I quickly found a nicer hostel for a lower price

    It was in a nice quite neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Social Hostel That's Great for Solo Travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much not to like. Easy going fun place.

    It was a social hostel but not the party hostel. It's really easy to meet people and join along in their plans, which was nice for a solo traveler like me! It's relatively close to the metro which makes is easy to go sightseeing. Also close to night life. The place itself is clean and comfortable. Full kitchen and dining room, tv room with couches and a terrace with hammocks for your chill nights and a social patio for hanging out and meeting people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    I liked that the girl remembered my name along with 40...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top banks with no barriers. I was in a constant fear of falling down.

    I liked that the girl remembered my name along with 40 others. Good restaurants around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Great hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hostel and great value! We chose this hostel because of the on site Spanish lessons (that you have to book separately) and we're glad we did so! The location is set in a nice quiet neighborhood close to a big supermarket, and a 5-10 minute walk to the main street of El Poblado where you'll find all the restaurants, bars and shops. Also very close to the metro station. You can relax in the hammocks at the hostel or just hang out in one of the other common areas. Sociable hostel! (The Spanish classes were so good with the best teacher!)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice location for exploring Medellin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our private bathroom had a very bad smell. We've found this to be a Common problem in Colombian hotels.

    Front desk staffed at front door very helpful & attentive. All spoke English. Nice location on quiet street but near metro stop and wide selection of restaurants. Lots of common space inside & out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Nice hostel in medellin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hostel with super comfortable rooms. We stayed at a private room and it was really clean and nice. Nice staff, good organized tours and nice area to chill and meet people!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    6.3
    Nice common spaces, good WiFi, excellent tv room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two toilets on the whole floor. Always had to wait for either a toilet or a shower. No convenient outlets in my dorm room. Not enough lockers for everyone.

    Nice common spaces, good WiFi, excellent tv room. Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was always super busy which was a bit stressful.

    Good location, very nice staff, tours started at the hostel, not far from metro/bars/restaurants/supermarket, big double room with a nice view, good Wi-Fi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2019

    10
    Well located, great staff, good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located, great staff, good stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    9.6
    we absolutely loved the day trip to Guatapé with the guide...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we absolutely loved the day trip to Guatapé with the guide David Agudelo! you HAVE to go😁

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    10
    Great Graffiti tour and other recommendations for our time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Graffiti tour and other recommendations for our time in Medellin.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    6.3
    Rooms where very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was dripping , no power and barley hot Doors are really loud you get woken up .

    Rooms where very spacious Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    9.6
    A very social hostel, great staff and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very social hostel, great staff and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    10
    I liked everything, the staff, the room, the hostel is great...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, the staff, the room, the hostel is great, the atmosphere is perfect and everyone helps you out. Do not hesitate and book!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    10
    Great stay, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, quiet area Amazing staff, helped with everything Free coffee and fruits Perfect to meet friends when travelling by yourself

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: