Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Place To Be Hostel (Bonda)

Calle 5 Manzana 2 Casa 3 Curvalito - Bonda, 470008 Bonda, Colombia

Review score

Based on 38 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    i loved loved the atmosphere the view is beyond amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed didnt seem clean, even though they said the sheets were changed. the linings were hot and together with the mosquito net it was a sweat box. i hardly slep there because it was really uncomfortable. hardly any air because with the door open the wind would blow everything up, and with it closed-no air.

    i loved loved the atmosphere the view is beyond amazing. you get to see both the sunrise and sunset. The staff were really friendly, abd the pets were super adorable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    A good place to discover the Sierra Nevada from the other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of mosquitos at night - bring loads of repellent !

    A good place to discover the Sierra Nevada from the other side and the less touristy one. This familial hostel is really nice, staff is here to help, the rooftop is perfect to watch sunsets and the dogs and cats always here to give you a hug ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long long hike to anything picturesque. There was an ant infestation in our room. When we used the shower out came green water and ants. The green water subsided after a while but for the entire 2 days of our stay out came ants and debris from the dirty pipes. The water pressure was non existent. When I told the staff about this they shrugged it off and said it was the way it was. However, the water pressure was fine with the taps so this could be improved if the desire was there from the staff. The staff were not unpleasant, however, ambivalent and not overtly friendly or forthcoming. The rooftop, where the views were nice, could be made to be more comfortable and ambient so you can sit and enjoy the view. Although the dogs were lovely they barked loudly a lot and at inappropriate hours and there seemed to be no concern from the staff. I feel there should be considerable effort to positively train animals living in a hostel so they help to relax guests and not cause irritation.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was great. The animals were cute. The view from the rooftop was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Couple Anniversay Celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking pictures are out-of-date, specially the pool area ones. The pool was dirty and not working. They got ready the room like 3 hours after the check-in one. The neighbors vallenato noise was too loud the whole until 9 in the morning next day.

    Great customer service. Clean rooms, and bathrooms. Peaceful place. Great sunset and night views from the roof. Cheap beers. Exiquisite meals (dinner and breakfast). You can use the WIFI. They gave us free breakfast for the troubles.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    The place to be for hiking, socialize and chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out of order when we were there. The shower had almost no presure. That they didn’t trust me to take the time to write them a proper review once I’m home!

    Great location for starting hikes and visit the cocoa farm. The atmosphere in the hostel. In the evening there is not much to do nearby so most people will stay in the hostel talking, drinking and playing games in the common areas. Which makes this a nice place to be to socialize with other travelers and the staff. The facilities of the hostel, common areas, hammocks, games, rooftop terrace, kitchen, etc.. The staff was nice and helpful. They even already contacted me before arriving to make sure we would know how to get there. Very considerate! The veggie lasange, looked weird tasted good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    The actual place to be in Bonda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After speaking to the owner, the wifi issue is being dealt with (poor connection). It is very difficult to get good wifi in rural areas, but PTB is taking care of it to make their guest experience better. No shower head so it’s just a stream of water in the shower.

    The staff was very friendly and the room was spacious and clean with a private bathroom, as promised. The reception area gets quiet at 10:30-11 which is nice to be able to sleep. We went there to relax, and that’s exactly what we did in the comfortable hammocks. Lots of fun games are available to play with other travellers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.2
    The breakfast is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is quite noisy reception and neighbourhood. Very bad wifi.

    The breakfast is very good. The location is nice but very far away. Private rooms are nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hostel far enough to feel secluded and yet easily reach Santa Marta
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a double room, which was nice; however, it seemed that the shower could've used a more thorough cleaning. There was also no shower head so the cold water simply came down in a stream. The room could also use a few more decorations, such as brighter curtains or something with a bit more color! Also, make sure you have enough cash since the nearest ATM is a 20 minute bus ride!

    The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the vibe is very relaxed and communal, with people hanging out and playing games at night. It's nice that towels are provided plus there's a good amount of shelving in the bathroom. The view from the rooftop of the hostel is fantastic. I did one of the day trips, which included horseback riding, a waterfall, and the small cocoa farm, and it was fantastic! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Good vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit hidden away, not a lot of facilities in the area.

    Owners very nice. Food was good. Chilled and relaxed location. Good for relaxation. Nice games, good vibe

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Great chill space in the middle of a very small village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One thing that was super challenging for me - which has nothing to do with the hostel itself - was that on the weekends - Fri, Sat and Sun - music from both sides of the property played by neighbors was loud and constant for over 12 hours a day. Not so much fun when you're looking for quiet solitude as I was.

    Solo room was nice - bed comfy - and a super chill space to relax and take time to yourself. BEST VIEW EVER from roof top....beautiful. Good staff and friendly guests. Able to chill on your own if desired!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    The perfect place to unwind, surrounded by mountains, trees and lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an appropriately named hostel! We booked for two days and stayed for nearly two weeks. After a few days in Santa Marta we needed to escape the heat and the noise and Bonda is a tranquil little spot, easily reached just a few miles outside of SM. We'd planned to go to Minca but Bonda seemed easier and the hostel looked nicer, we took a bus from the centre of town and then a motorbike taxi the final leg of the journey (incredibly fun). There are two owners - Miguel and Gina, both go out of their way to make you feel so welcome, they organised trips to the waterfall in Paseo Del Mango, and games in the evening. They speak perfect English and are also happy to practise Spanish with you if you'd prefer. The hostel is chilled and surrounded by trees and mountain views, you can sit in a hammock downstairs or up on the roof if you enjoy the heat. Luis, a local guy who works there, will take you to the nearby shop to play pool and is enjoying learning English. Marcos and CC were two awesome volunteers who are super laid back and always happy to help. Tayrona Park is easy to reach from Bonda too, so it's a perfect spot if you want a day trip there. If you want a relaxed place for a few days - stay here, I promise you'll love it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Best place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a lot to do here. But if you are looking for relaxation, you probably prefer it that way.

    If you want to relax, this is the place for you. Nice bed in the double rooms. Friendly staff and Balu, the dog.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    For fun and nature lovers only <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint little gem just 20 minutes from Santa Marta. Amazing views and walks to the river plus a super fun yet professional staff. I will be back soon!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Great stay at this colorful, serene retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an excellent stay at the newly opened Place To Be Hostel. Located in Bonda (a 20 min taxi trip from Santa Marta) this hostel is a perfect place for those seeking a remote getaway or for those in transit between Tayrona and Santa Marta. Getting there: I chose to take a taxi from an area near the airport which cost roughly 50,000 COP ($17 US). As this is a new location my driver wasn't familiar with the hostel but we were able to call the front desk and relay directions. Other transport options include bus' and/or moto-taxi's. Location: The hostel is located in Bonda on the edge of the Sierra Nevada mountain range. It's serene, peaceful and breathtakingly beautiful. I especially enjoyed star-gazing at night from the rooftop area. Grounds: The grounds are very well kept. The owner Gina has done a fantastic job creating a colorful, comfortable environment for her guests. The hostel has a pool and several hangout areas with hammocks. Service: The service was fantastic. There are both an english and Spanish speaking staff whom are very attentive and went out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay. For example, one (late) night we got hungry, there weren't any local restaurants open so the front desk attendant called delivery for us. Accommodations: The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well kept. There are two dorm style areas with roughly 6 beds in each and two private units located on the lower floor. I opted for a private room which had A/C. It was simple but spacious. A comfortable bed, clean bright bathroom and good shower water-pressure. Food/Drink: The website didn't specify if there was food or beverage available (aside from breakfast) so we stopped at a market and picked up some things. To our surprise they had food. There is a small menu with options like pizza, fruit and sandwiches and also a bar at reception with beer, wine and liquor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    it really is the place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    away from the tourist trail, a beautiful spot with kind and funny staff who will do everything to give you the best experience. a place to revive and soak up the nature.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    One of the best place I've been
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is amazing, full of good vibes and close to the best places to visit.I was there at first for one night but decided to extend my stay to enjoy fully the area included chilling at the swimming pool in the hostel and take my time to visit the surrounding.The staff is very helpful and friendly,and Gina is an absolute gem, i would definatly recomand it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff is super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is super friendly. We had a relaxed time at the Place to be!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    The view from the roof was beautiful and it was a good base...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the roof was beautiful and it was a good base for going out for the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring lots of insect repellent!

    Peaceful and beautiful location. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast for 7000!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Definitely, it is the place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great atmosphere, super nice stuff, a cute dog, a beautiful view from the terrace - it is exactly as the name says - the place to be.

    Stayed in March 2017

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20