Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Belize Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent reviews for Hotels in Belize

  • Blue Wave Guest House

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      Perfect location, close to the spit and walking distance from the pier.

    • Negative section of review

      Facilities were very basic. Kitchen didnt have a fridge and was out in the elements so most of the utensils were dirty/corroded.

    Reviewed: 18 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Edward Australia
  • Grand Baymen Gardens

    San Pedro, Belize

    Average review score: 6.9
    • Positive section of review

      Quiet. Nice room

    • Negative section of review

      They advertised a pool area, but when we arrived, the pool was under construction. False advertising!!

    Reviewed: 18 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Gareth New Zealand
  • Western Guesthouse

    San Ignacio, Belize

    Average review score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Kitchen, good tv, good base for going on tours

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing really... bed was a bit itchy but I have sensitive skin and it could have been cos they don’t use non bio washing powder

    Reviewed: 18 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    ELaine United Kingdom
  • Casa del Rai

    San Pedro, Belize

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      The rooftop pool and view, clean and modern, very nice and friendly staff (the housekeeper lady from Honduras)

    • Negative section of review

      No waste separation, although I'm not sure what the recycling schemes in Belize/San Pedro are...

    Reviewed: 17 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Regina Italy
  • Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza

    Belize City, Belize

    Average review score: 7.8
    • Positive section of review

      I ventured to Belize with a group of H.S. students and it was their first time out the country. The students loved the pool and the rooms and the food. The chaperones loved the fact that the hotel was safe and secure. Would definitely stay here again even if for personal travel

    • Negative section of review

      n/a

    Reviewed: 17 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Rich USA
  • Ambergris Sunset Hotel

    San Pedro, Belize

    Average review score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      It is a very nice place with atmosphere and great staff! Everybody is kind and the little pool with sunset-view is amazing. Also the matress of the bed is new and comfortable! And the best: There is no smell of Sargassum lile on Eastside of the Caye! Best value for your money!

    • Negative section of review

      There are two categories of rooms available. We slept in both and think the more expensive is the better deal!

    Reviewed: 17 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Kalle Germany
  • Tropical Paradise

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 7.2
    • Positive section of review

      It is located on the beach - that is true. The cabins st the front appeared very nice but although we three would have fitted into a cabin with two double beds we were given the dire family room - AVOID!!!!

    • Negative section of review

      Very unpleasant and unhelpful woman on Reception insisted we had booked the family room so walked us past the nice cabins to a room at the back with a big furniture dump outside and a door that opened onto the street. Unfortunately there was a drunken argument between some men who appeared to be leaning against the door at 1 am. The only time on my three week holiday that I felt vaguely uneasy as part of me felt obliged to intervene but I didn't want to open the door with my daughters in the room trying to slee. The family room sleeps 6 with 2 sets of bunk beds. That was a surprise! Comfy bed. I was told that most people upgrade when they see this room but the upgrade was the daily rate for a cabin which seemed a bit of a rip off. They were not full and seemed unconcerned regarding my utter disappointment when I saw the location of the room. You had to walk through a gate and it was surrounded by a chicken wire fence. I felt as if I was entering a prison! Horrible! I had booked a room for myself and my 2 daughters. The woman just kept repeating that I'd booked the family room. When I booked it there was an icon with three heads telling me that this was the perfect room for three people. Confusing when the room sleeps 6. The hotel is located next to a cemetery and I can't even say that it was in the dead centre of town (ho ho) because it was at one end of the island. The rest of the staff seemed very friendly. We did everything we wanted to do and checked out a day early which does not reflect the appeal of the island. I just wanted to escape from the 'family room'. In every other hotel room on this holiday I had booked two double beds. Maybe the advert / info on Booking.com is confusing but do not make the same mistake as me. Don't book the family room. they have clearly duped many others.

    Reviewed: 18 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    judith United Kingdom
  • Cahal Pech Village Resort

    San Ignacio, Belize

    Average review score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      Located next to the Cahel Pech ruins with a hilltop view over San Ignacio. Adequate bar and restaurant and friendly staff. Decent pools though one is currently subject to maintenance work.

    • Negative section of review

      The room was clean but basic for the price. When the hotel is busy only buffet breakfast is served, and everything is deep fried. If you have an early tour or onward departure you won't have the time to get anything else due to the distance from the town. The a la carte breakfast is somewhat better.

    Reviewed: 19 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Madeleine United Arab Emirates
  • Treetops Guesthouse

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      I stayed in a well appointed double room with beach view. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, the attractive decor and additions such as the decent sized fridge. A great choice, walking distance from the water taxi terminals (I walked about 8-10 minutes with heavy luggage). Friendly and personable staff happy to answer questions about the area.

    Reviewed: 19 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Madeleine United Arab Emirates
  • Popeye's Beach Resort

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 7.3
    • Positive section of review

      Good location. Swimming pool creates great atmosphere. AC works perfectly inside the room.

    • Negative section of review

      Very bad bed. Poor breakfast but for free. We stayed for 3 nights and there was no cleaning. No repellent inside the room and a lot of mosquitos. The water from the shower was burning our eyes (allergies, important to see for the heath of your customers).

    Reviewed: 18 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Portugal

Highly rated hotels in Belize by reviewers who speak English

  • Colinda Cabanas

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Awesome small apartments right on the beach. Clean rooms. Lovely staff. Loved it here and would return.

    • Negative section of review

      10 minute bike ride from town centre - good if you want to be away from it all!

    Reviewed: 13 September 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Sarah Australia
  • Moonracer Farm

    San Ignacio, Belize

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Just the best hosts right in a remote and relaxing area. Tom and Marge fulfilled every need and cooked the most delicious food (even gluten free or vegan or whatever food was available)! This is a truly special place!

    Reviewed: 27 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Andreas Germany
  • Beaches and Dreams Boutique Hotel

    Hopkins, Belize

    Average review score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      It's has an amazing sea view and very friendly staff.

    • Negative section of review

      The tree house is an excellent place for family time but not appropriate with a 2 year old having her climb up and down was not fun .

    Reviewed: 11 October 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    Eva Belize
  • Villa Cayo

    San Ignacio, Belize

    Average review score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      We have never stayed in such a beautiful place. The house is amazing, the owners were so kind and helpful, we really felt at home. It was difficult to leave and we would love to come back. The place is perfect to go around san Ignacio and see the maya ruins.

    • Negative section of review

      It was perfect!

    Reviewed: 11 January 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Kelly Netherlands
  • Belmopan Tiny Houses

    Belmopan, Belize

    Average review score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      Karen picked me up at the bus station and was very friendly and helpful. She's a great person! It's a bit of a walk from the city centre but there are buses not far from the houses. I could hear the monkeys scream during the evenings and the surroundings are beautiful.

    Reviewed: 24 January 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Mathilda Sweden
  • Sandpiper Beach Cabanas

    Hopkins, Belize

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      Closeness to the beach and the owner was very helpful.

    • Negative section of review

      The pillows were lumpy.

    Reviewed: 5 March 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Cheryl Canada
  • Caye Reef Condos

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      We arrived after check in, so Caye reef had organized a local taxi driver Peter to collect us from the ferry dock and he checked us into the apartment. It was super easy. The apartment was huge, 2 comfy beds, 2 bathrooms, a large kitchen/dining/lounge area. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and a nice addition. They gave us a local phone to use while on the island, we had a personal taxi driver available anytime we called. The apartment was very centrally located, it's only a small island but you can easily walk most places. Would highly recommend for friends or families!

    Reviewed: 10 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    laura Australia
  • Tia Maria Guesthouse

    San Ignacio, Belize

    Average review score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Spacious and clean room, shared kitchen, convenient location.

    • Negative section of review

      Not really a nice place to hang out, but completely OK for a stopover in San Ignacio.

    Reviewed: 9 January 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Anonymous Germany

Highly rated hotels in Belize by all reviewers

  • Colinda Cabanas

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Awesome small apartments right on the beach. Clean rooms. Lovely staff. Loved it here and would return.

    • Negative section of review

      10 minute bike ride from town centre - good if you want to be away from it all!

    Reviewed: 13 September 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Sarah Australia
  • Moonracer Farm

    San Ignacio, Belize

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Just the best hosts right in a remote and relaxing area. Tom and Marge fulfilled every need and cooked the most delicious food (even gluten free or vegan or whatever food was available)! This is a truly special place!

    Reviewed: 27 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Andreas Germany
  • The Lodge at Jaguar Reef

    Hopkins, Belize

    Average review score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Fantastic location on the beach. Supreme bungalows, bed and facilities. Staff is very very friendly.

    • Negative section of review

      There were quite a few sandflee's and although the staff was very very friendly they came off a little "too much fake american".

    Reviewed: 10 December 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Rianne Netherlands
  • Villa Cayo

    San Ignacio, Belize

    Average review score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      We have never stayed in such a beautiful place. The house is amazing, the owners were so kind and helpful, we really felt at home. It was difficult to leave and we would love to come back. The place is perfect to go around san Ignacio and see the maya ruins.

    • Negative section of review

      It was perfect!

    Reviewed: 11 January 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Kelly Netherlands
  • Naïa Resort and Spa

    Placencia Village, Belize

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      The studio was gorgeous! The bed was super comfy. The outdoor shower a treat to use during storms. The staff was incredibly friendly. The view of the ocean was deluxe. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the cocktails were as well. The yoga studio is beautiful as well with a full view of plants and water. I enjoyed cutting down coconuts and drinking fresh coconut water each morning. One of the staff members showed me how to do it. This was quite generous. We invited travelers that we met the previous day to join us for lunch, drinks and a swim in the gorgeous pool. I never saw anyone in the pool while we were there and it did seem like we were pushing the envelope a bit. That being said we were graciously accommodated.

    • Negative section of review

      The hospitality was a bit much for us. It would be nice to have a bit more time to settle in before staff checks in. It is possible we weren't the target market as we are more adventurous and self governing then it seemed they expected us to be. The spa treatments were tempting as the space was beautiful but the cost was even higher than where we live in California. That was a surprise. The resort is new so it felt pretty empty. We chose the resort for the beauty of it but we did feel a bit isolated. We rarely saw other guests and it is removed from Placencia itself. You must drive to town which is close but if you don't have a rental you'll need to rely on the resorts shuttle service.

    Reviewed: 13 February 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    renee USA
  • Casa en la Playa

    San Pedro, Belize

    Average review score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      We stayed in one of the two bedroom units. The location of the villa was perfect. Close to town (about a 10 min walk) but far enough away to be quiet. Nice beach right out in front of the villa and lots of bars, restaurants and shops close by. Villa was well equipped, clean and Chefy the host, was very helpful and responsive. The pool was small, but great for cooling off. I would highly recommend this place.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: 6 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Jamie Canada
  • Xanadu Island Resort

    San Pedro, Belize

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Completely enjoyed our stay. I generally rate my travelling higher based on staff and Xanadu staff (Jamil, Ingrid, Mélanie) definitely were excellent. Smiles and laughs right from day one. Any questions or help we needed they were right on it with a smile. We stayed in the garden view room #12. Still close enough to see the beach and a nice easy location to pool. Renting a go cart is a no brainer if you're wanting to get out lots and enjoy the local sites. We explored a new place almost everyday (Secret beach, Market place, Rum bean cafe, and more ) but still had plenty of time to relax by the pool. Pool - This is one of the rare times I've enjoyed relaxing by a pool. You still had the feeling of being on the beach with the sounds, smell and beach activity just off the deck and the added bonus was the pool water is fresh water salt and very nIce to swim in instead of the usual chlorine pools. Pool was never to busy to get a chair and enjoy. Beach - was very accessible and you could swim off the dock but it wasn't snorkelling water. You needed to go by boat for any good snorkelling. Or drive north to some of the beaches that were closer to the reef. Even then your best bet was by kayak or boat to the reef. Which is what we did and the reef did not disappoint. Reef trips - Highly recommended. Jamil helped organize a full day trip with a local guide. 3-4 stops and a BBQ lunch on a private remote beach. Great day Belizean day. Clear water, exotic fish, miles of coral, moray eels peaking out, nurse sharks looking for easy meals on the bottom, stingrays and one amazing large turtle that hung out with us for awhile. Secret Beach - Adventurious 40 min golf cart trip north of city. Easy to find just follow main dirt road with a few signs. Once you get there keep going up the beach to the second "not so secret beach bar". Easy access with loungers inches from the water. Food and drinks available just a bit pricey.

    Reviewed: 3 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Kelly Canada
  • Caye Reef Condos

    Caye Caulker, Belize

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      We arrived after check in, so Caye reef had organized a local taxi driver Peter to collect us from the ferry dock and he checked us into the apartment. It was super easy. The apartment was huge, 2 comfy beds, 2 bathrooms, a large kitchen/dining/lounge area. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and a nice addition. They gave us a local phone to use while on the island, we had a personal taxi driver available anytime we called. The apartment was very centrally located, it's only a small island but you can easily walk most places. Would highly recommend for friends or families!

    Reviewed: 10 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    laura Australia
  • The Ellysian Boutique Hotel

    Placencia Village, Belize

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      This is a brand new modern sleek hotel on the water in the town of placencia. Great locations on at the start of town so you can walk to all the restaurants and the pier. The hotel is brand new so there were no other guests so we had the pool all to ourselves and great sea view room with large balcony. I highly recommend paying extra for the sea view rooms. Bed was super comfy, bathroom was huge and clean. I would stay here again especially for the price I paid but I doubt the price will continue to be that low once it gets popular and gets some reviews. There are a few design flaws though.

    • Negative section of review

      Great place and would stay again especially for the price (we paid $175 per night total US) This being a brand new hotel there are some design flaws. Nothing that would really impact your stay except maybe one thing. Here they are: one of the hooks for towels in the bathroom is placed so high that unless you are over six feet tall good luck reaching it, the curtains are difficult to close because the rod is too big for the curtain rings, the outdoor shower by the pool is almost unusable bc of the wind the water from the rain shower head just blows into the wood fencing, but none of those things really matter here is the one thing that is a more major design flaw - if anyone were to be on the balcony of the room next door they would be able to look right into our room and right into where we shower becuase there is a large clear window between the room and the bathroom which is for the purpose of having the view from the bathroom as well and at least the toilet is hidden so you can't see anyone on the pot unless you are actually in the bathroom but otherwise there is no privacy so just beware. You can avoid your neighbors from peeping in (if you have any) by closing the curtains but that defeats the purpose of having the sea view so it's a catch 22. Only other small negative it how close your are to the hotel apartments next door but that is typical of many of the places on the beach in placencia.

    Reviewed: 10 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Nerissa USA