Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Costa Rica Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent reviews for Hotels in Costa Rica

  • Casa Aura: Beachfront Premium Hostel

    Tamarindo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.1
    • Positive section of review

      The rooms, staff and location.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Chelsey Canada
  • Indigo Yoga Surf Resort

    Mal País, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      Beautiful beautiful little tranquil place. Zen. Outdoor bathrooms were an experience! Delicious filling breakfast. Super clean and large. Relaxing morning yoga session (an additional US$12 pp.). Great pool

    • Negative section of review

      A little far out of town and surfable beaches. Need a car, or a 3000colones taxi into the centre, or a 45min walk along the beach (which is really beautiful and highly recommend if you stay)

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Rosa United Kingdom
  • Zeneidas Surf Garden

    Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Perfect location right on the beach at the best surfing spot in santa teresa. Could roll out of bed, pick up the surf board at their storage racks, and be in the sea in seconds. Really friendly helpful staff.

    • Negative section of review

      Floor could have done with a bit of an upgrade, concrete and difficult to keep clean. Our pizza was stolen from the fridge, but nothing to do with zeneidas you know.

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Rosa United Kingdom
  • Hotel Cortez Azul

    Alajuela, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      Very friendly staff! Always felt secure as the area is nice and the front door of the property is locked. The rooms have been newly renovated so it had a nice modern feel. Little decorating touches that were great. They have two friendly, adorable small dogs on the property that are very cute! The hotel manager was amazing. She made us breakfast "to go" bags because we left at 4:15am for our flight. She also called us a taxi which was there in only a minute. Great place, great staff!

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Tara New Zealand
  • Wide Mouth Frog

    Quepos, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      From staff to facilities, location, safe area, family-friendly, well...super nice! You can even borrow gear to go to the beach, and rent really cheap surf boards and snorkeling gear! The kitchen is great and the restaurant attached serves really good and affordable food!

    • Negative section of review

      The only thing about this place is «breakfast»...it shouldn't even be listed as breakfast included as it is just a little porrige with half a banana. My 5 year old eats the double (imagine us...). It should be listed as a courtesy and not breakfast.

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Juliana Norway
  • Sarita´s Casitas

    Monteverde Costa Rica, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      We really appreciated Thais’ help when we arrived, showing us the rooms as well as advising us about which local tours we should consider. And her use of WhatsApp before we arrived really helped as we asked her if we could drop off our suitcases early, and her quick reply meant we could before going on a tour that we’d already booked.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing!

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Matthew United Kingdom
  • Hostel Shakti

    San José, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 7.6
    • Positive section of review

      The staff is super friendly and the courtesy vegetarian soup they offer is extraordinary! My kids asked to eat twice and the lady was so nice! Also they were superb helping us with information and getting transport.

    • Negative section of review

      One of the beds in our room had missing wood to support the mattress, so it would be really uncomfortable. But I'm sure they would have done something if we had told them (we didn't because we stayed just one night).

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Juliana Norway
  • Arco Iris Lodge

    Monteverde Costa Rica, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The location, right next to town, meant we could walk to get dinner and breakfast easily, and the layout of the property with allocated parking bays was very user friendly.

    • Negative section of review

      The noise from the town was quite intrusive at times, mainly from all the dogs.

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Matthew United Kingdom
  • Hotel Tropico Latino

    Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      Restaurante staff very friendly

    • Negative section of review

      The room I booked (1st floor) was extremely dark; The window overlooked the parking lot and the lights were on the whole night; The fan at the roof was dangerously too low so that you could hit it at any time;

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in July 2018
    Javier Chile
  • Selina Puerto Viejo

    Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 7.8
    • Positive section of review

      The movie room was nice in the evening

    • Negative section of review

      Staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. Ants were all in the outdoor kitchen. Bathroom in the dorm was absolutely disgusting. Was very far from town- I would recommend staying in accommodation in the town

    Reviewed: 21 August 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Lucy United Kingdom

Highly rated hotels in Costa Rica by reviewers who speak English

  • Sueño Grande B&B

    Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      The room was beautiful. The attention to detail was very special - the local lotions and creams, the cold coconuts in the fridge, the very useful detailed guide of Puerto viejo, down to the b&b's Netflix account - there is nothing to fault. The kitchenette was such a perfect addition to the room as well, and allowed us to make breakfast and sit on the balcony or enjoy our coffees in bed and watch an episode of something on Netflix! Thank you Jody for a great stay. Will not forget it and be back next time!! Xx

    Reviewed: 24 June 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Lydiana United Kingdom
  • Fuego Lodge

    Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      We had a great time at Fuego Lodge - the perfect spot to stay in Santa Teresa tucked back 100m from the beach away from the road. Barbara was so nice and a really relaxed and friendly vibe. Rooms enormous and a great pool to chill out in after a day at the beach.

    Reviewed: 11 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Ryan United Kingdom
  • The Garden CR

    San José, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Amazing for a hostel. Felt completely like home. Bathroom amazing and bed super comfortable. Close walk to lots of good bars and restaurants. One of the owners drove me to the airport really early the next morning at an extra cost but it made everything much easier.

    Reviewed: 11 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Charlotte United Kingdom
  • Moana Surf Resort

    Nosara, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      I hope I’ll be able to write a review that can explain how amazing our stay at Moana surf resort was. In the last years I have been traveling a lot and I visit many nice places, but this one will always hold a special place. First: the wonderful couple who own the place. From the minute we got there they did everything to make sure our stay was perfect and stress free. From lending us surf and rash guard, organizing last minute aerial yoga class to our request, suggesting us the best place to go eat and holding the room for us when we were trying to change our travel plan to extend our stay , always with a smile and a pura vida attitude. Second: the staff, everyone seems happy and friendly and everything is done to perfection. The room are always perfectly clean and the products (soap shampoo lotion etc) provided in the room are good ones and they even provide nice beach towels. The breakfast was probably my favorite time of day, the food was good and healthy (special mention to the warm banana bread!) and the big table where everyone sit in the morning was the perfect way to start the day and get to know the people, but if you are looking for more privacy you’ll also get it. There is a good mix of clientele, from group of friends to family and couple. Third: the place is absolutely gorgeous. The room are spacious and they all have large windows. They have their own private path to the playa Guiones, at the beach in 2 minutes. My favorite spot was the big outdoor sectional couch and hamacs by the pool. At night, you sit there reading a book listening to relaxing music watching the stars and during the day you go to jump in the pool and take a break from the sun, you are surrounded by nature, it’s like they build that place to make sure that when you step a foot in the resort, you forget your work or any element of stress in your life and you feel on vacation right away!

    Reviewed: 28 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Amelie Canada
  • La Ramona Charming Hotel

    Tamarindo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      We were the first guest to sleep in the turqoise room and both the room, the bathroom and the whole place was more than we had wished for! Beautiful, clean, cosy, relaxing, welcoming. For us (couple from Holland 29-31y) it was the perfect stay.

    Reviewed: 10 November 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Amber Netherlands
  • Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel

    Tamarindo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      A beautiful hotel with very friendly owner. Great location, near supermarket, restaurants and shops. Everything brand new and clean. Very comfortable beds. Lots of space with own kitchen and huge fridge/freezer. Lovely varied breakfast. Cute minibeach by pool, complete with large beanbags.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing!

    Reviewed: 25 December 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Margriet United Kingdom
  • Sarita´s Casitas

    Monteverde Costa Rica, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Great new apartment, impeccably clean, very good communication with Sarah who has helped us a lot with booking guides and tours. She is always ready to provide assistance, funny and friendly. The kind of host you are looking for when visiting a foreign country. It was so nice to wake up and hear the howler monkeys :).

    Reviewed: 28 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Anonymous Belgium

Highly rated hotels in Costa Rica by all reviewers

  • Las Perlitas Playa Samara

    Sámara, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Everything was great. The room is big and very clean. Fabolous breakfast.

    Reviewed: 25 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Dario Switzerland
  • Fuego Lodge

    Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      We had a great time at Fuego Lodge - the perfect spot to stay in Santa Teresa tucked back 100m from the beach away from the road. Barbara was so nice and a really relaxed and friendly vibe. Rooms enormous and a great pool to chill out in after a day at the beach.

    Reviewed: 11 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Ryan United Kingdom
  • Calma Apartments Costa Rica

    Mal País, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      I would definitely recommend Calma to family & friends. Calma is a place to calm down. It's between Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. It's not in the crowded and noisy center of Santa Teresa. You can reach Santa Teresa and all the restaurants and bars in walking distance (10-15Min). However I would recommend a car. Due to the pleasing manners of the host we didn't have a lack of anything

    Reviewed: 26 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Sara Germany
  • Moana Surf Resort

    Nosara, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      I hope I’ll be able to write a review that can explain how amazing our stay at Moana surf resort was. In the last years I have been traveling a lot and I visit many nice places, but this one will always hold a special place. First: the wonderful couple who own the place. From the minute we got there they did everything to make sure our stay was perfect and stress free. From lending us surf and rash guard, organizing last minute aerial yoga class to our request, suggesting us the best place to go eat and holding the room for us when we were trying to change our travel plan to extend our stay , always with a smile and a pura vida attitude. Second: the staff, everyone seems happy and friendly and everything is done to perfection. The room are always perfectly clean and the products (soap shampoo lotion etc) provided in the room are good ones and they even provide nice beach towels. The breakfast was probably my favorite time of day, the food was good and healthy (special mention to the warm banana bread!) and the big table where everyone sit in the morning was the perfect way to start the day and get to know the people, but if you are looking for more privacy you’ll also get it. There is a good mix of clientele, from group of friends to family and couple. Third: the place is absolutely gorgeous. The room are spacious and they all have large windows. They have their own private path to the playa Guiones, at the beach in 2 minutes. My favorite spot was the big outdoor sectional couch and hamacs by the pool. At night, you sit there reading a book listening to relaxing music watching the stars and during the day you go to jump in the pool and take a break from the sun, you are surrounded by nature, it’s like they build that place to make sure that when you step a foot in the resort, you forget your work or any element of stress in your life and you feel on vacation right away!

    Reviewed: 28 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Amelie Canada
  • Hotel Peace & Lodge

    Carrillo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      The view, the food, the little terrace by the room, the dogs, the humming birds, the fire flies, the sounds of the howler monkeys and seeing them on our way up.

    • Negative section of review

      The shower head was chalked up.

    Reviewed: 14 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Charlotte Netherlands
  • La Ramona Charming Hotel

    Tamarindo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      We were the first guest to sleep in the turqoise room and both the room, the bathroom and the whole place was more than we had wished for! Beautiful, clean, cosy, relaxing, welcoming. For us (couple from Holland 29-31y) it was the perfect stay.

    Reviewed: 10 November 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Amber Netherlands
  • Apartamentos Atenas

    Atenas, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Very friendly hostess and we definitely recommend the breakfast, best so far!

    Reviewed: 21 December 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Tera Netherlands
  • Casa Chameleon Hotel Las Catalinas

    Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Amazing views from room & restaurant. Own personal plunge pool was incredible. Bed was super comfy. Coffee was so good. Decor was very nice.

    • Negative section of review

      The toilet didn't have a door. Wish the plunge pools were a little warmer at night.

    Reviewed: 3 March 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Melissa Canada
  • Sarita´s Casitas

    Monteverde Costa Rica, Costa Rica

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Great new apartment, impeccably clean, very good communication with Sarah who has helped us a lot with booking guides and tours. She is always ready to provide assistance, funny and friendly. The kind of host you are looking for when visiting a foreign country. It was so nice to wake up and hear the howler monkeys :).

    Reviewed: 28 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Anonymous Belgium