Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Costa Rica Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent Reviews for Hotels in Costa Rica

  • Arenal Hostel Resort

    Fortuna, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      The staff were very friendly and helpful for showing us around the property and booking fun tours during our stay. We loved poolside bar which was great to chill after a fun-filled day of activities. Will defiantly be back again.

    • Negative section of review

      N/A

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Jamgirlseaexplorer United Kingdom
  • Mango Moon Villa

    Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      The room was beautiful with a lot of windows and a balcony. The ocean view from the room was incredible and we could here the monkeys and birds from our balcony. Breakfast was delicious and the view from the restaurant was beautiful. There is a bus stop close by that takes you to the National Park and the beach in just a few minutes. Definitely recommend staying here.

    • Negative section of review

      The hotel restaurant was temporarily closed for lunch and dinner and therefore we had to climb up a steep hill to get to the restaurants and supermarket. However, this was just a minor inconvenience.

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Bram Netherlands
  • Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

    Alajuela, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      VERY NICE

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Antoinette United States of America
  • MyCasa's B&B

    Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Friendly staff, cozy room, good breakfast, beautiful surroundings, it’s possible to spot some animales and birds while having breakfast.

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Lilian Costa Rica
  • Merlin

    Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      Perfect swiming pool for kids and families Far from town but very nice place. Maazing forest above it For the kids it was the favorit hotel

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Roy Israel
  • Conchal Hotel

    Brasilito, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Staff was really friendly and cooperative. They have a really good breakfast.

    • Negative section of review

      There was no tub on the bathroom, and it was anounced.

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Daniel Costa Rica
  • Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

    Alajuela, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel located perfectly if you have to take a flight out the next day from San Jose airport. Beds are comfortable though. They provide a shuttle service.

    • Negative section of review

      The property seems pretty basic. No shower gel provided neither body lotion. Restaurant food is not great and for the price, breakfast is not included either this is normally what you expect for an airport hotel. I would definitely pick another hotel for my next stay.

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Amina Spain
  • Hotel Presidente San Jose City Center

    San José, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      It was very centrally located. right next to walking promenade. It was comfortable , reception had a cool design and breakfast was included in the price of the room.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing to mention apart from better coffee at breakfast would be great, we are in Costa Rica after all.

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Amina Spain
  • Baldi Hot Springs Hotel & Spa

    Fortuna, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel is stunning, the pools are beautiful, the room are comfortable and big, the wifi is great in all the areas of the hotel.

    • Negative section of review

      The springs inside the hotel were full of "Day Pass" visitors, who came to enjoy the springs. It means that for us, the guests, there were crowded pools and not even one sunbed to seat on.

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous
  • Hotel Casa Leon

    San José, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      5-minute walk to Museo Nacional.

    • Negative section of review

      5am trains begin rumbling past the front door.

    Reviewed: September 18, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Australia

Highly Rated Hotels in Costa Rica by English-speaking Reviewers

  • Casitas Tenorio B&B and Farm

    Bijagua, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Very ecofriendly. Perfect for relaxing in nature or adventuring on the trails. The family who owns the property is absolutely wonderful!

    Reviewed: January 7, 2017 Stayed in December 2016
    Sara United States of America
  • Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel

    Tamarindo, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Everthing was great , super clean and brand new. Cozy room , nice shower. Hotel facilities are great - the pool, the "small beach" , the awesom breakfast. The owner and the entire staff are super nice and helpful , makes your staying pleasant. The location is the best. We'll definitely come back.. this is the best value for money you can find in Tamarindo

    • Negative section of review

      The wifi at the entire property is very good, only in our room it was poor.

    Reviewed: February 9, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    RANV Israel
  • The Nomadic Hotel

    Nosara, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      you arrive and already feel relax great location beautiful hotel with a real soul the team and the owners, they do everything to make your stay perfect the best dorm i've never seen: clean, comfortable, designed...

    • Negative section of review

      nothing: would have love to prolong my stay

    Reviewed: April 17, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Lauriane Switzerland
  • Moana Surf Resort

    Nosara, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay the first week of 2017. The owners, Dani and Tali were outstanding and eagerly saw that every minute of our stay was enjoyable: From offering to provide breakfast at anytime, arranging taxis, tours, restaurant reservations, surfing, recommendations and insight on local environment and culture. The attention to detail at the property gives you the comfort that no corners are cut on cleanliness, and comfort. The property is well manicured and we had a sense of comfort in and out of our rooms at all times. All of the employees were friendly and helpful as well. The feeling is more like a Bed and Breakfast with family members you love, while offering more privacy. If you are seeking a loud party atmosphere with bars and restaurants on sight this is not your place. Bars and restaurants are within walking distance. There is a private path (raked daily) to the beach (local ordinance prevents properties from being built closer than 180 meters. We enjoyed a yoga class in the open-air yoga studio. Surfboards and instruction are available on sight. We surfed almost every day, and enjoyed the improvement we made over the course of the week. Waves were very good every day. One of the most consistent surfs in the world is on this beach. Moana is brand new, well constructed and immaculate. Looked at several other properties while in Nosara. If you like a clean, quiet relaxing place Moana is the best.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing.

    Reviewed: January 9, 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    jeffrey United States of America

Highly Rated Hotels in Costa Rica by All Reviewers

  • Mar Verde Lodge

    Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      The Mar Verde Lodge of Stefan and Leon is the-place-to-be in Puerto Viejo! The open building method of the well sophisticated house leaves nothing to be desired: Surrounded by old trees, bushes and flowers you easily get the feeling of living in the jungle – especially at daybreak when nature awakes and the howler monkeys wake you up. Within walking distance the wonderful beach Playa Chiquita can be reached. Stefan and Leon are the most careful and kind hosts we ever met. Every morning they prepared a diversified, delicious three-course-breakfast for us and arranged guided day-tours to explore the area. They are relaxed and open-minded people and addicted to make their guests feel comfortable in any ways – which makes the place perfect! Pura vida! J

    • Negative section of review

      nothing

    Reviewed: November 18, 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    thorsten Germany
  • Sarita´s Casitas

    Monteverde Costa Rica, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      I cannot emphasize enough how staying at Sarita's was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. From the moment we arrived, Sarah made us feel like part of the family. The casita is located across the street from where she lives with her husband Danilo (both speak fluent English) and her adorable Tico-Gringo children. Throughout our stay, Sarah took care of EVERYTHING and was always available (via call or text) to answer our numerous questions and help us book all sorts of activities. She even helped us plan the rest of our trip in Costa Rica, giving us previous local advice, even long after we left!! I've honestly never gotten such good authentic service anywhere in the world. Did I mention that her husband Danilo is a renowned tour guide that knows the nearby forests inside and out? We took his night tour of the Santa Maria forest and we spotted an incredible amount of animals including the sloths (!) which Danilo went out of his way to find when we had almost given up hope. Anyway, the casita is super comfy and clean and the multiple neighborhood dogs want nothing but cuddle with you all day. I can't even make this up. DO NOT HESITATE TO BOOK AT SARITA'S! You will not regret it!

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing!

    Reviewed: May 11, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    SERMAD Canada
  • Fuego Lodge

    Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Owner is really nice and helpful. Cool pool and the room almost seems new.

    Reviewed: July 15, 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    soltrance Costa Rica
  • La Ramona Charming Hotel

    Tamarindo, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      The location is perfect if you want to relax and enjoy your time in town. the stunning decorations make the room very kocy, and the stuff makes sure that you feel even more comfortable that at home. From the moment we step out of our shuttle until the departure time This place was great. We are definitely coming back and recommending this beautiful hotel.

    Reviewed: November 1, 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    Nahuel United States of America
  • Moana Surf Resort

    Nosara, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay the first week of 2017. The owners, Dani and Tali were outstanding and eagerly saw that every minute of our stay was enjoyable: From offering to provide breakfast at anytime, arranging taxis, tours, restaurant reservations, surfing, recommendations and insight on local environment and culture. The attention to detail at the property gives you the comfort that no corners are cut on cleanliness, and comfort. The property is well manicured and we had a sense of comfort in and out of our rooms at all times. All of the employees were friendly and helpful as well. The feeling is more like a Bed and Breakfast with family members you love, while offering more privacy. If you are seeking a loud party atmosphere with bars and restaurants on sight this is not your place. Bars and restaurants are within walking distance. There is a private path (raked daily) to the beach (local ordinance prevents properties from being built closer than 180 meters. We enjoyed a yoga class in the open-air yoga studio. Surfboards and instruction are available on sight. We surfed almost every day, and enjoyed the improvement we made over the course of the week. Waves were very good every day. One of the most consistent surfs in the world is on this beach. Moana is brand new, well constructed and immaculate. Looked at several other properties while in Nosara. If you like a clean, quiet relaxing place Moana is the best.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing.

    Reviewed: January 9, 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    jeffrey United States of America
  • Casa Chameleon Hotel Las Catalinas

    Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Everything: Villa with own private pool 5 points! Room decor and bed with canopy 5 points! Main pool 5 points! Restaurant 5 points! Facilities 5 points! View!!! 5 points 5 times!!! View from everywhere i mean u walk to ur villa u have view, u walk to lobby - view, from any seat in restaurant- views, from villa and villa's bathroom, bed, entryway - view everywhere!!!!

    • Negative section of review

      No spa/gym yet, not a big issue juts something we noticed we need when we went hiking in +36C early morning😅

    Reviewed: February 16, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    RK United States of America
  • Las Perlitas Playa Samara

    Sámara, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Breakfast was fantastic and the owners were great, very accommodating. Small property, very clean and comfortable.

    Reviewed: April 13, 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Jennifer Canada
  • Hotel Peace & Lodge

    Carrillo, Costa Rica

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Good for couples very quite and remote, very good food.

    • Negative section of review

      Far from the beach, bad access road

    Reviewed: August 22, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Anonymous Israel