Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Japan Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent reviews for Hotels in Japan

  • Ryokan Nakadaya

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average review score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      Single room for the price of capsule hotel - this is a bargain. The owner is very friendly and helpful. He speaks fluent English.

    • Negative section of review

      The building is quite old and would require substantial work to shine again. Sometimes you can feel a musty smell inside.

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Julian Poland
  • Hotel Torifito Otaru Canal

    Otaru, Japan

    Average review score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      Convenient location. Staff is very nice. Although when we arrived, the carpark of the hotel was full, the staff patiently explained to us where to park. Our room is spacious and clean.

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Angela Hong Kong
  • Hotel Sunny

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average review score: 8.3
    • Positive section of review

      Good location Large room

    • Negative section of review

      No

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Werakit Thailand
  • Comfort Hotel Tokyo Kiyosumi Shirakawa

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average review score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      The best location for Tokyo trips with regards to the price per night. Just outside a metro station and in the neighborhood of a Family Mark opened 24-7. Wonderful breakfast (western and Japanese).

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing to improve.

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Tomas Czech Republic
  • Super Hotel JR Nara Ekimae Sanjo Dori

    Nara, Japan

    Average review score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      location

    • Negative section of review

      room too small

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    marco Brazil
  • Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average review score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      The location was an awesome place to stay if you’re taking kids to Disney. You can get a stamp and leave Disney so I’d highly recommend staying along the monorail if you have small kids, duck out for a nap no problem. The location meant we could stay for the 8:40 fireworks and still have the kids in bed just after 9. And you didn’t have to get up super early to make the 8am opening time (depending when you visit opening hours vary). The room was ok, but you’re really paying for the location. Far nicer hotels for far cheaper throughout Tokyo.

    • Negative section of review

      I would pay the money again, but it is a bit on the pricey side and then I was given the shock that the breakfast wasn’t included and was near 10,000 yen for a family of four. It was a buffet so I sort of get the higher price, but personally I don’t think it’s worth that. It was definitely too expensive for the kids, they can’t eat that much food for a buffet to be worth it. And there’s not food just outside your door like there is with the rest of Japan so I’d plan ahead if you’re on a budget.

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Bri Australia
  • Guest House Irodori Kamakura

    Kamakura, Japan

    Average review score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      The guests are very kind and welcoming. They even swapped room because of the tobacco smell. We also spent some nice time with the other guests.

    • Negative section of review

      Comfort of the beds and cleaning could be bettter.

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Jonathan France
  • Kawate-ya Hostel

    Hiroshima, Japan

    Average review score: 8.3
    • Positive section of review

      Learned what is futon

    • Negative section of review

      Soundproofing is absent

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Arsen Russia
  • Oto

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average review score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      One of the best hostels I stayed in Japan. Extremely friendly staff, fresh air in the room and the bunk bed was amazingly comfortable.

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Jelena Germany
  • Daiwa Roynet Hotel Takamatsu

    Takamatsu, Japan

    Average review score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      Such a convenient location to all the shops and restaurants in the shopping arcades area!!

    Reviewed: 25 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Canada

Highly rated hotels in Japan by reviewers who speak English

  • Guest House Oumi

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Everything is great.

    • Negative section of review

      The dormitory room shouldn't let the family stay.

    Reviewed: 5 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    NY Taiwan
  • Guest House Oku

    Nara, Japan

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      very nice house keeper and I will choose this house next time

    Reviewed: 5 October 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    Boyobo China
  • SHARE HOTELS HakoBA Hakodate

    Hakodate, Japan

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Spacious smart dormitory like I've never seen before, great showers, centrally located, helpful staff, yet cheap

    • Negative section of review

      Absolutely nothing

    Reviewed: 24 June 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Dai United Kingdom
  • Kyoto Morris Hostel

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Staff were really friendly and helped in any way possible. The property itself is really cool, with good styling. Even though we stayed in a dorm with heaps of other people it felt so private in my bunk, like my own little cubby house. Its a great location too!! Close to a train station, an amazing bakery and heaps of eateries. Would definitely recommend!!

    • Negative section of review

      Honestly cant fault it at all!! Such a great place

    Reviewed: 29 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Adele Australia
  • NARA Visitor Center and Inn

    Nara, Japan

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Large room, good location, walking distance to many scenic spots

    • Negative section of review

      The quilts are a little heavy which makes me hot.

    Reviewed: 2 October 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Xinying China
  • Hostel Kaniwa

    Miyajima, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Loved it!!! So modern and clean and confortable. The staff had contacted me to let me know how to check in even after the reception hours...staff were super friendly and helpful in recommending places to go to in Miyajima!!

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing..perhaps the atmosphere at rhe lounge was a bit on the quiet side for me..

    Reviewed: 25 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Emily Japan
  • Mugen

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      This beautiful little place was a joy to visit. Tome & her husband clearly know exactly what they're doing-a stylish, high-quality Ryokan in a charming neighbourhood. This lovely couple could not have been more helpful or accommodating in making cool & unique suggestions of places to see & things to do-they also helped us so much in booking multiple restaurants & lending us bikes. The room was gorgeous, with beautiful touches, spotlessly clean with vey comfy beds. Less we forget the delicate Japanese breakfast & lovely little coffees & snacks! We both loved it here-thank you 🙏

    • Negative section of review

      Not a thing

    Reviewed: 26 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Phoebe United Kingdom

Highly rated hotels in Japan by all reviewers

  • Guest House Oumi

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Everything is great.

    • Negative section of review

      The dormitory room shouldn't let the family stay.

    Reviewed: 5 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    NY Taiwan
  • Hostel Kaniwa

    Miyajima, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Loved it!!! So modern and clean and confortable. The staff had contacted me to let me know how to check in even after the reception hours...staff were super friendly and helpful in recommending places to go to in Miyajima!!

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing..perhaps the atmosphere at rhe lounge was a bit on the quiet side for me..

    Reviewed: 25 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Emily Japan
  • Mugen

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      This beautiful little place was a joy to visit. Tome & her husband clearly know exactly what they're doing-a stylish, high-quality Ryokan in a charming neighbourhood. This lovely couple could not have been more helpful or accommodating in making cool & unique suggestions of places to see & things to do-they also helped us so much in booking multiple restaurants & lending us bikes. The room was gorgeous, with beautiful touches, spotlessly clean with vey comfy beds. Less we forget the delicate Japanese breakfast & lovely little coffees & snacks! We both loved it here-thank you 🙏

    • Negative section of review

      Not a thing

    Reviewed: 26 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Phoebe United Kingdom
  • Kawaguchiko Cottage Minami

    Fujikawaguchiko, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Spacious and new I love the garden too.

    • Negative section of review

      Would be good if there is soup for washing hands in washroom downstairs.

    Reviewed: 21 August 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    Ken Hong Kong
  • Mokkoan

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      You can have a service like in home. This is a once very special experience for me. Very nice house owner. I would like to visit again if I come Tokyo.

    Reviewed: 13 October 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    ChuenYat Hong Kong
  • Sakura Suite

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      We were the first guests in this new small 3 room hotel. Amazing and friendly service throughout. Rooms are huge and high quality.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing, just wish we had stayed longer.

    Reviewed: 11 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Ralph Singapore