Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Sri Lanka Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent reviews for Hotels in Sri Lanka

  • Sigiriya Paradise Inn Guest House

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      Very good experience, we loved our stay here. The owners were always very kind and helpful, they help us in all they could! The view to the Lion Rock is incredible, in the afternoon it gets an amazing light.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Pedro Portugal
  • Drift

    Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Wonderdul host, a great surfing guide himself A charming place, with a nice porch to relax on A great location, quiet but close to everything.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing not to like

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Natalya France
  • Garden Inn

    Mirissa, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The room was clean and that’s about it.

    • Negative section of review

      The shower was sometimes hot and sometimes cold. Only a bed in the room. Nothing else.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Tariq United Kingdom
  • Ella Mount Relax Cottage

    Ella, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      I recommend you all to book a stay here. The cottages were very clean and big and the view is magnificent. On the left you see little adams peak and on the right Ella rock. Staff is very helpfull and kind. They speak properly english and gives you a lot of info and suggestions The location is perfect, only 5 min walk to the center and close to the start of little adams peak We had breakfast at our cottage and it was delicious. I strongly advice everyone to book this for 1 night or even more to relax with a beautiful view

    • Negative section of review

      The size of the bed was a little bit to small and we had lots of noise of squirrels on the roof but that’s part of the nature experience

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Alexander Belgium
  • Cinnamon Lakeside

    Colombo, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 8.3
    • Positive section of review

      I have to particularly mention about Laki Seniviratne. He was exceptionally good in his job. Always greeted with a smile. Was more than ready to serve us with not so readily available food such as Appa. Very courteous -- held the door when customers are coming in and out. I believe he is an asset to the Executive floor. There is a manager by the name Srimal who helped us overwhelmingly in sorting out our room which was booked wrongly. I have given a separate review for that. Mr Alex Jayamaha -- the overall manger of the bookings of rooms etc. helped us immensely. He was always there available to discuss our problems. In fact he brought a manager down - Michell from Cinnamon bookings to talk about the lapses they had in our booking.

    • Negative section of review

      The fact that the booking centre says subject availability. WE booked one year ago and still they could not allocate a stand alone shower. Srimal and Alex at the hotel came to our help. and we got what we wanted.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    AJANTHA United Kingdom
  • Kandy City Hotel by Earl's

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 7.8
    • Positive section of review

      central location and value for money

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    narada Sri Lanka
  • Charlton Kandy Rest

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 7.1
    • Positive section of review

      Great staff, had a lovely interesting chat to owner and we learnt more about Sri Lanka than any tour guide! Rooms good, shower temperamental, locataion good, fine for a few nights

    • Negative section of review

      Walls seem very thin, can hear noise early from staff cleaning and other hotels guests. Disrupted our sleep. Hotel suggests it has a restaurant although was not made aware of it or promoted

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Izzy United Kingdom
  • The Tasty Tuna Cabana

    Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Great little cabanas. Very friendly staff.

    • Negative section of review

      Very isolated location. Nothing to do here - only surf. Beach very difficult for swimming. Kept awake on Friday night with all night party with very loud music until 7am.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Verity Australia
  • Flower Garden Eco Village

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      Great location, staff and design

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Hitham Italy
  • GSH Colombo

    Colombo, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 7.8
    • Positive section of review

      The only great person at the hotel was Susantha.

    • Negative section of review

      This was the first hotel of our stay in Sri Lanka and it was the worse. The room I booked by looking at the pictures were the deluxe queen room, but we got a really small double room which had hardly any space to move around with all our luggage. We were meant to stay there for 3 nights, and we asked for a room change coz it wasn’t the room that we booked and we were told that it was the correct room and they could offer us the other room the next day, which is after spending 2 nights in a compact room. And there were so many ants running around on the bed, on the floor and in the bathroom. Also they had charged me twice the same amount for the room and I am still awaiting the refund. Last but not least the day of us checking out, i got a call to the room saying ‘can You please check out, coz we got other check ins’! It was a worse hotel and experience that we came across of what we thought would have been the beginning of a beautiful holiday.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous United Kingdom

Highly rated hotels in Sri Lanka by reviewers who speak English

  • The Green Village Dambulla

    Dambulla, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Everything was perfect. The host offers free transport to some places. He is really caring! The room was large and perfectly clean, the bathroom was as well! I had dinner and it really was the best during my stay until now! The breakfast was also exceptional! Highly recommendable!!

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing!

    Reviewed: 23 July 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    Oliver Germany
  • Funwhales Rest House

    Negombo, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Best place in Sri Lanka! Amazingly clean, great owners, very good breakfast, totally recomended!

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    Reviewed: 7 March 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    CristinaFBlasco Spain
  • Shady mango villa

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Nayana and Sunil were the sweetst host you will ever come across. Nayana made us delicious breakfast and the richest dinner we had in our whole time in Sri Lanka it was delicious! Sunil took us on a trip with his tuk tuk to the Pidurangala Rock and guided us up which was great. We will definetly come back and we wish you best of luck with your further plans of setting up tree houses for the guests! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

    • Negative section of review

      Everything was absolutely amazing and perfect!

    Reviewed: 3 July 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Michel Germany
  • The Countryside Udawalawe

    Udawalawe, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      This was the only accomodation who contacted us in advance to offer inward and onward taxi journeys which we appreciated. The service from the owner and his wife was exceptional and we were made to feel very welcome They provided us a tasty lunch and sublime dinner for a great price The lodges were done out to a high spec and he has made them have a luxorious feel to them They popped out into town for us to get some beers which was a nice touch.

    • Negative section of review

      Not much really. The garden in which its set still needs some work doing to it as it wasnt exactly picturesque but as its not been open long you cant really moan.

    Reviewed: 13 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Adrian United Kingdom
  • Manthally Cabanas

    Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      The location is amazing, pure jungle, the people and the dogs, especially bulla ;), are super friendly and the food is awesome!! What else can we say!!! Best place in Hikkaduwa !!!!

    Reviewed: 9 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Alessandro Italy
  • Sigiriya Village Home Stay

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Owners offer their best attention and care, will arrange any plans you want for best price and offer advice if you need. Breakfast is delicious

    Reviewed: 4 November 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Amaya Spain
  • Serene Home Stay

    Udawalawe, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Best place to stay in Udawalawe. Hosts are very kind and helpful. Totaly recommend this place!

    Reviewed: 9 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Wojciech Poland
  • e-stay Hanthana Kandy

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Very comfortable room with a nice balcony with superfriendly hosts

    Reviewed: 3 September 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Beata Germany
  • W Villa@Yala

    Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      You r gonna fall in LOVE with this guesthouse ! It's amazing! Very clean and lovely rooms, the decoration is soooooo cute! Everything you need Is there , AC, Hotwater, Wifi, Friendly staff and peaceful environment. You can also enjoy yourself in the backyard Breakfast is delightful. And I have to mention the owner - Ian Wong, absolutely the coolest Chinese girl I've ever met.

    • Negative section of review

      You may see insects here and there sometimes but it happens everywhere in Yala area due to the natural environment. So nothing to complain about that.

    Reviewed: 21 September 2017
    Yang Sri Lanka
  • Pearl White Villa

    Udawalawe, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      This place, wow! My partner and I were sceptical of how something so cheap could have such incredible reviews. So we gave it a chance and we are glad we did. Rooms are spot less, staff will do anything for you and the dinner is absolutely incredible! We also had an awesome time on their safari. Thanks for letting us stay :)

    Reviewed: 26 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Todd Australia
  • Samindra Villa

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Wonderful view and amazing house. Lovely family, very helpfull and great food. Very clean rooms and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: 2 April 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Aryan Sweden
  • Babar Point

    Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Super nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and carefully designed. Six little houses are grouped around a perfect pool, a lot of coconut trees and sandy paths. Whiskey Point is just a 4 minutes walk away for surfing. Catherine and her husband Michel are not only very nice and caring, they also rent surfboards!

    • Negative section of review

      The location is a bit off and the roads leading there are quite bumpy. But this is changing in the coming months as new roads are being build.

    Reviewed: 7 June 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Kai Sri Lanka
  • Bianco Terrace

    Negombo, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Very beautiful and clean place! The breakfast was great and very delicios! Try the avocado juice! Kingsdon and his wife will do everything for you to enjoy the stay in Negombo. Thank you very much again!

    Reviewed: 12 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Christoph Germany
  • The Peppermint

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Beautiful location, and a very good price for what is offered. The staff there are lovely as well, and have by far the kindest and most generous hostel I've stayed in Sri Lanka. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Reviewed: 5 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Ben Sri Lanka
  • The One Ella

    Ella, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      The One Ella is situated at the beginning of the Little Adam's Peak road with a stunning view at Ella Rock. The rooms/houses are decorated with so much love for detail. Dammika is a wonderful host. He's always happy and could organise everything you'd like and has great tips what to do in Ella. Also when we asked to have early breakfast to go up Ella Rock afterwards, this was no problem for him. We stayed here for 4 nights and this was definetely the best hotel of our trip so far. Dammika makes you feel like home. We would definetely recommend everybody traveling to Ella to stay here, it's amazing!! Just a little tip: the location on booking.com is wrong. Just follow the passara road until you see Ella Flower Garden on the right side, here the road to little adam's Peak starts. It's the second guesthouse on this road on your left.

    Reviewed: 13 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    carmenphilip Austria
  • Marvellous Inn

    Ella, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      The room, location and the owners

    • Negative section of review

      That I booked just for 2 nights...

    Reviewed: 14 March 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Jerry Netherlands
  • The Destination

    Udawalawe, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Calm & quite place with excellent service.

    • Negative section of review

      I have no such experience.

    Reviewed: 22 July 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    Tony Bahrain

Highly rated hotels in Sri Lanka by all reviewers

  • AdenLanka Villa

    Negombo, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Aden is the best ! Really nice and thoughtful ,breakfast also tasty .definitely worth staying.非常好,性价比很高!关键是aden人很好,值得推荐

    • Negative section of review

      None is no good

    Reviewed: 1 October 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    kellie China
  • The Green Village Dambulla

    Dambulla, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Everything was perfect. The host offers free transport to some places. He is really caring! The room was large and perfectly clean, the bathroom was as well! I had dinner and it really was the best during my stay until now! The breakfast was also exceptional! Highly recommendable!!

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing!

    Reviewed: 23 July 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    Oliver Germany
  • Shady mango villa

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Nayana and Sunil were the sweetst host you will ever come across. Nayana made us delicious breakfast and the richest dinner we had in our whole time in Sri Lanka it was delicious! Sunil took us on a trip with his tuk tuk to the Pidurangala Rock and guided us up which was great. We will definetly come back and we wish you best of luck with your further plans of setting up tree houses for the guests! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

    • Negative section of review

      Everything was absolutely amazing and perfect!

    Reviewed: 3 July 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Michel Germany
  • Sigiriya Amenity Home Stay

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Got a very warm welcome and was through out the stay very happy with the service. They are good at arranging things and are very flexible. We went with the owner to see the sunrise from a rock close to the main one and this trip ended up beeing the best we did in Sigiriya and the best sunrise during our whole vaccation. The owner also drove us to Kandy after our stay. That ride took longer than expected, about 4h, and in retrospect we should probably have chosen a normal taxi instead of the owners truck since it wasn't that comfortable. The food was awesome! Excellent WiFi!

    • Negative section of review

      The room was very warm to sleep in and the fan didn't help a lot.

    Reviewed: 21 October 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    Mikael Denmark
  • The Countryside Udawalawe

    Udawalawe, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      This was the only accomodation who contacted us in advance to offer inward and onward taxi journeys which we appreciated. The service from the owner and his wife was exceptional and we were made to feel very welcome They provided us a tasty lunch and sublime dinner for a great price The lodges were done out to a high spec and he has made them have a luxorious feel to them They popped out into town for us to get some beers which was a nice touch.

    • Negative section of review

      Not much really. The garden in which its set still needs some work doing to it as it wasnt exactly picturesque but as its not been open long you cant really moan.

    Reviewed: 13 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Adrian United Kingdom
  • Manthally Cabanas

    Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      The location is amazing, pure jungle, the people and the dogs, especially bulla ;), are super friendly and the food is awesome!! What else can we say!!! Best place in Hikkaduwa !!!!

    Reviewed: 9 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Alessandro Italy
  • Sigiriya Village Home Stay

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Owners offer their best attention and care, will arrange any plans you want for best price and offer advice if you need. Breakfast is delicious

    Reviewed: 4 November 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Amaya Spain
  • e-stay Hanthana Kandy

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Very comfortable room with a nice balcony with superfriendly hosts

    Reviewed: 3 September 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Beata Germany
  • Nethmi Homestay

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Absolutely amazing - most helpful and caring family, beautiful clean room and lovely quiet location. Spent 5 nights here and loved every minute of it. Missus Malika's cooking is absolutely delicious and breakfast is huge and tasty. Mr Bandara tries his best to make you feel welcome and is always very helpful. Wifi was very good too. Thanks a million to you all again for everything! :-)

    • Negative section of review

      Absolutely nothing!

    Reviewed: 4 January 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Lucia Ireland
  • Lavendra Paradise

    Ella, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Perfect place, beautiful location, wonderful owner, amazing breakfast, incredible value for money.

    • Negative section of review

      Could maybe do with an extra shelf in the bathroom.

    Reviewed: 29 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    elizabeth United Kingdom
  • Tropical Villas

    Negombo, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      I liked how the Villa was so relaxing and very peaceful. The pool was good fun especially with the balls and floats. We watched a movie in a big theatre area with reclining couches in it. A very lovely place to stay.

    • Negative section of review

      My children didn't like how there were not many options to chose from the menu. Also the pillows weren't comfy.

    Reviewed: 21 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Sonya Australia
  • Lahiru Homestay

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      We loved Lahiru Homestay! Hiru and his family were kind, attentive, friendly hosts!!! The room was spacious, cool, clean and comfortable. The setting is lovely surrounded by birds and monkeys. There is a fruit stall right outside the place which is super convenient. Restaurants within 5 minute walk. Hiru took us to Pidurangala Rock by tuk tuk for a very good price. Breakfast was delicious and homemade! We wish we stayed longer. Wifi was excellent. Bus stop right in front of homestay.

    Reviewed: 9 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Stephanie Malta
  • W Villa@Yala

    Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      You r gonna fall in LOVE with this guesthouse ! It's amazing! Very clean and lovely rooms, the decoration is soooooo cute! Everything you need Is there , AC, Hotwater, Wifi, Friendly staff and peaceful environment. You can also enjoy yourself in the backyard Breakfast is delightful. And I have to mention the owner - Ian Wong, absolutely the coolest Chinese girl I've ever met.

    • Negative section of review

      You may see insects here and there sometimes but it happens everywhere in Yala area due to the natural environment. So nothing to complain about that.

    Reviewed: 21 September 2017
    Yang Sri Lanka
  • Samindra Villa

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Wonderful view and amazing house. Lovely family, very helpfull and great food. Very clean rooms and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: 2 April 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Aryan Sweden
  • Babar Point

    Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Super nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and carefully designed. Six little houses are grouped around a perfect pool, a lot of coconut trees and sandy paths. Whiskey Point is just a 4 minutes walk away for surfing. Catherine and her husband Michel are not only very nice and caring, they also rent surfboards!

    • Negative section of review

      The location is a bit off and the roads leading there are quite bumpy. But this is changing in the coming months as new roads are being build.

    Reviewed: 7 June 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Kai Sri Lanka
  • Bianco Terrace

    Negombo, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Very beautiful and clean place! The breakfast was great and very delicios! Try the avocado juice! Kingsdon and his wife will do everything for you to enjoy the stay in Negombo. Thank you very much again!

    Reviewed: 12 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Christoph Germany
  • V Cabanas

    Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      The room very very clean and new with a very comfortable bed and a perfect view from the balcony over the rice fields. Just like the pictures said. Excellent manifold breakfast and dinner, both with tasty fresh fruits. Beside all that perfection the owners are very friendly and helpful. Always tried to fit all needs. Took the free bike to take a ride to the small city which was just 5 minutes away. It definitely was one of the best stays in Sri Lanka!

    Reviewed: 14 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Joerg Germany
  • The Peppermint

    Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Beautiful location, and a very good price for what is offered. The staff there are lovely as well, and have by far the kindest and most generous hostel I've stayed in Sri Lanka. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Reviewed: 5 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Ben Sri Lanka
  • Sigiri Regal Residence

    Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      The hosts are amazingly friendly and helpful. The food is amazing. Loved it. Good location. Highly recommend

    Reviewed: 14 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Al Australia
  • The One Ella

    Ella, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      The One Ella is situated at the beginning of the Little Adam's Peak road with a stunning view at Ella Rock. The rooms/houses are decorated with so much love for detail. Dammika is a wonderful host. He's always happy and could organise everything you'd like and has great tips what to do in Ella. Also when we asked to have early breakfast to go up Ella Rock afterwards, this was no problem for him. We stayed here for 4 nights and this was definetely the best hotel of our trip so far. Dammika makes you feel like home. We would definetely recommend everybody traveling to Ella to stay here, it's amazing!! Just a little tip: the location on booking.com is wrong. Just follow the passara road until you see Ella Flower Garden on the right side, here the road to little adam's Peak starts. It's the second guesthouse on this road on your left.

    Reviewed: 13 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    carmenphilip Austria
  • Marvellous Inn

    Ella, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      The room, location and the owners

    • Negative section of review

      That I booked just for 2 nights...

    Reviewed: 14 March 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Jerry Netherlands
  • The Destination

    Udawalawe, Sri Lanka

    Average review score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Calm & quite place with excellent service.

    • Negative section of review

      I have no such experience.

    Reviewed: 22 July 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    Tony Bahrain