Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Madagascar Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent reviews for Hotels in Madagascar

  • Antsirabe Hotel

    Antsirabe, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Great staff, great food, great price. Best place to stay in Antsirabe!

    • Negative section of review

      Only one plug in the room and no way to make some tea/coffee.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Mihai Romania
  • SOUIMANGA-HOTEL

    Antsirabe, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      The beautiful garden, the breakfast and the creative rooms

    Reviewed: 24 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Iris Netherlands
  • Grand Hotel Urban

    Antananarivo, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      Everything

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: 24 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Mervin Mauritius
  • Isalo Rock Lodge

    Ranohira, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      Good facilities, good food, and the most incredible views. A bit of luxury for us while visiting Isalo and well worth it. Able to get good advice from the staff about things to see and do, as well as help with our onward journey

    • Negative section of review

      Menu options in the restaurant are quite limited so get in touch ahead of your stay if you have dietary requirements. The pool wasn’t heated but given the temp outside it’s actually a good thing!

    Reviewed: 24 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Gregory United Kingdom
  • Chez Julienne et Patrick

    Fianarantsoa, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      For the price, it’s a fantastic place to stay. Some of the best food we had while in Mada, plus they were really accommodating with timings for meals, and Julienne was on hand to offer advice for our onward journey to Isalo. An ideal base for budget travellers spending a couple of days visiting Ranomafana, which is a 90 min journey away.

    • Negative section of review

      It’s perfect if on a budget but just be aware: it’s a little tricky to find (although locals can often help for a small fee), the toilet and shower are in a separate building outside, the rooms are up a steep wooden staircase so it’s probably not suitable for those with mobility issues, and we had a bit of trouble with fully closing the mosquito net. But all in all would happily recommend.

    Reviewed: 24 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Gregory United Kingdom
  • Les Dauphins De Nosy Be

    Andilana, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      We had a perfect stay. The dinners are amazing and Gerard is very friendly host who made our stay perfect, he organised a lovely trip for us to the island of Sakatia.

    Reviewed: 24 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Malin Sweden
  • Ikopa Hôtel Madagascar

    Antananarivo, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      The staff was very friendly, ready to help at all time. I apreciated the dinner in a family ambiance. The garden is so nice and kids friendly. They allowed my nepheus to came just to play and swim there. They were so happy.

    • Negative section of review

      There are still some works to improve the hotel and there were some noises and dust. But it is not all times.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Nirina France
  • Ankaratra RESIDENCE

    Antsirabe, Madagascar

    Average review score: 7.9
    • Positive section of review

      Charming and quite place to stay.

    Reviewed: 24 September 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Anna Spain
  • Longo Vezo

    Anakao, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.3
    • Positive section of review

      One word: paradise; the place is amazing!

    Reviewed: 24 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anna Spain

Highly rated hotels in Madagascar by reviewers who speak English

  • Avamada Lodge

    Ivato Aeroport Antananarivo 105, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Owner was helpful and friendly. Little oasis in tana .

    Reviewed: 4 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Emma United Kingdom
  • La Petite Perle

    Ambondrona, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      Very pleasant staff. Close to a nice beach.

    • Negative section of review

      Bathroom door was non existent, only a bit of a barrier. On a small dirt road, not much public transport.

    Reviewed: 4 October 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    Eran Israel
  • Three Palms Fianar

    Fianarantsoa, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      Nice view from the room, the owner was very nice

    • Negative section of review

      Their shuttle was way overpriced

    Reviewed: 17 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    RHenrietta Netherlands
  • Libertalia Hotel

    Sainte Marie, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.1
    • Positive section of review

      Amazing infinity pool and walkway into the sea, friendly staff and good food, and lots of different areas to relax (from hammock to swing to under the coconut tree)

    Reviewed: 24 November 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Amanda United Kingdom
  • La Varangue

    Antananarivo, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The room was very nice, and the staff was incredibly helpful. I had a change of plan and had to shorten my stay at the last minute and they accommodated me, which I cannot thank them enough for. Highly recommends this hotel. Also, breakfast was very nice and worth it.

    Reviewed: 25 September 2016 Stayed in September 2016
    Rose514 Canada
  • Chez Julienne et Patrick

    Fianarantsoa, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Historic house with an amazing view on the lower city Felt like being in Toscane...

    Reviewed: 24 February 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Hugo Canada
  • Le Chat'o Park Hotel

    Antananarivo, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      New hotel, really comfy bed and great rooms. Nice food with great service and lovely owners.

    Reviewed: 18 March 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    Philip United Kingdom
  • Grand Hotel Urban

    Antananarivo, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      Nice hotel.

    • Negative section of review

      It was not possible to get a normal taxi - just shuttle service with was much more expensive (we ask several times) Got first a room on the street side.....really! nosy.

    Reviewed: 27 April 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Anonymous Sweden

Highly rated hotels in Madagascar by all reviewers

  • Avamada Lodge

    Ivato Aeroport Antananarivo 105, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Owner was helpful and friendly. Little oasis in tana .

    Reviewed: 4 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Emma United Kingdom
  • Océan Beach Sakatia

    Nosy-Be, Madagascar

    Average review score: 8.3
    • Positive section of review

      We were the only guests and had a beautiful private beach only for us. Extremely friendly staff and very helpfull hosts. The food was really good!!

    • Negative section of review

      It is not possible to pay by credit card

    Reviewed: 23 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    JvH Spain
  • Libertalia Hotel

    Sainte Marie, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.1
    • Positive section of review

      Amazing infinity pool and walkway into the sea, friendly staff and good food, and lots of different areas to relax (from hammock to swing to under the coconut tree)

    Reviewed: 24 November 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Amanda United Kingdom
  • Luxury Sakina Villa - Beachfront

    Dzamandzar, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Awesome staff, comfortable house, bad location and we were not received on our first night! It took us a long time to figure things out with staff who don't speak English.

    • Negative section of review

      Welcome your Guests- organise for good transfer and taxi vehicles- have a brochure of possible things to do nearby. Also ensure you have a fully paid for pay TV!

    Reviewed: 16 December 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    peter Kenya
  • Anakao Ocean Lodge

    Anakao, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      We had the beach side bungalow - it's really located at the beach side - means that our bungalow's slicing doors are right towards the sea with unblock view, and the bungalow is only 20 meters (maybe lesser) to the sea. Room and toilet are big and clean. There is no electronic (includes air-con) from 11pm- 6am so we kept the door and windows wide open while we sleep (it's safe) . It feels so good when you sleep under the milky way and have sea waves as the lullaby. PS: it's not hot to sleep without aircon but with doors and windows open. This hotel staff are very responsible, our shower area drainer had some problem on the first night, after reporting, they immediately sent staff to check and opened another bungalow for us to take shower first. The problem was fixed on the next day before noon.

    • Negative section of review

      Breakfast cost 6-7 Euro per pax and it's just basic - Local Fruits ( papaya / Banana/ Pineapple) , bread ( taste ok only) w jam and tea/coffee. Not worth the price. All transport services from the hotel are very expensive, such as the trip to Nosy Ve island. Suggest that you contact your own local driver to help arrange the trip (if you have your own driver /guide) .

    Reviewed: 18 January 2017 Stayed in December 2016
    Sola, Singapore
  • Komba Forever

    Nosy Komba, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      About me:- I travel upper budget class, so my expectations are just that, and my expert opinion based on that. I am a professional tour guide / small lodge owner, and had enough 5 star hotel experience. Thanks, but no thanks, not for me! During my last Thailand trip, we booked a week in a 5 star hotel, but enjoyed a small very cheap family run lodge much more. (During my stay here, I met a group of real billionaires? and they also liked it. ) Komba forever... The sea and the beach were spotlessly clean. All the leaves were cleaned daily. The coral reef was no disappointment, and as good as it gets in this area. The place is picture perfect beautiful. I took lovely classic tropical island pictures, even the view from my room or the dining room was lovely. Pity the sun-rises are so early! I would think it would be a perfect honeymoon spot. Private, even secluded little beaches, no beach boys, no beggars, no noise, no discos, no bars. The locals you do see are busy with survival fishing and always very friendly. The owner's brother Jael, treats every customer like he was a visiting price from a neighboring kingdom. They have no electricity, but solar lights and even a high quality dc fan during the day or night helps a lot. At high tide it is near impossible to walk to the reef, but when I really wanted to go, Jael organised a canoe to take me there. (free of charge) At the previous resort they wanted 10% of the purchase price of the canoe per day. When my daughter went into labour in the USA, (why my wife was not present) and I needed communication, he left the WiFi on all night! The water in front of the place was crystal clear, see photo. Whilst there was some dead coral, there were many tropical fishes and some turtles on the lovely reef only 300 meters down the beach. You can walk onto the coral reef, and WHOW!! a dolphin jumped in front of me. I got lovely underwater videos, and that was the main reason for my trip.

    • Negative section of review

      1) This was the most I ever paid for 3Km travel. You travel 6 km to the island for E1.50, and E20 for the 3km along the coast. 2) There are ample charging ports in the dining room, which kept my cameras full, but not in the room where my phone was always flat. I suggest they install a double USB 12 volt charger socket on the existing 12 volt line in each room. They only cost 2 Euro. 3) Leaving

    Reviewed: 6 June 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    andy South Africa
  • Le Jardin du Roy

    Ranohira, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Amazing lodge inside the Isalo Park. Everything is perfect and well finished. The quality of the food is superb and all the staff is very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    • Negative section of review

      Everything is perfect

    Reviewed: 11 September 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Marco Italy
  • Laguna Blu - Resort Madagascar

    Andavadoaka, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      It was an amazing experience, you feel like home every moment. The place, the location, the service, the beaches... It it a must!

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing. everything was perfect.

    Reviewed: 13 September 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Tiago Spain
  • Le Jardin de L'isle

    Ifaty, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      I'm sure this is the best place to relax on the beach of Ifathi. You come, as if on a visit to a close relative. Heartiness, care for guests, affability, wonderful French humor and breakfast from Dominiqe left the warmest impressions and memories. Thank you for everything! Definitely recommend!

    Reviewed: 13 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Alexander Russia
  • PAP'S Chambres d'Hôtes

    Mahajanga, Madagascar

    Average review score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      i like the room style most, it is clean, but one thing is there is no restaurant in the hotel, and the location is not easy to find.

    • Negative section of review

      the location on google Map is wrong.

    Reviewed: 5 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Anonymous Madagascar