Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Tanzania Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent reviews for Hotels in Tanzania

  • Pongwe Beach Hotel

    Pongwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      This place is a trully paradise. No beach boys. Rooms are beautiful, swimming pool as well. Staff is friendly and helpful We loved our stay here

    • Negative section of review

      Leaving

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Marine United Kingdom
  • The Seyyida Hotel and Spa

    Zanzibar City, Tanzania

    Average review score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      Great location and stunning views from restaurant. Breakfasts were excellent and the staff made us feel very special. Nice little pool though could do with loungers as chairs not overly comfortable. I had a spa treatment which was wonderful. Room was spacious and lovely and clean. Bed was large and comfortable with good mosquito nets although we didn’t see any mosquitoes. Stone town is amazing and the hotel is in the heart of it but also very near to the sea. Loved it!

    • Negative section of review

      The only negative was the evening meal was not amazing and expensive. Also drinks were expensive compared to other places.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Ruth United Kingdom
  • 27 Cafe Zanzibar Airport Hotel

    Zanzibar City, Tanzania

    Average review score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      Perfect place in the very proximity of the airport. Very cozy nice small hotel. Pretty large rooms. Very clean. Good restaurant/bar/cafe. Tasty food. Very helpful personnel. Accepts cards. Perfect place when you arrive or leave early/late from Znz airport. Taxi to airport 10 usd. Taxi to stone town 5 usd. And back 5 usd. I totally recommend.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Rafal Poland
  • Seles Bungalows

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Staff were wonderful, the food was AMAZING and the bar and restaurant were beautiful and comfy. Janet was very helpful in arranging our trip and made herself available every evening to greet the guests.

    • Negative section of review

      The room stayed quite hot even with the air con on full blast.

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Nic United Kingdom
  • Chelsea Hotel

    Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

    Average review score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      Staff were wonderful!

    • Negative section of review

      Tricky to find

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Nic United Kingdom
  • Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

    Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

    Average review score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      The staff were very good. Especially the reception and breakfast area staff.

    • Negative section of review

      The restaurants and bar are both overpriced

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Avinash United Arab Emirates
  • Tamani Villas - Annex

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Fantastic place. Well run and polite service. Everything was what we expected. Would definately stay here again.

    • Negative section of review

      I liked mostly everything but id say if you like a little bit more excitement nungwi which is a few miles away is a better bet but apart from that perfect stay

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    dollabeelz United Kingdom
  • Colosseum Boutique Hotel & Spa

    Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

    Average review score: 7.9
    • Positive section of review

      Accidentally, I left my passport in my room . . .frantic at the airport I was able to call my office and have them call the hotel's front desk. They were able to retrieve the wallet and get a taxi to bring it to me in time for me to catch my flight! Great service there! Also, as I like to work out when on the road, the fact that guests have full access to the gym next door was a great plus for me. I will definitely be back!

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Michael South Africa
  • Green Mountain Hotel

    Arusha, Tanzania

    Average review score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      The bed was extra comfy and the food was great

    • Negative section of review

      The strength of the WiFi should be increased. WiFi Rating is 7/10

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Kobia Kenya
  • Coral Reef Resort

    Pwani Mchangani, Tanzania

    Average review score: 6.9
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel is ideally situated.

    • Negative section of review

      It’s like no one care for this hotel, everything is broke, dirty, not working and not well maintained. The room was smelling, the towels were dirty, the pillows must be changed immediately, the nette full of holes. Also all the staff is incompetent. And not friendly. Mistakes all the time. There is no organisation at the restaurant. The food is way too expensive for the quality they serve, and also compare to the standard of the hotel. I cannot recommend this place at all

    Reviewed: 23 September 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous France

Highly rated hotels in Tanzania by reviewers who speak English

  • Hunch Backpackers

    Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      I really can recommend this place! I arrived see sick by the ferry from Zanzibar but the stuff and the owner took good care of me and made me feel home within hours. They have a lovely rooftop with a open kitchen surrounded by trees. A real paradise within a big city.

    Reviewed: 12 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Sara Germany
  • White Paradise Zanzibar

    Pongwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Luxury apartment, luxury kitchen, personal, pool, garden....everything

    Reviewed: 3 December 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Jana Czech Republic
  • Milele Beach Resort

    Pingwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel was extremely clean well designed and furnished the food is very delicious , the staff were super friendly and helpful, overall the hotel is highly recommended for couples

    Reviewed: 21 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Yaman United Arab Emirates
  • We Travel Hostel

    Moshi, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Very professional staff and manager. Very good location. Good advices about safaris or Kili climbing. Personnel is always there to help and be sure you don't need anything. Breakfast is awesome too.

    • Negative section of review

      Everything perfect!

    Reviewed: 9 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Zak Belgium
  • Maji Lodge

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Everything was amazing! Calm and quiet atmosphere and the service was great. Enjoyed the breakfast with fresh fruits every morning and as soon as we had a request Natalia helped us to get the most out of our stay. We definitely recommend this place and we will be back!

    Reviewed: 17 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Robin Sweden
  • Zanzibar Queen Hotel

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The swimming pool was great. The location (Matemwe beach) is beautiful.

    • Negative section of review

      1) the evening before our departure from Zanzibar, we booked with the hotel reception, a taxi for the following morning to go to the airport. The taxi failed to show up in the morning and we nearly missed our flight. We had received confirmation the taxi was booked and payment for the transfer was made in advance and included in our hotel bill but the hotel forgot to book. In the end, after significant delay, the hotel managed to call another taxi but we nearly missed our flight. 2) As if the above wasn't enough, we received an email message from the Hotel Management that evening asking if we had taken with us the hotel blanket and small pillow. This after spending nearly $3000 for an average accommodation with over-priced and average food ($25-35 per person per meal, without drinks). My family and I are very disappointed with this establishment. We have no intention of returning to the place or recommending it to anyone of our friends or colleagues.

    Reviewed: 1 January 2017 Stayed in December 2016
    AIDA South Africa
  • Ujamaa Beach Resort

    Makunduchi, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel and place is wonderful! It's a peaceful oasis with a fantastic view to the ocean impressed me so much! Restaurant is amazing - variety of courses, fresh seafood, fish. Hotel service is perfect. Swimming pool - it's a big area with several levels of water - really pleasant swimming time! Our bungalow was very comfortable and pretty designed.

    Reviewed: 6 January 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Maxim Russia
  • The Loop Beach Resort

    Jambiani, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Wonderfully modern, well designed, and cleverly branded, with great enthusiastic service!

    Reviewed: 28 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Harry South Africa

Highly rated hotels in Tanzania by all reviewers

  • Upepo Garden

    Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      It was wonderful. So relaxing and peaceful. The rooms although small were delightful. The small luxuries of handmade soap were delightful. No TV or music playing so very tranquil. The food was absolutely wonderful and worth every penny. Breakfast was also a feast. The owners could not do enough.

    • Negative section of review

      The beach is not as pleasant as beaches south of Dar. The surrounding area when out walking is a mixture of wealth and poverty. There is a small pub near the hotel which sells pork and is very busy.

    Reviewed: 8 October 2016 Stayed in September 2016
    Elaine22 United Kingdom
  • Garden Beach Bungalows

    Jambiani, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Actually when i was planning to come Africa i didnt have too much expectations. So as i read comments about staff i decided to book this place. And i saw that smiling and helpfull staf was 100% real. Thank you people. After all facility was quite peacfull and silent. Thats what i was looking after a long and tiring journey through mountains. And after so much nature having internet access which was satisfiying my needs was marvelous. Oh i shouldnt forget to say having a hot shower with pressured water which is not coming from ocean was great. All holiday was great but the end was even greater then all. Thanks Ulvi and rest. Hope to come to.this place asap.

    Reviewed: 9 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Sinan Turkey
  • Qambani Luxury Resort

    Michamvi, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      I honestly cannot find one fault in the property. The service was excellent. The staff was friendly, polite and subtle, always anticipating your needs. The decor of the room and the property were impeccable, tasteful and classy. And the food was excellent! I miss all the meals we had already!

    Reviewed: 25 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Helen Netherlands
  • Hunch Backpackers

    Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

    Average review score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      I really can recommend this place! I arrived see sick by the ferry from Zanzibar but the stuff and the owner took good care of me and made me feel home within hours. They have a lovely rooftop with a open kitchen surrounded by trees. A real paradise within a big city.

    Reviewed: 12 September 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Sara Germany
  • Blue Canoe Safari Camp

    Matema Beach, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Great place with very nice staff and owners! The bungalows and the location just amazing. Best food we had during our 4 weeks in Tansania

    Reviewed: 5 February 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Norman Germany
  • White Paradise Zanzibar

    Pongwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Luxury apartment, luxury kitchen, personal, pool, garden....everything

    Reviewed: 3 December 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Jana Czech Republic
  • Milele Beach Resort

    Pingwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel was extremely clean well designed and furnished the food is very delicious , the staff were super friendly and helpful, overall the hotel is highly recommended for couples

    Reviewed: 21 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Yaman United Arab Emirates
  • We Travel Hostel

    Moshi, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Very professional staff and manager. Very good location. Good advices about safaris or Kili climbing. Personnel is always there to help and be sure you don't need anything. Breakfast is awesome too.

    • Negative section of review

      Everything perfect!

    Reviewed: 9 May 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    Zak Belgium
  • Maji Lodge

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Everything was amazing! Calm and quiet atmosphere and the service was great. Enjoyed the breakfast with fresh fruits every morning and as soon as we had a request Natalia helped us to get the most out of our stay. We definitely recommend this place and we will be back!

    Reviewed: 17 October 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Robin Sweden
  • Ujamaa Beach Resort

    Makunduchi, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel and place is wonderful! It's a peaceful oasis with a fantastic view to the ocean impressed me so much! Restaurant is amazing - variety of courses, fresh seafood, fish. Hotel service is perfect. Swimming pool - it's a big area with several levels of water - really pleasant swimming time! Our bungalow was very comfortable and pretty designed.

    Reviewed: 6 January 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Maxim Russia
  • Pembeni Rhotia

    Karatu, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel is very beautiful and clean, with comfortable rooms, good food and nice views everywhere you look at! Staff was super friendly and really going out of their way to please us. The manager, Suri, was lovely and helpful at all times and really made us feel at home. We definitely recommend it and would love to stay there again!

    • Negative section of review

      Hotel could offer leisure options just in case you decide to spend the day there or return earlier from the safari (e.g.: swimming pool, bar etc). Game drives could offer binoculars, which are an absolute must if you want to take the best out of the experience in that area.

    Reviewed: 24 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Livia Brazil
  • The Loop Beach Resort

    Jambiani, Tanzania

    Average review score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Wonderfully modern, well designed, and cleverly branded, with great enthusiastic service!

    Reviewed: 28 August 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Harry South Africa