Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Alajuela hotel reviews
  4. Fortuna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Nayara Hotel Spa and Gardens

Reviews of Nayara Hotel Spa and Gardens This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

La Palma Carretera 142, 61001 Fortuna, Costa Rica

#1 of 95 hotels in Fortuna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Impeccable hotel with great views of the Arenal volcano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably the best hotel in Costa Rica. The location at the bottom of volcano Arenslnis just great, with every single accommodation having a view of it, including the restaurants. The staff if very nice and helpful. Casitas are very nice, super clean and the service is just great. It’s a perfect place for a romantic holiday.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    A+ Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! It was perfect!

    From the moment we arrived till the very end of our stay, Nayara Hotel exceeded our expectations. Hotel guest experience is their priority, and every staff member goes above and beyond in making their guest experience the best possible. Our golf cart driver, Jason, was awesome! He drove us around the property to give us an orientation. He even stopped from location to location to show us creatures and animals that live within the property! Just an incredible experience. The room was extraordinary, with an outdoor shower that allows you to immerse yourself inside the rainforest. The breakfast was great too! Very fresh and lots of options. You can't go wrong booking with Nayara Hotel! Thank you to every staff member for making our experience there so memorable!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Staff is amazing, and the property has everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is amazing, and the property has everything. Its just the perfect place to be in touch with nature in a luxury and comfort place. Every detail in the rooms and all the restaurants are incredible. We went to celebrate a bday and they everybody knew about it and make it just the best weekend. The best hotel in La Fortuna. I’ll definitely be back!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Make this your go to place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I had to be extremely picky, it is actually something not to do with the resort but that they might advertise when you book. If you fly into Fortuna airport there is an additional US$7 fee per person each way charged by the airport but Not included in your ticket. It would be of benefit if the Nayara website warned you of this.

    I'm not usually over effusive in my write ups, but I loved this resort. The staff seemed to bend over backwards to accommodate your requirements. Beautifully laid out with a variety of great restaurants on site. Fantastic guide

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    We meat the manager Frederic ,and the two chefs of the wonderful restaurant..they spoil us..the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every things was perfect and nice..the somelier of the bar nostalgia...amazing.. We meet 3 of the owners so friendly.and the manager Frederic..very very pleasant people.Thank you

    Magnifique!,,, villa..garden.restaurant,spa and thé very very lovely staff..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything, but maybe just a recommendation to perhaps spruce up the lobby area and make it more inviting

    This resort far exceeded my expectations...the property itself is fantastic and the staff were so accommodating and friendly!! The restaurants served delicious food and the breakfast buffet offered every morning was amazing...excellent coffee as well -an added bonus was the live music at dinner. I think that it is great that even during low season, the hotel can still maintain a top level of service. I can't wait to return to this property! I was very impressed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    The perfect way to spend my Birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving

    Everything was wonderful. The staff was friendly, my room was absolutely amazing. The food was fantastic both at the restaurant and room service. The location was incredible, I could have spent my whole trip there happily. I can’t wait to return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Great stay, hard to find something else which meets this level of service and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was so nice and good!

    Luxurous, very friendly staff, very nice environment, rooms stylish, beds were great and bathroom verry big. Big 2 person shower in bathroom and also outdoor room a shower for 2 persons.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave in 2 days' time

    Everything was perfect, from the structures of the buildings to the atmosphere in the restaurants, from the beauty of the nature surrounding the hotel to the spectacular rooms and view. Last but not least: the staff! Wendy our housekeeper, Ana Karina, Priscilla and Karina at the front of the house, William in Altamira, Norlan in Amor Loco, Maudy and Eileen at the spa and the nature guides Andrey and Edson all deserve a shout out!!!!! Everyone has been so warm and friendly and I apologize if I forgot to mention more names, I can not remember all of them!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    9.6
    Exclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The courtesy of the staff, great food (way beyond expectations of what you can find in other resorts), amazing rooms with outdoor shower, outdoor jacuzzi and relaxing terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    Expensive but worth it for a luxury relaxing stay. Perfect for the start of our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes there were no hand towels in the toilets

    Balcony view of the volcano was excellent. Food at all restaurants was some of the best we've ever had and staff all friendly and helpful. Had the best cocktail at Mis Amores restaurant (Passionfruit and cinnamon). Guided tour in the morning is definitely worth getting up for. All tours we paid for were organised by the hotel and excellent. The concept and design of the hotel had clearly been well thought out and we are sad we didn't have time in the evenings to meet the owner and discuss their design.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Truly magical experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Everything about this hotel was exceptional! Beautiful room, fabulous views, luxury facilities & the best service from the hotel staff I have ever encountered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Outstanding facility and staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything !

    This property and the staff are outstanding ! They go out of their way to make you enjoy everything about your stay. We experienced a lot of wildlife on the property including servers sloths, monkeys, armadillo and frogs! The pools are beautiful. They have three hotub size pools that are actual springs water. The large pools are apparently not from the hot spring, however, are really wonsderful. The breakfast is amazing ! Also, they have outstanding music! We heard Beatrix Murillo and guy ( did get his name ) singing one night. They were amazing !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Idyllic Mini-moon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a couple little bumps - for example, we did not receive the Guest pass for our car when we arrived, then had issues getting back into the resort when we returned late at night and spoke insufficient Spanish to communicate with the guard. Once we got in, the front desk took over 10 minutes to get us a car pass, so make sure they give you one when you check in! However, nearly all of the staff are absolutely amazing, and will do everything they can to make your stay perfect. For example, I locked myself out of the casita, and one of the cleaning staff (after checking that I was in fact the guest staying there) let me in to retrieve my keys. Also, make sure you check their online deals.

    The Nayara is amazing! So amazing that we changed our flights and stayed for an extra night. Our casita was stunning - spacious and peaceful, and completely luxurious. The property is very large and incredibly well landscaped - they blended the natural jungle with lush flowers incredibly well. There were also thoughtful touches everywhere, like bug repellent in the room (bring your own too, but they did leave us some), a towel warmer, etc. I really can't wait to go back! The food was also excellent - and not as expensive as I would have expected for such a high-end resort, usually $18-32 for a dinner entree, and the mixed drinks were $11, except during happy hour (4-5!). I'd recommend checking out the restaurants and spa treatments before your arrival, and booking anything you know you can't do without. We procrastinated, and weren't able to go to Besame Mucho, or get our first choice time for a spa treatment (absolutely our fault, the staff were very kind and tried the help us out).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic grounds and the quality of the facilities, service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic grounds and the quality of the facilities, service and food was superb. You can actually use Nayara springs facilities as the two sister resorts are connected and we did this every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    All of the other resorts we stayed in during our trip paled in comparison to this resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is not one negative thing i can say about this resort.

    Everything was amazing. The rooms were up to date and outstanding. The entire facility is extremely clean and well kept. The staff was so nice and attentive. They were ready to assist with all of our requests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Nayara is simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain about. Nayara is simply amazing place to stay.

    All employees were amazing, nayara spa and gardens did not disappoint. Will return again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Nayara is a luxury resort that exemplifies Costa Rica's montra, "Pura Vida!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are working on improving their strawberry daquiris--but the passion fruit and basil mojito were awesome!

    Nayara makes everyone feel special the moment of arrival with the greetings at reception, check in with Tania, the amazing dining experiences, housekeeping, and helpfulness of all the staff. A special thanks to Cristiano and Catherine in dining for making our mealtimes awesome and a special appreciation to executive chef Gerardo Mendez for preparing a traditional Costa Rican dessert that we requested "Arroz con leche" served in coconut shells with an A+++ presentation. He personally served our dish and spent time sharing stories of when his grandmother made it for him as a young child. EXCELLENT!!! We will definitely return in the future!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    10
    Paradise, Sloths and Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rental movies instead of netflix in the room, though nostalgic, are not what you would expect from such an incredible property. The deck of my room could be seen from the paths and was not quite as private as we had hoped, but was still a fantastic room. There was also landscaping going on outside our room all morning.

    The staff helped my husband surprise me with an elaborate flower display on the ground delicately placed by hand and arranged a beautiful bouquet and champagne for our arrival. Everything from the outdoor hot tub to the outdoor shower and lovely indoor shower made you not want leave your room to enjoy the many other features offered at the property. The staff was beyond accommodating and friendly and helped us to see sloths everyday we were on the property! Sloths were a huge highlight. The incredible landscaping leaves you wandering around in a jungle paradise right at the base of Arenal Volcano with beautiful combinations of flora and ponds to keep you excited for every turn. The bed was large, soft and comfortable. The staff will drive you anywhere you would like, all were incredible at spotting wildlife and even picked us up when we got lost wandering back at night from dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    9.6
    Pure luxury from start to finish. Exquisite rooms, ample facilities and excellent food. From the mom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an issue with our phone that made ordering room service difficult

    On arrival we were greeted with a choice of welcome drink and following check-in were taken on a tour of the grounds and facilities. They are beautiful - filled with tropical plants, flowers and animals, tastefully designed to complement and work well within the lush rainforest environment and nature. The room was stunning - a secluded Rainforest Villa, with a huge balcony, outdoor hot tub and hammock, overlooking the sights and sounds of the rainforest. Each morning we were treated to a complimentary breakfast, which was incredible. A huge variety of freshly prepared traditional Costa Rican and western food and drinks. There are 3 other restaurants at Nayara serving lunch and dinner. We ate an Asian Fusion and a Mediterranean restaurant during our time there and also ordered room service, serving traditional Costa Rican dishes. Each meal was excellent. There are three outdoor pools and several outdoor jacuzzis nestled among the tropical wildlife. The adults-only pool with swim up bar is a perfect setting to relax and enjoy a happy hour cocktail overlooking the Arenal volcano. Staff are on hand all day keeping you topped up with drinks and refreshments.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    We chose this resort for our Honeymoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We chose this resort for our Honeymoon. We absolutely made the right decision! Nayara BLEW me away! The staff was so unbelievably accommodating, friendly and genuinely concerned with how our vacation was going. I cried when we left.. THAT'S how amazing our trip was. The front concierge is so friendly and always smiling; if there was ever a problem, we had NO idea. The bellhops (golf cart guys) are so friendly and super informative; they take you on a property tour, show you the wildlife, restaurants, pools, then show you a tour of your room and how to use everything. The restaurant staff is so friendly- pool side service is constant. 11/10 for this place. We will DEF be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went for our honeymoon and this place is amazing. Everything was accessible to do activities and honestly we didn’t even need to leave the resort to see wildlife. The place has every comfier and staff was on a whole new level of customer service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    7.9
    Luxury at a price, no more than a couple of nights needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort is in quite a remote location. We didn't do it but I imagine it would be at least a one or two hour walk to la fortuna. Nayara offer one bus a day at 10 am leaving you somewhat at mercy of the hotel. Trips booked through the hotel are excellent but are more expensive than this found elsewhere the same goes for the food in the resort

    The basic villa that we stayed in was indeed luxurious. The cleanliness could not be faulted and the view of the volcano was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    The staff was phenomenal, the resort is gorgeous and all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, from the moment we were picked up at the airport to being dropped off at the next resort, the entire experience was wonderful.

    The staff was phenomenal, the resort is gorgeous and all the amenities were top notch. The spa services offered were well priced and exceeded my expectations. The rooms are spacious, luxurious and private.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    8.8
    Expensive but luxurious and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price they charge per night you would think it would be an all-inclusive but still somehow worth it.

    Nayara is beautiful and an amazing place to stay. I don't usually stay at a place that cost this much but if you are going to charge that much for a room I appreciate that this place backs it up. Any little early detail Nayara has thought about and taken care of.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.6
    High end nature and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really comes to mind.

    Very comfortable bed. Outdoor shower was great. Dinners at the main restaurant were exceptional and they do different themes every night. One of the best steaks I have ever had. The property is beautiful and very well manicured and has two beautiful walking bridges. I would definitely choose to stay here again. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and truly welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    10
    Heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything!

    Everything! There is not a single thing we didn't like about this property or location. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing views, amazing spa, amazing rooms! We travel the world and always stay in 5star luxury boutique hotels. this place is one of our absolute favorites and we will be coming back to stay again next year!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel but expensive and some of the stuff at the dinner is not the friendliest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We got a room with no view even though we paid and requested a room with the volcano view. We were very disappointed. as this was a trip on our honeymoon.

    The breakfast included is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    9.2
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Springs Villa (Adults Only)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a little too firm, by the third night we were ready to go.

    We loved our private thermal pool, and especially the outside shower. The staff were great and very helpful with everything! The arrangements and the excursions were fantastic$

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is a really excellent venue if you wish to visit the Arenal Volcano. The pool bar in particular is wonderful. We had concern over a couple of issues which were immediately remedied by the most helpful staff and to our complete satisfaction.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious accommodations and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many golf carts on the paths.

    Our room (#44) was fabulous; outdoor shower and jacuzzi. The staff is terrific. A shout out to Luis and Jose in reception; they could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    10
    Already planning my next stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - I can't complain or provide any negative feedback

    Beautiful resort and outstanding customer service. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The accomadations and amenities were exceptional. I can't wait to return for another visit and wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2016

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was afraid that the ceramic soap dispensers in the shower would break!

    Everyone was super gracious, especially since I booked the wrong days!!!!! They had availability so it all worked out but I almost cried.....the resort is beautiful and our guide Diego took us on an epic hike/birdwatching excursion

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    Mucho Gusto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to leave

    The grounds were phenomenal. Issach on the golf cart was so nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. One of the best places I have stayed at.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the best Hotel where I went

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    5 stars in the the jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Just perfect. Many different restaurants bars pools.. huge room .. private feeling in every villa.. excellent service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended in Arenal area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely friendly staff, great location and spectacular tours

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    Nayara is beautiful, the staff is amazing, friendly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nayara is beautiful, the staff is amazing, friendly & very attentive! Wonderful breakfast & great restaurants!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bigger suites to accommodate all family members comfortably in one room

    Location, attention to detail and the staff friendliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Luxurious and surrounded by unadulterated nature on all sides, a real paradise!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Top class hotel, with rooms embedded in the forest, Excellent service, very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was OUTSTANDING, perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OUTSTANDING, perfect. I cant wait to go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.2
    Because of bad weather elsewhere we stayed an extr night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main restaurant a bit like a coffee shop

    Beautiful hotel ,lovely gardens and great rooms in the rain forest

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    10
    Peaceful luxury.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in vanity area could be brighter.

    The terrace hot tub. The early morning yoga. The gardens. The choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    9.2
    A great base to explore the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In Asian restaurant service a little slow

    Staff were amazing and could not do enough for us The tours eg white water dating superb

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    Very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good service. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.6
    Magical environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving

    Magical environment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    10
    It was an amazing vacation and a perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we had leave.

    The service was amazing. The grounds spectacular and the rooms were spacious and very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    10
    The perfect start to our honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The grounds are magnificent and the staff is world-class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    10
    Great resort, excellent for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drive from the airport to the resort. Some of the restaurant food needs improvement.

    Everything was great, the attention to detail is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    9.6
    Nayara is an amazing place to be with your couple!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was not as clean as I was expecting.

    The hotel's staff is very very kind, I loved it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    10
    Great Place for any occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was excellent and the staff was fantastic. They went out of their way to ensure that everything was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    I preferred to order from a menu and not have grill night or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whew it was expensive!

    I preferred to order from a menu and not have grill night or seafood night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    10
    High expectations met
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to like

    Amazing staff, beautiful rooms and grounds

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2016

    10
    Friendliness of the staff, beautiful setting, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of the staff, beautiful setting, well maintained grounds, villa was unbelievable. Food was great. Truly this was the best place we have ever stayed. We enjoyed being at the resort, as well as the various excursions we attended. I do hope we are able to visit again!

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2016

    10
    The elegant and luxurious design of our suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that could have been better would have been that we could have stayed longer!

    The elegant and luxurious design of our suite. The constant effort of the entire staff committed to making our stay beyond expectations. The beautiful landscaping within the grounds.

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2015

    10
    Heaven on earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had to come home!

    Heaven on earth! Perfection! The staff are amazing, so friendly. The rooms which are actually stand alone large gorgeous structures are kept spotless. The VIP tours are a must as is the romantic dinner for two! It's one of the worlds best for a reason!

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2015

    10
    This place absolutely lives up to its reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place absolutely lives up to its reviews. The staff was kind and poise. The views from our room were amazing along with the food and facilities. I didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back again.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    10
    I loved everything about this hotel, the animals around, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, is the best hotel I've stayed in CR

    I loved everything about this hotel, the animals around, the rooms, the breakfast, the welcome appetizer, the pool bar, the facilities are amazing, the yoga teacher Ana is amazing!

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    9.2
    The staff couldn't do more for us, the rooms were lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Other than the restaurants there was nowhere to have a drink before or after dinner.

    The staff couldn't do more for us, the rooms were lovely and the food delicious.

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our children aged 12 & 14 would have enjoyed a larger pool. (Children are not allowed to use the Nayara Springs facilities where there is a larger pool - which is a shame). We survived though and still loved it.

    This hotel is amazing. The food was superb. The service impeccable.

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2015

    9.6
    We were overwhelmed by this hotel from the beginning till...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is really nothing negative to mention here. Close to perfection!

    We were overwhelmed by this hotel from the beginning till the end. Very friendly and helpfull staf. This hotel is a pearl of architecture built in the tropical woods of Arenal, respecting nature in all it's facets. Nice swimming pools, exclusive spa area and excellent restaurants. Trips into the Arenal area are well organized too. A top experience for our family! PURA VIDA

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    8.8
    Resort was very nice, with very friendly staff and service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat expensive and it rained a lot during our stay (in late June). Keep an eye on whether it is the rainy season when you stay as the weather can really become very limiting.

    Resort was very nice, with very friendly staff and service oriented culture. Good facilities including restaurants, spa, and rooms are very nice.

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2015

    9.2
    The staff were so kind and friendly that we left with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a bad experience but we could've done without the lumpy mattresses in the Nayara Suite.

    The staff were so kind and friendly that we left with lasting friendships. Made anniversary so very special for us, inside the room and at Amor Loco restaurant.

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is very beautiful and could be so close to a 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms needed some painting and some tiles needed replacing.

    This hotel is very beautiful and could be so close to a 5 star. They need to update some items in the rooms such as our room needed some tiles replaced on the floor and needed a good painting overall. The indoor/outdoor shower rocked and was a great feature. All rooms look directly at the volcano and we did get some good pictures of it when the clouds weren't covering it. The customer service was overall great. Juan Jose in the lobby. Shout out I only wish I could have taken you home. We hired Julio our personal tour guide and he was beyond excellent. Very informative about the area and eco system and gave a great tour. Also gave us some good places to eat locally. The bartender at the swim up pool Christian I think looked miserable and he looked like he didn't want to be there. Didn't crack a smile the whole time we were there 7 days and had an attitude every time we needed something. But everyone else was perfect. The two pools were awesome and the hot tubs were great and the landscaping was just beautiful. Thank you for a good time.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2015

    9.6
    The staff was extremely attentive, courteous, even a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Billed as an exclusive romantic getaway yet lots of kids, broken outdoor spa, loud guests smoking on porches, casitas are quite close together, adults are defined as 12 and over for purposes of adult on spa, pool and bars.

    The staff was extremely attentive, courteous, even a maintenance man chased us down to show us a blue jeans frog, another while on his way to a task pulled over to show a sloth, every worker is smiling and focused on the guests, can't say enough about all the staff.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2015

    10
    Everything specially Carlotta the ara Pet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If we want to complain than you only can say a to smal pool this due that al the geust stay in the hotel because is is so nice.

    Everything specially Carlotta the ara Pet. No the staff was making the difference, so unbelievably good!!

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2015

    9.2
    Loved the amenities, staff was warm, helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2 1/2 hour bumpy, curvy trek from airport. Food/wine could use some improvement.

    Loved the amenities, staff was warm, helpful and polite. Room/bed amazing!

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2015

    10
    I like the very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like the very friendly staff. The whole experience was a lot like a cruise ship where everything is thought out for you. There is always complimentary food somewhere. The facilities were gorgeous and well kept up. You get to know the staff in a couple of days and you realize that they are genuinely concerned about you and the quality of your stay. We were upgraded to a suite and were in awe over the facilities. The breakfast was included in the price and they even made sandwiches to take with you on your excursions should you chose to. What's not to like?

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, great rooms, very good food, an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked more local / latin american live music in the restaurant instead of the standard US / Europe playlist.

    Very friendly staff, great rooms, very good food, an excellent base for exploring the area

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2015

    10
    The Nayara suite was so beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The three private jaccuzzis need one step built down into them. This is an injury zone exspecially for an older person.

    The Nayara suite was so beautiful! Excellent buffet breakfast. The staff was so helpful.

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2015

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly, attentive, and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly, attentive, and helpful. They made our dinner at Altamira an amazing experience. Beautiful room and grounds. Pool was nice, but small.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    10
    Very nice room and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice room and excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    10
    Friendly and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and attentive staff. Extraordinary attention to details. Beautiful environment. Excellent cuisine.

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2015

    10
    Every small detail was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every small detail was beautiful! Staff will drive you to rooms uphill or in rain. Great balcony area, beautiful pool. Comfortable pillows

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: