Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Alajuela hotel reviews
  4. El Castillo de La Fortuna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa

Reviews of Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

24 km Oeste de la fortuna de San Carlos, 21007 El Castillo de La Fortuna, Costa Rica

#1 of 13 hotels in El Castillo de La Fortuna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 833 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    10
    Everything : big rooms, very good view when not cloudy, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that there is no facilities to dry clothes.

    Everything : big rooms, very good view when not cloudy, nice people, a lot of activities proposed, nice breakfast etc.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    All the walking trails, the free two hour guided morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    All the walking trails, the free two hour guided morning tour and the beautiful gardens. From the patio of our garden view room we watched various birds flitting from one bush to another. Our garden view also included the lake. The staff were friendly and helpful, Estaban gave us lots of great tips. The whole place was such relaxing experience and great get away with lots of things to do. We stayed three night and ate there every night and found there was plenty of choices, the buffet breakfast was delicious with homemade additions like banana bread or choc chip cookies. Our room was down the hill and we didn’t mind the walk up, though we could call reception for a shuttle pick up if needed. We’d definitely head back here if we ever returned to Costa Rica, it’d be first on our list.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    PURE COSTA RICAN BEAUTY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave

    Everything! So beautiful! Rooms nice and monkeys in the morning. Lovely gardens and great hot tub and view. Helpful and friendly staff! Excellent food!,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Sleeping at the foot of the volcano, very attentive staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sleeping at the foot of the volcano, very attentive staff, free walking tour in the morning, outside pool and jacuzzi that can be used until late at night, yummy breakfast with fresh seasonal fruit, beautiful rooms

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road access is not easy if not driving a 4WD.

    Located in the Arenal Park, secluded from everything, this hotel primes for the its quality of facilities. Worth it even for one night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.9
    Great location but can be pricey. Lots of trails around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't sleep at night as it was warm even with the fan going. Not sure if it was me or the room. Maybe I should have slept with the balcony door open but we were afraid of the insect noise. The dinner was a bit pricey.

    Location is amazing. Room is huge and very clean. Close to hiking trails. Free breakfast. Friendly staff. The gardens are well manicured and show a diversity of plants and animals. Great view of the mountain.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, view and rainforest like National Geographic. Don’t drive take a helicopter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel should make sure to inform anyone who is driving themselves that the hotel itself is very isolated and it is a very difficult drive that requires a 4x4 .

    Spectacular view, amazing grounds, facilities and opportunity to experience nature.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No TV in the room...could have done with a drying room.

    Fabulous location, stunning views, howler monkeys, red eyed frogs, an array of bird life. Very comfy, spacious room and great beds.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Beautiful surroundings and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite not being high season, there could have been more shared shuttle services running into La Fortuna. Taxis are expensive and the cost will mount up pretty quickly If you dont have a car.

    Beautiful surroundings and attentive staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    It was a beautiful property, remote and serene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no air conditioning in the room. It was very hard to sleep in the room.

    It was a beautiful property, remote and serene. Great views from the observatory tower, dinning room, and our balcony.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    The trails on property are well maintained and you can spot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you don't have a car, it is secluded and hard to get to at night.

    The trails on property are well maintained and you can spot lots of animals. The volcano views are great on the morning. The food at the restaurant was bit pricey but decent considering the location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have enjoyed thermal baths on the property.

    Great staff! Free morning walk with naturalist (2 1/2 hours) was excellent. Easy walking and we saw a lot. Recommendations for other activities was right on point.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    9.2
    Besides the overall very pleasant stay at the lodge (good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Besides the overall very pleasant stay at the lodge (good food, monkeys in the trees, nice clean rooms and wonderful trails on premis) I'd like to especially mention the horseback riding with Hermann. It was just wonderful! It was my first time on horseback but I immediately felt safe and extremely well taken care of. My wife could go galloping since she is experienced. Hermann explained the flora and fauna and picked guaves from the tree for us to eat. I can highly recommend this tour!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    Love how remote the lodge felt with no road noise, we have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More outside dining would be preferred

    Love how remote the lodge felt with no road noise, we have stayed in a number of other places that you think is far away enough from the road but in fact it’s not. The views from over looking the volcano are spectacular, make sure to rise early enough to see the sunrise and hear the howler monkeys.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    6.3
    Stephen an extremely rude receptionist, a shame!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately we had a very bad experience on the last day with Stephen at the reception. After breakfast we had to get back to our bedroom, went to the reception and asked or two umbrellas for me and my husband. Stephen stood up and in a no very pleasant way ask where I was going. I didn’t tell him but I thought who cares where I am going it’s raining quite heavily outside and we need two umbrellas. I told him quite in shock we where going to our room and he asked what room? I couldn’t believe it! Room 34, I said and he finally just gave us one single umbrella. At check out 2 hours later he made a huge deal that we were not giving him both of the pool towels tickets, which to be honest we never used. Then asked where was the umbrellas he gave us earlier which my husband just left at the entrance of the reception as he walked in. I had to search everywhere for the silly towel ticket until I found it. It made us feel extremely uncomfortable the way this men treated us and after we expended $420 in a 2 days stay the last thing we wanted to do was to still a towel and an umbrella. Our whole experience at the Lodge was completely ruin by the way this Stephen treated us. I felt I was at a Police station being questioned by a police man. A real shame and I hope the owners pay attention to this review and take the necessary measures. The lady we had the previous two days was very polite and of great help I have to say. But this experience brought my review down to a 6.5 instead of a 9 that I would had given to the place.

    The Lodge is right inside the National Park with beautiful room views, specially room 34 where we stayed. There are trails for you to wonder around, a few waterfall and a pond with stunning red eye frogs at night time. There is also a tower and in general Very good for bird watching!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Our stay at Arenal Observatory Lodge was more than perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect.

    Our stay at Arenal Observatory Lodge was more than perfect. We had rooms with views to the volcano, and the views were breathtaking. The rooms were very big and so were the beds, which were also very comfortable. The hotel is located in a reserve of its own, where you can go for a walk around the property. The breakfast was also delicious, as well as the dinner and drinks we had. The views from the restaurant were also amazing. Probably the best hotel in the area!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Beautiful Location and Incredibly Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside is the trade off of staying away from La Fortuna so you have to pay quite a bit of money to get transfers, but you get to stay in a beautiful location

    This is in a fantastic location in terms of views of arenal and the national park. The staff are incredibly helpful to organise tours and taxis and shuttles. The food is tasty and the rooms comfortable. The trails are great on site, I wish I had stayed longer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fantastic except for that brutal access road. Driving it a few times back and forth to do activities like ziplining and canyoning on the main strip (or to enjoy the hot springs) was really mentally draining.

    The entire complex is incredible - you are one with nature and in the middle of nowhere (if that's what you're looking for). Perfect escape for anyone looking to be in a beautiful remote setting at the base of Arenal volcano (the pictures you can capture are incredible). Be aware of the access road to get there - takes about 30 minutes on a dirt road and requires 4x4. Also, once you're at the lodge, you're pretty much stuck there, unless you're willing to make that drive repeatedly. Again, not bad if that's what you're looking for. The location has one restaurant, but it closes for food service at 8:30pm and bar service at 10:00pm. Do the free nature walking tour - you will see some incredible wildlife.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay to explore Arenal area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather was not ideal and we did not see volcano from our volcano view room :-)

    Very friendly and helpful staff, huge territory, plenty of activities. We enjoyed our morning walk with a guide and a hose-riding experience. The hotel is beautiful and clean. Stuff is trying to do their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I can strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.9
    2 day minimum stay needed to really appreciate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The road leading to the lodge is the worst that I experienced in Costa Rica in 3 weeks of travels to remote locations. The remote location has advantages and disadvantages. You hear no real traffic noise except for the tourist buses frequently arriving and you also have limited options should you want to go elsewhere to eat. The nearest options are about 3 miles away down that extremely rough road which takes 20 minutes or so to reach. Dinner options at the lodge were on the expensive side but tasty. My cabin was in a cluster of six rooms which are partially down the mountain from the restaurant and the reception area. It is a long steep climb up to reach the restaurant but they do provide on-site transport if you call for it. I didn't know that until the day before leaving however. The only real gripe about the room is the beds are hard as a rock. A large portion of the property is still being used to farm and raise bulls and some non-native trees like rainbow eucalyptus.

    Second time I have visited the property. First time was 10 years ago. It has changed quite a bit during that time. It is a family run business with approximately 860 acres of property nestled amongst gorgeous mountains and has 7 miles of well maintained walking trails. My first visit really sparked my interest in bird watching/photography and the property has a bird list of over 500 species that have been spotted on the property. The restaurant has a viewing deck from which the Arenal volcano (1.7 miles away) and Arenal lake can be viewed. They have a feeding station off the deck where they have attached watermelon and papaya to high branches on a pole which attract many of the fruit eating birds. I didn't see nearly as many species or bird numbers on my second visit however despite a 4 night stay this time. I believe their brochure said that they have 48 rooms available. The rooms are well constructed and well appointed but not overly large as floor space is at a premium for large suitcases. The rooms have no A/C but do have a ceiling fan that works well and the temperatures at this elevation (about 2000 feet) are cool at night. They are also well lit and have a wonderful hot shower with nice towels which you won't find everywhere in Costa Rica. Breakfast is included in the room price and is served buffet style with a variety of fruits, pancakes, scrabbled eggs, juices and coffee and is very good. In addition to the birds the grounds also contain a diversity of mammals and amphibians. I saw several large groups of coati, two groups of congo monkeys and an anteater.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    The location in the middle of the forest was just magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It might not be very eco-friendly, but a place where guests could dry up clothes and boots would be perfect. The weather conditions are often rainy and this would certainly make a difference from a comfort level perspective.

    The location in the middle of the forest was just magical. It allows you to go for walks around the property with well indicated trails. Perfect scenery and amazing hiking! Try the nature tour in the morning which is complementary, ask for Austin!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.5
    breakfast is great, buffet style- great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner is quiet expensive. You can not walk up to the volcano, the trail is closed since 2010.

    breakfast is great, buffet style- great view! We stayed in a great room with volcano view (unfortunately we didn't see it because of the bad weather). The guided morning walk is good! A lot of explanation and a lot of different animals(birds, monkeys,...) in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Great stay at Arenal Observatory lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing to complain about

    The lodge was ideally located with an amazing view of the volcano. The staff was very nice and the food in the restaurant is fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Very pleased with our choice, much preferred it to staying in La Fortuna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked more information and choice about which room we booked. There were several rooms away from the main reception and restaurant which we would have preferred. Coffee/tea facilities in the room would have been nice.

    Access to the trails on the property, day and night, plenty to do if you like nature.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Arenal vulcano-best view ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We loved this Lodge soooo much :-) Friendly and helpful personnel with a personal touch, amazing rooms (Arenal vulcano-best view ever), nice surroundings for hiking!! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly,, lovely gardens, a great observation tower and excellent forest trails.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast with excellent coffee. We had great views of a troop of Spider Monkeys from the balcony of the corridor outside our room. Good trails in the grounds - great for birding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was dirty and filled with bugs. The room did not look ANYTHING like the photos. The rooms do not have a phone, a TV for a clean towel. It was like camping, but way expensive for what was provided. The included breakfast buffet was basic at best. There were bugs in the bed, on the floor, in the bathroom. It was super dirty. We slept in our clothes. Would not recommend.

    The location was great, but super isolated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay here, would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is amazing. The view from the restaurant is brilliant, as is the food. Craft beer is available, which is generally pretty rare throughout Costa Rica. The guided walk in the morning is free and a brilliant chance to check out the wildlife, including the howler & spider monkeys.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location right in the national park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is located 5km from La Fortuna. Difficult if you don't have a car. Taxi costs about $30 to get to La Fortuna. There is a shuttle running from the hotel to the hot springs and La Fortuna but could do with more frequent hours. Food at the hotel restaurant is very overpriced and not very tasty. They could do with another chef.

    Amazing location right in the national park. Great views of Arenal. Staff were amazing and very helpful with everything we wanted. Our room had a lake view and it was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Beautiful, tranquil, and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Isolated from other restaurants, meaning we were restricted to the one in the lodge unless we took a long drive.

    Beautiful setting with lots of birds and other wildlife to view. The volcano looms above the observatory although it's often cloaked in clouds. The staff are extremely congenial and helpful. I loved sitting on our balcony during the intermittent rainstorms to observe the hummingbirds, toucans, guans, and other species pass through the gardens. We will make it a point to return to Arenal just to stay at the Observatory.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    This location saved our Costa Rica vacation and I truly hope we can come back back in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This amazing location literally saved our vacation. We were a bit disappointing by Costa Rica, had some problems with some other accommodations or where not 100% what expected and we also arrived there frustrated by the Costa Rica rip off of paying everything everywhere, and not Costa Rican prices but US prices. Any single activity 30-50 USD /pp standard. I never experienced a place where there is so much nature but completely inaccessible. We had to pay at least 20 USD pp for any hike ( in parks and forests ) and everything else is private property. However we came here a bit frustrated but this location changed our experience. Having everything you can possible need on the location, hikes, birds, forest, volcano. Amazing room with a garden view, the pool and Jacuzzi were great. For lazy evening shuttles throughout the property. The breakfast the best we had and awesome happy hour at 5 so we had lots of drinks with the best sunsets in Costa Rica. They also have shuttles to La Fortuna but the village was not that interesting after coming from this paradise. I can literally say this was the best spent money in this vacation and I will return for sure :). I wish I would had spend at least 1 week there and completely skip Monteverde.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Loved staying at AOL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful immaculate grounds. So much wildlife to be seen from sitting on balcony and walking trails. We stayed in Smithsonian rooms which had amazing views of Volcano and wildlife. Enjoyed pool and Jacuzzi also with great view of volcano. Great trails. Rooms nice and detail oriented ( clothes line, umbrellas, hairdryer,etc). Environmental friendly. Great breakfast. Resturant on site convenient and good. Staff super friendly and nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.8
    Huge property with lots to do and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated property and old signage, requires an upgrade on rooms for sure but overall very nice and beautiful property.

    Huge property with lots to do and great views. Beautiful stunning views, excellent observatory tower, saw many spider monkeys. Rented a double kayak with my partner on the dam near the property and had a great time on the lake. Very close to the main town where there are also many eating options

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing considering all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Avoid the restaurant at all costs, low quality for expensive prices, even the breakfast is subpar. We told the manager of the restaurant who replied that if we saw the prices we shouldn't complain about the food, and that we were the first people to complain about the food. I pointed out that previous reviews on different websites were also critical. He mentioned that they were planning to update the menu (which is the same reply to other reviews that are months old, so I believe this is an excuse). After that we avoided the restaurant altogether and had a good time, but this meant driving 20+ km every night for dinner, sometimes under tropical rain which kind of ruined the idea of a natural immersion getaway. The road to the lodge has about 10 km of dirt road that is really challenging without an SUV, particularly at night and with rain. The location is great but the advertisements promise more than is there : there's a spa but no thermal waters, there's an observation tower which is really an ondulating scaffold away from the forest so not many chances to observe or take pics of birds. There is no option to visit the volcano other than a guided tour (a few km away from the lodge) of the 1968 eruption at the very base of the Arenal. There are a few rooms only on the main building shown in the advertisement picture. Most rooms are actually scattered on the grounds, away from the volcano. We had a nice partial view of the lake but the photos are misleading in this sense.

    Location is great Lots of wildlife if you know where to look Quiet and immersed in nature Large clean rooms. Staff is very nice and polite, management not so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous property, incredible nature, very isolated, and somewhat overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That being said, you are within the rainforest and far away from other things. Once you are here, you are fairly isolated. It's a $30 taxi ride each way down a bumpy road to get to the nearest town. There is an $8 shuttle that runs a few times per day, and we used that to go to the hot springs. Don't come here if you are expecting to leave the property often - we didn't quite realize how isolated it was, and that is mostly our fault. It's more a resort. And my biggest complaint - the food. They only have one restaurant and it's VERY overpriced for lunch and dinner. Because you are isolated, you must eat there, though. My friend had undercooked chicken in her $18 dish one night.

    You are WITHIN the rainforest at this property. The animals are so close - we saw toucans, coatis, and more just wandering around. It is a gorgeously designed property, with plenty to keep you occupied for a handful of days. The view from our lodge overlooking Lake Arenal was breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Amazing! We are definitely coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place has everything you need and is like staying in a fully equipped tree house. The views are epic and the trails are all within walking distance. You have to go to the waterfall on the property! Also the spa treatments are very reasonably priced and worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Spectacularly beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was all perfect for us so no complaints.

    The view from our balcony was perfect for bird watching. Really quiet area. Good sized room and bathroom. The restaurant and terrace overlooking the surroundings was perfect. The food was excellent as were all the staff there and at reception. The walks around the lodge were very good with variations of paths. A wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    The room was comfortable and the staff was so friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in the park so the drive to other tours and some of our activities was a little longer and more expensive... but it was well worth it!

    The room was comfortable and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We did the morning walk, visited the frog pond and the pool. I traveled with my 7 year old son and we had a wonderful experience! I would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to going back! The animals on the property and view of the volcano were truly unparalleled. The flora and fauna are labeled throughout the property and we really loved seeing toucans flying around on our way to breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.2
    The property was wonderful - hiking trails to explore, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the remote location, it does take a while to drive in and out of the park to experience other sights. But totally manageable if you plan ahead!

    The property was wonderful - hiking trails to explore, nice pool and hot tub, and we loved our deck with a direct view of the volcano (too bad it was so cloudy!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, it was amazing to stay inside the park and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant is not the greatest and a bit pricey, but it’s good!

    Great location, it was amazing to stay inside the park and be able to see so many animals at our doorstep! The morning hiking tour is great! Make sure you go to the Nest either early morning or late afternoon (more chances to see the birds!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.6
    It has become our special place to visit, and the people there our new Costa Rican friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only that the upstairs room was being renovated or something, so we could not use it --- that is the only thing we didn't like, but that was okay. Probably the room, lighting could have been a bit better, but it was not a big thing.....

    I loved it all ---- even the frogs croaking at 5 a.m........I cannot explain exactly why, as I have traveled SO much in my life, but it felt as if I belonged there. My grand=daughter was thrilled by her surprise birthday cake (delicious) and the frequent greetings from Staff there,-----they mentioned how polite she was and how interested in everything at Arenal. Housekeeping staff went out of their way to make little towel decorations -- they were so appreciated. Geanina was lovely enough to answer all my frequent questions during planning and was truly gracious about helping me The waiters were friendly and seemed so sincere and pleasant. As a nature and animal lover, it meant a great deal to me to see how respectful everyone was, even to the ''healthy looking' spider that came to visit our room ---- he was gently relocated. Alexis and I made a special connection with your Lodge and the people there and WILL return. Mucho gracias.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't like that we had to leave this unbelievable lodge. Wish we could had stayed longer.

    This facility was beyond what we were expecting. All the staff were very cordial, personable, attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Very nice place near volcan Arenal, surrounded with jungle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't count on the museum, it's a very small room with posters. If you go to the free guided tour in the morning, all the guest will be there too, we were more than 30 people in the tour! A joke. But with kids at the end you come back on a tractor, it's fun for them. The restaurant is over priced for the food they serve. I recommend eating in La Fortuna and coming to the hotel after if you can.

    Very nice place near volcan Arenal, surrounded with jungle. Nice view from balcony, breakfast included is normal - not bad, not wow. Rooms are spacious, even for a family of 4. You have access to trails, you can see a small waterfall (compared to La Paz). Swimming pool and spa is nice with kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    The view is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view is incredible...a rocky road to get their, but well worth it. A number of activities at the site, as well as many others they suggest off site with transportation. Spa was great, breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all well prepared. If you’re going to see the volcano there is no better view, and La Fortuna town is only a 15-20 minute ride.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was first class

    Great room offering view of volcano.Excellent food bar facilities,plenty of walking opportunity. The staff were excellent all around the property. Was very happy to have stayed here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was HARD. The walls were thin, could easily hear neighbors. Had a critter in our wall that liked to get really active around 3am sharp waking us up almost every night. Do not offer room service and you'll spend 12-15 minutes on the roughest road getting out there.

    Staff was very helpful! Grounds were well maintained. Views and trails were awesome!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Perfect location in the National Park Could not have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the National Park Could not have been a better place for my family We enjoyed the free morning guided hike, frog pond, waterfall hike, and countless wildlife, especially birds, around us The gameroom was a hit too We also saw a margay and coati.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    It was off the beaten path with extras that embraced the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited pool facilities, if that is what you are looking for.

    It was off the beaten path with extras that embraced the nature we came to Costa Rica to see. The volcano backdrop and bird viewing were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    The views were spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The views were spectacular. Unbelievably breathtaking!!!!!!! The service was amazing, the food was outstanding!!! I can't say enough about our experience here. Definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    10
    Special staff and place, not so great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant on site for lunch/dinner was not very good and over priced - and it is a 30 min drive over a bad gravel road to get to other restaurants. Definitely not a place for foodies - we were there for the nature and it more than delivered.

    Grounds were beautiful- you stay in the middle of the National Park and have easy access to trails and wildlife and bird watching. Took two tours with guide Christian (bird nest and lava tour). He was awesome and really added to our Experience. This is really a special place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.9
    Panoramic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant lunch / diner quite poor, diner portion wasn’t even enough.

    Frog pond full with frogs and snakes Middle of the national park Panorama view on the volcano

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The setting is fantastic, it is stunning and so diverse. The volcano in the background and huge grounds of primary and secondary rain forest to explore. The rooms are lovely looking out on to the forest and the restaurant has such great.views. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    10
    Would recommend this location to anyone. Exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were hard for me but I like a really soft bed. Given the open windows and walls to let the air circulate, you can hear your neighbors so they could hear us. No biggie though. That's common.

    Great experience overall. They have it "down" when customer service is concerned. The free morning hike was wonderful. Our guide was awesome. Horseback riding was fun, inexpensive and beautiful. Most of the staff have been there for many years, love their jobs and know their stuff..which shows. The food at the restaurant is pretty good. The rooms were great! We had 2 different rooms and they moved our luggage for us. Very different vibes, scenery and views yet both rooms were beautiful! The staff went to great lengths to make us happy and were wonderful! The grounds are kept with great care with each rock placed "just right" with wildlife all around. Lots of professional photographers came with huge camera lenses all around to capture the birds, animals and scenery. Would highly recommend this location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.2
    in the middle of the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room 500m from the reception (but they come to pick you up with a car if you want) where we could hear the people of the room next to us very good (just a door between the 2 rooms)

    in the middle of the park Friendly people very good complimentory morning walk with very good guide (Christian)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.9
    Overall, we recommend this lodge as it is beautiful but just be prepared for it's restrictions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a 40 min drive from La Fortuna town, 20 minutes of it was dirt road from the main road. You really need a 4x4 here. However, it did add to the experience of the lodge being secluded. We did not like the fact that they close the main gates at 11 pm so you have to be back by that time or you will be locked out. For the amount you are paying for they should be able to afford security, since that is their concern to keep the lodge safe. Paying customers shouldn't be limited to a curfew on their vacation. Also, no access to drinking water after 10, restaurant is closed at 8:30, and bar is closed at 10.

    The grounds is just absolutely beautiful. There's alot of hikes around the lodge and one of them has the perfect unobstructed view of Arenal Volcano. There were so many birds and animals around the lodge. You will really feel like you're immersed in nature here. We booked a Smithsonian room, and the view was unimaginable. When we opened our eyes from our bed the volcano seemed so close! The staff is superb. Karla from the reception was phenomenal!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our visit to the Volcano area. We also had a fantastic time rafting and ziplining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are very thin between rooms. Noise travels. It was difficult to keep noise from traveling and disturbing other occupants. Earplugs recommended.

    The rooms were fine and close in to the park which we enjoyed. The staff was very helpful The food was good in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Fabulous hotel, great views, large comfortable room with balcony overlooking volcano. It doesn't get much better than this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    Hidden treasure in Costa Rica!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is located quite a distant away from the highway near Arsenal Lake with spectacular view of the lake and the mountain range and also the volcano that last erupted in 2010. Since then it remained dormant. The hotel offers views, birds watching and hikes to many close by attractions and eco friendly environment.

    The

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely lodge away from the hubbub of La Fortuna. Gorgeous views of the volcano, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we first arrived the front hotel desk staff seemed to have a bit of an attitude. We got the impression that they had people fatigue. Subsequent interactions with them were better. The pool towel policy seemed a bit extreme. Rather than leave two pool towels in the hotel room, we were issued the towels at check in. So, in addition to maneuvering our luggage up several sets of stairs to our room, we were juggling big blue towels under our arms! At check out, we had to turn in our blue towels or be charged for them. Again, lugging wet towels along with our luggage down several flights of stairs.... We joked that we had keep the blue towels in the safe when we were out of the room.

    We loved the view of the volcano from our room as well as the view of the hotel grounds, which were lovely and were home to many birds and local wildlife. We could sit on our balcony and see Toucans flitting across the tree tops. The restaurant was really nice as well. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The restaurant also had a gorgeous view of Lake Arenal and the volcano. Overall, the restaurant added to the experience at the hotel. We also really enjoyed the pool facility.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food at the restaurant was just OK, they definitely need to improve their menu. The rooms were spacious but a bit outdated.

    Overall, loved The Arenal Lodge. The grounds were gorgeous and our view was to die for!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    10
    Loved it great staff beautiful lodge plenty of wildlife great views a little hard to find could use
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other guests slamming door early in morning and not respecting other guests but this is no fault of the hotel

    The birds and wildlife were excellent The view of the volcano was the best

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    8.8
    Unbelievable wildlife, peaceful setting, good food and drinks are found here easily!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is for the birds, literally--come for bird and animal watching, not for sleeping. The beds were less than comfortable, so if you need somewhere that has beds that "feel like clouds," this is not going to be like that. That said, as we were leaving we did see four new mattresses being delivered to the hotel, so maybe they are updating the beds.

    The animals at the lodge were INCREDIBLE. We saw 68 species of birds without even really trying, a troop of howler monkeys that paraded through the trees right outside our hotel room door, and a pack of white-nosed coatis that seemed to follow us around the property (not to mention a tiny pit viper that we made sure we didn't touch down by the waterfall).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place and good value for the money! Great staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was far from town and the restaurant food was just Ok. To leave you would need to spend 30 dollars each way for a cab. You could take the shuttle but the time we did, he drove quite fast on the wet, bumpy, mountain road. The setting is beautiful but get a room with a good view!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.9
    For some unbelievable reason, the had put some giant plastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For some unbelievable reason, the had put some giant plastic frogs in the pond outside the room. These made VERY loud sound probably all night making it very difficult to sleep. I will not go back to this hotel/lodge if they still have these stupid noise generators! There are other hotels nereby, Linda Vista for example, a very nice place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    8.8
    The views and the grounds are spectacular!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are unfortunately not comfortable, which is disappointing after a long day hiking. It would be great to have someplace to clean off muddy boots!

    The views and the grounds are spectacular! The dining service was very accommodating - even to preparing something not on the menu. Delicious morning breakfast! The rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    It was very peaceful short vacation with amazing views !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our view from our room was amazing!!being high on the mountain we had the view of the lake and mountains !,, the surroundings were very well kept !!! The view of the Arenal Volcano was amazing!!! We had the tour in the rainforest... and horseback riding ..also we saw some exotic birds!!!!.we loved the whole experience!!!the stuff is very friendly!!! We are so happy we choose that place!!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful and romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant's relation food quality/price was not good. Was expecting better food for the price paid. Even the fruit milkshake resembled more a MacDonald's milkshake (pure ice-cream and little fresh fruit (if any))

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit noisy as the windows were open and located high up so we could hear neighbors. However it was mostly quiet.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful setting with views of the volcano. Good coffee and food. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    6.3
    Great location poor execution
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and especially breakfast quality poor. Despite Eco credentials restaurant menu did not really cater for vegetarian diet. Had to explain that Parmesan and other cheeses were not vegetarian. Room had great view but was located 500 metres from main hotel facilities which is plain silly!

    Location great and walks through grounds wonderful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel territory (trails) are magnificent - very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware, that road to the hotel is not paved, but does not any too much holes. 4x4 is not needed. Very strange room design - second large bed, but no wardrobe Too much noise from bathroom, when neighbors use their own. Restaurant is below average for quality, but above average for the price (price/performance is not good and you do not have any options)

    Hotel territory (trails) are magnificent - very well prepared and enough to walk for the whole day or even two. View to the volcano is breathtaking. Also open jacuzzi was absolutely wonderful especially in a cold rainy weather - highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.6
    It was pure pleasure to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved being at the base of the Arenal Volcano, the bird and animal life, the trails, the gardens, the pool was so clean and a pleasure to relax around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing! Cant wait to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a bit far from the city and the road is a bit jumpy. It's better to take a 4X4 car

    The place is amazing. Right under the arsenal volcano All the staff were above and beyond our expectations. They were nice and helpful. The hotel bar and resturant are really nice too. Their guided tour is very recommended The rooms are a little cabins with a balcony and fenomenal view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay for watching wildlife and hikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got the room above reception and it was noisy and busy daytime due to people constantly being around

    Good breakfast, great location across the volcano and right within wildlife, maintained trails

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    LOVED IT. Must go if you like Nature and enjoy a nice hike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would recommend this hotel for people who is not very interested on the Hot Springs as they don´t have their own, but you can go to el Tabaconcito instead or pay for a day pass in other hotel.

    The view of the Volcano! you cant beat that view is amazing and super close. You can even see the Arenal Lake from their deck. This place is GREAT for nature lovers, they are blessed to be inside the National Park so you can expect to be surrounded by huge trees and plants that you wont even recognize. We did some beautiful hikes through their property and saw lots of birds, monkeys and other animals. You can also walk at night as they keep a nice illuminated path around the woods within the hotel. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, this Hotel is relaxing and quiet (only forest sounds). They have nice pool and a Jacuzzi that is open till 10pm. Want to go back already!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing territory and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think that for this price the room could be much bigger and more spacios, more equipped like with air con and refrigirator. We thought that the rooms were very overpriced compared to other hotels in Costa Rica. But the territory is great

    Amazing territory and views. The staff is extremely friendly, great location

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: