Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Alajuela hotel reviews
  4. Fortuna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Baldi Hot Springs Hotel & Spa

Reviews of Baldi Hot Springs Hotel & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

La Fortuna San Carlos, 50432 Fortuna, Costa Rica

#49 of 95 hotels in Fortuna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 674 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.5
    In general we enjoyed our stay at Baldi Resort Very Much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Whenever we used the bathroom sink a bad odor came out of the faucet/ We reported this problem for three consecutive days. While the staff attempted to correct the problem, they were quite unsuccessful. We finally requested a change of room. I must say that management offered to make up for their miss handling the situation. We accepted a 50% discount on A 90 minute long Massage with Volcanic Rocks for the two of us, which was just AWESOME!

    We enjoyed very much the ambiance. It has 25 thermal water pools with a variety of options, such as pool bars, and different degrees of how hot is the pool. They also have a very nice illumination of the rocks surrounding the pools at night. The rooms are spacious and awesome (we had a Jr. Suite). Rooms also had a terrace. The soil is so fertile that vegetation grows very high. You almost feel like at Jurassic Park, in a good sense.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    6.7
    Facility is great but arrogant stuff at the i for desk with wrong information about room prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was disappointed with girls from the information desk coz they gave me a wrong information about the prices and they seem to be arrogant too. The management should advice them for more politeness

    I liked the room and the hot springs

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.5
    Room was spacious, clean & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were too many day guests and they could stay until 9pm, so there was a constant stream of people. As soon as we arrived we were met with a list of rules and regulations, along with costs e.g. for losing the towel cards. We had had a long and difficult journey and did not feel welcomed. Staff were generally unfriendly, although reasonably efficient. There is a children's pool but it would be good to have a quiet or adults only area.

    Room was spacious, clean & comfortable. Restaurant was Ok, although very few people used it, so there was little atmosphere. Staff spoke little English, whereas elsewhere, they have always tried to speak English to us. Also unusual for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was fairly good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    Hot springs, property, location, staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred more vegetarian food options. Also I found the food to be a little overpriced.

    Hot springs, property, location, staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Magical stay at Baldi Springs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slight mixup with the tour I had organized but other than that a great stay!

    Everything! The spas are a once in a lifetime experience and a highlight of our trip. The food at Pyramids was great, the staff was super friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    perfect... 10 year anniversary!! thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hope the men working on the cavern section? get to have protection masks... for the fumes?

    breakfast was SOOO PERFECT!!!!!! We were there in April and lunch was good BUT BREAKFAST WAS WONDERFUL!!!! AND THE POOLS!!!! PERFECT!!! Loved the PAPER straw!!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.7
    felt like las vegas hotel, not a cool arenal volcano hot springs resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt like @ Las Vegas hotel. water falls looked too fake, so did plants even though they're real. Property felt too dark, volcano view was not featured. night in door spa with music - too loud & cheesy. italian restaurant service - poor. 8:00 pm staff more interested in straightening drawers & napkins

    hot spring pools were great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    A must for any couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Lots of hot springs and slides closed due to maintenance

    - Rooms were spacious and clean - Close to springs - came with towels and robes to use well in hot springs - Hot springs available all night - only one main one open but rest open until 10pm. - Was our honeymoon and hotel sent us a chocolate and strawberry plate as a welcome gift. Was very nice of them. - Quite at night - Downtime for Sept/Oct so very little people here. Got to enjoy all of the hot springs pretty much alone. - Sauna area is amazing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.7
    Overall my guest and I had fun just the rat and leaking roof made the stay bad
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort could use more restaurants and places to eat. And there was a rat in my room and roof was leaking but some staff was not very helpful. Gave complimentary service that I already paid for and later gave us a hard time about it

    Loved the hot springs and spa

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The springs inside the hotel were full of "Day Pass" visitors, who came to enjoy the springs. It means that for us, the guests, there were crowded pools and not even one sunbed to seat on.

    The hotel is stunning, the pools are beautiful, the room are comfortable and big, the wifi is great in all the areas of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    Great Vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed over 2nights and 3 days, the room key started not working on the last day where it was very uncomfortable to access our own room. We had our package with breakfast buffet included and I found a hair in scrambled egg which was very disgusting that I stopped eating. The bathroom has the ceiling with mold marks which provoked rare smell too.

    The place was in general awesome, hot thermal water and cool pool to refresh. The personnel we kind and attending at their best. The diversity of thermal temperature was provided where we could choose the one that best for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Try it at least once!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the buffet overpriced. The spa treatment we received was also quite costly, which was not the issue, however, the services themselves I felt did not match the price.

    It was a resort in the full sense and we felt pampered and entertained every second--from the interactions with staff to the ammenities and size of the room. The grounds were beautiful even though it rained quite heavily intermittently, but there were plenty of indoor pools to take advantage of. There was not much life seeing as it was fairly empty and we were there during low season, but that was no matter. The staff was attentive and kind, and the kids slide was super fun! Don't let the title fool you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pools were great, but some of them there’s no room or place to keep your stuff. You end up laying your towel, and belongings on the floor. Hate the towel service. Walking down to return them or exchanging them.

    Rooms were nice. And pool with great Warm water and waterfalls

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    10
    Loved the amazing pools !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the amazing pools ! Especially liked that there were a few that had bar service. The breakfast that was included was amazing ! Great food variety. The staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming. The down side (not controllable ) poured rain but we were literally watching it from the pool by the property entrance and nice and warm in the water. : )

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.9
    Baldi was a fun experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The slides were dangerous! Please consider replacing or redesigning them. We watched several people get injured (bleeding cuts to the head/legs) after going down one of the slides. Two seem ok for kids or people under about 150 pounds.... but if you are larger, look out!

    Baldi was a fun experience. We stayed in one of the newer suites at the top of the hill. Very spacious rooms with a very pretty patio. But getting too/from the room will require some walking The pools were nice (some a bit too hot for the whole family) but still pretty fun. Grounds are well kept and very clean. I have to say I was a bit disappointed with the water slides and kids area (one of the main reasons why we chose to stay at this property). Slides were dangerous and after one go on them, my son didn't even want to ride any more because he hit his head. Food in the restaurant up front was good (I wasn't a fan of the buffet). The included breakfast was excellent. This place was just fine, but I think I would look at other options if returning to Arenal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    It exceeds your expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It exceeds your expectations! The pools are super cool and there’s one for everyone, the hotel is nice and clean. The food at the restaurant is pricey but very good. The overall experience and green areas are just wonderful! Totally worth your money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    One of the most unique places on earth, take good care of it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t provide straws! Your country is leading the world in ecology. Let the bartender stir drinks and teach women how to drink without a straw!

    It’s always the staff, from checking in to dining. A spectacular hot springs experience, made better only by all of the staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.3
    Hot spring hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with first room, solution was not acceptable, eventually changed to a different category room (presumed lower). Check in and check out processes are very inefficient. Any requests via reception involve a number of staff and long waits. Focus is on the springs, not the hotel facilities.

    Great breakfast. Access to the hotsprings throughout stay and after checkout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.4
    The pillows used in the room were very old and should have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows used in the room were very old and should have been replaced a long time ago. My room was located on the first floor so I literally heard everything and anything people taking, walking , insects. I didn’t sleep well at all would only recommend the hot springs don’t stay at this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    The property is beautiful!
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms didn’t have warm water to shower in and were outdated.

    The property is beautiful! The Springs are clean and the people are very friendly. We had someone very nice help us with the bookings of our excursions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great choise for Arenal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    liked everything except restaurants limited in light offerings

    Horseback excursion to base of Volcano one of best excursions ever, and probably best "livery" ride possible: horses were spirited, allowed to canter and gallop and loveingly cared for. The ride terrain was extraordinarily interesting. The value was exceptional, as was the guide. The baths were interesting and fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    really great! beautiful facilities near other restaurants and activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I also liked the ways drinking in common areas was controlled most of the time. I was a bit disappointed that we had to drive to do all other activities other than the pools and eating. Thought some hiking trails or access to other areas might be included.

    Breakfast was great! Staff very friendly, very clean, rooms great. All the grounds and staff super bien!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.9
    worth it for the pools, but that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner buffet is very bad and very expensive, they will make you wait a very long time behind huge queues of people with a time consuming payment process for a pool towel rather than quickly let you swap your card for a towel. They charge guests $20 for a towel but day guests $10. Our room was so dark it needed lights on in broad daylight. No pool to swim in.

    The room was very good but very dark as we were on the bottom floor which was effectively sunk and had little to no natural light - you had to have the lights on even during daylight. The buffet was pretty terrible and overpriced and aimed at the day guests. The pools were fantastic, really brilliant and make the hotel well worth it but they charge you $20 for a pool towel =, despite only charging day guests $10 and they will not prioritise giving guests a towel (simply swapping a card for a towel) over day guests (payment taking a long time with cash or card) so you can be caught waiting a very long time for a towel despite it being the hotel you have paid a lot of money to stay in. Other than this the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Baldi Hot Springs is a jewel! I will bring my entire family for this experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. I enjoyed my stay. Don't misplace your pool towel. Bring your own or take care of and return the one you are given. Cost $10 per towel.

    My room had a great view of the volcano. I loved the location to the thermal pools and the food was great. I thought the price of the food was reasonable. I would stay here again and again and encourage others to do the same. Excellent experience, excellent service, awesome staff! Tonya at check-in was pleasant. Ruth at checkout was friendly and helped me figure out the currency for payment, even allowing me to mix dollars and colones. Gabriella, the director and Flor at the Spa are simply amazing. Do not go to Baldi and pass over the spa experience, you would regret it. I would highly recommend building into your budget a foot massage, and a head, neck and shoulder massage. For an amazing treat consider spending a 1/2 day at the Acqua Spa. There is a surprise you won't want to miss on the rooftop! Hint: It is the crown jewel of Baldi Hot springs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    I would stay again since resort was really nice and service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I did not realize at time of booking was that this resort is open to the public for day passes to come and enjoy the hot springs. My fault for not reading better but it almost had a water park feel to it...an upscale one...and a more quiet one. We left for most of our morning and returned in afternoons and even though there were a lot of people in there the hot springs never really felt crowded....which is a plus.

    Loved the hot springs and the really well thought out shading to keep guest cool and/or dry while soaking in the hot springs pools. Staff was really awesome and Ruth at the front desk helped plan out my schedule for an entire day of my stay. Our breakfast was delicious and even to go out to eat we were close proximity to the town of La Fortuna. The air conditioning unit worked really well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.1
    Too cheesy, would not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no ambiance, the design of the hotel fails to take full advantage of the views around (breakfast with road noise and no view), the room was very dark even in the full day light, the poor design of the hotel means cars drive in the same walkway where swimmers walk barefoot.

    The pools and toucans behind the pools

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    I loved it was very relaxing and I didn’t want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything! Hated to leave. The pools are a variety of temperatures And I liked that they had really hot ones and waterfalls to pound on your shoulders and the natural sauna. Very relaxing. Sometimes the Hotel has a lot of people but there’s lots of places to go For the pools.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.6
    A haven in the midst of the rainforest right below Arenal vulcano with great thermal pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Junior Suite was very spacious and had a great view of the rainforest The thermal water pools are fantastic The staff at check in was very helpful and kind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.9
    Had a lot of fun jumping from pool to pool,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was decent in size but could use a facelift, are dimly lighted and the tub seemed unclean. The pools and the sauna space made up for it though.

    The hot springs were fabulous and my kids loved the slides!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    10
    Because of the location and the hot spring pools this is a wonderful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are really thin and we could hear our next door neighbors activities. That means we heard all the roustings of "under the seats" fun. The last day, new family and we heard little feet enjoying the sound of their feet slapping on the wood floors. Bathtubs need overhauling.

    The bed and pillows were great! Loved the coffee server. Balcony was awesome, very inviting, would be nice if couch faced outward instead of towards the room. No matter the weather the pools were perfect and because there were so many of them and they were all hot springs, they were always comfortable-we spent a rainy day in the pool and loved it! Did not realize there was another level of rooms in the back part of the resort, gorgeous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great springs but food needs to up its game.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food needs a serious re-think. went to buffet and walked straight out, felt like a school canteen so used the restaurant. Not many in there and it looked like a couple of other tables were not impressed either. Very bland unexciting overpriced food. Eat in town we suggest - hotel needs to up its game here.

    Whether springs are genuine volcanic or not, they are impressive and spacious, particularly empty in the morning. Water slides very quick. Rooms very spacious and well equipped. Very well kept grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    5.4
    Just the hot springs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were not happy with our dealings with the front desk staff. They insisted on bringing our luggage to our room, said it would be there in 5 minutes. After an hour we went to get the bags and they made it seem it was our fault they were forgotten. At check out they told us there was a bottle of missing from the mini bar. After a lot of time , with a driver waiting for us, and a lot of discussion they kindly let us go without paying for the wine we did not drink. The price of drinks at the pool bar were high at about $20 per cocktail. It was such a stark contrast to the helpful staff we met at the other hotels where we stayed

    The hot springs were amazing. Something for everyone. The meal and wine at the Italian restaurant was very good as was the service. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The included breakfast was good with some variety each of the two days

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the pools, especially during the rain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    $20.00 for a towel I forget at the pool side.

    Alejandro and the front desk staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Buffet dinner was quick and convenient but repetitive with choices. Market beside hotel had the coldest beer ever!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    The spa was amazing, the hot springs were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms not updated and view from balcony looked to parking lot. Dinner buffet was decent

    The spa was amazing, the hot springs were amazing. Drinks all reasonable, about $10 for a mixed drink. Staff was nice. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.0
    The hotel is perfect for families with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathtub is old and not very comfortable.

    The hotel is a tiny part of the entire resort, which makes it very cozy. It is surrounded by palms and all sort of beautiful trees. You can see squirrels playing on the trees right outside the balcony. The bed was very comfortable. Aside from the AC, there is also a dehumidifier in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    5.8
    Motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel itself and rooms look more like motel than 5* hotel. There is no sound insulation - difficult to relax and sleep. Outlets by the bed are not working. Food in hotels restaurants is the worst In la Fortuna. Breakfast is eatable.

    Stuff is nice and friendly, like everywhere in Costa Rica. Hotel is clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The prices of drinks and pop in the bar, restaurant and buffet were outrageously priced. We went into town and purchased some items and put in the fridge in the room.

    The grounds were awesome. The free breakfast was very good. The staff was ready and willing to service you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    8.3
    The $22 buffet dinner was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The $22 buffet dinner was awful. Worst dinner we had on costa Rica during our 2 week stay. Not worth even HALF of the price. Bland tasteless overcooked cafeteria food. Yuk very disappointing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    5.8
    The pools are fantastic and breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are just ok (old)and bathroom was out of toilet paper but clean might of been oversight. You could stay somewhere else then $200 + a night and enjoy the great pools and facilities with a day pass .

    The pools are fantastic and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    2.9
    Horrible experience; will not recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Poor rooms and uncomfortable beds. 2. Shower kept on leaking 3. You get disturbed by noises from adjacent rooms 4. horrible customer service 5. Poor value for money, like staying at a shabby motel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    No hot water or water pressure and the bathroom needed a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water or water pressure and the bathroom needed a refresh. For a place known for hot springs and access to all the free hot water in the world this was disappointing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Great hot springs hotel near Arenal Volcano. Highly recommend a junior suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a lot of people at night there for the hot springs.

    Great hotel! Exceeded our expectations. The junior suite room was huge with an enormous bathroom! All the hot springs & water slides were great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.3
    A lovely hotel and atmosphere with very friendly staff who made our honeymoon stay feel special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cocktails at some of the pool bars were double the price for the same drink in the main bar. Food at the two restaurants was fine but not really to the standard it should be (price and choice) for the type of hotel.

    The breakfast on offer was great and all the staff were very friendly. Great pools and the layout of the hotel was easy to navigate and felt very private. Well maintained grounds and pools. Large beds and very comfortable! Honeymoon cake provided in the room on the house which was a lovely surprise!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.6
    We had a very relaxing & comfortable stay at Baldi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was okay. My daughter ordered a pizza & it was under-cooked. The buffet was ok, but not worth $22 based on how much we eat & the food options.

    Great friendly staff, wonderful relaxing hot pools, & very lovely room. Overall I would recommend Baldi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    7.1
    NIce Going in a Helicopter would be the way to GO !!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Pillows need to be replaced , To hard, Not Nice and Soft. Also the Balcony needs to be Sealed off for Privacy !!! So the Who's next to you can't see into your place !!! The Breakfast up by the Water slide was not Good !!! Down by the Front desk was Much better !!

    The bed was Nice !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.6
    Nice water fun resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked two rooms, one junior suite which is highly recommended. A real 5 star room especially the bathroom and balcony. The other superior room is just like an old 3 star standard hotel room facing the parking lot. Not recommended. Would rather pay more for a suite. Only thing is the suites are at the farthest end so takes a lot of walk. The hot spring pools are great. The dinner at the Italian restaurant was above our expectation. Morning buffet was just ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    7.9
    Not our taste, a bit kitschy, but a lot of comfort and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath tub was a bit dirty when we arrived, all the bars in the resort closed at 10pm and there was a complicated system to get towels for the hot tubs.

    The airline lost our luggage, but the staff did their best to help us. Having access to hot tubs for ourselves in the night was great, and the breakfast was good and had a lot of options. Good coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    8.3
    Great place....if you are American
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It lacks local character. I feel that if someone visits a new country the hotel should somewhat feel “local”

    Lovely hotel, but it really caters to what Americans seem to like. The hotel could have very well been in Florida, Mexico, or any of the Caribbean islands.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    6.3
    Probably worth paying more somewhere else for the hot spring experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel caters mainly for Costa Rican nationals and is not really for the seasoned traveller. Sadly we didn't really enjoy our stay, it is a bit like Vegas meets Disney. The only real things are the hot spring water and vegetation the rest glitz and fibreglass. The "mountain view" from the bottom two floors is non existent due to the foliage outside the rooms, the buffet restaurant like school diners low quality and overpriced, we didn't try the A La Carte restaurant which was very pricey.

    The warm water springs and friendly staff. The wild Crested Guan a top the already in position Christmas tree made us smile.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.2
    The pools were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish there was additional parking closer to where the suites are so we would not have to walk all the way up.

    The pools were amazing! I really enjoyed that they had a 24 hour pool open to guest every night and in a different location. The resort is simply astonishing and can spend the whole day there relaxing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    6.7
    Wished a better experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had a problem with hot water and ants, staff on the bars were unfriendly , even said no to take us in a picture with our phone , service but the front desk was bad, front desk were great

    The pools were very nice and people in front desk were very nice, cleaning people clean the room good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    I having nothing but wonderful things to say about this Beautiful Property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    FOund nothing not to like.

    The pools were extremely nice and loved that guests had access 24 hrs to some of the pools. The buffet breakfast was also very nice. Room was nice, staff was all extremely friendly and helpful, everything was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful property but more for a day trip. Not overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive for food. The staff isn't very nice. The staff tries to find ways for the guests to spend more money.

    All of the pools and hot springs were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    7.9
    The room and location are beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service , I'm a tourist but a guess I look like a local .. the service was not up to the price of the place

    The room and location are beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing pools with a variety of temperatures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A long slow trip from the airport but worth the drive. Food prices at the resort were a little high but great restaurants a short taxi ride away.

    Amazing pools with a variety of temperatures. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and very convenient to the pools.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    9.6
    I'm so happy we chose the Baldi for the Arenal/LaFortuna stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are a family of 4 and were greeted at check in by the very sweet and helpful, Sharrol (sp?). Her smile alone, made us feel so welcome. Along with a refreshing tropical drink, which was nice after our drive up from San Jose. Everyone on this property was so friendly and welcoming. Our escort to our building, first drove us throughout the property for a tour of the pools, explaining from warm to hottest. (As did Sharrol at check in with a property map). This property is gorgeous. The pools are super clean, and so easy to relax in. We never felt overcrowded at the pools. There are visiting guests that use day passes to the property, but we never felt crowded by it. The breakfast was included with our stay, and was delicious with a variety buffet. Also with a made to order station if desired. The food at the restaurant for dinner and the snack bar food was also tops on my list. Very delicious. And not overpriced. At the pools, we enjoyed nice Cold soft drinks, fun variety of tropical cocktails, and Cold Imperial beer. Our 14 year son enjoyed a late night hanging out at the pools, ordering late night snacks and drinks at the swim ups! The property was very safe and secure for him to hang out on his own as there is plenty of security on this property. Guests that stay have a Baldi wrist band, with your room number on it. No need for money at the pools with your wrist band, just charges to your room. Our room was nice and cool! The beds were super comfortable! We would stay here again and highly recommend it for this region. Whether your plan is just to relax and use the pools and all the Baldi has to offer, or go out and do some exploring of Arenal, you'll be satisfied here for your duration of this region. It's location is ideal for driving just minutes into Fortuna for restaurants and shops, or driving to Arenal. (We rented a 4x4 car at SJO for the duration of our trip to CR). Thank you Baldi staff, for a wonderful part of our CR trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    10
    Great stay and relaxing water springs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It rained but even in rain we were ok. Can't change weather

    Pools is what everyone comes for . Very nice and many types with changing water temperature. Also the water slide was good too

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    10
    Awesome Family Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only drawback was the restaurant. Expected a higher quality. Breakfast buffets were awesome but decided lunch and dinner off property most nights. All in all for a hotel restaurant it was above average.

    It was a fabulous hot spring experience. The gardens on the property and pools are immaculately well maintained. We will be back again. Lots for children to be entertained also so a real family getaway.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    5.8
    Several Hot springs were gorgeous, the hotel is located in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was confortable enough, humidifier is mandatory either it's stinking. Hotel requires some refreshes. Room price is expansive!

    Several Hot springs were gorgeous, the hotel is located in Arenal area, practical location to visit the surroundings. Several pools and restaurant inside with Spa and a boutique.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    7.9
    A different experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Someone broke the sideview mirror of our car in the parking lot :( ! The middle slide is a little dangerous, my boyfriend got injured

    The hot springs are wonderful ! I couldn't have imagined such place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    9.2
    We ended up loving it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Feels like a resort but the amenities made it worth it. Probably skip the dinner. We tried the njghh we arrived because we were exhausted but much better options in town.

    Although I heard it called the Disneyland of Costa Rica and we were initially disappointed we had booked this over a lodge in a more natural setting, we actually couldn't have been happier with our stay! The staff were awesome so willing to help and had great suggestions. Sharon is a superstar! The excursions we booked through the hotel were easy and worked out very well. Who wouldn't want to lounge in a hot springs between atv'ing and ziplining or after dinner before bed! It was amazing having all of that at your fingertips at anytime. We were able to bring our own drinks to avoid paying a ton for resort drinks and it wasnt very busy so often we had a huge pool to ourselves. Never once did we feel crowded. Breakfast was awesome. We are not the all-inconclusive type and despite this we still loved the place. The room itself was good, bed was a bit hard for our liking but excellent ac and a de-humidifier which was definitely needed in that climate and We really appreciated

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Suspect housekeeping never restocked the snacks at minibar when I arrived so was charged for them. At 6$, it wasn't a big deal.

    Junior suite was luxury! Gorgeous and decadent. Some minor electrical issues (dehumidifier kept power failing) but when in a foreign country, things aren't perfect. Ac worked well and springs and staff were amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hot spring pools, at all temps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had 2 rooms. The one with a humidifier was comfortable in terms of humidity while the other was not. Thermostats were not working on either mini-split, leaving one room freezing and the other room warm. I'm sure the humidifier had some role in this. Bathrooms could use some renovation.

    Hot spring pools were amazing, day and night. Location phenomenal - only about 10 minute drive from the more active la fortuna. Quiet, but near Arenal and everything we wanted to do in the area. Beautiful property and friendly staff, especially in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    8.8
    Things to consider
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They are building more suites. so it's noisy in the day and doing repairs generally about te hotel, so that's means it's not so relaxing if you are in the resort during the day. And the suites are a good ten minute uphill. Something to bear in mind although they do transfer you in a golf cart if you ask.

    Junior suite very luxurious inside. Beds very comfy, maid service excellent. Breakfast excellent. Staff very lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2017

    10
    Spectacular experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Junior Suites are spectacular!! Beautiful, roomy, luxurious,... we absolutely loved the Junior Suite! The buffet breakfast was amazing as well! The hotspring pools are fantastic, with temperatures that range from mild to burning hot (my favorite). They're clean, and surrounded by beautiful plants and scenery. I love this place and keep coming back to it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    5.4
    Rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a commercial mass money making operation for the owners. What could have been a sacred site, with natural springs and located beautifully at the foot of the Vulcana has been converted in a US style Disneypark with TV screens and bars in the pools and loud music that could be heard in our room. Very poor value for money and certainly not 5 star quality.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    7.5
    Five days would be long enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food and beverages were expensive, not value for money. Week end's were very crowded with public.

    Room was comfortable and the facilities were good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing experience-a fantasy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a little dated and not as plush as we would have thought for the cost.

    The hot spring amenities were amazing and the all inclusive breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    7.9
    Hot springs from the Arenal volcano in lush settings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we did not like the buffet restaurant at the top of the hill. very bland. Would have liked information on the mineral content of the pools i.e. magnesium etc There should be a list next to where it shows the temperature of the pools no slippers or flip flops provided with the bathrobe so bring your own

    The hot springs. various temperatures ranging from 20c to 48c The restaurant a la carte next to the Reception breakfast in the restaurant as above good ambience overall at the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    6.3
    Not the least bit peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We left after 1 night wasting $400+. We hated the ambiance and the noise, amenity charges, and the crowded conditions. I would really like some money back

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel to enjoy the hot springs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The a la carte restaurant is offering mainly Italian dishes. I would have like more local food on the menu.

    The hotel hot springs are the main reason to stay at the hotel. When entering the hotel you feel close to the nature ( plants, wood, etc ).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    8.8
    Rainy days at Baldi Hotel:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been at least one comfortable chair in the room!! More hangers in the closet would have helped me organize a bit better. Children were running around overhead until late in the night and also at breakfast time in the restaurant..I realize that it's difficult to tell your guests to control their children but it detracted from having a relaxing start to our day..

    The thermal pools were luxurious and sooooo relaxing. It was never crowded while we were there but that was probably due to three days of rain. That said, those were the best rainy days I ever had:):):). Sitting in hot water and having cool rain drops falling on you felt lurious and delightful:) My massage was excellent :):):)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    7.1
    Perfect place to be when it is raining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You pay a lot to stay here, and then everything costs a ton of money. Not even a free bottle of water in the room. Drinks are expensive and not worth the price.

    Great to have access to the hot springs and the room was very comfortable. The staff was really friendly and helpful when we were trying to get around since we didn't have a car.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    10
    Loved Baldi Hot Springs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mixed drink cocktails not very strong. (We are New Yorkers). Be aware of rainy season. During rainy season it rains a lot. It is not cold, but it rains.

    Staff are super friendly and helpful. Hot Springs, steam cave, water slides, all fantastic. Hotel is comfortable. Food is above average for Costa Rica...some different hot items at buffet breakfast every morning. A family friendly place as well as good for romantic honeymooners.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    7.9
    Should provide additional benefits for the people staying in their hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The customer service was ok but not impressive, the food was fine but a little repetitive. To be honest, I don't see a real value for staying in the hotel compared to those who pay only for the use of the pools.

    The pools are amazing and the rooms are very confortable. The location is very good and there are a lot of things to do around the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Baldi Hot Springs Hotel & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: