Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Limon hotel reviews
  4. Puerto Viejo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Caribe Town

Reviews of Caribe Town 3 stars

Playa Cocles, 3km south of Puerto Viejo, 70304 Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

#2 of 89 hotels in Puerto Viejo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 360 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No A/C

    The hotel perfectly located at Cocles near Jaguar Rescue Center. A staff (Louis) was really healpfull a nice. In the hotel's surroundings we could easily spot sloths, howler monkeys, aguties and various birds. Definitely recommended

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.2
    Lots of nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shuttle service recommended by the hotel could have been better. Going to hotel I have no complaints, but departing the hotel was another story. It took twice the anticipated time to get back to San Jose at the end of our trip, and the driver offered to drop us off in front of our next hotel but dropped us off at a very busy intersection in the dark instead

    Beautiful foliage - it was in the middle of nature! Comfortable small bungalow! Kind and attentive staff Walking distance to lots of great beaches and restaurants Safe neighborhood Jaguar Rescue Center next door very beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    9.2
    This part of my my vacation in costa Rica was my favourite out of the 2 weeks we travelled!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the private bungalows, they were fairly spacious from the other few bungalows between jungle - so you felt like you were in the Jungle. It wa slow season so it felt like we had a whole kitchen to ourselves (it’s a shared kitchen and seating area on the main level between the bungalows). The owners were exceptionally nice and comforting. We arrived at midnight after a very long trip and all the restaurants were closed near us - they made us peanut butter bread with bananas! Super sweet! The beach is a 3 minute walk away and you just cut through a little pathway right In front of the road to the bungalows. We drove our bikes everywhere - especially to Puerto Veijo every night ;) the Bikes were my favourite! Rented at the hotel themselves they were our 100% right away accessible rides everywhere!! Don’t let me forget the breakfast every morning. These guys ere the best at real Costa Rican breakfast. They hooked it up for us the morning we were out a little too late;)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    Jessica and Marc are fantastic hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jessica and Marc are fantastic hosts! They are so helpful with information about the area and Costa Rica. They made us feel welcome and made our stay so enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Cute little individual houses .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs inside our room but probably expected staying in Costa Rica . Pool was very small with lots of bugs & bathroom had very little privacy since wall does not connect to ceiling .

    Cute little individual houses . Very clean , Breakfast was really good made by Luis . He’s a very nice guy and so was his family .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Literally a 3 minute walk from the beach (which is fairly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Literally a 3 minute walk from the beach (which is fairly large and wasn't too busy while we were there). The hosts are very personable and make it a great/comfortable stay by answering questions, breakfast, etc.... Not too far of walk to nearby restaurants and then the main town is only 4km down the road (can bus, taxi, or bike very easily) to more options if needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    We fell in love with this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marc and Jessica are the perfect hosts for a relaxing holiday! They treat you like Queens and help with everything you need and want! The bungalows are really beautiful and stylish. Breakfast is great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Everything I dreamed of! Staying in a bungalow by the Caribbean in a beautiful and friendly place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    We went to three different areas of Costa Rica on our trip. Caribe Town was the absolute best place I have ever stayed anywhere! The owners and staff are what make Caribe Town Fantastic, personal touches everywhere and overflowing with the well kept wonders of the gardens and kindness of the staff. We stayed in the Honeymoon Bungalow and it was perfect. No detail was left undone. I loved the hammock and seating on the front porch. The beds were very comfortable. The AC worked great, but we did not need it all of the time as there are trees above and the bungalows are in the jungle set away from the beach just across the street. We awoke to howler monkeys and a wonderful breakfast. The owners have bicycles for rent to get to town and where we ate delicious Caribbean fish dinners. But the breakfast at the hotel was even better and cooked fresh each morning, with homemade breads. I absolutely love Caribe Town and could have stayed there the entire trip. The owner arranged transportation to and from places that we could not bike to, like the last night so that we could souvenir shop in Puerto Viejo and to San Jose for our trip home. The beaches are right across the street, 2 minutes away and are clean and fun. Punta Uva is near and highly recommended. But we swam in the waters right in front of the hotel as the surf was not too ruff for us (we are no surfers). Jessica the owner also recommended the beach up the road Playa Cocles where there is a lifeguard. We walked along the sand to the This is a beautiful beach also.. The pool is beautiful and is the sitting area around it. I am looking forward to our next trip to the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica and staying hopefully staying here. It was everything we wanted and more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    It was such a pleasure staying at Caribe Town - we enjoyed our visit and will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First and foremost we felt very welcome from the second we arrived. The hosts Marc and Jessica were extremely friendly and helpful - and so was the staff, making it an absolute pleasure to stay at Caribe Town. The accommodation was excellent with separate bungalows that were kept clean and tidy everyday. It felt like living in the jungle, since it had no windows but mosquito-nets. We enjoyed having breakfast served - with a "special treat of the day". Everything of top quality and taste.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Caribe Town is run by a very helpful and friendly team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caribe Town is opposite the quieter end of Playa Cocles so there are fewer amenities nearby. The pool is a little small.

    Caribe Town is run by a very helpful and friendly team. We arrived much earlier than expected due to a cancelled snorkelling trip. Luckily there was a bungalow free and Luis kindly let us check in for free. The bungalow was comfortable with a big bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Extraordinary and Ethereal Dream visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beyond wonderful and far surpassed any expectations. The hosts were lovely and accommodating and very helpful. Beautiful spacious individual bungalows and the best bed and pillows.This is a special place, don’t hesitate to stay here, it was perfect. Did I mention a 5 Star delicious breakfast?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    The staff were absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely amazing. We had some hiccups along the way and they went completely out of their way to help us. I would definitely come back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    The best place I have stayed in 8 years of travel to Costa Rica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Great owners. Great breafasts. Beatiful cabinas and tropical gardens. Fun to just sit on the front porch of the cabin and watch birds and wildlife.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in Caribe Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny tiny thing - We changed room while staying, and the bathroom in the second cabin was quite dark, not as good lighting as the first. As I say, tiny thing, and no problem just a comment.

    The owner is really friendly and helpful, happy to talk about things to do nearby, local eateries, living in Costa Rica, life in general 🙂. Very good breakfast, good bread (not always found in CR), eggs as desired, fruit, daily specials (yummy pancakes), plenty of coffee, and one of the few places that has asked if we want more of any food and sincerely happy to provide more of whatever we wanted. Loved being in the cabin at night, listening to the sounds of the wildlife. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    ok house unit but noisy neighbour dogs, great owners make a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the neighbourhood had dogs that barked incessantly at night, activating/deactivating the bedroom door alarm caused it to go off loudly for 2 seconds (in stead of a chirp), some cockroaches (but that might be normal in Costa rica), bathroom shower was not hot

    breakfast was home cooked to your order and excellent, the owners are very friendly and helpful with planning walks, restaurants, beaches etc, excellent full sized fridge and stove, kitchen fully stocked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful, tranquil, and helpful sum up Caribe Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The below are suggestions but by no means took away from our stay. -Another community refrigerator. -Safes in the rooms. -Additional fan in the room to aid in drying clothes/towels.

    Each of the rooms are individual bungalows surrounded by plants and trees of the jungle. Instead of the windows having glass they have screens and the top 3 feet of the rooms walls is screened in allowing you to hear all the sounds of the jungle. The owners are wonderful people who we only briefly met. In their place was Luis who was simply outstanding. He made breakfast every morning which was delicious. Eggs, freshly in house made bread/toast, fresh cut fruits, sausage, and a special dish every day whether it be French toast, or an omelette, pancakes. The location is great and only a 2 minute walk to a beach and from the best restaurant we found in the area (La Pécora Nera). I can’t express how wonderful and helpful Luis was during our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Cozy, clean, Costa Rican comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are on a septic system, so you have to throw away your toilet paper. It is like this in the entire area though.

    Jessica and Marc were lovely, gracious hosts. Very informative, helpful, and accommodating. The fresh breakfast Marc cooked for each party in the morning was excellent and a nice touch. We were within walking distance of the beach, the Jaguar Rescue Center, and lots of tasty local restaurants. We were sad to leave, but would definitely consider revisiting if we come back to Costa Rica. Thanks so much. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    This is the place to go when in Costa Rica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    There is nothing you won’t like about this place. It’s convenient to everything, beautiful, the rooms are amazing as are the beds and pillows. The breakfast was awesome everyday. The owners are kind and helpful. If I were to come back to Costa Rica I would head straight to ?Caribe town and stay there..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful. Eco freadly place.
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer......

    Best place to relax when you visit Caribian side of Costa Rica. You have intimacy in a state of art bungalow, the breakfast is delicious. The entire place is sparkiling clean. The owners are very frendly and good managers. Please make a reservation for a massage with Helen the best massotherapeut. You are in the enchanted forest and the beach is 2 min walking. Thank you Jesika, Mark, Luis, Clara and Mariano. If you want a fresh coconut, just ask Mariano. Pura Vida

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Stayed for three nights.It was perfect ! Wish I would have booked a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dark and could have used a mirror in room.

    The owners were awesome.Great breakfast! Loved sitting on the deck every evening.......So peaceful! The pillows and bed were so comfy.Stayed in 4 different places.This one is the best.Did not want to leave.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We arrived on a stormy night but the accommodations were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on a stormy night but the accommodations were so inviting and cozy. Owners were very helpful with recommendations of what to do in the area. Kitchen was well equipped which made breakfast easy to prepare ourselves. Bed very comfortable and bathroom very clean. Hammock on front porch a nice touch. Had at great time at Caribe Town, would definitely return! ❤️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly hosts, who really love to take care of their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All places in CR are quite costly, so is this

    Very friendly hosts, who really love to take care of their guests. You can ask them anything, and they will have great suggestions. The bungalow was very nice: clean, comfy, spacious, and it felt as if in the middle of the jungle because of all the trees and plants. Just across the road (100m walking) there is a super-chill beach bar with many hammocks and an ‘almost private beach’ with high waves. And it’s very close to the Jaguar rescue center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect...waking up to the sounds of the jungle, made to order breakfast, walking distance to amazing beaches and wonderful restaurants. The owners were above and beyond!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay in relaxing lodge and with beautiful nature around you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing at all. (And we are not always that easy ;-))

    What a great place! We totally recommend it to any other couple! Marc and Jessica are the most kind people. They will help you with anything. The breakfast is specially made for you and the specials were delicious. Also the lodge was great, clean and comfortable. Its as you are IN the forest with all the flora and fauna around your lodge. With the sunset you hear all animals come alive. Just amazing. Close to the beach and great activities around. The Jaguar rescue center is just around the corner: also recommended!! Marc and one of his staff members helped us with our car battery problem. So kind!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Lux and chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly and helpful personal. Almost no contact with other guests. All windows and other open spaces are good covered with mosquito net. Extra big bed, own terrace. Swimming pool with pool bar. Possibility to rent a bike.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing, fun, worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great freshly made breakfasts. Amazing service by friendly staff! Luis, Jessica and Mark were great hosts. AC in the room worked great, location was halfway between Punta Uva and Puerto Viejo so we had a lot of privacy at the hotel and in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Went To Experience Pura Vuda, Came Home A Part Of It
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is of no fault of the resort, but this is important so I’m putting it here: due to the weather in the region (very high humidity) things (towels, clothes, swimsuits, etc.) have a tendency to not dry just by being hung out. So MAKE SURE you pack enough clothing. If you don’t want to bring a lot of clothing, however, Marc and Jessica offer a service to have your dirty laundry washed, dried, folded, and returned to your room the same day for a very very low price.

    Everything about this trip was picture perfect. Breakfast was delicious and made-to-order every morning. Compared to what we heard from other travelers, this is a huge bonus. The bungalow we stayed in was well kept, clean, and cozy. The hosts, Marc and Jessica, were so accommodating and went out of their way to ensure that we had an amazing trip. We will be back for sure. The resort is near a lot of local food options and Marc and Jessica are always willing to call a taxi, which are very affordable and quick to arrive. The resort is a five minute walk from the beach and is in a very safe area. Marc and Jessica provide beach towels, so you can save space in your luggage and not pack one. There is a ton of wildlife living in the jungle around the resort. You will get to hear the Howler Monkeys every morning! All in all, a life changing experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    A very comfortable, clean and beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the Booking.com site stated we had a room with AC. Not so when we got to Caribe Town. However, the owner switched us to a room with AC, so that made us very happy.

    The owners are friendly and so accommodating. Everything about the room was great: AC, clean bathroom, very comfortable bed. The grounds were beautiful. A short walk to a great restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    What a great place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Casa Pipa Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great place !!! We took the Vila as we are a family of 5. We had plenty of room, lovely kitchen and a huge balcony to eat and relax on. The staff was GREAT !!! Everything we needed, asked for was handled extremely quickly - with lots of care. Really - the perfect place to stay on !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    a place to rest and enjoy..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I prefer rooms where the bathroom is fully separated from bedroom. (in our bungalow there was a separation wall but no ceiling)

    Owners and Staff welcome and attentions during the stay. Design of buildings and gardens, small things that make the place beautiful and comfortable, very strong feel-good atmosphere. Good beds ! Great beach across the road. 3 km to Puerto Viejo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful stay in beautiful settings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jessica and Marc were friendly and contactable easily throughout our stay. Our private little house was amazing - comfortable clean and equipped with all we needed. The breakfasts were AMAZING - daily specials and for 5 dollars they kept us going until dinner! We rented the bikes for a day from the hotel which were great to travel along the coast on!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Amazing owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Jessica and Mark were just wonderful. Helped us with everything we needed and nothing was too much to ask. Rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. Caribe Town also rents out bikes which creates the perfect opportunity to explore the different surrounding beaches. Thank you Mark and Jessica for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    It's a beautiful place, away from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a beautiful place, away from everything. Super clean! Ower is amazing and super friendly. You can really disconnected yourself from everything here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Private, lovely, nature-filled jungle village!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jessica and Marc run a wonderful village! We stayed in a bungalow for 2 nights - a good sized room (BIG bed), very comfortable and clean - we would have stayed longer but everything was booked except for a private house! So for the next 2 nights we moved to a full sized house on the grounds and Jessica offered us the same (very reasonable) price - amazing to stay in a literal jungle house. They make great breakfasts and offer great recommendations. So glad we opted to stay here instead of Puerto Viejo's main town: we were literally across the street from an uncrowded beach, a short walk/bike ride to Playa Cocles surf, and a bike ride from the town of Puerto Viejo itself - but had the privacy and natural experience (frogs, birds, collared peccaries (lil pig things) all common sights!) of a jungle bungalow village. A very relaxing place to stay, highly recommend to all - will note that a few power outages from storms gave us lapses in Internet (at an inconvenient moment, we were planning our trip on the fly as young dinguses do) and A/C + electricity in our jungle casa overnight - BUT that's to do with the infrastructure of the area and not this homestay. This is a fantastic place to stay with wonderful hosts and we couldn't recommend it higher!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    A gem on the south eastern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The almonds dropping down on the roof in the casita we stayed in. Perhaps some kind of rubber covering on the tin roof would solve this issue as the noise was very loud and woke us up a lot. Ventilation could also have been better as the fan in the casita wasn't that powerful. The rooms felt damp as a result.

    Staff were fantastic. Jessica and Marc excellent hosts. They couldn't have done more for us. Wonderful breakfasts. Would highly recommend staying there if in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Great place for family (+ Gluten free friendly)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jessica and Marc the owners were extremly nice and helped with insiders secrets to make our stay special. They made every effort to accomodate our needs including gluten free breakfast. The place is well equiped for families with kids. The pool is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.6
    Could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 5 days in Casa Mariposa. We asked for extra blankets as there was only one thin blanket. The next day when the maid cleaned the room the extra blankets were gone. There was a kitchen but no pans to use in the oven or utensils for the non-stick frying pans. We felt like we were intruding when using the pool. The outdoor shower was covered with branches that had to be broke off to use. Walking to hotel past neighbors had to plug nose the stench of garbage was so bad! There was no way to adjust the temperature in the shower. If you tried adjusting the showerhead you got shocked.

    Great wifi. Location convenient to Cocles Beach and Puerto Viejo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    We felt at paradise staying at Mariposa house. We want to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we liked.

    Me and my family had an amazing time at Caribe town. We loved the house and location. Owners super friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect retreat at Caribe Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on the eve before the big Easter holiday and the drive from San Jose was stressful. The area became gridlocked with locals heading to the beach and this usually quiet area became impassable. Having said that caribe Town was the perfect escape snd apparently this is very unusual.

    A delightful retreat off the main strait. Close to beautiful beaches and a couple of small restaurants. Bike hire on site. Jessica and Mark were welcoming and very helpful. Breakfasts were fresh, healthy and beautifully presented and tasted wonderful . They included home made bread and jams . The bungalow had a big comfy bed and a small terrace overlooking exotic gardens. Communal spaces included a fridge and cooking areas . It was the perfect place to relax

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    The best place to stay- the best hosts and so kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-it was great!

    Jess and Marc are the best hosts you can imagine, we were given such a warm welcome and immediately felt at home. Nothing was too much hassle for them, always on hand to help and advise. They couldn't do enough for us, we have travelled all over the world but this is the best- and most genuine- service we have ever had I think. And we really didn't feel it was just so we would give a good review!!- they really are lovely people who want you to have a super holiday. They bent over backwards to make our stay the best it could be- this is the place to stay in Costa Rica!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    We found our little paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Jessica and Marc have created a little piece of paradise with this place. The little huts (simple but nice interior - ours was a double + single bed and a bench for the suitcase) are located within a wonderful tropical garden / forest. The huts are clean and well sealed to keep the crawly wildlife out (the ones with more than 4 legs...) and come with a nice porch with two hammocks and chairs. Jessica and Marc prepare a great breakfast, made fresh to order. There is also a communal fridge and kitchen. There is a nice beach just opposite of the road, but they also rent bikes (if you don't have a car) to go to absolutely stunning punta uva just a few minutes away. They will help you with any request you might have, e.g. booking surf classes, scuba diving day tours, etc. and they know everything about all the little nice places around,having lived here for quite some time (also with their children) and are happy to help you find the perfect activity for your stay. We enjoyed staying here very much and would definitely stay here again, thank you Jessica + Marc!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is outside of town, but no problem if you have a car or don't mind to take a taxi

    Jecissa and Marc are great, just follow their recommendations and you'll have a great time there! Breakfast is delicious! Bungalows are very nice, too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Excellent! Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit spotty, but that is a problem for the whole region.

    The hosts were awesome - full of good suggestions and very welcoming. The property is clean and well maintained. It is close to good beaches and not too far from Puerto Viejo. We liked that it was set back a little, we saw sloths and tucans from the porch. The breakfast is also really good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Perfect Carribean getaway spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a roll down shade On the Honeymoon Cabin porch. It faces east and gets a lot of morning sun where we like to enjoy coffee.

    Our hosts Jessica and Marc were amazing. They have created a wonderful space for relaxation,charm,natural beauty and a delicious breakfast. Steps from the beach and great restaurants,and a short bike ride to all the action in Puerto Viejo. We loved Caribe Town so much that we cancelled plans one day to spend the day there.... Its that great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful resort with a pool and awesome hosts!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay in Puerta Viejo. Marc and Jessica are the perfect hosts. The grounds are beautiful and the room was the perfect setting for a romantic rain forest/beach visit. An excellent breakfast was served every morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Cocles adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stuff. We stayed in a small bungalow towards the back of the proparty. I was so impressed with the cleanliness and the attentive staff. Jessica and Mark createdo a paradise in a paradise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place in the Puerto Viejo area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We stayed at Casa Mariposa, which is located behind the hotels compound, for 9 nights and enjoyed the calmness although being close to where the "action" happens (Puerto Viejo..) The house is stylish, nice and clean. From our terrasse we would watch animals (tukan,sloth, aguti and many more..) every morning in the beautiful gardens. Jessica and Marc are lovely hosts and will help you with everything you might need immediately. They are very passionate and professional people really loving what they do. Staff was especially friendly and happy. Breakfast is very good and has a changing special every day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Very good experience in a beautiful environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wooden floor in the hot shower. Not very clean to stand on.

    Marc was very friendly and he gave us very nice tips. Futhermore we could rent bicycles directly at the hotel. The place is quiet, clean and very good located. For good caribien food we can hardly recommend la Nena 3 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Family friendly jungle oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super helpful owners in organizing a babysitter and trip/tour. Great breakfast. Kid friendly for our 3 yr old who loves looking for frogs in their pond at night and reading the kids' books he found in their library.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Very good location and wonderful stay in a bungalow, and great host and staff in Cocles
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like the treatment of the staff, specially from Jessica who is a wonderful host. She is so nice and love what she does, so our stay was wonderful. The bungalow is clean and nice. I highly recommend this place in Cocles. Is very quiet place and parking zone is very safe. he pool is small but cool. Hey, yummy breakfast and wonderful experience as community with guests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful accommodation located (just) out of the hustle and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful accommodation located (just) out of the hustle and bustle of the main town. Jessica and Marc were super friendly and accommodating. We would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Still smiling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like? Still smiling

    Attention to detail. Jessica and Marc are 5 star + host. They enthusiastically share their local knowledge and contacts, treating you like old friends, cooking gourmet breakfasts to order, sharing stories, and travel adventures, while professionally attending to your chosen plan

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Super jungle house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was a little bit weak in the house, but we were in the jungle after all! The 2nd downstairs bedroom is not really suited to families with younger kids as its accessed only from the outside. Our kids felt a bit isolated sleeping there and ended up sleeping together on the single loft bed in our room! But this room would be great for a teen who wants to be more independent.

    Casa Colibri, part of Caribe Town, was a very comfortable house in the jungle. The cleaning service was great and there was a well equipped kitchen for simple meals, including a blender to make our own batidos (smoothies)! The owners, Marc & Jessica were super friendly and helpful, giving great recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to try. We especially loved La Nena! Jessica was a star and made special gluten free bread and pancakes for my boys for breakfast. Most appreciated and delicious to boot.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Definitely staying here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was great! Marc and Jessica took care of everything we requested from local and long distance transportation to great tours and delicious restaurant recommendations! The bungalow was clean and cheerful with a nice porch and hammock. I watched birds, frogs and listened to howler monkeys in the trees. Breakfast was always great and they even packed it for us for our 6am airport shuttle! That's thoughtful hospitality! Thanks Marc and Jessica for a great stay!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    10
    Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Louis was amazing ! Thank you Louis

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Amazing Stay, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was great as it's in the forest but so close to the beach. The room was very clean and the owner Marc and Jessica were amazing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    We had a great time, the erea is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great time, the erea is fantastic. We love to come back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The owners and all staff are very kind and friendly, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and all staff are very kind and friendly, the bungalows are beautiful and clean and incredibly close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Jessica and Matt are amazing people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Jessica and Matt are amazing people

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Jessica and Marc were both so helpful and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jessica and Marc were both so helpful and friendly! They made the whole stay feel very homely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great place, nice people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, nice people! amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very helpful, kind and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful, kind and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Perfect nest to relax and discover Puerto Viejo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect, Marc and Jessica are the best. And breakfast is delicious ! Thank you again, Fleur and Martin

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful. We had such a great time there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communication has been so great. Jessica and Marc are so friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Jessica and Marc are Perfect hosts, the breakfast is amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jessica and Marc are Perfect hosts, the breakfast is amazing, we loved the Bungalow

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    A little gem in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Casa Pipa Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Perfect host - we only met Marc. Perfect location. Accomodation was so quaint and convenient. Wildlife every morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Super friendly service directly from the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly service directly from the owners.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Mark and Jessy are super hosts and are very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mark and Jessy are super hosts and are very helpful providing hints and tips.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Most recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply 10.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay, magical place, amazing hosts!!! Recommending!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall, a fabulous time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard but typical of CR.

    Luis was fantastic and the info booklet and maps were super helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    The room was amazing and the staff went above and beyond for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was amazing and the staff went above and beyond for us! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Casa Mariposa One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    need a tv and a bigger fan in the social area

    everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Perfect, pretty, peaceful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Owners, food, location, everything was so perfect

    Everything! Pictures don't do it justice it was so lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Costa Rica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Casa Pipa Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perfect

    This place is amazing. We loved everything about and wanted to stay longer

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 – 75

Browse Caribe Town traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: