1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Limon hotel reviews
  4. Puerto Viejo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Caribe Town Bungalows

Reviews of Caribe Town Bungalows 3 stars

Playa Cocles, 3km south of Puerto Viejo, 70304 Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

#6 of 75 hotels in Puerto Viejo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.0

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2022

    8.0
    Really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 8am is too late. If you want to beat the crowds, it's better to be early. That said we had a box breakfast when we left at 5.30am and it was really good and filling. The hotel is more tailored for people who don't want to do much in a day

    Bungalow well laid out, clean, good shower. Loved the hammock. Pool is nice to cool down in the evening Really friendly and helpful staff. Using WhatsApp for questions and help during the day is a great idea. Lots of recommendations for things to do, eat etc. Rely useful advice

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2022

    10
    Perfect, relaxing experience with amazing hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff are beyond amazing! They helped us find local activities and answered any and al questions that we had about the area. The property is lush, clean, beautiful, and has a sense of peace that cannot be described. The breakfast was delicious, the bungalow was peaceful, and the location was perfect with tons to do within walking distance. Such an excellent stay!

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2022

    10
    Book it, you won't regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've already done a review (we did two seperate bookings) but now our trip is over feel like I need to come back to reinforce how amazing and beautiful this place is! We have spent the rest of the time on the trip comparing our accommodations and experience with Caribe Town and nothing compared. We wish we'd spent our whole holiday there and will hopefully be returning soon. It is the only place we've stayed where we did not see a single cockroach. We really appreciate that now as every single hotel and air bnb (even the best rated ones) has had cockroaches. The location is great, it's away from the centre which is actually a plus as to me the beaches close by were much nicer. We saw sloths, macaws and spent time in the rock pools opposite. The garden outside the bungalows is also beautiful, we saw so many frogs and birds. They have a dog, a cat and a goat, that were all super friendly and welcoming. The whole family is really friendly and helpful too. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2022

    10
    Amazing place to stay - definitely the highlight of our trip so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are really lovely and helpful. It's a really beautiful place to stay, the bungalows are surrounded by trees and really spacious and clean. The bed was huge and so comfy. No issues with noise. We are so sad to have left, we spent 5 days there but now wish we'd spent longer

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2022

    9.0
    Perfect retreat to relax & enjoy the stunning Caribbean coast of Costa Rica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small friendly property offering individual lodges set in beautiful gardens. We received a very warm welcome from Karililly and her dedicated team. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our 17 night stay.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2022

    10
    Great stay in a beautiful facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and supportive owner and team.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2022

    9.0
    Don't click on another hotel, just book this one! You won't regret it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the fact that we had to leave again. We would have loved to stay 1-2 nights longer. Ok it wasn't cheap, but worth it for sure.

    The breakfast was amazing! It was made with love and you can taste that. All fresh and healthy! Always enough, they would never let you leave the table with a half-full belly. Beach is very close to the hotel. Clean environment and we liked the Eco-friendly set-up very much, the pool was salt water-based and surprised us in a positive way. The fam. running the place was super friendly, helped us a lot in making the right decisions. We also liked the interaction with other couples. The Welcome cocktails (coconuts with Rum) were just the best.

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2022

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Joel and Kari have created a little slice of paradise. The rooms were big, comfortable and cool. Breakfast was delicious, each morning there'd be a different special. Location is great, plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance and beach just over the road.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2022

    10
    pura vida this place is amazing and the staff is even better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i loved everything

    staff was awesome

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2022

    10
    Caribe Town- Jungle with all the conveniences
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a wonderful vacation. No complaints!

    Caribe Town is a beautiful place and made even more wonderful by the amazing owners and staff. From preparing the wonderful, delicious custom breakfast to suggesting great places to go and the best way to get there, the owners were terrific. They went out of their way to accommodate any requests we had. We were within walking distance of great restaurants and right across from the beach. ( with howler monkeys in the trees 🙂). If you want the jungle experience with all the comforts of home, this is your place!

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2022

    10
    Fabulous place and wonderful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cabin could benefit from a shelf or additional surface.

    Everything! From the warm welcome from Karilily and Joel, the tasty breakfasts, the shared outdoor kitchen with fridge/freezer (handy for emergency chilling of a bottle of cava!), the pool area, the super-comfy huge bed, the wildlife outside your cabin, the sounds of the jungle at night. There aren't many places where you can be brushing your teeth and watch a sloth having his breakfast at the same time. The location was perfect, a few minutes walk to restaurants, the beach and cycle hire. Easy cycle ride into Puerto Viejo or down to Manzanillo. Thank you Karilily and Joel for your wonderful hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2022

    9.0
    An amazing trip through the Caribbean and tropical jungle side of Costa Rica
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Staring with the most enjoyable and helpful staff and a wonderful breakfast. The location was in the center of everything. Beaches are easily accessible each with their own characteristics. Truly a traditional setting with everything you will need to enjoy and explore at your own desire.

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2022

    10
    Love the Carribean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is hard to regulate the water temperature in the shower.

    The owners are really nice: friendly, helpfull, personal attention, make you feel like home. Very relaxing atmosphere in this small hotel, real Carribean. Lot's of animals (different frogs, birds, agouti's, lizzards) around the bungalows to spot. Bed was really comfortable. Couple of good restaurants around. And of course breakfast: one of the best in Costa Rica we had! Al fresh, everday something special and made with love. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2022

    9.0
    Wonderfully relaxing - even have tea and coffee and muffins out all day long!- and we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I WAS going to say - a little closer to the beach BUT then it was not advertised as such and it was a lovely retreat so I'll just bring my own beach chair next time as I will be back!!

    Breakfast was delicious - - fresh fruit and fresh juice along with a hearty cooked breakfast By the way...they have bikes you can use to cycle into Puerto Viejo (3 km or less) - everyone cycles so this is a great option.

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2022

    10
    Awesome place to stay in cocked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was awesome

    The place was super clean and the hosts are awesome

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2022

    10
    Heaven On Earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience at Caribe Town was magnificent! Just the relaxation we needed at the end of two weeks in Costa Rica! When checking in, Karalily was warm, welcoming, and helpful. We immediately felt at home and cared for. We instantly loved the fun-loving and family atmosphere Caribe Town provided. It is truly a place where you can relax, embrace the Carribean culture, and eat lots of delicious food with restaurants that are walking distance. Karalily and Joel were always willing to help us schedule tours, activities, massages, or whatever we needed for the 5 days we were there. They provided a truly exceptional and welcoming service. Our cabin was super clean, no bugs or geckos in the room (which is rare for Costa Rica). There was hot water in the shower (also somewhat rare for Costa Rica). The cabins are very private and sit cozily on beautiful grounds with tropical plants everywhere. If you want a coco loco, Joel will pick a coconut from one of the trees on the property. Best coconut water and coco locos ever! The breakfast each morning is delicious with a mix of options. We had Caribbean oats, coconut french toast, yogurt parfait, and there is always the option to have bacon, eggs, and toast. Coffee is yummy, as well as the homemade fruit juices with each breakfast. On top of the 5-star services and comfortable cabin, we asked Karalily if she had any information on ELOPING in the Puerto Viejo area. Turns out, she is an officiant and was able to perform a beautiful, natural, and intimate ceremony for us. With just two days' notice, Karalily and her family went above and beyond to make this experience beautiful and special for us. Joel captured beautiful pictures and videos to share with our families. Their darling daughters picked fresh flowers in the morning and threw them in the air when my husband and I kissed after saying I Do. They brought champagne and coco locos for us to celebrate with, and included a sand challice portion in the ceremony.

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bungalows are surrounded by a beautiful well kept tropical garden. The host family is very caring and helpful with everything. We didn't miss anything and enjoyed a few fantastic days.

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2021

    9.0
    Very enjoyable environment in private cottages set in a lush forest. Near Puerto Viejo and beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms could use some more storage options for clothes. TV needs a 'tour guide' or instruction manual: we tried it during some rainy hours, but couldn't get it to work. Not important enough to ask, though...

    The 5 (in 2021) individual cottages/bungalows are spaced out in lush greenery and have great privacy. Joel and Kari were awesome hosts: informative and personable. Joel's breakfast creations are outstanding, and so are Kari's freshly blended juices. I'm still craving the coconut french toast. Walking distance to the beach and to some restaurants: La Nena being our favorite.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2021

    10
    our best stay in Costa Rica trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    still hasn’t found any 😅🤷🏻‍♂️

    the place is in a quite place , border of the jungle ( from our bed we did see sloth and iguana 🤘🏼) every day different breakfast and cool advice for restaurant , tours et great beach the room are amazing ! and super cozy the place is family owned , and they always did check if we need something ! in our 20 day Costa Rica vacation … by far this place stay on the top thank you again !

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location close to the beach and restaurants. Each room is a cabin with private porch: you sit in your armchair and see a lot of wild life. The manager family was very helpful with tips what to do and where to go. Great breakfast and coffee! You can even cook yourself and there's an honor's snack bar.. Overall, a very enjoyable experience Pura Vida!

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2021

    10
    would highly recommend staying here, such amazing hosts and would love to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    amazing hosts, super friendly and assisting with anything we needed! perfect location close the beach and it felt like we were in the jungle in our own little bungalow

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast supplied by very forthcoming and helpful hosts. We really enjoyed our stay; the feeling of sleeping in the jungle due to the opennness (permanently open all-around window under the roof but mosquito-proof) of the bungalows was exciting.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2021

    9.0
    Super nice centrally located hotel with lovely hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driveway does not have that much light. Especially if you are going out for dinner, you definetely need your mobile for light.

    Karelily and Joel are doing a great job! They just took over the hotel but as a guest we couldn't see the difference. Our stay at carribe town was perfect, especiall the Coco Loco - thx Joel :-). If you are looking for a nice, central place to stay, Carribe Town is the right adress. The cabins were clean, fully furnished and modern. The hosts were always available via Whatsapp (for problems, wishes, drinks...). The "normal" breakfast can always be added with a different daily special for example avocado toast, coconut pancakes/french toast or carribean porridge. Free parking is also included. The hotel does not provide any dinner but there are many many good restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2021

    10
    A Truly Great Week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    What didn't I like - LEAVING.

    The Beach is across the street and Playa Cocles is really beautiful. When we weren't Swimming, Hiking in the National Park, Kayaking in Punta Uva, Horseback Riding along the Ocean, we were sitting on the beach reading our books and enjoying the sounds and smells of the incredible surf. It really doesn't get any better than this. The Resort is beautiful, the rooms were clean and Joel's breakfasts were awesome. We had an incredible time on the Caribbean.

    Stayed in November 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: