Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Limon hotel reviews
  4. Puerto Viejo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Caribe Town

Reviews of Caribe Town 3 stars

Playa Cocles, 3km south of Puerto Viejo, 70304 Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

#2 of 85 hotels in Puerto Viejo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 66 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all. I stayed there twice.

    Super nice maintained property in walking distance to beach, restaurants & grocery store, wild animal rehab center. It’s set back a little bit from main road and it feels like you are in a remote jungle lodge. Place is super clean, the casitas are furnished very nice, clean modern bathrooms. Most amazing, no A/C but they way they are built and the fan in it keep them very comfortable! Very environmentally conscious! Mark is super friendly owner and very attentive to anybody’s needs. It was a pleasure!

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2020

    10
    Felt like part of the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like is that we had to leave.

    From the moment we arrived until we left, we enjoyed every part of Caribe Town. Marc and Jessica are true down to earth people, and you can tell they enjoy what they do and love to make sure their guests have the best experience. Marc pointed out a couple of sloths on the property and at night, helped me spot the coolest frogs. He had one of his staff, Mariano, cut us down 2 pipa coconuts to drink from. A really cool experience for sure. Breakfast was really good and the self serve coffee whenever you needed it was great. There is a communal kitchen area which was helpful so we could make ourselves things to eat. Storing our food (and alcohol) in the communal fridge was safe and we trusted no one would interfere with it. Great location. Walking distance to the beach and Jessica and Marc gave us lots of tips for the best hidden gem inexpensive places to eat. This is a perfect place for a couple as there are only 5 bungalows so it's not noisy and busy. We fell asleep to the sounds of the wildlife and we could hear the waves from the beach. It rained around 9pm each night but it was a peaceful sound on the roof. Overall, we felt like part of a family when we were there and next year when we return to Costa Rica, we are definitely staying there again.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2020

    10
    Authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever!

    Really nice setup with 6 casitas / cabinas (-little, individual cottages) and a main house with pool deck. Everything is shielded from each other with jungle like vegetation and beautiful flowers. Very clean, close to beach, stores, restaurants yet set back enough to feel like in the jungle. Perfect. The owner is very attentive but non-intrusive, a pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2020

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without a car the location is not ideal. Still can get around however. 10min walk to supermarket and a few restaurants. A bit further to playa cocles and the main town is about 35 min walk . Bikes available for rent however which makes it much faster. The pool area could be nicer

    Good breakfast nice clean room. Good host and staff . Overall great accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marc, the owner, was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. He made the breakfast to order every morning. It was always delicious. The room was spectacular. Very comfortable. Almost too comfortable to leave. We would definitely come back!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful and charming

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2020

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice host who made very good breakfast and was very helpful. The bungalows were really nice and cool, even mid day. Caribe Town has some bikes for the guests, which we used to go to Punta Uva beach. From there we walked as long as we could on the beach, about 1-1,5 hours, so in total close to 3 hours. There were only restaurants at the end, so bring a lot of water if you do that walk.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2019

    10
    Paradise, relaxing, perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place. A few bungalows in a paradise setting. Close to a lovely beach too. Rooms were very comfortable. Homemade breakfast changed every day and was amazing. Could rent bikes and get laundry done in super quick time. Marc welcomed us with and smile and made our stay so easy and enjoyable. Can't recommend Caribe Town enough. Tip: get the chocolate massage!

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super nice place to stay with a beautiful garden and spacious modern houses. Also the pool area is very nice and the breakfast is great. Would highly recommend to stay here when travelling to Puerto Viejo.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2019

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much wildlife to be seen on the property and the way to come in from the main road is quite dirty because of the neighbours..

    Rooms are awesome! Pool is nice! Staff super friendly and nice breakfast. Proximity to nice beaches, coral reefs and manzanillo

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t a fan of how the shower worked. Everything else about the property was great.

    Great location, great owner and beautiful property.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time at Caribe Town! Everything was perfect, although it rained a lot! Hosts, room, breakfast, pool, location- we can highly recommend! Thank you so much and best regards, Doro, Andi and the girls

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location, people, breakfast and rooms were amazing. 10/10. You can't even fathom your best life until you've stayed at Caribe Town.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared kitchenette works okay, but gets packed and items are moved around. It would be nice to have a mini fridge in the unit.

    Private open air bungalows (but screened off so inside is bug free) set back from the main road and across from the beach. Mark is helpful and cooks great breakfast! Saltwater pool is also lovely!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little from where I needed to be which was Moin. But great place to relax

    Very quiet, plenty of privacy if you want it. Peaceful! Marc very nice and at your disposition. Great for couples.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2019

    10
    Beautiful, relaxed, comfortable and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driveway letting to caribe town was filled with garbage and dog feces. Not caribe towns fault but still took away from the experience. Overall the city is garbage ritten so just accept it and it won’t bother you! Pura Vita

    The hospitality, attention to detail and feel of seclusion in a jungle setting! Comfortable beds, great location away from the city. Marc and Luis were both kind and the breakfast was amazing ;)

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful place close to the main street (walking distance to the beach), but with the feeling you're in the middle of nowhere! Breakfast was perfect and with a different touch each morning! Marc really outdid himself as a host, taking care of everything you need. He even sent the shirts and cap we forgot to our next destination! What a service! Moltes gràcies Marc!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bad luck, when we arrived a tree was down and was no electricity, but was restored in couple hours.

    It a nice place, with little cottages, cute. Breakfast is nice and plenty. The owner is very friendly. The beach is close by. For the restaurants you have to walk a little more! Is a parking place inside.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property and great hosts.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the toilet has no wall, be ready to hear ur friend/family/ couple make kaka

    evrything

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hosts! Breakfast was really good. Cabins are surrounded by a beautiful garden, it was very quiet except for the frogs :).

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    8.8
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise day and night Backhoe TIL 8pm And cement mixer thru out the day near pool

    Saw a sloth up close right behind cabin

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Jessica and Marc are wonderful hosts willing to help at anytime. The bungalow was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2019

    9.2
    The 2 bedroom cabina has allot of privacy. The breakfast is delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach across the street was my least favorite beach in Puerto Viejo,but it was nice to have it close to walk with morning coffee. The only thing I was put off about was the huge pile of super stinky garbage at the road entry. Not caribe towns fault at all, the whole Puerto Viejo area has a garbage issue. That is heartbreaking to me.

    We stayed in the small 2bedroom house at caribe town. It was great to have the privacy. Marc was super friendly, had a great homemade breakfast and was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: