Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Guanacaste hotel reviews
  4. Playa Flamingo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo

Reviews of Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Playa Flamingo, 50302 Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica

#7 of 17 hotels in Playa Flamingo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 328 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    4.6
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel played loud, awful music from 6am to 10.30pm, blasting from speakers placed every 2 metres around the pool and throughout the lobby. On repeat so that after an hour you've heard every terrible song 3 or 4 times. On arrival we were given a slightly below ground-level room, although we'd paid for a balcony room and the hotel was almost empty. We were told there were no balcony rooms available, with no apology or recognition that we were not asking for a favor but for the room we'd booked. Then they found one - looking out straight into the pool bar, which is raised almost to balcony level. Of course, the pool bar has lights and more speakers. Staff repeatedly assured us this was the only balcony room left, but given they also said not to worry about the bar as the hotel was "pretty empty", we went to Booking.com and found we could reserve three rooms with balconies for that same night!. After much discussion, another room was found, 2 doors along. We later realized that the entire hallway - with rooms well away from the bar and near the ocean - was almost empty, and the floor above completely empty. Rooms there would see over the single-story restaurant to the ocean, and offer some respite from the pool music. Apart from the noise and the dishonesty of the staff (who I can only assume were acting on instructions), the bar nachos were the worst I've ever had: 6 nachos sticking out of a small bowl of molten cheese with a few pieces of beef under it, for about $15. Matching this was the worst Pina Colada I've ever had: weak, small, sweet but with no discernible pineapple taste and very little coconut, and a crunchy icy texture. We asked for a morning wake-up call at 6am - and they called at 5.30 instead. That's an important half hour! We needn't have worried about the call anyway, as the music started up at 6.00. At least we knew all the songs and could sing along.

    the pool is nice, the beds comfortable and the breakfast fine.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.2
    Overall we had a great stay and would visit Playa Flamingo Beach Resort again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Pool was quite murky when we were there. The drinks we ordered were very weak....not sure if there was any alcohol in them at all.

    The breakfast and meals were excellent! The staff were friendly and attentative. The Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.3
    The bar and food service staff I will give them a 5 out of 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The place need a little update in the facilities and furniture and the pool area. The sheets and the bath towel need replacement. The front staff is not as friendly

    The bar and food service staff I will give them a 5 out of 5 rating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel pool is amazing - we loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were small

    Hotel pool is amazing - we loved it Excellent cocktails great gym excellent play room for the family and especially the kids. great on site activities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.0
    Property was clean and well kept .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitoes were very bothersome,particularly in the room. Food quality and preparation needs improvement.

    Property was clean and well kept . The rooms were large and clean. The pool was large with a nice swim up bar. Most staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely time and if we came to this part of Costa Rica we would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only had one small issue which was mosquitoes in our room. They were coming in from somewhere other then the doors because no matter how many I killed we never really got rid of them....and when I say them I mean I would see two or three at a time in the bathroom mostly.

    We liked the location and it was perfect for families as they had a really great family room with ping pong tables, pool tables, foosball tables and even a movie theather. The baby pool was covered so little people do not get direct sun and there was good shade by the pool bar. I think I would definitely recommend to families. Breakfast was great, very fresh and our restaurant choices were great if you did not want to leave hotel to go out to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.9
    Great for a couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was musty smelling, air conditioning control not in room so had to get one, scorpion in the bathroom which stung my foot, no welcome drink as advertised, my flip flops were stolen and we had been travelling for 3 weeks already and this was our last stop. Surprised really

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a dusty, narrow road between the hotel and the beach, which is unavoidable, probably the only minor negative.

    Great place to spend a few relaxing days. breakfast is splendid, rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is very pleasant. Beautiful stretch of uncrowded beach to walk on right outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    8.8
    Beach front bliss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought the on site restaurant was just ok for the prices. If you visit you definitely need to get out to the local restaurants. The front desk people were so wonderful helping us to find a place to go.

    This was a wonderful, small beach front get away. The breakfast buffet was generous and had an excellent selection. Our room was nice and we received an upgrade on our last night and the ocean view from the second room was gorgeous. The pool and swim up bar was fun, the bartenders were funny and friendly and honestly we loved the french fries! If you want a nice place to stay directly on the beach you can't beat this option! Nothing else in the area seemed to come close to the Flamingo!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to relax and read by the pool, walk th and have assorted great food options for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bacon, some of the staff attitude, cost of a bottle of water in the lobby gift shop

    room, pool area and grounds, lobby, drinks, bathroom, and available food choices nearby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel beautiful but too far away from walking places too eat and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No red taxis available to get to better restaurants within 2-5 mile radius. Hotel transportation too expensive.

    Nice having clean water stations to refill bottles water for excursions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.3
    Wholesome, healthy,pleasant and Pura Vida!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The in room Wifi was almost non existant, and that is extremely important to me. I was told that it will be resolved soon and I believe it 100%.

    Great people, nice atmosphere, right on a nice beach and very close to one of my favorite beaches to walk on. It is a Family Vacation kind of place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    5.8
    Really good for a location, Stars at night along the beach are beyond believable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room had a view of the car park, it was very dark and wasn't cleaned very well at all.

    The facilities around the pool were great with really good access to potential tours

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    9.6
    I would highly recommend the Flamingo Resort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    When I wrote about what I wanted, I mentioned I wanted a room that offered a view of the ocean. From the picture, it looked like there would be view rooms on the upper levels. Unfortunately, there are not very many ocean view rooms... But, great view of wonderful pool! Shuttle service from the airport is a little expensive and it is about an hour's ride.

    The staff were wonderful and very helpful. The pool was fantastic and it was great to be so close to the ocean. The beach in front of Resort was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great place, maybe over priced for service provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception desk staff below average. Room wasn't ready as promised, wasn't notified once it was, added charges to final bill that were "voluntary dinations" without letting me know (I had to ask what and why). Felt deceived.

    Great location, clean and well maintained property. Good food for a buffet that never changed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    10
    We had an incredible trip and can't wait to come back again soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved the location, the friendly staff and the attention to detail! The team generously took care of us as we were there to enjoy our honeymoon and it made us feel so special and really made our trip!! Thank you again!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    6.7
    This place is for old people or those who wants to be in bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not that many choices when it comes to dining options.

    This place is for old people or those who wants to be in bed by 9pm. The location of the hotel is secluded which is good and bad. Good part is the beaches are not crowded. Bad part is you're held captive to the limited restaurants on the hotel and in the area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.9
    Great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The music was so loud it was throughout the resort and I could hear it in my room. Although it was over at 10pm it was just too loud.

    The Sunset lounge and happy hour was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    10
    A wonderful family place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I disliked.

    The property was clean and well maintained (pool and gardens). Many activities for all ages and a very stress free stay. Other guests were polite and respectful. All around a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    8.3
    Glad we picked Flamingo. It was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the breakfast food did not meet our expectations. Took a while to get a hair dryer. I would have liked yoga classes on the beach or water aerobics classes.

    New year’s celebration. Pool, spa, pool bar, access to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    6.3
    The price was outrageous for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price was outrageous for the value. Terrible deal. I would expect 5 star hotel for the price. Drinks were incredibly expensive. I would recommend this for $200 to $250 per room, not the $500 we paid.

    The price was outrageous for the value. Terrible deal. I would expect 5 star hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    8.3
    We stayed for one night and enjoyed it but were glad it was not a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel and everything in the immediate area is rather expensive and not very authentic Costa Rican.

    The bed was very comfortable and the whole en-suite room was a good size, light and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    5.8
    Avoid this hotel by all means.. terrible customer experience and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was good except for 2 things: the wildlife gets really noisy at night (birds by the sunset then all the raccoons fighting, it can get really scary), and the second thing is when we checked out we made sure to tell the front desk the night before that we want a late check-out and she told us that we can leave by 1pm (instead of the standard check-out time of 11am) so we went on a diving excursion but put our stuff in our car in case we were late, but we managed to come back by noon and found that the room service started cleaning the room so we told them that we already have a late check-out so they left the room for us then we went to the front desk thereafter to check-out and found out ~$30 charge for room service and when I asked why they told me it's because the room service has cleaned the room and we interrupted so I told them that we already got a confirmation the previous night from the front desk lady and that I need to speak to a manager and I was really angry the way we were treated, after some haggling they removed the charge but it's really a bad experience that could ruin someone's vacation especially that the front desk representative didn't seem to care when I told him that all this will go into booking.com review. I'll avoid coming here at any cost

    Great location, right by the beach, nice pool, comfortable bed and clean bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Showers are not good, dangerous to get out of, pillows not comfortable

    To wake up with birds and waves sounds, the employees are very polite and always kind and helpfull, a real plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place,the staff made u feel like home very helpful specially Tony at the front desk.Excellent breakfast. Overall excellent it is not like those hotels that only wants your money and look for any excuse to charge you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Couldn’t have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People outside the back walkway to the beach pushing their trips and excursions was a little overbearing but not too bad.

    Shrimp and rice was amazing! Ate it 3 days in a row!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    8.8
    nice clean comfortable oceanfront hotel for your money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevators. Rained the entire 2 days we were there. Did not see a jacuzzi.

    the most comfortable bed we'd stayed in during our 9 days trip. we visited 5 hotels during this trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    We would go back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot tub.

    The resort was incredible! The food was amazing especially the pasta in the upstairs pizza restaurant (home made!) The breakfast was also amazing. There are some guys out on the beachfront that hound you to do their excursions. I highly recommend the catamaran/snorkling one, but book it through the hotel! We were not impressed with surrounding beaches but you should check out playa conchal (5mins) from resort. The only thing they didn't have was a hot tub but everything else was great! They offer an arrival drink called a green monster and also serve them in their bars...best drink ever!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    10
    Great family place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly. The food was good. The temperature in the room was cool, which was so refreshing after being by the pool/beach for awhile.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.6
    Super comfy bed and overall very clean and enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All Ticos are friendly but the person who was giving out towels was super grouchy! Perhaps he just had a bad day!

    Super comfy bed and overall very clean and enjoyable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was perfect in every way. Rooms were. standard hotel rooms, but spotless. The restaurants were 4 star. Food, presentation,service , selection were all excellent. The beach was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    10
    Flamingo Resort is Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a little trouble with the scuba diving and some confusion on a refund we tried to get back. Make sure they make it clear on an all inclusive plan that only doing the pool part is free and if you go past any training other than breathing and a lap around the pool, it's a $50 deposit per person. We didn't do anything past that but the manager of the hotel helped us to get our $100 back since it ended up being about a 5 min lesson before we decided it wasn't for us. We were worried for a second and our instructor seemed unhappy with us. Sorry, but that's the deal on our plan. It was such a minor incident but everything worked out fine for us

    All the staff had an excellent attitude and made us feel right at home. The bartenders keep you laughing the whole time. Elias, Rene, senior Zumba (aka: Greddy), Alicia and many others made our trip the most memorable we have ever had. They even let us plug in some music for dancing at the pool bar and sunset lounge. Zen spa is especially relaxing and we received some amazing pedicures and manicures from the staff. My ladies name was Jamie and I highly recommend her. They even let us come back to sit in the jacuzzi and use the steam room a day later since we skipped it the day we were there. Concierge was very helpful in getting our excursion planned and I can't believe the great deal we received. Thank you Flamingo, we will come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We receive our room but when we enter the room not was which we reserve and we wait one extra hour for our room. At least some of the staff on front desk was nice. Tony was very servicial. Sunset Restaurant had a very slow service, we wait one hour for the sandwich after the coffee. Sunset restaurant look confuse and overwork.

    Breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room smelled like mildew badly! Our first night there we went up to the bar for happy hour and ordered drinks and some appetizers. The chalupa was delicious! The margaritas however were awful! We were not all inclusive hoping our food and drinks would be better because we were paying for them. When leaving someone other than our server was taking care of the transaction. Ours was a little odd, 2 bills? But our server explained it and had put the total at the top of the check. Okay, it seemed odd that hh and regulag dining are rung up separate but whatever. The person ran my card and turned in an odd way like she did not want me to see what she was doing. She was running my card again. I asked her what she was doing and she said you have 2 bills. I said no the total was at the top of the check. I asked to speak with our server, meanwhile this other lady kept trying to finish the transaction. I told her to stop and get a manager. Mind you it i's Friday night. I did not want my card flagged and frozen until Monday. The restaurant manager came up assessed the situation and told me he understood that what happened was distressing and he would take care of it. I asked how much was charged to my cc $8. Okay. Next day we were gone all day and had little interaction with hotel staff. Sunday we decided to give the swim up bar for hh a shot. So we ordered 2 mango margaritas and a chalupa because we enjoyed it the chalupa thefirst night. Before our drinks were even made we had a bill in front the of us. I get it a lot of bars do that showing management they have been rung in. But, when the bartender circled his bar and came back and picked it up? I jokinfly said, slow down we have even gotten our drinks. His name was Elias and he was very surly. Our drinks came and we were asked if we wanted any food? We looked at each other and laughed because we literally had ordered it 5 times to be clear.

    The pool and that it was so close to a beautiful white sand beach that had a great restaurant within walking distance

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    9.2
    Comfort, beach and beautiful sunsets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor, because it ran along the top of the tub and a shower curtain could not stop that problem.

    Beach front location, the beach, swimming in the ocean,the views, the pool and pool staff service, good food, and great staff and food at the Italian restaurant in the hotel, as well as a comfortable clean room and bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    What a great place to enjoy Flamingo Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No waiters on the beach!

    The beds and bedding were super comfortable. The staff at the pool bar were very friendly. Breakfast choices were plentiful and delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    5.8
    Great location on Flamingo beach and best sunsets. The hotel needs some major upgrades and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms need updating, worn out and very noisy because of all the pool activities and music right out of your door. The staff are o.k., but not that helpful. The air conditioning needs to be revamped, older system, smell in our room. The food was mediocre. You should have your meals in the little town of flamingo or coco loco down the beach.

    The location was perfect and the breakfasts were decent. The proximity to one of the most beautiful beaches was excellent. They made an effort to entertain guests, but that is not what we were looking for in a hotel. Best sunsets in the world.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    6.7
    quiet huge room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no ability to get us dollars at front desk...no use of spa facilities if not getting treatments...beach water freezing - pool not heated pretty cool and closed down at 7pm too early

    quiet huge room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    8.8
    We upgraded to an Oceanview room and it was well worth it!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great open air lobby and hallways but there are recycle receptacles (which I love) in them near the stairwells. At night the animals (birds or raccoons perhaps) could get to them. Almost every morning they would be turned over with the contents dumped on the floor. Knowing this is a problem we thought the staff should make the rounds early to clean up before guests got up to go to breakfast. We even brought it to the attention of the front desk manager but it still continued to happen. Our first day the A/C broke in the room and there was water everywhere but they were able to fix it quickly. We had a coffee pot in the room too...it also broke but they replaced it for us. Food was OK but not outstanding. Music in the afternoons and evenings till happy hour were super loud. Would have loved to have some quiet time around the pool to relax and read. Or at least the volume turned down a bit.

    We upgraded to an Oceanview room and it was well worth it! Beds and pillows comfortable. Beautiful setting! Loved that it was totally NON-SMOKING facility and grounds! Nice shade areas around the pool. Loved the breakfast. Plentiful and good options!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    10
    playa Flamingo, I'll be back 💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi, super slow

    If you want to avoid annoying tourist traps in a trip, and spend quality laid back time with yourself and your loved ones. This is the hotel you want to stay with. Iove everything about the hotel, the staff, the facility, the scenery....etc. however, if you need to work away from office, wifi is super slow compared with other 4 stars hotels I stayed in Costa Rica. That's the only thing I don't like about the hotel, everything else is almost perfect :) XOXO Wen S Wu from Silicn Valley

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2017

    5.8
    I would say worth it to spend it somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How expensive everything is and the staff treated older white people like they were there best customers myself I was treated like a a nobody

    How close and it was to the beach

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    2.5
    False advertisement for this hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms, staff gauging for everything

    1. Did not get the room we asked for 2. No beach facilities i.e. Beds umbrellas, sports 3. Old rooms need updating for the price you pay, 4. Staff miserable 5. Very willing to take your money, lots of gauging. 6. All inclusive is one restaurant with same food every day, the pizza restaurant you have to pay and you can only have their drinks no premium as you have to pay more!!! No bar in the rooms and no water provided in the rooms. 7. Very limited toiletries some days none. 8. Pool is good 9. Every time you walk across road to beach you are hounded by people selling sports constantly. 10. The beach does not belong to hotel!! 11. Talking to more than 8 people they all feel the same way and would not return. This hotel has false advertisement. Terrible value for money A avid traveler of 4/5 star hotel and own my own travel business.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Staff had excellent attitudes and English
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff had excellent attitudes and English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.9
    The room could of been nicer The food was fine staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could of been nicer The food was fine staff very nice. Loved the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    access for handicapped persons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    access for handicapped persons

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.3
    The pool was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    People very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent property and superior service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Except during happy hour (2 for 1) drinks from the pool bar were too expensive. ($10/ea)

    Omlettes are excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.8
    had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More restaurants choices

    Friendly staff. Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    This was my first vacation to Costa Rica. I really enjoyed my stay at this resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at restaurants were a little slow.

    The staff was very friendly, the resort was nice and the food was good. Nice beach access.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool view room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the location with proximity to beach and watching beautiful sunset from restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and had a great time in Costa Rica!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We got a suite with an ocean front view - it was awesome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    9.6
    Better than good, not quite excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet system needs help.

    Right across from the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Confortable, exclusive, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks too expensive

    Confortable, exclusive, great service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    8.8
    Great place to rest in your weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Playa Potrero and Playa Conchal are great places to have fun and enjoy a sunset with your relatives.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful beaches. Great staff, excellent food and services.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Flamingo Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awesome views. Excellent food. Beautiful and comfortable room. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Beach access. Wonderful pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    10
    Great Beachfrontv
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is great. Very friendly staff and right on the beach.Great pool and facilites..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.2
    Pool, lounges and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was "garden level," aka basement.

    Pool, lounges and staff were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    9.2
    Nice family place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi was too slow

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    8.8
    Great place for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food wasn't very good.

    The pool area was great! My kids loved playing on the giant inflatable flamingos. The beach is steps away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    5.8
    Unpleasant smell in the room, staff wasn't helpful at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unpleasant smell in the room, staff wasn't helpful at all, dirty swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    9.2
    Great option and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, good for family with kids. Pool and the beach are only a few meters away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    7.1
    pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor food

    pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    7.1
    Níce pool. Beautiful Sunsets. Regular breakfast. 3 star rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Value for money: regular

    Pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner should be more nice. The fish was not delicious.

    Everythig

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2016

    10
    Great location on the beach great pool and some really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The entertainment was a bit load when trying to relax around the pool. The room key cards stopped working a couple of times.

    Great location on the beach great pool and some really good places to eat in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    10
    I thought the food was really good, especially for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Being a lazy person, I really like having wait staff service the pool area. Not really something I "didn't like", just something that would have been even better.

    I thought the food was really good, especially for all-inclusive.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    4.6
    Location was nice and the beach was pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet did not work throughout the hotel property. Service was marginal and they were charging a fixed 10% gratuity and had nothing to go the extra mile for better service. Front Desk folks were arrogant and the customer service was pathetic when you needed something from front desk.

    Location was nice and the beach was pretty. Cleaning staff was accommodating.

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with beautiful view of ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely nothing. If I really had 2 think of something it wld b the wifi signal

    Lovely hotel with beautiful view of ocean. You didn't need 2 leave hotel they had it all

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    3.8
    As advised several times now the hotel and booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As advised several times now the hotel and booking.com advertise full wifi in all rooms and this is not the case. Even in the lobby area there is no wifi. It was very annoying to constantly be told to go to the lobby. With a small child that is not possible after 8pm. I lost 4 days of work since I could not connect. Neither the hotel or booking.com has been willing to assist with this matter or offer any type of compensation.

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2015

    5.8
    The bar pool and restaurant staff personnel were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of or delayed response to room deficiencies. We booked 3 rooms for our family members and 1 room did not have hot water in shower for 3 days and hotel failed to place a mini bar refrigerator in one room (where it belonged) for entire time despite fact we notified them of the problem 3 times! And, hotel did not adjust our bill for that deficiency. Hotel apparently had (or so they said) one dryer malfunctioning so there was a consistent delay in getting fresh pool towels every day. fishing tour booked through hotel (Sergio) was very disappointing! 2 family members went on tour & said fishing guide had no hooks, net etc to grab fish they caught ! So large fish got away! The guide, who did not speak English, tried to grab fish with his hands!!! In sum, fishing boat NOT equipped for a fishing tour!!

    The bar pool and restaurant staff personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Local restaurants great especially one called the LocoCoco on the beach!

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    9.2
    The room was big and spacious, well kept and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the wet bar seemed more preoccupied of attending to all inclusive guests than other guests. I get it, that's where the tips are, but nevertheless...

    The room was big and spacious, well kept and very clean. The AC was perfect.

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2015

    2.5
    I was charged for Internet (which I desperately needed in my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was charged for Internet (which I desperately needed in my room) and mini bar, none of which was provided. When I complaint about no internet, I was told that it's the climate!! Some other people had it in their rooms but I didn't have any connection. I wasn't reimbursed when asked.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: