Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Puerta del Sol - San Jose Airport 4 stars

Residencial Los Arcos, Rotonda No.1, No.17, 11000 San José, Costa Rica

#89 of 122 hotels in San José

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Very charming, quiet, and a vacation-like quality even though it is just off the highway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not swim in the pool but I could see it needed to be cleaned. Too many leaves etc. on top.

    The room was very comfortable, wifi great, and breakfast was amazing! Fesh, made to order with fresh local fruit and excellent coffee! The owners are very friendly and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    We took a familiar room and it was really clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took a familiar room and it was really clean and confortable. Breakfast was good although you only have "one" breakfast each (1 coffee, 1 orange juice, and 1 hot dish).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel location is in Cariari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel location is in Cariari. it is close to the things I need... Mall, bus, good restaurants, banks. The hotel is fairly simple, but for a place to stay... its perfect while you plan and prepare for your adventure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Good enough for a night in late hours after or before the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told about the noise from the highway but it really is disturbing. Not a very good sleep. And i don't have trouble sleeping in general.

    The service was very good. The place was comfortable enough. And the price was fair for san jose suburb...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable relaxing get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Because it is near the freeway there is some noise from the traffic. It did not keep me up at night and I used my headphones at the pool.

    This was a lovely family run hotel! Truly a hidden gem. It is in walking distance to a coffee shop, many restaurants and a market. There is also a shopping mall a ¾ of a mile walk. Very close to San Jose and the airport. I stayed a week and I would have moved in! The rooms are updated. The pool area was the perfect place to relax, read or sunbathe. There are comfortable chairs and beautiful greenery. The bed was very comfortable piled with fluffy pillows. It is very clean. The AC worked well. Breakfast was different every day, made fresh as I was waiting. The staff was very attentive and responsive to any questions or needs that I had. For the price this was an excellent value!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    Very good price but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was not at all as advertised. We chose it because it was near the airport, had a pool, airport shuttle and breakfast included. The pool was dirty, rooms and the entire building was rather rugged and not at all as shown in the photos, and the breakfast very small (small portion of scrumbled eggs and numbered, yes literally, pieces of fruit). The coffee had a very bad taste. Plus, my family left earlier before breakfast and when i asked for an extra omelet and fruit i was told no!! There was no complimentary or paid airport shuttle, we had to get a taxi. The worst thing was in fact the proximity to the highway, all night we could hear the noisy cars on the highway, as the windows did not block the sound.

    Proximity to airport and nice restaurants in the mall nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The Hotel where close to the airport and it had a Nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel where close to the airport and it had a Nice swimmingpool The owners are very friendly and helpful when we had problems with our rentalcar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is not very welcoming, we were presented with a long list of Dos and Don'ts. Also we were asked to pay more than the listed price.

    The rooms are clean. Location is not far from the airport and from the main street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value with great people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very helpful and kind. The kids loved the pool! This hotel was a great value and helped us experience Costa Rica without breaking the bank. We didn't need fancy accomodations, just comfortable and close to public transport, so Hotel Puerta del Sol fit the bill! Once we discovered the public bus stop was just a few steps from the hotel and near a landmark that the bus drivers know (Los Arcos), we took the bus into San Jose and enjoyed museums and local food with relative ease.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.8
    Fine for a night before a flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast provided, not as nice as the photos, staff kept locking us in/out at 8pm

    Fine for a night in San Jose before a flight as fairly close to airport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.8
    Watch out: Price quoted is without taxes and possibly without breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have booked quite a number of rooms through booking.com and usually booking.com prices are the prices you pay. In this case the price quoted on booking.com is a price without tax. In our case this resulted in further 76 USD on top of the quoted price. We also were quite sure that we had booked nights including breakfast, as the booking.com site does not offer any other option - but the small print in the booking confirmation stated that we had booked rooms without breakfast. Unfortunately we only noticed there. So check the small print in your booking confirmation to see what you will really get. Value for money therefore not as expected. Hotel is not in San Jose directly but in the Alajuela region. Transport into downton San Jose quite far and expensive. The palm trees on the pool picture are non existent. Bed was OK - not the best of mattresses though. Owners are an elderly couple which are a bit moody.

    The pool is lovely and there is a shopping centre and some restaurants 10 min walk away. Hotel was able to organize transport to airport and pick up from a San Jose downtown bus stand without problems. The San Jose Hard Rock Cafe, Conference Centre and a great Souvenir Shop are all in walking distance (10-15 min)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    comoda location vicino aeroporto, per il resto niente di che
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old rooms and bathroom not really clean and nice

    convenient location near airport good wi-fi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Pool was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff had very poor English and no vending machines for clean water

    Pool was very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    Met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More rustic than I expected.

    The host was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    The owners were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very nice. The place was very clean. Close to the airport and a great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Excellent for a one night befor your return rental car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean clean. Located close to rental car locations and really affordable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool needs a little cleaning

    Really nice place, the owners are really kind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice; could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Pool; but not clean

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    It was very good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little hard to find. And a little outdated

    Lovely staff. You feel very welcome. Much value for your money. Very, and I mean very clean! :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Everything in the hotel and room was perfect, honestly I didn't have no complaints or can remember something I didn't like

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Fruits were excellent but the main dish was small.

    Tge lication of the hotel was good. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located out of Downtown but yet close enogh

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    lugar agradable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maybe the breakfeast, it would be better if they were attending earlier

    the ubication was excellent and the service costumer was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    Confortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente

    Silencioso

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    The owners were nice (but hardly spoke English)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need some update.

    The owners were nice (but hardly spoke English)! Room was good for a stopover night (close to the airport). Pool looked nice but we didn't have enough time to take a swim. Breakfast is basic but convenient

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    5.8
    The location is really far from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is really far from everything. The hotel is located in a residence area... In the website they say "shuttle on demand" but in fact they just call a cab for you. There was no shuttle!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    6.7
    The room was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There appeared to be no places nearby for food or drink, if you didn't have a vehicle or bring things with you. The early morning cab (4:45am) that I was told was arranged did not arrive and I could not wake anyone at the hotel for help. Security guard down the road called one for me.

    The room was comfortable and clean. Quite close to airport.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.6
    We arrived at the hotel late in the evening as we only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel staff ordered us a taxi for 5am in the morning. We came down to the reception at 4:45 and realised the reception was closed and no one was there. We saw the doors were locked with a thick chain and padlock, and we couldn't get out. Knowing we had a plane to catch I started to panic because there were no keys anywhere to open the front door and no one to call. I went to the pool area and jumped over the fence to the parking lot, went to the main gate and told the taxi driver we can't get out. At the same time another taxi arrived (probably the go-to driver for the hotel) and luckily knew how to get in through the side door. I wonder what would happen if that driver was replaced by another driver who didnt know how to get in? We would have to break the door to get out. Nevertheless being stuck behind the closed door at 4am with a plane to catch and having to climb and jump over a high fence to ask the taxi driver for help was an adrenaline rush none of us needed.

    We arrived at the hotel late in the evening as we only needed a place to stay before our morning flight back home. The room was nice and clean, staff was nice and the man i suppose is the owner was super nice even offering us a lift to the nearest restaurant! No breakfast or coffee for those departing early in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff and very quiet compared to other locations in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and very quiet compared to other locations in San Jose. Close to the airport - around 8000 Colons by Taxi. Small shopping mall and supermarket within 1000 meters. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    5.8
    Staff was friendly and frequently seen around property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located near main highway in San Jose and windows and doors not sealed well, so sound of traffic was loud. Rooms are very hold and not well maintained, but clean.

    Staff was friendly and frequently seen around property. However there's only a few people that actually work there

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.6
    10 minute/$15 minute taxi from airport, solid wifi,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff could be a little friendlier but was nice enough to arrange a taxi for 4:30am the next morning

    10 minute/$15 minute taxi from airport, solid wifi, bathroom, and A/C, outdoor seating and pool

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is located in a beautiful upscale neighborhood on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Confused about the hot water the first day, but it worked just fine afterwards.

    The hotel is located in a beautiful upscale neighborhood on the outskirts of San Jose near the airport and the town of Heredia. Very hospitable owners. A nice hot breakfast every day.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    7.1
    Located near the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Located near the airport. Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    7.1
    Cleanliness of rooms and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Without a car, it is quite difficult to reach.

    Cleanliness of rooms and pool

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.7
    Pool, well cleaned facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool, well cleaned facilities. Local mall nearby.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    10
    is almost like being home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    is almost like being home. solar energy for heating water, very hot shower Unbeatable price

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: