Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Puntarenas hotel reviews
  4. Jacó hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Selina Jaco

Reviews of Selina Jaco

Calle Alice Jaco centro, Jacó, Costa Rica

#41 of 67 hotels in Jacó

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 921 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    Overall it was an amazing experience, the staff was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that there are not many public buses if you are going to a different place, but that has nothing to do with the hostel

    Overall it was an amazing experience, the staff was really helpful especially a blond girl at the reception. Its located near to the main street, where you can find good places to eat, drink and also a mini market to get some groceries (mas x menos) Pool it's open 24 hr, no restriction. 100% satisfied with everything.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.3
    :/
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No proper parking. Being worried to get towed or get a ticket since there's very limited parking space. - We got a private room to have our own space. However, it was impossible to sleep since people kept passing by and it was very noisy all night.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast buffee was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Beach area outside hotel wasn't nearly as nice as when I was there in March of 2018. Plus, the lawn area near pool was under construction. Plus, there was no entertainment on the Sat night we arrived (Dec 1) and, in fact, the bar wasn't even open. We thought we'd sit in the nice reclining chairs near pool looking over the beach but they'd all been watered down. It was way better in March when I was there.

    The breakfast buffee was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    4.6
    Sad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not helpful at all. I needed help getting bus tickets at night for the next morning really early and no help was offered, same in the morning I needed a taxi as it was raining a lot and the security guy (reception was not open until 7) couldn't help at all. Also de bathrooms under the stairs were veeeery dirty.

    Beds were comfy, but the air conditioning wouldn't get to all the beds. Food was great and even though I didn't take any surf lessons the classes lloked really pro as the instructor was later showing pictures of how people did.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay in the room, it was clean and had...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really enjoyed my stay in the room, it was clean and had everything I needed. The staff were really nice and the caretaker helped me lot specially Rene & Alexa at the from desk, this is a really good place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Selina Jaco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water pressure and temperature we're dysfunctional in the shower and sink in the dorm I stayed in.

    Location, staff and security. Really good social aspect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.9
    Location, right in front of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’ve stayed in one of the cylinders. They’re not bad, but there’s almost no space for 2 people.. also, it’s impossible to sleep without AC

    Location, right in front of the beach.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.2
    Just stay here. It's stupid not to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be nice if they had better quality beds, blankets and pillows. But honestly, for the price and location that reallllly doesn't matter. Nothing against Selina Jaco, but the town itself is just too American. The hostel itself was extremely accommodating, even when I was too damn drunk and broke some rules they were very nice about it. I fully recommend this place. The staff is kind and everything I experienced was lovely.

    The communal area allowed me to meet so many very kind people. The bartenders I consider friends and I only knew then for 3 days. The staff is everything, the rooms are clean and the entire grounds are magical. The price is SO good. Stay at this place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.3
    Beachside and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The few funky barrel shaped rooms were cramped and lacked privacy but the dorms and standard rooms were clean and comfy.

    It was right on the beach unlike many others in Jaco . It was a budget place with dorms and simple en-suite rooms, it was well run and the food was Excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    Great spot for relaxing on the beach and surfing! Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I traveled with a friend It was great to have the option of twin beds. The facilities had everything and made us feel like we were at an all inclusive resort - beachfront, cash bar, pool, activities, etc. Breakfast was also only $5 USD (you choose what you like and pay based on the weight of your food). Such a great deal!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.9
    Good value and nice theme nights
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was early at the venue but I couldn't check-in until it was three 'o clock sharp. I don't believe that it takes until the last minute to ready a room.

    They have nice theme nights and you can rent surfboards or excursions at the venue. They also help you if you want to take the bus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    I'm really like this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'm really like this place. great location, very close to the beach, frendly personal, always ready to help me with any question. room was small, clean and nice. very simple, but it value those money. I will definitely recommend it for staying to people who came for surf and looking cheap , simple place,where they can just sleep and take a rest .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.6
    Pura Vida Selina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    cocktails weren't as good as in other Selinas - disappointing the guy selling things made of palm tree leaves at the bar - annoying pool table too close to the wall and to pillars - impossible to play properly water in the shower was going from freezing to boiling en un bombazo

    great location next to shops and bus stop, in front of the beach the room in the cylinder was super nice fast Wi-Fi

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you dont make use of the restaurant and bar (quite expensive for a hostel that want to welcome everyone) you have to dine and drink in the kitchen who is dirty and without much cooking material.

    The style and idea behind it is nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    6.3
    Location, clean space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smallest and worst kitchen in the world (and for +60 guests probably). No space for storing food, two small fridges, stoves weren’t working.

    Location, clean space

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    4.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 4-Bed Dorm Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff need to work on repore. Lots of staff but they don’t seem to be doing anything. Dirty sheets. Freezing shower in room. Pool could be cleaned more.

    Good location. Very chill and yet fun place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    Solo experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen area needs a makeover pots are old and burnt not enough utensils. Refrigerate too small for so many tourist. Restuarant/bar overpriced food ok but you find cheaper and better food b Near by.

    Room cylender was amazing, good AC, restrooms clean. Ocean front hostel. Everything walking distance staff young and friendly great experience will come back

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    5.0
    It’s close to the beach.
    • Solo traveler
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A staff member come to my room and asked me to leave the room because it was time to check out at 10:30am, when I was told at the time to check in the check out time was 12:00 pm. I paid $70 dollar for a room didn’t have tv and breakfast was not included, there other places with better price and have good amenities, the bar area smells like sewer and the floor in the room are slippery.

    It’s close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    4.6
    We were going to stay in a construction cylinder room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were going to stay in a construction cylinder room. We were very excited to “live the experience”. I recommend that if someone is claustrophobic, don’t stay there. It doesn’t have natural air, it felt so closedown. It smelled weird and the smell wouldn’t go away. The staff couldn’t help us change room because it was late. So we had to get on the road to find another hotel. Don’t get me wrong, the hostel is pretty nice, with an amazing pool and bar, but I wouldn’t choose the cylinder room again. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Excelent place, near everything in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of the meals/breakfast are too high compared to other places nearby.

    Excelent place, near everything in town. The hostel have many activities and it is very charming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    The location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The remote control for A/C was only on a demand from the reception and only temporarily - some other guests did not return them - but it was not possible to exist in our "room" without A/C at all

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely more of a party hostel if thats what you're looking for. And the dorm was so cold from aircon we had to sleep with the door open to warm up the room!

    Great facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in a cylinder and it was really awesome - air con was perfect, comfortable bed and just enough space. Shared bathrooms always very clean. Surf lesson was extremely good (even for first timers)! Great location right on the beach! Great food as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    3.3
    Felt that a was being being tricked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like the room did not have a shower and only thing it had was a bed. I wasn't what I wanted so I didn't not stay. I'll dispute it with my credit card company.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    Really nice hostel. Fab location. Great pool and right on beach. Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed more cutlery, crockery etc in kitchen. Kitchen busy as such a big hostal.

    Large hostel. Brilliant location right on the beach, down a quiet side street but so close to town. Loved the pool area. Lots of thongs happening if you want to join in, or just relax. Staff friendly and everything very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    5.0
    Good for location however expensive for a motel feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was rundown. It felt like an old motel the slapped little paint on and charged high prices. The water in the shower was either scolding hot or freezing cold, no happy middle. The public bathrooms near the bar were filthy and smelled horrible. The smell lingured in the dining area so we did not eat there.

    The location is great and right on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.1
    Unhelpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were really unhelpful with getting a local bus to San Jose. The public buses can be confusing and when they didnt know the answer they didnt find the time to get someone who did. I researched it after and found it myself but you would expect people who work in Jaco at a hostel to know more about how to get from there to the Capital of Costa Rica. Its also very hard to meet people. Everyone comes in groups and is rather closed off. Because its so big I wouldnt reccomend it as a solo hostel.

    It was really close to the beach and shops, renting a surfboard was cheap too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.3
    Our room was very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was very nice and clean. We did the waterfall tour provided through Selina and our tour guide Kenneth was absolutely amazing and so hospitable! Would definitely recommend staying here for young adults!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    6.7
    Cool Place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in a 22-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices!!!

    The beer is too expensive not even bother to see food prices, for ticos is not a fair rate, I wasn't expecting to have full house in a 10 room full of people, I had to beg for a room with less people, they gave it to me. Love the place, great location!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    5.4
    The Hostel is right next to the beach and near to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is unfriendly. The kitchen is way too small and there are not enough forks and knives. The ,sponge' was disgusting. Overall Atmospehere was bad, people even stole our food...

    The Hostel is right next to the beach and near to the main street of Jaco. Bathroom facilities also were tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Great hostel located right at the beachfront. Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hostel is located right by the beach in Jaco and has a pool, bar, and lounging area in the vicinity. It is the perfect hostel if you want to be right by the beach and it is also very good for meeting people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a weekend’s stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It felt as if some of the staff were under qualified for their position. Security staff is a joke and damages Selina’s efforts in becoming a great place by not treating guests properly as they think they own the place.

    Great place to spend a night at the very center of Jacó. Nice concept of rooms. Great bar and live music.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere, the cylinder room was a special experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers didn't give hot water, but it was fine. They sell the breakfast by the weight, but you have to buy at least 400 g or they will charge you the minimum sum of 2500 col anyway. A small thing but I found it a bit annoying.

    The cylinder private room was awesome! The place was modern and nice, pool was also great. Great services. Breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.1
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our double room had issues with rats, ants and a leaking roof (straight onto the bed). The kitchen is useless - way too small and barely any equipment. The showers weren't great - running scolding hot for 10 seconds then freezing cold for a minute alternatively. Seriously overpriced

    The wifi was the most reliable we've had in Costa Rica. Although the rooms are VERY small, they are attractively decorated and were designed well (e.g.plug sockets and shelves by the bed). The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    I stayed in one of the cylinder rooms, and it was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in one of the cylinder rooms, and it was really great! Bed was comfy, wifi was fast, bathrooms were clean and location as perfect, right on the beach. It's also really easy to book any activities or shuttles from the front desk. I was very happy with my stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    The pool was clean, such as the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms were not always super clean, but there is a lot of people staying at Selina, so it’s understandable!

    The pool was clean, such as the rooms. Lots of bathrooms! Great ambiance at night! I loved the live shows!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    5.4
    The check-in took really took too much time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check-in took really took too much time. After more than half an hour they gave me the key of a room that was already owned by another person. I was standing in the middle of all his belongings. In the end, my room had never ever 26m2. There were rooms of that size but they gave me a smaller one, although I paid for the bigger one. They didn’t leave me move although I asked them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hostel - Directly in front of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The personal attitude and the lack of comprehension on several things. It’s typical from all the Selina’s I have been to.. the mentality is “money, money, money” and zero guest services. The guys at the front desk were really slow and not helpful. + the Kitchen is good but lacks a lot of stuff so basically you have to eat your food with knives. I still recommend this solace because of everything that it has, but upper management should really reevaluate there personal and the services that they offer to the guests.

    The location of the hostel - Directly in front of the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.7
    A nice pool, great location for the beach and the city at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrogant staff compared to other selinas. Never hot water or even decent water pressure in the room, not even in the standard ones. You can hear everything from outside the wall. Very dark in the room, too. The price doesn’t worth the value.

    A nice pool, great location for the beach and the city at the same time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, busy and more of a hostel than hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is on the road and is limited. Billiard table is a decrepit mess and should be replaced. Breakfast should be included for the price.

    Large facility with lots of room options. Right on the beach and decent pool, rental surf gear and lessons available. A good location right across from Jaco Walk (shopping and restaurants). Good place to meet people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    5.4
    Nice hostel, good vibe, room could be better for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service, staff assistance.

    The staff seemed a little disinterested. The room was tiny but clean - for that price I expected more - you cannot even move in the room, it is literally just one bed. For a hostel to charge over 20 dollars for a room without bath they should provide a little more - we wanted to extend then it would have been 80 for the night! Plus when it rained it rained into the room - they gave us a new room for that night, but without any apology or anything, and the next day on the check-out they did not even mention it anymore! If it rains into your room I expect at least an apology - a lot of our stuff was wet. Other then that the hostel has a good vibe for surfing and hanging out - if you are traveling alone it seems that they make effort so you can meet people and hang out. Pool was very clean and nice and also the board rental was good and surf instructor very helpful and giving advice on when and where to go in!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    6.7
    Do better Selina Jacó.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattresses were plastic and were incredibly loud when you moved around on them. The hostel was cleanish, but it definitely needs some updates. The service was the worst part though. The front desk had a problem with check-ins and they were accusing people of not having paid. The staff were incredibly rude and impersonable. I actually heard the manager tell a guest trying to check out to "have a little patience, okay?" after he had been waiting there for like 10 minutes to get his deposit back. I didn't feel welcomed here, and one night was more than enough for me.

    The location is awesome- right on the beach in front of some great waves! It's nice that they have a restaurant option, although it's frustrating that there's only one area in the hostel where you can eat your own food because of it. Everyone wants to eat their lunch with a beach view, not crowded around a small table in the kitchen!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Great place with great vibes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was helpful and nice to me, and had overall good experience. Would have appreciated if someone would have given a bit more information about the hostel area, facilities etc. It felt like a bit like there was nobody in charge of the place, however for me everything worked great!

    I very much enjoyed my stay at Selina. Perfect location at the beach, nice facilities, best surf club part of the facilities, nice bar and great vibes & people!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Had some issues with another guest, but staff were amazing and refunded me my money. Would go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a large room, and had an issue with a drunkee waking me up at 5 in the morning while I was asleep. Even though there were lockers to keep my stuff, I never felt completely safe.

    I loved the property- very comfortable to hang out, with swinging chairs, a spot on the beach, a pool, and more! There was always something for my friends and I to do without even leaving Selina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    The location is awesome, the vibe is awesome and the Selina Surf Club is awesome!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The common kitchen was a disaster! No clean towel, no bowls, the fridges were small and full! Also, there was no toaster!!

    The location, the vibe and the surf club!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.6
    Overall the place is great. If you're looking for a party atmosphere, This is the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in a 22-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the showers and bathrooms were out of order but that's kind of standard in CR. The kitchen was small.

    Selina's have a very resort like feel. Pools, bars and restaurant all in one spot. The kitchen space was a little tight. And the 22 person dorm was much better (quiet and smaller) than I was expecting. Great value for your money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.6
    Premises are excellent, including the location. A bang for your buck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was just OK. When asked for recommendations about transport to other areas and places to eat, not a lot was provided. They were there for assistance, but not as proactive as the other places I stayed in the same area.

    The premises are modern, nice and well thought through. The beacky vibes and design go well together. From the seating areas to the room decor, everything looked great and neat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.8
    nice location it’s right on the beach .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Private rooms have no hot water , rooms also have no closet or hangers ,not even glasses that u can use for water . Our room look like madness with clothes all over . Bathroom shower not working properly . House keeping came only 2 times and everything was in sand . Front desk was nice but some certain staff from the bar was very unprofessional and rude and On top of it they work so slow you need sit and wait 30 min for a drink . sorry I live in New York maybe I am too spoiled on good customer service. Also there was a construction outside our room so If we wanted to take a nap was impossible. Pool area is way too small for the size of the hostel . They have only 4 lounge chairs and ofcourse it was impossible to ever use them . We got yelled from a female bartender for sitting on the chairs outside of the pool area just because she was too negligent to know that we are guests in the hostel and prior to sitting there we asked security if that’s ok and he said yes . Also that certain female bartender wanted to charge us for ice .

    nice location it’s right on the beach . Great for sunsets .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was little to no storage and extra space in the rooms. They only had a few lay beds by the pool so it was hard to get one and there is space for more so this would be a good investment.

    The pool was great especially since I was not impressed with the beach. The restaurant was great and very convenient. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    the location is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast that everyone raves about i found to be fare. i know some of the rooms have been redone and are really nice, ours was not as nice

    the location is awesome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    Location right on the beach is definitely sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet was spotty. No consistent hot water. Last night there my air conditioner got stuck on cold.

    Location right on the beach is definitely sweet. Look like there were a lot of activities but I wasn't really there long enough to check them out. Was a bit disappointed with jaco. First day I was there I was approached by three different guys offering to sell me Coke.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Great experience, great location, fun people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s right on the beach, they have a popular restaurant/bar, pool, and yoga area. I loved the concrete pipe rooms, too cute. The people are great, I met so many new friends. Very thoughtful and creative vibe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    10 bed dorm very comfortable with air conditioning and excellent Wi-Fi throughout. Also the hostel leads out to the beach which is a huge plus. Very clean pool as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.6
    The location was great, right on the beach and the hotel was beautifully decorated and maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasnt enough lounge chairs by the pool (only 4) so it was difficult to find a spot to lay out, unless you went to the beach.

    The location was great and within walking distance to everything in Jaco. The best part was being right at the beach and having surf boards for rent at the hotel. The staff were great and helped us book a tour and gave good advice about places to check out in the area. The room was clean and the property felt safe. There was a really cute, friendly dog named Coco who hung out at the hotel. He was one of my favorite parts!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, this place is not a hotel, contrary to what is indicated in an advertisement. It is a hostel. We took a private room with separate bathroom so I am not in a position to comment on shared rooms. The private room however is extremely old, dirty and most importantly smells like mold. Secondly, there is no hot water and the toilet does not flush. We paid over 80 $ per night and there is not even a bar of soap. Thirdly, the public. The youth screamed in front of our room for half of the night. Lastly, the check in. It took forever to check in and the ladies at the desk, although, nice, seem to be a bit incompetent. We cancelled the second night and I would recommend to avoid this place.

    Location. It is on the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place can be great if you don’t have certain people from the staff ruining your experience. I stayed in the Selina Jaco for 2 weeks already and one week Selina Tamarindo where we got robbed . and I find it ridiculous that they don’t live even a single glass in the room for you to use and when you go and ask for a plastic cup at the bar a very rude bartender tells you need to pay for it and then you get asked to get up from your chair and sit somewhere else . The pool area is way too small for the size of the hostel and there is no room for people to sit if you are looking for shade . Our room also got cleaned maybe 2 times it got full with sand . No hot water . Noise from construction. I mean if you are paying for their private rooms with private bathroom it’s not worth it . better stay somewhere else for the same price .

    Location is great right on the beach and town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    6.7
    Chilled hostel with good facilities but kitchen is dirty and the guests are the party kind....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest kitchen is probably the worst aspect of this property. Sink and where to dry the dishes were completely apart from each other so you end up bumping into a person trying to cook. Given the number of people this place can hold, one kitchen stove with 2 small fridges is not enough and often there is a wait. The worse is the no one has the etiquette to clean up after themselves and that the kitchen is often left in a dirty state. Another problem is the type of travellers they attract. We never knew it was a party hostel but now we know and will avoid - someone used a permanent marker on the resident dog and drew obscene pictures on him. Why???? It's not the fault of the hostel but this is the type of people that stay there

    There's many things to like about this place. Rooms have AC, swimming pool, right on the beach, surfboard hire, live music at night, cinema room, etc - it's presented well and has a chilled vibe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    4.2
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food gross and always out of things, shared bathroom dirty, no hot water anywhere,too expensive

    Money got stollen on their first day by a staff member and they would not show me the footage. Food was poor ,service slow and poor . Only good thing is that you are by the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.9
    Unfriendly staff reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in a 22-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was really unfriendly with check in, check out took forever also. Rest of staff was oke.

    Nice pool and right at the beach, lots of activities, big rooms and lockers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.1
    It could be better, it could be worse...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in a 22-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that there were kids running around. I thought this was supposed to be 18+. It is also pretty irritating that the bar does not have posted prices for drinks. Every time I got a drink (which are more than double than getting them at the store) it was a different price at the bar. Reception did not make you feel welcome when you arrived. Don't show you around and just assume you know where you're going.

    It's a great spot right on the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.3
    Good location, close to everything. Ideal to meet people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't get shown the place/room or amenities so had to find everything myself. Considering the late check in the check out should be later as well.

    The place is beautiful and has everything you need. I went on a weekend and it was pretty crowded nonetheless it wasn't as noisy as I expected it to be. If you are looking to meet other travellers and have a good time this is the right place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommend this place to anyone Staff is HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m writing this review as I check out. I decided to give this a place another chance so I’m here a the bar to get a burger and a beer before I leave . But yup... this bar staff is horrible. Their vibe and character drags your moral. Fist of all I’m reading all these negative reviews of the bar and their staff and Selina has obviously done nothing to fix or address it. You should train or replace your staff. As a business person, if someone sits at a bar you have to see it as a transaction, this “person/s” is going to spend a certain amount at your place and depending on the service they will obviously spend more. Better service = more money.The staff does not even acknowledge anyone that comes in . You can literally be the only person at the bar and you have to go up to them so they can serve you. Mind you they are not busy and there is three of them. I was always ready to party, you know ...your on vacation you just want to have fun at a bar. The first night I was here I was tipping the bartenders 40% per transaction . Typical mindset ...you tip good it will probably trigger better service. I don’t understand how you can be in Costa Rica winning a decent amount of money and still be bitter and rude. I just want Selina to actually do something not just have a teenager write a comment saying we apologize like they do on every review someone writes . Not for me because I would not stay or come here anymore but for any future guests .

    The location is good but so are the rest of the places along the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.5
    Top-hostel, but pay attention at the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very strange, when you order drinks at the bar: there is always a mistake. They tried every time to make us pay more. I recomend you to count yourself! Once I ordered a pina colada and I got some totally different cocktail with mint en lemon (sour instead of sweet). The banana smoothy turned into a smoothy with passionfruit...

    The place is clean and looks fancy. A lot of beautiful people, nice pool, very close to the beach... You can hire a surfboard. Very well located in the centre of Jaco. A lot of nice shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One night I ordered a hamburger abd the meat was raw vergung on uncooked. That was the only complaint I have. Well, also, wifi went down for an extended period last Sat afternoon and rest of evening.

    Fabulous location. Live music two nights. Breakfast buffet was good value. Price was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    This was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bartender took a bit too long to make and serve a drink, but that was kind of minor...

    Stayed in the "cylinder" room - very cool, innovative design. As a solo traveler, I really just wanted a place to sleep, and the location/facilities made up a greater portion of the value. All in all it was a great stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.2
    Beach front nice hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't give me the wifi password at the check-in, and the internet was kind of slow. I'd recommend thicker curtains for light blocking in the rooms.

    Great location, nice place to stay with friends, right in front of the beach; I would call it a Beach Hispter Hostel. The breakfast is pretty good and cheap. The cocktails are pretty good and the pool is clean. Nice activities in the hostel and the people are very kind!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    7.1
    i would recommend and go back great location right on beach with good pool /restaurant/bar area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    needs rooms with two beds.prices for drinks and food, not at happy hour are a little pricey. did not like a guard with a gun on property. too many dogs pooping in restaurant area.

    right on beach. good pool area right next to restaurant and bar area. always something happening at night. breakfast buffet is good. restaurant a little expensive. close to walk all over town. nice employees. they could use rooms with two beds.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    8.3
    Most Insta-worthy place in Jaco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cylinder Private Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to stay 2 nights at the cylindrical rooms, but they said it was fully booked. When we walked by, we saw that there were still some empty so that was a pity. Showers didn't always have warm water.

    The location of Selina Jaco was great: it was practically located at the beach. We really liked the cylindrical rooms where we stayed for 1 night. Also stayed 1 night in a dorm for 4, which had a private bathroom. Many options for having a great stay. Would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    6.7
    Staff are long winded when serving at bar/restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are long winded when serving at bar/restaurant. Some staff carry a weird attitude. Also i checked in under 2 guest i also stated to front desk that my gf will be joining me after she knocks off from her restaurant job. Everyone said np. Then at night security refused her entry stating she was not listed as a guest. Poor service My room is close to front hangout. There is a sign clearly saying no noise after 12am. 1 night a party led to over 2am. Finally got some sleep after 2am just to be woken up at 6am from a surf competition. Its nice that the once that stayed up late partying sleeps out the back where its no noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.5
    The property is super nice and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid for a private room and the water went out several times during our stay and we did not have hot water at all. It might have been a one-time issue but it didn’t seem like the staff made any effort to warn us, to address it quickly or to in some way make up for the less than stellar experience. We made it work by using the public bathrooms but we ended up paying for a service we did not get.

    The property is super nice and in a great location. It was a very fun place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    4.6
    Drunken patrons, gear smashed, no sleep, staff nonchalant. Dont do it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had valubles smashed and staff just shrugged. Vomiting drunk patron got support, we had gear wrecked by idiots and various staff said "nothing they could do" Original issue not staffs fault but their reaction unprofessional and worthless... no follow up...no feedback. CANNOT recommend this property

    Location is on the beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    8.3
    Jaco has a new hotel in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s not what I would call a hotel, but it’s definitely a much higher standard than a hostel. This could be a game changer with couples especially if they’re older who can’t afford to travel, this makes it possible to do with the lower costs.

    Food was adequate, much like you would expect at a budget hotel or hostel. The beach has a terrific vibe around the pool and bar areas, it’s quite literally, right on the beach! They’ve added crushed white shells to the top of the beach making it even seem Caribbean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.9
    Almost but not quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Since this hotel caters to surfers, they aren’t really a “hotel”. Don’t expect a TV, toiletries or anything like that. Our room was dirty when we got there so the cleaning crew had to rush to get it done. When we asked for soap, they didn’t have any. This place is good for the ambience but it isn’t much else.

    Location is spectacular, right by the beach. Good pool, good bar, good activities. The bed was pretty good. It was safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to have a base in Jaco, safe, intimate and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are two sets of bathrooms, one of them is really small and tight and kind of uncomfortable, but the other ones are great. Not a big deal, always clean etc.

    The vibe of the hotel is awesome, lots of cool people, the pool is fantastic, great drinks and bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    6.7
    Beach great, location great, food good snd reasonable... bed bad, ice cold showers daily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed 10 days, showered twice a day ... told staff everyday that we had NO hot water... last day we had our first showers that were not ice water ... unacceptable!!!

    The location was great, meals were cheap and good

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Selina Jaco Traveler Photo Gallery