Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Puntarenas hotel reviews
  4. Manuel Antonio hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Selina Manuel Antonio

Reviews of Selina Manuel Antonio

Km 5 Manuel Antonio, 60601 Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

#34 of 59 hotels in Manuel Antonio

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1477 hostel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.1
    Fun but pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    New mattresses would be good, and if they built cubicles with light... it would make this place worth the price they charge. It would be nice to have an area to chill out without music but indoors. It would be better to have a guests kitchen where you can dine in a nicer area, for example in the restaurant area. Otherwise, you are confined to a small kitchen area.

    There was a young man in the front desk (white looking but local), who went out of his way to accommodate my needs. He got me a room with a lower bed, and he came to the room in the middle of the night to help me find the remote control. The main pool was great too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.7
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found some of the staff rude, others were great. First bedroom where we stayed was extremely noisy well throughout the night, only quiet between 4am to 6am.

    Great place for young, single or solo travelers. Nice happy hour/bar.. lots of social activities going on at night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place but a bit expensive for a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the check-in experience. I arrived at 14.15 and have to wait till 15 to check-in. It's a bit stricted, not exactly "pura vida". And I'm sure the beds were ready at that time. There are also a lot of stairs and I wasn't helped with my luggage. Location is not the best, a bit far from the beach and the National Park, but there is a bus every 15 minutes, not sure till what time.

    The room is spacious and comfortable, nice pool and common areas, nice breakfast. There are 3 swimming pools!!! Atm around the corner, but can pay by card as well with no extra charge.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.5
    Old resort, 3 swimming pools, looks amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dorms don't have the Selina look and feel, toilet was always stuck and there was a sewage smell in the room from time to time

    Old resort, 3 swimming pools, looks amazing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that we can only consume from there. That you cannot enter with drinks or food from your own ...

    The view. The friendly environment. The pools

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.9
    The pool with the jungle in the background in the premium...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd put some blinders in the rooms to allow us to sleep-in if needed.

    The pool with the jungle in the background in the premium area. The setting of the resort. The jungle views.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.1
    Good, but not the value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Standard room given to us at first was not pleasant, water dropping from the ceiling, dirty towels, bed falling apart. We had to pay extra to change the room to Delux, which overall was a bit too expensive for the hostel level. Staff is not very friendly. Each different reception person gives you different cost for the same thing. Kitchen dishes definitely need a refresh.

    Location is good, the hostel area is beautiful, large and green, with iguanas, monkeys and parrot being observed regularly. Nice place right inside the jungle, you can observe the sunset and walk to good restaurants around no problem. Hostel is large, so it gathers the party crowd, especially over the weekend. Since the rooms are spread over the territory of the hostel it is still relatively quiet, even while the bar is opened.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    The beds are quite comfortable, and the pillows are decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen wasn't very well set up. It lacked utensils and supplies for cooking. There was only one spoon that everyone had to wait for/share.

    The beds are quite comfortable, and the pillows are decent too! The grounds are beautiful to walk around in and look at. The swimming pools are well maintained and each has a bit of a different vibe which is nice as well. It's close to the national park and has lots of restaurants right close by and a bank and grocery store not too far of a walk away as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    2.5
    Everyone should be aware that this is a party hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone should be aware that this is a party hostel!!! So you will hear loud music all over the place till around 2pm. Following this the party people will move around the place, have fun in the pool area or do what ever. My personal highlight was a guy peeing next to my door at 2:30am. There was also no helpfull reaction from the staff. Maybe they should provide at least earplugs for the guests that dont plan to have party all night? Or make it clear on their website that this is a party place? For me that was the worst but most expensive stay during my vacation. The jungle path, was closed, disappointed about that. The staff at the reception was'nt really helpfull. Every piece of information had to be requested. It seemed that the only job was to take care of the payment and handover the key, but definitelly not more. Some of them seemed even anoyed about every single question. So for me Selina will not be an option again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay - for meeting people, do Yoga (stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely place to stay - for meeting people, do Yoga (stunning yoga terrace), relax at one of the pools (with music or more silent ones) and visiting the National Park and beaches around. The staff is fab! Was pleasure to stay here!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    5.4
    The location is good and the environment is cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The conditions of a standard room were below my expectations, no hot water for 2 days and not very confortable.

    The location is good and the environment is cool

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    8.3
    Nice vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom pictures are a bit different from reality. The shower was not working properly. Room cleaning is just making bed and folding towels.

    Very nice vibe. Staff is very helpful and kind, really great guys and girls. Amazing view the jungle. They have good activities everyday, and parties as well. Nice breakfast for a fair price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great Selina property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed in private rooms with shared bathrooms during each stay. During my 4th stay, I found a cockroach in my room and the A/C was leaking (which is probably why). It can be hard to avoid in Costa Rica, but I also found that room to be musty. If you are staying in a private room w/shared bathroom, ask for one furthest away from the stairs/traffic (best room is 310)

    Great and unique property - 3 pools, beautiful views, and fun activities. Stayed here 4 times during my month in Manuel Antonio, and 3 out of 4 times had a great stay! Great wildlife, too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.3
    Loved Every Minute Of It!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I’d have to say that I didn’t like was my room. I had a private room and it was very dark and damp. Once I turned the air conditioning on it helped tremendously, but no sun gets into this room. I was okay with it seeing as I was only sleeping in there, but still. Their also not near to any nightlife, you’re in the middle of the rainforest after all so again it did not bother me. I was totally content spending all my evenings in their bar, it was still very enjoyable!

    This was a perfect place to stay on the coast for a few days, I absolutely loved it! Very quick bus ride to the beach and to their national park. The views from this place are absolutely beautiful as well, totally breathtaking! Sunsets and sunrises are definitely worth watching! Depending how long you’re there for, it is nice to spend a day by their pools, very relaxing. Their restaurant is also really good, ate the majority of my meals there and were very well priced! I’d definitely be staying here again if I were to ever come back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.1
    Good location and facilities but be extra aware when reserving shuttle and eating there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disorganized arranging the shuttle. I booked the shuttle from the airport to manuel Antonio, and sent an email to double check the day prior, their reply was it was too on top of the day and couldn’t reserve one. I was extremely disappointed and then frustrated when I had to pay 140 usd for a taxi there. Their disorganized had a high price. Also the food wasn’t very good.. the breakfast we need to pay by the weight (not worth it, as you get a very nice breakfast across the street at Baguette) and when ordering the chicken sandwich with sweet potato it came with burguer bread and normal fries..

    Excellent facilities, great pool and location, as it’s right in the middle of the access to Manuel Antonio Park and the town.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    5.8
    The site of the hotel, with a good vibe, 3 amazing swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unlike other Selina locations we’ve been to, our room in Selina Manuel Antonio was poorly clean when we arrived, with no amenities, in sum miles away from any other Selina...

    The site of the hotel, with a good vibe, 3 amazing swimming pools and in the middle of the jungle

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great Value. AMAZING experience. Where I will start ....the property is unlikely ; comforble all styles of accomodation right inside the jungle. Like sleeping in a National Park but in conferable room. Every day activities are scheduled day by day. Well food w reasnable prices at "in - house" restuarant and bar open till late night. People from other places come to enjoy the place . I liked very much the " Selina House " which open to all guests , where you can sit on a couch, reading, see movie and full kitchen to cook your food. I stayed in 10 people dorm which was very convenience with private bathroom and A/C . Very safe place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.1
    The Selina 'campus' is awesome but the rooms itself are a bit too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable and the rooms are extremely small. No place to put our things.

    Selina has great atmosphere and so many extra facilities and events/things to do are offered to the guests. We loved the afternoon yoga!. Staff was also very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-out procedures not clearly communicated. I had to leave early in the morning and there was no one who could return my key deposit. It still hasn’t been refunded to me.

    Gorgeous facilities, 3 pools, great food and drink

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was so incredibly helpful and nice, ready to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floors in the rooms and around as well as the bathroom could be a little cleaner. But other than that it was great!

    The staff was so incredibly helpful and nice, ready to go the extra mile to help me out. Because of the political situation and a huge strike I made it to Selina Manuel Antonio one day later than planned and booked. The staff made it possible for me to continue the rest of the stay without paying any fine. The bar is super, they make lovely smoothies, you can do yoga, all sorts of activities and the location is perfect! Definitely going back!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.8
    I would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One person at the reception was awfull. The check in was not nice. (With ring throw his nosebone). The kitchen is not functional, they only have 1 spoon or coffeespoons. When i was there food got stolen out of the fridge. I was not the only one. After rain the floor outside gets everywhere very slippery

    Other staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.1
    - Multiple pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Night walk area was closed. No staff let us know, found out after when we went searching for it - Room was small, needed maintenance as well as the window was see-through even with the curtain. Not couple friendly. - Very loud if you're near the entrance - Breakfast starts later than most hotels. Not included and it is weighted (usually costed around $5-7 each)

    - Multiple pools - Lots of different things offered here for people (pools, bar, yoga, workout sessions, meet and greet dinners, work areas...etc). - Was at the bottom of the hotel and could hardly hear the loud music and people partying throughout the night - Walkable to beach or Manuel Antonio (~20 minutes down, ~30-40 minutes going back, at top of the hill). - El Wagon and El Avion nearby are very good places to eat but expensive. - Squirrel Monkeys on the road nearby - Hostel filled up our water bladder

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.5
    Perfect just for parttying mode, not for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much time for relaxing, you get charged for everything -towels, remote for cinema area, for the A/C, etc. There are problems like no A/C on the medium cost dorms (8 people), and in this dorm, if the party is going, you will get no sleep until it's over -so get the cheapest ones (10 or 12)- also there are issues with the sewage drain -from time to time you get some foul odors-, and not all employees are that friendly.

    The facilities by themselves are very nice, great views, great pools, Selena Home -the cooking area, movie center, etc- of the hostal is always very clean (probably because most people don't cook), the security is tight and they have nice activities, party most days, Yoga, karaoke, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.6
    Nicest hostel I've ever been to, would go back in less than a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't dislike anything!

    The hostel is beautiful! Gorgeous location in the outskirts of the national park. It was really cheap ($13 for a 12 bed dorm), restaurant was amazing (loved that they had vegan options!!) and cheap, and the staff were really friendly. I only stayed one night but wish I could stay forever. Best hostel I've ever been to

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.1
    Party hostel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was totally a party hostel. There was a bachelor party that took over one of the pools and were partying loudly all day and night. The main cafeteria even turns into a club on Saturdays. The cleanliness definitely left something to be desired (ex: hair in the sink, dust/dirt on the night stand). Also, it is worth noting that breakfast is NOT FREE/INCLUDED. The front desk told us there was breakfast included, but when we tried to eat breakfast the next morning they asked us to pay. Super disappointing.

    This hostel's location is AWESOME! It's right across from El Avion (the bar inside the airplane). It's also walkable to several restaurants. This hostel is huge and there are always tons of people around. We did some fun activities coordinated by the hostel (including a really great night tour), and some free activities as well (like onsite yoga). The two pools on the property are nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.9
    The yoga deck is INCREDIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were two cockroaches in my room :( and many others around the bathroom. But it is in the jungle! The private room is very small. Literally only space for a bed. So I thought the price of a private room with shared bathroom was pretty steep for what you got. The location is good, but the set up of Manuel Antonio does mean that you have to walk significant distances (some uphill) to reach the main attractions. I had a car, so this wasn't a problem for me.

    This was my first time staying at a Selina and I wasn't disappointed. This is an amazing hostel. Awesome vibe in the restaurant/bar/pool bar area. Everyone there is friendly. The hostel offers yoga classes, cinema nights, wine tasting and other events. The yoga deck is INCREDIBLE. Such a beautiful space in the middle of the jungle. It really was an enjoyable place to spend a few days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely space for Yoga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 103 is directly underneath bar restaurant so Fridays and Saturdays don’t expect an early nights sleep as the music bleeds through

    Lovely space for Yoga

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our air con in our room wasn’t working when we arrived and this took some time to rectify after notifying the staff. There was a whole town power outage (obviously not the hotels fault) but staff weren’t particularly helpful and didn’t seem at all prepared for such an eventuality especially as it was over the dinner period so everyone was hungry.

    Beautiful property with multiple swimming pools and comfortable standard rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.3
    Great vibe, but the staff tried to cheat us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff lied about the Manuel Antonio closing time saying they were experiencing difficulties and early closing to try sell us the hostel tour and swiftly entrance. These difficulties and timings we're denied at the Park entry! That was a bit of a downer

    Nice vibe, lots of space and activities, 3 swimming pools, lovely yoga space and class!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    4.6
    Private rooms are absolutely over-priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some things that bothered us at Selina. There is the endless amount of stairs to get to your room, which is not practical at all with a suitcase and neither with a heavy backpack. The room itself is really neglected. It does not feel clean.The badroom needs an urgent renovation. The shower has barely water flowing out so it was impossible to shower properly. The staff doesn’t seem to care much about their guests. Some of them were friendly, some were not. Their infrastructure like common toilets were not clean at all which kept us of using any of it. For the price they charge for a private room there are much better alternatives around.

    The location was good and the accomodation looks nice on first sight

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.2
    No sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sunset area has literally no sunset view (there’s a huge tree and a restaurant blocking the view). People at the reception could be nicer. Drinks are super overpriced at the bar. 2 out of 3 pools get shadow early in the afternoon so everybody ends up in the same one.

    Comfy and clean. The 12 shared bedroom has 2 bathrooms which is good. Pool area is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.6
    I stayed in a private room with own bathroom and it was huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is a buffet based on weight so while it ended up being one of the cheapest breakfasts I had in costa rica, the staff were very slow replenishing the food and cutlery which meant food went cold when waiting.

    I stayed in a private room with own bathroom and it was huge! The bed was so comfy and the decor was very on trend. The staff would clean it every morning like a hotel and replace fresh towels which was a god send when backpacking. The atmosphere in selinas is infectious. There were multiple free events happening every day and the staff would inform you about it and encourage you to attend. It was very a social hostel! Would definitely recommend to a friend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    3.3
    The pools and the location are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was rude and not helpful at all, beds very uncomfortable. The bathroom was very dirty. In general it was very expensive for what it was.

    The pools and the location are amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.1
    The hostel was clean, close to the beach and the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely tiny! The smell in the bathroom and in the common kitchen was unpleasant. It was definitely overpriced for a single room, but maybe it is worth it for a dorm.

    The hostel was clean, close to the beach and the main restaurants, there were plenty of activities organised and the workers were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    8.8
    Great atmosphere and people here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The a/c in the place was a few degrees too cold we had to ask them to turn it up a lot. The game night could have been a lot better than a game of bingo that was a bit of a let down.

    Great atmosphere and people here. The staff are super helpful and are always on hand. The bus stop was right outside which was super handy. And had great kitchen facilities along with plenty of nice places to eat. Not to mention the 3 pools !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.4
    Isn’t a place for couples, i mean the privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Isn’t a place for couples, i mean the privacy. For example all the rooms have share bathrooms and that don’t like us, because my friends pay $90 for a rooms for 2 people and the bathroom they should share with other two peoples and those person leave it a mess and the rooms are so small

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.6
    Great to party, good to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's just one bathroom inside the room to be shared for 10 people. There wasn't 10 persons at the moment I was there, so I have no idea how it works when there are more people. The breakfast is paid (price is ok) and could be better with more "universal" options, like butter, cheese or jelly, but the local food is also good. There are a lot of stairs in the hostel, but other hotels and hostels in Manuel Antonio have the same problem.

    The best play to party at Manuel Antonio. The bar is amazing, there are two swimming pools, many areas to rest and nice people all over the hostel, that is really big. At night there's always a party at the bar with DJ and people from the other hostels and locals. The party did not disturb the room where I was. In general, I can say that I would recommend the hostel and I could be there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.9
    Really cool hostel with lots to do and near transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No laundry services unfortunately, having a laundry room would just give this place a boost and make it perfect. Also the on site restaurant just needs a little bit more in the way of vegetarian options, there was only salad and gazpacho-not a major problem as I ate out but maybe just a few more options.

    Lovely and unusual accommodation, lots going on every day with different classes at an extra fee but also free things in the evenings. I had a private room which was basic but comfortable and the aircon was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    7.1
    More yoga and less drunken kids would be great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service is a bit sloppy at times to say the least, you need to ask more than one person about anything to get the full information. It is a party hostel, drunken kids is the serve of every night, and all that comes with that! Avoid big dorms if you are not up for some rawdiness! Two sets of snorkling equipments were broken!

    In general the staff were very nice and accommodating! Beautiful yoga deck!! 💚 The 4-bed dorm (room 402) was super nice, big bathroom and terrace! I would prefer a more yogi friendly atmosphere for this Selina to make the most of that great new yoga deck!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    LOVED this hostel chain. I wish you guys had more locations world wide (DEFINITELY SHOULD CONSIDER)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi didn't really reach our room that well since it was so far. Also, the hot water in our shower wasn't the best - kept going in and out.

    The hostel was beyond lively, which we loved. It was in a perfect location (bus stop right in front, restaurants around). The staff were young and super friendly! Great bar on location as well!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Positive experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect! You are in the jungle yet feeling so comfortable in your room. The hotel has everything you may need to relax, have fun, party, yoga, games...restaurant, free breakfast (can't say if it's any good as we didn't try it....)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous property, lots of places to chill, views are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms in dorm need to be cleaned more frequently. Make sure you know that if you put a deposit down in dollars you may receive colones back. Staff doesn’t explain that.

    Gorgeous property, lots of places to chill, views are incredible, good location, close to Manuel Antonio.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    3.3
    The hotel is great for partying and meeting people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is like a maze and the rooms are terrible. For a $85 night the rooms should have been much better. The whole internship experience for the staff might be nice but it is amazing how in a spanish speaking country the welcoming staff can barely say hello in spanish.

    The hotel is great for partying and meeting people. It is right in the middle of the jungle, so if you were looking for the backpacker Costa Rican experience there it is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    We would definitely return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a private apartment. It had a porch with a view of the mountains and the ocean...with a porch swing and patio furniture. We spent a rainy afternoon just reading on that porch!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    3.8
    Bus stop is right in front of the hotel to get you to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds are poorly made. They make a lot of noise and shake as someone slightly turns. Also the wall is poorly isolated. The bathroom is horrible. This is the most dirty bathroom I have ever seen in any hostel. The toilet was stuck a couple of times, so you will see a bunch of sh** floating around. I paid extra for the 4 bed dorm and thought that we would have one bathroom for each room but nope, we share the bathroom with the room next door and the people in the swimming pool. Unless you’re into the party theme, not recommend to stay here.

    Bus stop is right in front of the hotel to get you to the Manuel Antonio park or Quepos.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel area was nice and lush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Common kitchen was a bit dirty and lacked essential utensils (such as spoons and). Shared bathroom area had no soap.

    Hotel area was nice and lush. Three pools were good, always nice and quiet somewhere. Also plenty of wildlife on the hotel grounds!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    People at front desk were super helpful and super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was expensive

    People at front desk were super helpful and super nice!! The three pools were super clean, such as the rooms and the bathrooms!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    3.3
    Poor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely expensive for a low season booking. I had to chance room and besides that payed extra amount to feel a little bit more comfortable.

    The co-work option is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.2
    The 3 pools we're great and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's more far from the beach, little market and cheap restaurant that are in front of the beach than other hostels

    The 3 pools we're great and clean. I loved the one with the jungle view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.3
    Cool place, not cool staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were rude, had something stolen, late check in, everything offered seemed to be a money maker.

    Lots of nature around the hotel which was cool, right on the edge of the forest. 3 pools were a bonus too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel have a good vibe, good music, 3 pool, young people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We take a private room for two with shared bathroom; the room was really small, not very clean and humid.

    The hotel have a good vibe, good music, 3 pool, young people and cool bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.8
    The hostel is really beautiful with a lot of hang out areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Manuel Antonio is a really big hostel, kinda has the vibe of a hotel/resort. So keep in mind that you'll need to work a bit harder to find someone to socialize with, it that's what you're going there for.

    The hostel is really beautiful with a lot of hang out areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    • a very nice property at the perfect location (close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    • compared to the other Selinas, this one has very poor wifi connection (both for guests and coworking) • be careful with the price at which you book the room via this webpage. after I confirmed the booking for 6 nights, I received an email from booking.com with the price of USD299.20 & an email from Selina sent via booking with the price of $338.10 . they asked me to pay the higher price at the check-in, then I got 15% discount from the higher price (?!) • some people from the staff have disrespectful behavior at the coworking space (e.g., playing loud music, long skype talks with friends without using headphones)

    • a very nice property at the perfect location (close to the main beach & jungle) • a lot of activities (e.g., yoga, surfing, karaoke nights, life music, volunteering (e.g. beach cleaning),...) • comfy bed • good food & cocktails & smoothies • friendly staff at the pool bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.5
    Great vibe, but very dated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and the facilities in the room were really run down. I didn’t think it was worth the money they charge for a bed. Also our toilet got blocked in the evening which we didn’t realise and we woke up to the flooded floor. Everyone who had their backpacks on the floor ended up with their backpacks full of wet stuff. No towels provided. When we stayed, there was a pool party in the evening, but the DJ was so bad- the music was a dyer and no one was partying. Everyone was just sat around drinking by the pool.

    We really liked the communal area with many swimming pools, bars, sunset view terrace etc. The location was great too. Also the buffet breakfast had a good selection of food and reasonably priced. The room was big. Lockers in the room, but you have to have your own lock.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.1
    The common area, restaurant and pool is just amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The doorms are not made with that much love and the bathroom was kind of dirty.

    The common area, restaurant and pool is just amazing and makes it easy to meet other travelers:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Really peaceful and the facilities exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff, they were all very “snobby”, felt like they thought they were superior and weren’t necessarily friendly

    I loved the property, it has its own private hiking trail, you could hear the monkeys in the evening and in the morning, felt like reconnecting with nature. Also the room was very private, you could feel very secure and away from everyone else, also the room had its very own “terrace” with a couple of chairs and a table, to have a drink with your partner/friend or drink coffee in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    So nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked to sleep with at least one girl in the dormitory and I was with only men!

    the staff is really friendly, the food is excellent, the environment is crazy well located. Youhou

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    2.5
    Not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The guy from reception it was so slow and careless, he was flirting with some girls and not helping at all, this never happened to me in Selinas from Panama and Nicaragua! The bath was not working...... but at the next day the a new girl from reception was so lovely and good!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    Awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Information about tours could be better, Selina should sent their employees to tours as well so that they can inform passionate about it

    Set up (resort-ish), 3 swimming pools, yoga, restaurant, parties or other activities, location > nature in the back yard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen is a little small. You need to update your google maps location, we got off the bus at a field ( as per googles location) then had to get a taxi and got ripped off by the taxi

    The most amazing hostel I have ever stayed in, reminds you of a beautiful jungle resort. Wifi is the best Iv ever had, dorms were nice and large. We saw so many birds, monkeys in the jungle walk. Swimming pools were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent hostel, would return and 100% recommend to a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic hostel, fun/safe party that hosted events like salsa lessons or karaoke to get the night going. 2 pools, 2 bars, absolutely incredibly outdoor yoga studio and overall a beautiful design. Was hard to leave!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    10
    Lively, clean, and friendly hostel right in the middle of the jungle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs to and from the room were kind of tough, but felt like I was working off some of the calories I was eating from the food and drinks :) The hostel was also more spread out than other hostels I have stayed at, which isn't necessarily a bad thing- just different.

    The bathroom was bigger than expected. Location, great- 4 USD taxi to Manuel Antonio. Employees were friendly, felt like friends (they helped us book all of our tours, even with getting a cab!). Sunset Yoga overlooking the jungle was just lovely, very relaxing! Within walking distance to a great bar called Jolly Rogers, and directly across the street from El Avion (great ambience with amazing sunset views). There was always something to do AT the hostel if you wanted to spend a day simply hanging out enjoying the atmosphere! P.S. I went with 4 of my girlfriends - it was their first hostel experience and they loved it!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    We booked two nights in a basic double bed private shared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked two nights in a basic double bed private shared bathroom once we got there the person at reception told us we would have to check out at 11 and check back in at 3 because we had to switch rooms. We weren’t to keen about that sense we were paying 80$ a night. The manager happened to be standing there and they upgraded up to the standard with a ensuite for free, so that was very appreciated. Super nice room, clean place, nice pool, lots of places to hangout. We extended for a 3rd night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    10
    Just Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing place! Interior design stunning, every detail is unique, really a masterpiece of art. It's peaceful and charming, into the wild costarican jungle!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced for the standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food got stolen in a day (when I marked my food with check out date and extended one day, it was gone immediately, meaning there is someone with timer taking the food when marked check out time is over.) Nobody was able to use the lamps in the dorm beds. Complained about broken ceiling lamps in the dorm also twice but nothing happened. Very good, but lowest standard out of all the Selinas I've been (many)

    Breakfast buffet is good. Kitchen is clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.2
    loved this place!
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on my second stay i was in a room closer to the main party area (one floor below the pool) and so it was less quiet. on my first stay i didn't hear it.

    the place is lovely, it borders with the jungle and so you can see many animals inside the hostel and loads of birds flying above - one of my favorite parts about this place! the stuff is awesome (!), the facilities are perfect (several pools, bar, restaurant and even a jungle trail!) also, its 15 min walk from the beach. i enjoyed this place so much that i returned to spend my last two days there :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!!!! What an amazing place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was a bit unpredictable. Needed to be run for a while to get warm. Mattress wasn't the best. Slight dip in the middle. Parking on site but got blocked in on a few occasions so be careful if leaving early for the airport! Luckily the staff take number plates and phone numbers so problems were sorted.

    What an amazing place! We had a private room and bathroom. Great aircon and ceiling fan. Stunning grounds. We saw So many tropical birds including Macaws also massive Iguanas in the gardens! Very quiet. Fantastic three pools. Great bar by one of the pools. Second and third pool were large and quiet. Great breakfast. Such great value for money. Such a stylish place. All ages groups. Highly recommend staying. Don't be put of by it being a hostel. It's more like an apartment hotel. Staff couldn't do more to help. Very close to the nature reserve and the beaches. Can't wait to stay at a Selina again. Visited the one in Nicuagua and it was equally as fanstastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    There’s so much just around the hostel to do!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was a little disappointed when given the tour that no one showed/told me where the shared kitchen is as well as i didn’t see any signs to where it was, maybe there is but they’re not obvious like everything else. It just felt like they wanted you to eat at the restaurant instead.

    There’s so much just around the hostel to do! a lovely jungle trail in the back where i saw a poison dart frog this morning! There are 3 pools which is great but it only seemed like the main 1 was cleaned daily if im being honest. The others were in awesome spots but didn’t have any sitting areas nor as clean. The rooms were great had air conditioner and fan so the rooms could be very cool! I loved that there were many many spots to hangout and chill with outlets all around for devices. I would stay here again for sure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to relax, swim, and watch the sunset!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the 12 bed dorm and the room was so large it had 2 air conditioners. 1 air conditioner was broken, and the second air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool. It was fixed the next day.

    I loved the pool and the music! Also there is a great "Jungle walk" behind the property. We saw lots of birds, monkeys, Iguanas, and toucans! Had a great time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was extremely helpful and easy to work with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was broken, and the bathroom quite dirty, but overall the living quarters were nice.

    The staff was extremely helpful and easy to work with. The entire atmosphere of Selina is inviting and fun. In the future, I would be content to stay entirely in Selina hostels as I travel through Central America. I was really impressed with facilities outside of the room, because they offered three pools, two bars, and a place to watch the sunset.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    A great hostel like a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better

    It is one of the best hostels in Costa Rica. - Nice staff - 2 pools, yoga zone and nice atmosphere. You can both party and relax. - Good wi-fi - Good location: 15 minutes walking from Espadilla Beach (a good relaxing walking with the nature, but there is a slope, so It is harder to go back. You can get the city bus and arrive in 7 minutes at the beach and 10 minutes at the park.) 25 minutes walking from Biesanz Beach (or less if you get a bus until a mall) Stores and other hotels (with food and party) nearby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was extremely beautiful and clean and had amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot of walking that we didn't anticipate. Our room was near the bottom of the property and quite a far walk to the entrance. There was 2 pools but the second pool had no chairs.

    The property was extremely beautiful and there were so many spots to sit and relax. The staff were great and very friendly. The free parking was nice. The room was really clean and we got fresh towels every day. It felt safe with so many security guards. The nature walk was beautiful as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hostel, beds were good, great restaurant with nice food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too bad some people are extremely rude and don't seem to keep in mind the people sleeping in the dorm, there were guys screaming us all awake at 6 in the morning, this had to be more than just alcohol! After a Saturday night party the dorm was absolutely trashed when I woke up in the morning, 1 bathroom was trashed so bad it couldn't be used anymore until the cleaning crew came by, it was so dirty with puke everywhere. A party is nice, and it sure was fun, but the aftermath..

    Nice hostel, beds were good, great restaurant with nice food and they helped organizing the excursions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    5.4
    Good stay to visit Manuel Antonio, awfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a standard room for 4 nights and when we want to check-in they told us we need to change rooms every night because there is no availibilty. We refused to change every night because we paid enough money for our room, so they put us in the disabled room. The guys at the reception are not friendly at all and every time you want to ask something , you’ll have that feeling like they are laughing with you. The people who work at a Selina are most of the time volunteers so maybe these guys will not working there anymore For the breakfast you have to pay depending on the weight of the food.

    The location is good, not far from the “center” and a 10min walk (downhill) to the beach. In front of this Selina is the famous Avion Restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.5
    I would stay here again because of the ambience the Selina gives. Staff just has to amp it up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms needed soap at least if we're paying more than your typical costa rican hostel. And customer service can be a little more kinder, patient and understanding.

    The food at the restaurant for sure and the whole ambience. The concept and the facility grounds were fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Selina Manuel Antonio Traveler Photo Gallery