Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Limon hotel reviews
  4. Puerto Viejo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Selina Puerto Viejo

Reviews of Selina Puerto Viejo

Calle 256, 800 meters to the South of Puerto Viejo, on the way to Playa Cocles., 70101 Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica

#56 of 89 hotels in Puerto Viejo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1083 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hated how far from downtown Puerto Viejo this was. Far from any food other than what's made by the kitchen. No supermarkets close by. If you can ride a bike, it's a bit easier to get around, but still far from the main town.

    Staff was awesome. All super nice and helpful. Bathrooms were cleaned daily which is great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.2
    It's nice that Selinas has an event every evening.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shared bathrooms... Only because it was my first time with the experience. Also, the sap from the trees that stained my vehicle throughout my stay.

    It's nice that Selinas has an event every evening. The landscaping of the entire property is well done.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.3
    Great pool, great bar and directly on the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold shower (for some reason I always seem to have cold showers at Selina's), no privacy curtains on the dorm bed.

    Great pool, great bar and directly on the beach!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 shower+toilet for 12 people

    The location of the hostel is amazing as it is located right on the beach. Next to that it's a nice place with a great vibe! The pool is a big plus.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.8
    Careful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Teepee Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff were friendly and really accommodating but the day of departure they were extremely slow and rude with one of our requestes. They use your check in sheet which shows all passport details and your signature for the laundry form which is sent to the laundry and then recycled for other travellers. When I explained that i wasn’t comfortable with it being given to random people with all of My details they proceed to argue and after twenty minutes agreed to give it back to me. In addition to this they had already mucked up our washing by not sending it off and we waited around for over an hour to pack and wasted precious time on our last day in Costa Rica. It’s such a shame because the hostel it’s self isn’t bad. But we should have know the day of check in a girl almost missed her shuttle waiting for her laundry. get it in well in advance! Be very careful of your passport details not being send to other travellers.

    Pool and bar are nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    2.5
    Stay anywhere else. Avoid Selinas unless you want to waste all your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were extremely rude. They don't care about the customers at all. Everything here costs money. The hostel is one big money grab, trying to take as much from you as possible during your stay. $10 to hire a bike when it's $3 down the road. $6 per kilo of laundry when it's $2 down the road. Breakfast buffet is by weight but there is a minimum spend so you have to take more food than you want. The bar is super expensive and it's quite a walk into town. You want to use their colab work space? $5 per hour! Wifi doesn't reach the rooms. Bathrooms are always disgusting, wet muddy floors.

    Not much. The bar staff were nice I guess

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    The staff, so friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only the weather 😉 too bad they can't do anything about that 😉

    The staff, so friendly and helpfull. Make you really feel welcome. The atmosphere was awesome, so relaxt. Really Pura Vida.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    3.8
    DIRTY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty rooms and bathrooms. Stained sheets, toilets didn’t flush...it was gross. Reception staff could care less about their jobs, not very helpful or friendly. Was looking forward to staying here... very disappointed. Had Selena’s booked in other areas and will cancel and book somewhere else.

    Good restaurant and restaurant staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    3.8
    The location was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken door handle. Missing door trim so the sun was let in waking us up very early and making it hard to sleep, especially after there was music very loud all night and lots of people partying. Not relaxing at all. Room smelled lime piss and crystallized piss on the wall. Very noisy place and we could not hear the ocean that was only feet away.

    The location was nice. The pools looked ok. Would be fun if your young and want to party party party. Not for people who want peace and rest.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great experience. Will do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was not very tasteful, and considering where the hostel is located, more local gastronomic options could be offered. Parking was crazy, since the hostel was full and there are limited spaces.

    The place is located a little bit far from the town centre, however it is easily walkable and the property is beachfront which is perfect. The staff was really helpful and joyful, always looking to keep your interests in mind when providing tips. The bar/restaurant is just perfect to meet new people or hang around with some drinks and food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hostel! Great swimmingpool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hygiene washrooms can be better. Not in centre of Puerto Viejo. Music can be very loud.

    Swimmingpool is clean and refreshing. The breakfast (not included) is very good with fresh fruit / scrambled eggs / yoghurt / banana bread and many more. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Good place meeting other travellers. Right next to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.5
    Nice pool, clean rooms, bed comfortable, reception staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The private rooms are incredibly tiny. Just about able to fit a double bed in there, with two people it was impossible to move about, let alone get dressed/ undressed.

    Nice pool, clean rooms, bed comfortable, reception staff very helpful. Fan & towels provided.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    5.8
    Could be way better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionist a bald brown guy was very rude and seemed ok with it. You get charged in local currency instead of the actual price you booked for so it turns out to be more expensive. The food and coffee from restaurant is poor.

    The deluxe room looks great in pictures but not in reality. Bed is ok but the bathroom is poor. Specially de shower is super small and the floor seemed super dirty.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    6.3
    Nice facilities (Pool, Bar) but not the best place to have a comfortable rest (Small and expensive)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities: - Rooms: I stayed on a fan only room, it looked clean at first sight but it was a really narrow place (like 2m x 2.5m) with a double bed... There was little room to walk inside and luggage got easily on the way. Bed was clean but there was a pillow full of bad odor, like it was not cleaned per weeks, this was not nice at all. - Shared restroom: there was a restroom just at the side of the yoga place, restroom's cap was broken and was not nice to use. - Shared bathroom: very slippery and with no good vents. - Area close to the yoga site did not smell ok. - Beach in the back site of the hotel is not a nice one, is a rocky beach, only good for snorkeling if you can get past it.

    The facilities on this place are great, will try to say a bit about everything: - Pool: was clean and comfortable to be, it is just in front of the bar. Is a place to be relax for a while. - Bar: bar was nice, with different beverage options, coffee and juices, meals were really nice (Chicken curry was awesome, Chifrijo was not! Avoid it). Breakfast was server on the bar and charged per weight ($1 per 100g, so a normal breakfast will be $5-$6), fruits, eggs, gallo pinto, tea, coffee and juices. - Work place: for those who work on the go there is a nice place, with AC, clean and huge desks, fast internet and it is on a second floor, for sure a nice spot. - Kitchen: to cook if you want to avoid restaurants. - Parking: It was crowded so a lot of people needed to park in the back of other cars (this is not nice as may need to move your car if other person needs to leave), but if not in high season it must be ok. The staff was great, no complains here.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    8.0
    Bar and swimming pool area exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    6 bed dorm smelt very damp. Pillows smelt of mould. Ended up requiring to upgrade room because of this. Private double room was very good.

    Bar and swimming pool area exceptional

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Common bathrooms need improvement and better cleaning Standard room is very small

    Very friendly staff, specially the manager Esteban ( the tall fellow ) . Very profesional and helpful. Cool bar and pool area Nice beach right in front of the hostel Great prices

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.9
    Amazing people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms, couldn't move around. A bit expensive for hostel, but stuff is amazing

    The stuff is amazing - so friendly and helpful. Jim on the bar was giving us a lot of local information and helped us all way around, making sure we are safe even outside of Selina. He is making amazing tea with ginger (in case you got flue or cold - he knows how to help!;).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.1
    Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are small, even though we had a deluxe room. Quality vs price could be better, but that applies to more places in Costa Rica (in general high prices for a proper room)

    Friendly staff, nice pool and bar. Book the night jungle hike with Fabian (ask the reception), he is so passionate about wildlife. We did see so many, unforgettable experience (tarantula’s, snakes, venomous frogs, sloths)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    6.7
    Party hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is 100% a party hostel. The first night we arrived they had a “reggae night” where they played REALLY bad reggae (like party/pop reggae) until almost 3 o’clock in the morning! It definitely ruined our nights sleep. I think they also have a bar so it is just really geared towards people who want to get wasted and party. If you’re that kind of person, then this is probably a cool hostel, but if you’re not a party person, definitely don’t stay here, it’s not worth your money, you can probably find cheaper/cuter/quieter places that are closer to town, this is probably 1.5 km away from Puerto Viejo. Otherwise it was alright. But I have paid less for nicer, the 6-bed dorm for example is extremely tiny and not worth ~$20 per night.

    The breakfast was nice (but you pay extra ofc), especially the smoothie bowl. It was nice you could rent bikes. They also had a cinema room with Netflix so you could watch movies (but people also have sexual relations in them).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    4.2
    Rooms are different than in photos, receptionists with bad attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was significantly smaller than in photos and really not the same balcony. We booked the deluxe room. Definitely not the same room - in the pictures you see a sitting corner while in the actual room you can't even place anything wider than a foot near the bed. When we went to the reception to ask for what we paid for, we came across an angry receptionist which was unpleasant, rolled eyes at us, said it's the same room and refused to help in any way. Told us to file a complaint on Selina's website. When we asked for a refund he told us to address Booking, even though Selina charged us a few minutes earlier during check-in. When another receptionist came and talked to us, she also argued claiming it's the only room available but gave us a refund within a minute. In general, their customer service was the worst.

    The general atmosphere at the place was nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.5
    Due to the strikes in Costa Rica Selina’s was very quiet had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower broke twice and had to be fixed Food overpriced especially for a backpacking hostel where are there are many cheaper options near by like Tasty Waves (a must for drinkers and taco lovers on a Tuesday night - literally heaving with people)

    Due to the strikes in Costa Rica Selina’s was very quiet had a 6 room dorm all to my self for most nights of the stay. Clean enough and staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.9
    I went to check out at night time get my key deposit back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I went to check out at night time get my key deposit back and they assured me someone would be there in the morning. There was no one there and I lost my deposit. Also, everything is a little overpriced here. Walk 5 minutes to find cheaper food and bike rentals

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities was terrible, smell like poo all the place, few bathrooms, noisy room, the bar has no professional cook the food is terrible and expensive. Never again

    The pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    6.3
    The music is good , good pool , the room is okay when the ac...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smells like mold. The shower drain got clogged so we were basically in a bath while taking a shower. The staff doesn’t come to clean the rooms often.

    The music is good , good pool , the room is okay when the ac is working , great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    9.2
    Without a doubt the pool and pool table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In my opinion they only have one problem. You have to pay 1$ for the towel when in the vast majority of cheaper hotels of Costa Rica are free.

    Without a doubt the pool and pool table. Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    5.4
    Awesome beach town but Selina needs to step up the game on this one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived to the hotel the parking seemed a little full. We checked in, we got a private room with a private bathroom and when they showed us the room it was full of mold. The AC was off and all windows closed, so that did not help with the awful mold smell. The bathroom was okay but it had a broken window, therefore it had ants, mosquitos and access for other insects to get in. We did ask to be moved to another room and we ended up having to cancel and make another reservation, pay a price difference (they did give us a 15% discount) in order to be moved to an apartment style room since that was the only room available because they couldn't offer us another room like our original booking. The young lady helping us was great but one of her co-workers was rude and even suggested for us to go to a different hotel, which is not what should have been done! They really need to work on their customer service! That room was better but the bed almost broke on us, we couldn't even move on the bed because it would shake and make a cracking noise everything we sat, turned over when laying down and the pillows made my head itch the whole time. I had to sleep with a tapestry I had over the pillows. After staying there I went back to my parents house to find out I had lice nits in my hair. My brother was staying there as well, he had requested the same room as our original booking. He had the room right upstairs to the one they were going to give us originally, it was super small, you couldn't even walk around the bed and there wasn't any room to but your things. It was way to clustered to be offered as a room for 2 people but at least it didn't have mold all over the walls and ceiling. Selina you really dropped the ball on this one. the location is great and yes you are working on it but you need to invest more in the rooms and removing all that mold before doing anything else.

    The location is amazing, the beaches are beautiful and the town is great! The hotel is right on the beach so that is a plus. They have a nice pool and bar area as well. It was not hard to find the hotel, which was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel itself is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was mold in the bedroom and the smell was not nice.

    The hotel itself is very nice. The concept behind the hip (party) hostel works really well even for guests staying in a separate room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    7.5
    Good location & value for a Hostel budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many old pots in the kitchen, it will be nice if they have better cookware. Private room was extremely small for the price.

    Nice location right next to Playa Cocles, big and safe parking lot. The pool is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t recommend this. Unclean bathrooms, no atmosphere and unhelpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. Ants were all in the outdoor kitchen. Bathroom in the dorm was absolutely disgusting. Was very far from town- I would recommend staying in accommodation in the town

    The movie room was nice in the evening

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    5.4
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at reception were exceptionally unfriendly. The guy was rude. We'd stayed at the Selena chain in a variety of locations for about a month and thought they mostly were great. When we arrived the girl at the desk said she'd upgrade the room (overheard by her male co-worker and he clearly didn't agree). Maybe her supervisor? He put us in a room that looked felt like a dungeon (who knew they existed?) Crazy experience. It was damp and dark and airless. One terrible experience can really put you off a hotel chain. Wouldn't stay at that Selena again. Plenty of other great places to stay.

    Selena is generally a predictable and comfortable stay with good wifi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Teepee Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom could have been slightly cleaner but given the price it really wasn’t awful!

    Selina hostels in general are awesome - all have swimming pools and are really hip and pretty, catering mostly to a young crowd with a little more money to spend than on a basic hostel. We stayed in a standard double room with ensuite (an upgrade!) and it was good with the air con being a life send. Right on the beach and a ten minute stroll into town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    4.2
    No Good - Definitely will avoid Salina Properties in my future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was terrible - rating 0 on room, Room was the size of small closet, terrible really, I would have thought I would have gotten a real room for the money I paid, it was more like a closet with a bed, no room for anything else. Bathroom - rating 0 I was on the 2nd floor the bathroom was on the 1st floor, I had to go downstairs outside to get to a bathroom a very far walk for doing your business, Bathroom - was disgusting not clean at all, very nasty. Showers - Nasty shower not clean at all, extremely hot water, with no way of adjusting the water i used a few different showers. I had to take cold shower every times unless i was willing to burn my skin.

    I liked the Pool Party, ands the staff was very nice people, decent location. Nice Pool Party Nice Pool Nice Bar Beach is nice but don't try and swim in it, your will cut your feet up, its not functional just nice to look at

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    4.2
    Paid $100 Australian a night to have a single room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Teepee Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid $100 Australian a night to have a single room with a bed with no bathroom. Shared multi sex outdoor showers and bathrooms with 12 stands of running water through the shower head and no hot water. The hotel is 25 minute walk from anything in Puerto Viejo. Shower change rooms are just a curtain. If wind blows you’d literally be exposed to hotel grounds as it’s all outdoors and multi sex. Worst value for money I’ve ever experienced tbh

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced Very little included with the stay Worked out at nearly $20 a night for an average bed in a dorm

    Breakfast was good Staff were very helpful Right by the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.3
    Good for backpackers. Over priced for other rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Significant other is a member of the selina co work and was told he would get a discount but selina makes it impossible to get that discount easily. Can't do it through the hotels. Have to do it through corporate. Never responded to him sending in a form. As.it was I ended up paying and while the common areas are great a basic private room with a bed and not much else is not worth $70cad a night. Other places in Puerto Viejo are cheaper than that and would include more. Only one bathroom for all shared bathroom private rooms

    Common areas are great. Short walk to a good beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hygiene was really bad. Especially the sanitary. From the outside it looks good, but inside it was an unpleasant surprise. Also the staff at the reception isn't exactly friendly. Definitely not worth the price!

    It is a good place to meet people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.5
    will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A/C in the dorm didnt work properly. Breakfast is charged by weight. But you always can cook yourself in the common kitchen as a cheaper option. 800m distance to Bus stop.

    cool vibe at the Hostel. busy place. Lots of activities. Before midnight walking from downtown is easy 10min easy walk. After midnight better take a cab. close to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.1
    Nice Selina's, although hard to meet people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is quit a bit from Puerto Viejo, so if you want to go out and come back late, you need to pay for a taxi. Selina's are always nice to stay at, although it's so hard to meet people in most of them. The common rooms are always bars, not anywhere to sit, without feeling you are in a bar. Aircon ice cold!

    Beautiful Selina's once again. Food was really good! Really nice pool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.5
    Nice atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - We couldn't open a window in our dorm to have some fresh air. The second night was better with the ac😉 - It would have been nice to have a chair in the bathroom to put your stuff on!

    - The food was really good! Especially the smoothie bowl ... Best breakfast in Costa Rica so far! - Really nice common areas: pool, movie room, library ...0

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful property on the beach (not a swimming beach),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Teepee Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bikes need to be dropped back by 8pm so can’t use them to go out for dinner which means you’d need to get a cab home from town. Teepee quite cramped with no hanging space though still really cool to stay in.

    Beautiful property on the beach (not a swimming beach), great pool and bar/restaurant area and communal kitchen. Private teepee awesome albeit a bit cramped. Easy bike ride into town or to swimming beach Cocles (both less than 5 mins). Awesome yoga pavilion and great daily classes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    Had great amenities, excellent location, nice walking beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a little stuffy, could have been a bit bigger with more air.

    Had great amenities, excellent location, nice walking beach trail out front, lots of sloths, great atmosphere for meeting other travelers, super friendly staff, great bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.7
    Really nice venue, beach but other wise not worth of paying for private room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had own room with private bath room. Not the best price-value combination: +/- It was on first floor. - Bathroom window was missing 1/5 glass - Room window could not be locked properly (it was easy to open from outside despite it was locked. - A/C outdoor units kept loud noise entire night. - Not Selinas fault, but some fat guy kept his Land Cruiser running hole night and half of the next day to ensure that visitors in first floor had possibility to enjoy exhaust smokes in rooms.

    Really nice venue with pool and beach nearby. Extra points for "house sloth" living in a tree nearby the pool. Beach restaurant was nice with house burgers and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    The staff was amazing and I could sense a strong community...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was amazing and I could sense a strong community within the establishment. Jimmy, in particular, was awesome! I loved the Chiliguaro shots and the music in the evenings. Despite having many people in the 18 bed dorm, it was rather comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.7
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The standard room was super small. There was maybe a foot and half between double bed and walls. There was not enough places to hang towels and cloths.

    Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    10
    This time we stayed in a tent ( my boyfriend desperately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Teepee Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit noisy with music from the hotel (it was a live happening that night, and we could hear people and music till midnight) also trucks driving past. We found lockers not convenient so didn’t use it. However, we saw them having locks on the zip of the tent in other Selina hotels and it looked the way more convenient.

    This time we stayed in a tent ( my boyfriend desperately wanted!!) and it was amazing! We left our stuff in the car, and brought only essentials to the room, which helped a lot as there is not much space. It was very nice and clean and so stylish. Kitchen was clean and well equipped. Wifi was incredibly good!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    Satisfied with my choice and I would reccommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They offer everything dorm should have. Maybe only breakfast was missing.

    Great staff, lots of space in dorms,accomodation with a pool and a bar.Nice location.Breakfast not included.Rent of bikes is available for 7$ (daily).Shuttles to other destinations offered.It is 15min walk from town PV.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.3
    The staff is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is the best!!! Always helpful and spreading a good vibe. Don't hesitate to join them at the bar or around. I loved it there, the PURAVIDA is definitely felt in Selina - Puerto Viejo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    2.5
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overcharged us a month ago. Confirmed that they had overcharged us but still have not refunded us and ignoring our emails now. Terrible customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    5.8
    Bed lights without light bulbs and metal baskets that where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed lights without light bulbs and metal baskets that where screwed to the bed that a fellow traveler hit his head on so bad he was bleeding. The hostel management did not fix this issue. Toilets stinking up the room with mould smell. Broken window in toilet (room 201), so that you are visible from the staircase outside when taking shower or other. Light-weight bunk beds with thin ladders that cut into your feet. Loud party in and by the restaurant every night, sometimes also past 23 (which is the silent time according o the hostels rules). Good thing, 24/7 pool access, book room, big metal lockers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    6.7
    Terribly noisy up to 3am. Will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a concert inside the hostel next to my room until 3am, full of people that were not staying at the hostel. They made uncomfortable all guests just to have external people hanging around. I lost the next day due to lack of sleep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    5.0
    Good breakfast,nice to be right by the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Head office and staff extremely unhelpful when it actually comes to solving a problem!!!We upgraded our room from a private with shared bathroom to a private with private bathroom. However even though we paid more money to upgrade, selinas still charged us a cancellation fee for a previous booking even though we upgraded the room. It’s been a week since they charged us and having emailed them 3 times they still haven’t refunded the amount. Bordering on stealing now. In terms of the hotel- the rooms are ok- they are very small - barely room to move in there. The pool is nice but you can get much better value for money in many other hostels.

    Good breakfast,nice to be right by the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My 4 night stay at Selina Puerto Viejo was wonderful! Nice pool, great restaurant and a relaxing atmosphere. Walking distance to town and beaches. The staff at this place is the best! Extra credit goes to Jimmy who made my stay even better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.2
    Fun place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu at the restaurant is limited but with so many restaurants in town we were able to change it up. The beach area in front of resort is not good for swimming.

    Didn't realize when I booked that Selinas is like a Club Med and frequented mostly by younger adults. The staff here are so engaging and when our room was in an area that was too noisy, they were more than generous in upgrading us to a suite at no extra charge! As a wine drinker I was pleased that happy hour included wine! There are lots of activities available if you are so inclined. Check-in is very personal and they walk you to your room, turn on the A/C, show you the different areas within the resort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.2
    The staff was amazingly friendly, helpful, and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was amazingly friendly, helpful, and informative. The location was BEAUTIFUL, with a view of the beach as we ate breakfast each morning. The pool was great and rarely crowded. The only downside was the shared bathrooms, which could have been a bit cleaner. Still, I would definitely recommend this place to a friend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    6.7
    All in all we had a really nice stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds were super uncomfortable, and we had a leak in our kitchen that wasnt fixed even after we told the reception. Also we asked for hand soap two times and this wasnt received either. Electricity went out some times, but this was so for the whole city.

    We really liked the cosiness and the atmosphere of the little huts that we lived in. Very cool interior, and exterior. Super nice to be able to have breakfast on our porch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was run down and with a view of recycling bins and parking lot. Very overpriced. It was not that close to surfing. There were no yoga classes.

    Lots of hot water and good WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.6
    Selina has a niche that they fill quite nicely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Selina should work on having more free activities that bring travellers together to meet. Parties and happy hours (Not $10 barbecue parties) or games etc...

    Selina has a niche that they fill quite nicely. It is NOT a hostel for meeting people. Selina is kinda like the hostel equivalent of an Abercrombie and Fitch store. It's more about style than substance and most of the guests seem to be the same. As one satisfied guest I spoke to said "Yes, I like that people don't try to talk to you there." It IS a quite comfortable hostel. So, if you want a very modern, clean, and comfortable facility to sleep in after a bunch of cheap hostels with dozens of people crammed into a square room trying to share a single power outlet to charge all their devices this might be a nice place for you to stay for a little while. by the way, my WiFi speed test for this location showed 6.46 MBPS/16.96MBPS (a lot more downloading bandwidth being used than uploading obviously) So the WiFi is good for central america.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.6
    Puerto Viejo is beautiful in every way imaginable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone was so sweet! My friend and I were welcome to the community and it felt like our home for the 5 days we stayed. Puerto Viejo is beautiful in every way imaginable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    When in Puerto Viejo: Stay at Selina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived at night, we didn't expect that it would be so pretty during the day and that the location would be this great. Located between the town and Playa Cocles. Very friendly staff that gave a lot of tips. Great lounge area at the beach as well. The vibe around this town is amazing and probably even better at Selina!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    10
    Super chill - friendly people - easy to get caught there for a few days :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit expensive for me but that didn't stop me from adding a few extra nights to my existing reservation LOL

    Super chill vibes - right on the beach! Would def go back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really loud at nights. Expensive food and drinks

    The staff are super friendly. Great location outside of town but close enough to walk. Spacious dorm with multiple bathroom options. Big and well stocked shared kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing staff (very friendly), great facilities, everything...
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing staff (very friendly), great facilities, everything was excellent! Definitely recommend this place! Selina is simple the best! The vibe in Puerto Viejo is unique!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    7.9
    Wouldn’t stay again, stop by for parties, food and pay for the coworking space.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Private Room with fan and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar/kitchen they seem to encourage you to keep a tab but then when I didn’t pay it by whatever hour they set they followed me around the property like I was going to run out on the bill. For half the time I was there the menu was grossly limited but they updated it a day before I left and it had improved drastically. The private with shared bath was horrible. It’s literally a bed in a room with a side table and the bathroom isn’t shared between two rooms but rather down a hall and outside shared with up to 10/12 people or across the property which was a much better setup but... across the property. The shower is a stall outside. The toilet a door next to it. For what they’re charging for that room it’s a very over priced option. I upgraded immediately to a private bath which was better but still below the value imo i didn’t even give me a bath mat, the glass tinted window pane in the bathroom was missing as well.

    The bar staff was really wonderful, Yariela, Jimmy, Dwayne were all great every single shift, this place would do well to be good to them! On the beach but it’s not a laying out or swimming beach. Pool is nice, yoga was daily except for when the teacher forgot to show up. Coworking space is great and WiFi was solid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.1
    They are located on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On weekends there might be very loud music until 2-3am because they organise parties there. Room is quite small and bathroom is in the room which makes it very uncomfortable. One of our roommates threw up all night and we heard everything and couldn’t sleep.

    They are located on the beach. Staff is friendly. They have yoga lessons and organize socializing events almost every day. Sometimes live band plays in the bar area. Pool area is small but nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.9
    We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed the stay. It is however a bit of a backpacker/party place and not too romantic. But we had fun! The food was really good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    6.7
    Great room and location - but super NOISY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Unique
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise! There’s party all night long with super loud speakers! So if you want to relax, don’t go to Selina!

    The unique room is great! On top of the main building. Cozy living room with great furniture, lighting and a hammock. Top floor a spacious room with half bathroom. The view from the whole room is superb. The hostel is big! Beach front, pool, kitchen, and restaurant. Is a great option for young part people!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced hostel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place tries to market itself as slightly higher end, but it really is a backpacker hostel, with a really dirty kitchen, lots of noise and all in all completely overpriced in comparison to places of similar standard around town. The walls of our relatively nice cabin were paper thin, so we heard every word our neighbours said and didn't get a decent night's sleep as our neighbours came in late at night, used their bathroom etc.

    The location was great, close to town and yet on a stretch of beach outside town. A really amazing good value breakfast was available each morning. Having a pool was also nice and all in all the staff were friendly, helpful and fun.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dorm can be renovated/painted. It was a bit old looking. Bathroom in dorm was very old and there was only very hot water, too hot to take a shower. Food and drinks are really expensive

    Nice place in beautiful nature, and really nice staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    8.3
    Best Selina experience so far
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Selina hostel in Puerto Viejo was my second experience with the Selina brand. My first was in Granada, Nicaragua (an extremely so-so experience), and I'm currently staying at their hostel in Bocas del Toro, Panama (which just might be my worst experience ever, and keep in mind that I've stayed in about 160 hostels, give or take). The Selina brand has become synonymous with putting style over substance and service. Take away the gorgeous décor and designer flair and their hostels are more often than not generic traveler sweatshops. They're big establishments, impersonal and entirely devoid of any true character. Experience has taught me, too late to cancel my remaining bookings, that Selina hostels are best avoided. I had considered cancelling my Puerto Viejo reservation while I still could based on the fiasco that was the Selina Granda, but I elected to give the brand a second chance. And I'm glad I did, because the Selina Puerto Viejo is everything the Selina Granada and the Selina Bocas del Toro are not. One of my main complaints regarding Selina is that the reception staff is almost always incompetent and/or untrained. Check-in takes forever, for reasons no one can understand. They routinely screw up tour information and bookings. Moreover, they never know ANYTHING when you ask for suggestions for places to eat, things to do, where to go, etc. You know, things that reception staffers are required to know because they are the ones who'll be asked every time a traveler needs some information. Not so with the folks at Selina Puerto Viejo, however. That bunch is super friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Seriously, these guys should be in charge of training their colleagues at other Selina establishments. Having a team like that manning the front desk makes all the difference and they deserve kudos for doing such a good job. Selina hostels normally don't give a damn about the quality of sleep of their guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    4.6
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud, louder Selina! Party all day and all night, we could not sleep (although we had earplugs!) at all Very small rooms! The standard double room was less than 6 m2 big. Other rooms do not even have a window Dirty! Mold!

    Very friendly staff Good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    Very nice stay, but only until the poisoning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got poisoning from food or pool. That was bad. My 5$ deposit was only returned after I demanded it. WCs could have been cleaner, sometimes big general wc area was closed entirely. Door handles were dirty in wc's. Drink your own water, take no ice cubes. Water bottles are very expensive there in daily basis. Music was nice in the evening, but bring own ear plugs, since trying to sleep with very loud music was horror edpecially while poisoned. Lockers in dorms were a bit rusty and not good sized, high but too narrow. Not hand paper in dorm, which was not hygienic.

    Hostel was nice and economical, pool area with lights was a nice center to hang out. Good kitchen free to use (not restaurant) and rooms for movie, reading etc. Excellent location. Beach-trail to town center is fenomenal for jogging! Staff is somewhat friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    4.6
    Noisy!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was so noisy the whole day and night! We felt as if the bar was directly in our room because the music was so loud until later than midnight. At 6 am have started some works directly under our window with a machine that was incredible loud too. This is definitely not a place to relax and sleep! The bathroom was dirty, the towels too. Deluxe room is not worth the money!!

    Nettes Personal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.2
    Great $5 buffet breakfast and Happy Hour specials.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 18-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shared bathroom got pretty muddy and stinky at times (as to be expected when staying in an 18 bed dorm-style room) but perhaps have the restroom cleaned twice a day for the high-traffic rooms

    Great $5 buffet breakfast and Happy Hour specials. Loved the live music too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    7.9
    Good to share with friends and party
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of tours available for solo travelers.

    The facilities and location are terrific. The tour bike is great and in your own pace. I also enjoy the movie area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    8.8
    Great restaurant and good facilities to stay with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had a problem with the hot water, but the staff run to fix it as soon as possible.

    The facilities are great. The beach in front is specially beautiful to look at the sunrise.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Selina Puerto Viejo Traveler Photo Gallery