Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Costa Rica hotel reviews
  3. Puntarenas hotel reviews
  4. Golfito hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Sierra

Reviews of Hotel Sierra

Calle 8 Detras del Deposito Libre, Golfito, Costa Rica

#9 of 12 hotels in Golfito

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    Excellent. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking lot and space at the lobby door for packing and unpacking your vehicle. There is a two lane entry but the one lane was always blocked.

    Service was impeccable. Friendly staff. The restaurant is excellent. Breakfast is enormous but there is a partial buffet. Fresh eggs! All good. The hotel itself is very close to the Golfito Deposito. Handy spot. The pool(s) are wonderful. Really can't fault the Sierra. We've been staying there for 27 years, when they first opened. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.6
    After a lot of the hotels in Central America this was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After a lot of the hotels in Central America this was a welcome change. We stayed an extra 3 days , because it was comfortable and the room was larger than most.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    3.8
    Awesome pool area but that is it...
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two issues here: 1) I was told the mattresses were all new, however the two in my room were horribly uncomfortable giving me the worst night's sleep I have had in Central America in the three years I have been here. 2) The bathroom was mess: lukewarm water in the shower, a rusty drain (I actually wondered whether I would get tetanus if I cut my foot on it), and the door, though large enough to accommodate wheel chairs could not close properly while someone was using the toilet.

    The pool area is beautiful and well worth the swim (especially given the heat) and all the public areas were well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    5.8
    Fine for the location if you're coming to buy at the Deposito.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the value of the room is to expensive for what you get...bed, bathroom, parking and breakfast for almost $180 per night. NO pool towel, so bring yours, staff is not polite but not rude either. Breakfast was nothing variable at all.

    Easy access to the Deposito, plenty space for parking, early breakfast included.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Have stayed here many times over the last 27 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Have stayed here many times over the last 27 years. It's always a pleasure.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.0
    The big building with pool and wooden parts of balconary
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The big building with pool and wooden parts of balconary

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.5
    The attention esa good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The proporty needs mainteinance

    The attention esa good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.5
    We just needed a night for a transfer and it served the purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate breakfast and dinner there, would definitely rate it as average, with breakfast being slightly sub-par.

    Room was clean and the pool was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    7.1
    Excelent for business.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need something else to do at night.

    Excelent for business.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    4.2
    Bed bugs!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed bugs!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    10
    Good hotel for those who visit deposito de golfito
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They Just offered liquid soap, not shampoo or conditioner

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!